The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I knew this reaction was inevitable. It's why I have been slow to acknowledge or admit what I thought. I think you know my heart is blue Jim, you know me better than anyone here. So you must know how disillusioned I am to be even having this discussion. Sorry but it's how I feel buddy.

Cue cries of "liamo has been in limerick too long" etc etc
My "dubness" will be doubted etc.

I didn't say what u said lightly. You know this.

See at the end of the day, I love the Dubs, you know I do ....but I love football even more.
COYBIB"
Chief..

That's all up to you.

I haven't forgotten what it took to achieve this era of success, there's a revisionist narrative at play here that doesn't stack up to the actual games. You know the actual stats of play involved in determining who won what!

Sort of important information.. the actual events year on year..

All those ridiculously close and competitive games where a single kick of a ball decided it all.

All Played on the same pitch where only a few years before we couldn't beat a team outside Leinster even though we enjoyed the advantage of playing far more games at HQ compared to the teams that beat us with ease at times

There was no Croke Park advantages then man!

Unfortunately you seem to have forgotten.

Nothing else I can say and tbh such a post was fully warranted in response to your own. I'm glad you feel disheartened for saying such. Because you're 100% diminishing the substantial efforts that these fellas have put in to achieve what they have just because you're not satisfied on a certain level.

Feck off out of that!

With all due respect I agree with what you're saying about the S8 games, but sorry the rest of it... nah. You're wallowing in some sort of self imposed BS.

I remember what it took to win those games.

It's a pity you don't. It's the only logical explanation, because if you remembered yourself you wouldn't be banging on like this.

We won games we should have lost.. it's been that close.. game after game of legendary battles.. I listed them all, those games will go down as absolute classics, yet you're taking like this....

Daft.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 29/06/2019 22:41:49    2202606

Replying To realdub:  "I agree"
When I said I agree I touched off 'post' in error, I agree with the home games in the super 8s but I don't for a minute believe it compromises our current success but it could lead to that in the near future. Sort out the finances and let's play ball.
Only time will tell how much different things can be.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 29/06/2019 23:17:47    2202624

Replying To TheUsername:  "I love the general sweeping statements.

"All involved need to stop embarrassing themselves in denying the link between money and success."

Sure anyone can say things like that or:

"All attempting to link money and success are bitter, jealous and trying to protect themselves from a harsh reality that their county is poor at football and need to stop embarrassing themselves."

I immediately switch to low brow click bait journalism when I read statement in articles like that.

GAA journalism is going through its worst ever period in my opinion, in general not just commenting on Dublin. I miss Eugene McGee in particular on a Mon.

Dublin are box office though, so comes with the territory. You can only grin."
Jesus Wept if this lad is anyway representative of the modern Dublin fan the GAA as we know it is truly fecked.
At least his posts are getting shorter :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/06/2019 23:20:54    2202626

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus Wept if this lad is anyway representative of the modern Dublin fan the GAA as we know it is truly fecked.
At least his posts are getting shorter :D"
Would say he volunteer' Public Relations part of the set up. Social listening an important element of any professional organization nowadays.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/06/2019 00:12:14    2202645

Replying To jimbodub:  "Chief..

That's all up to you.

I haven't forgotten what it took to achieve this era of success, there's a revisionist narrative at play here that doesn't stack up to the actual games. You know the actual stats of play involved in determining who won what!

All those ridiculously close and competitive games where a single kick of a ball decided it all.

All Played on the same pitch where only a few years before we couldn't beat a team outside Leinster even though we enjoyed the advantage of playing far more games at HQ compared to the teams that beat us with ease at times

Nothing else I can say and tbh such a post was fully warranted in response to your own. I'm glad you feel disheartened for saying such. Because you're 100% diminishing the substantial efforts that these fellas have put in to achieve what they have just because you're not satisfied on a certain level.

Feck off out of that!

With all due respect I agree with what you're saying about the S8 games, but sorry the rest of it... nah. You're wallowing in some sort of self imposed BS.

It's a pity you don't. It's the only logical explanation, because if you remembered yourself you wouldn't be banging on like this.

We won games we should have lost.. it's been that close.. game after game of legendary battles.. I listed them all, those games will go down as absolute classics, yet you're taking like this....

Daft."
I am not retorting with personal barbs

Not going there. I said what I said.
I was in no way casting aspersions on the dubs team. My point essentially is the continued use of croker as a home venue and 2 home games in super 8s is an undeniable pre advantage over other teams and that bothers me. It's something the GAA need to sort out asap. I am NOT talking funding I am talking Croker

If you want to interpret that as my casting aspersions on the team themselves then knock yourself out.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/06/2019 00:24:08    2202649

Wonder if Kildare will point to Tyrone's funding for their 10 point loss today. Sorry guys we only get a couple of hundred thousand a yr from croke park. Perhaps it's not about the money, it's about work done at grass roots level.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 30/06/2019 00:25:17    2202650

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "I know this topic has been done to death but this is an article the owl lad wrote so just thought I'd throw it on here...

The Dubs, The Monies and the Prejudices.
The Dublin football team's quest for five in a row is causing a lot of angst among commentators and journalists alike. Fearing that no team can stop them they are getting their retaliation in first before their worst nightmares are realised.
The Sunday Game programme last Sunday provided the live coverage of the Leinster football final between Dublin and Meath. The programme opened up with a 'Prime Time Special' which could have been titled "Oh My God, How Has It Come To This" in relation to Dublin's football success. It honed in on the amount of monies that Dublin GAA receive from headquarters to run their business and one was left in no doubt that it was this factor that was the real reason for Dublin's success. Back to the studio and despite Ciaran Whelan's gallant protestations that this present Dublin team could in no way be impacted by Dublin's general increase in funding and that they and their Manager are of exceptional talent, the host, Joanne Cantwell kept coming back with "But what about the money?"
The hope, seemingly, is that if you keep throwing the mud, it will stick..
Is it plausible that in any other sport across the world when TV coverage of the final of a competition between two teams that it would include the finances of one of those teams for nearly half of that match's playing time?
And before we lose all reality altogether, all these players are amateurs!!
Other commentators and journalists alike play to their base by acting the bull in the Dublin football china shop.
Diarmuid Connolly was one of the finest pieces of china around. He is gone now. Before the false narrative of the money came into play he filled their column inches and us Dubs feel that a genuine injustice was done to an amateur genius like him.
-But what about the money?

If you are going to equate funding and Dublin GAA success well let's just have a closer look.
In 2016, Mayo were the biggest spenders on their Inter county teams with €1.6m followed by Dublin, Cork, Galway, Tipperary and Roscommon respectively as those having spent over €1million.
In 2017 Cork were the biggest spenders on their intercounty teams with €1.7m expended followed by Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Limerick, Tipperary and Kerry respectively as those having expended over €1million.
While not having the breakdown for 2018 it is Galway who top the list with €1.8m
Kerry was going for five in a row in 1982. In their first final in 1979 they beat Dublin by 17 pts. In the following finals they beat Dublin again, by 11 pts, Roscommon by 3 pts and Offaly by 7 pts respectively, before succumbing to that famous last minute goal by Offaly's Seamus Darby in the 1982 final.
Dublin's present quest for five in a row started in 2015 when they beat Kerry by 3pts, Mayo by 1pt in 2016 (after a replay), Mayo again by 1pt in 2017 and Tyrone by 6pts in 2018. In the four finals combined Kerry won their finals by a collective margin of 38pts as against Dublin's 11pts.. Was there a collective scratching of heads as to what could be done about Kerry's dominance.. Was there an inquest into the type of grass that was growing in Kerry?, into what type of eggs that the Kerry hens were laying?
My recollection of that time is that all the talk was of how good this Kerry team and their Manager, Mick O'Dwyer were.
But what about the money?

Now let us look at some other facts that eh.. sort of exposes the not so extraordinary success of Dublin GAA.
In hurling, Kilkenny have won 11 senior Hurling titles since 2000. Was there an inquest into the type of magic that cats in Kilkenny were casting on their players? How many titles have Dublin Hurlers won in that period? How many finals have they competed in during that period.. The answer, sadly, is none to both of those questions. In fact it is 1938 since Dublin last won a senior hurling title. 81 long years and do you know what folks, there was only one Dublin man, Jim Byrne in the team.

Dublin have won one Minor football All Ireland since 1984. Kerry have won seven, including five in a row that they completed last year.. and it could go on.

Dublin last won a Minor Hurling All Ireland in 1965. Since then Kilkenny have won 14 titles, Galway 12, Cork 11 and Tipperary 8.

Dublin Camogie haven't won an All Ireland since 1984.
In the period since then Cork have won 14 titles, Kilkenny have won 9, Tipperary 5 and Wexford 4.
Dublin has not even contested a final since then.
- But what about the money?

Between 2005 and 2016 Cork ladies football, have won 11 all Ireland titles, 5 in a row (2005 -2009) and 6 in a row (2011-2016) with only Dublin stopping them in 2010 from winning.. TWELVE IN A ROW.
- But what about the money?

Dublin GAA has many problems. Large Dublin areas have no GAA at all in them. Finglas, with a bigger population than Leitrim has only one GAA club, Erins Isle. Clondalkin, with a population of nearly 50,000 also has only one GAA club, Round Towers, the Club of Jim Gavin. Neither clubs have competed at the top level of Dublin GAA for many years now. GAA in all working class areas of Dublin is seriously under threat and it seems that the powers that be are silent on this and are prepared to concede these heavily populated areas to soccer. Over the years both Gaelic Games and Soccer have done a decent job in deprived areas of Dublin. For areas like these to lose an established body like the GAA will lead to serious social consequences for those same areas down the road.
These areas could do with massive GAA investment.. ah but you know yourself..

So what about the money?
Definitely look again at the distribution of monies but don't base it on the Dublin model because the Dublin model, if you were to base it on money, success, participation and retention has failed dramatically. No doubt, the investment deficits that I have outlined above in Dublin are badly needed across all counties.
And please Mr.& Mrs Croke Park when you are adding up your projected income for next year and beyond please drop the Sky package so that the 60 year-old man or woman all across Ireland who have probably spent all their lives looking after GAA teams can watch their county team play through the TV licence money that they pay to the National Broadcaster.
And finally back to this great Dublin Football team.
As the then club manager of Clanna Gael Fontenoy GAA club in Ringsend I witnessed first-hand the changes that were introduced in 2010 after Meath had beaten them in the Leinster semi-final and put five goals past them in doing so. They were so unlucky to lose out to Cork in the All Ireland semi-final later that summer. In the winter months that followed they gathered in our clubhouse at 8.00pm each Sunday night. Sunday night!!.. Down at the back pitch beside the beach and as cold a wind that would test the Russian Ice Hockey team, blowing in from the Irish Sea. When everyone else was winding down and heading for the leaba to prepare for the week ahead these guys were testing out the changes that Pat Gilroy and Mickey Whelan were trying to implement in an A v B match. This was probably their 5th or 6th gathering of the week. It was very much stop start. Mickey Whelan played bad Cop, screaming at players if they got it wrong and Pat Gilroy, the good Cop, putting a consoling hand on the offending player's back and whispering to him what he did wrong in the game plan..
I kicked the ball back to Stephen Cluxton a few times from behind the goal. Little did I know then that he was to change the face of Gaelic Football forever.
They usually pulled out of our Car Park at 10.00 each Sunday night. It was nights like these, I believe, as they tried to incorporate a defensive strategy , that the basis for the success of this football team's era was laid and by getting over that long 16 year wait the following September.
In came Jim Gavin and with all the polishing cloths of a Dublin nanny doing her brasses years ago, put the finishing shines to a steely exterior.
And running parallel to all of this were the likes of a man named Paddy Christie who with others and against all the odds were producing players from Ballymun, one of Dublin's most socially deprived areas. Ballymun Kickhams have produced the backbone of players throughout this reign and incredibly their players hold 26 All Ireland medals between them since 2011. What some of these players achieved in the face of such adversity is nothing short of incredible. Absolute Heroes!!
This achievement alone lays folly the notion that money is a contributor to this wonderful, incredible, fantastic and exhilarating Dublin Football team.
If other counties believe the fake news well then it will be longer still before they break their dominance.
Deep down they know what has to be done, and they know it has nothing to do with money.
Suck it up folks!!!!!
Shay Connolly"
I really liked your original post here ConnollyDub. It is a pity that you didn't get the reasoned debate you may have wished for. Nothing new there, thread after thread eventually gets on the Dubs and the money debate, largely unreasoned. I think Dubs fans should steer clear of the argument altogether. It gets nowhere. Let the 31 giveout and cry about the subject all they wish until they are ready to debate reasonably. Otherwise (and though tempting to engage) I would ignore. All of it.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 30/06/2019 00:37:13    2202651

No surprises to see certain posters Saturday nights spent, alone and getting furious on the internet.

It's been a swipe left week by the looks of it. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 01:45:18    2202656

I find all great arguments are ended by "suck it up folks".

In all seriousness this sort of blinkered self righteousness is what the rest of the country finds so frustrating about a large proportion of Dublin fans.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 30/06/2019 05:10:07    2202669

Replying To jimbodub:  "Chief..

That's all up to you.

Feck off out of that!

Daft."
Super number 1 Dub fan.......

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 30/06/2019 08:06:04    2202680

Replying To realdub:  "When I said I agree I touched off 'post' in error, I agree with the home games in the super 8s but I don't for a minute believe it compromises our current success but it could lead to that in the near future. Sort out the finances and let's play ball.
Only time will tell how much different things can be."
Your leader Jimbo speaks and you back track??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 30/06/2019 08:07:18    2202681

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Your leader Jimbo speaks and you back track??"
Haha give over. Jimbo is not the leader. I am :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/06/2019 09:53:05    2202717

Replying To TheUsername:  "No surprises to see certain posters Saturday nights spent, alone and getting furious on the internet.

It's been a swipe left week by the looks of it. :D"
Or working perhaps. I know probably an alien concept in the welfare city.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/06/2019 09:56:51    2202722

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Your leader Jimbo speaks and you back track??"
Some of the Dublin supporters now have become unbearably arrogant and superior in attitude - we'll have to move out if they win the 5 in a row!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 30/06/2019 10:31:49    2202741

Replying To TheUsername:  "No surprises to see certain posters Saturday nights spent, alone and getting furious on the internet.

It's been a swipe left week by the looks of it. :D"
Must be after all you posted the above at 1:30am last night :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/06/2019 10:33:32    2202744

Replying To greysoil:  "Or working perhaps. I know probably an alien concept in the welfare city."
Once again, classy comment.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/06/2019 10:53:26    2202760

Replying To baire:  "Some of the Dublin supporters now have become unbearably arrogant and superior in attitude - we'll have to move out if they win the 5 in a row!"
They have won a state aided 4 in-a-row. Do they have the same respect of counties who have won without state aid?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7878 - 30/06/2019 11:03:39    2202767

Replying To greysoil:  "Or working perhaps. I know probably an alien concept in the welfare city."
And here we get to it, lads just wanting to have a go at Dublin or its people.

This debate definitely isn't about bitterness jealousy! ;)

The Box room mafia have spoken. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 11:33:56    2202780

Replying To TheUsername:  "And here we get to it, lads just wanting to have a go at Dublin or its people.

The Box room mafia have spoken. :D"
Well if you look at the title, I am not straying off topic. Dubs money & prejudice - think I captured all 3.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/06/2019 12:18:05    2202803

Replying To TheUsername:  "And here we get to it, lads just wanting to have a go at Dublin or its people.

The Box room mafia have spoken. :D"
This thread was started by a Dublin poster let's not forget that. So the martyrdom is not merited in this instance.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2019 12:27:17    2202807