Mayo V Armagh

Replying To TheUsername:  "Can Mayo get Galway next week?

That would be a skin and hair flying affair."
Yes. Only meath and laois are not permitted to draw each other. Super 8s is
Meath/backdoor, Galway/backdoor Kerry, Donegal.
Cork/backdoor, Cavan/backdoor, Dublin, Ross.

You could have 2 out of mayo, galway or Tyrone being in either group as qualifying backdoor teams

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2019 12:34:51    2202811

Replying To Kerry15:  "How did Armagh not score a goal when one of their players (not sure who) was through on goal with Clarke off his line. He got the point but all he had to do was keep it down and it's a different game. Also the free at the end where they could have levelled, why on earth did they not work it in. He was never going to score from there. The biggest negative for me is that we won't get to see anymore of Jarlath Og Burns. An absolute class player and one of my favourites to watch. Anyway hard luck to Armagh they are an entertaining side."
What I wouldn't do to have jarlath og on our team right now, he is 100% pure class as is rian o'neill ( my 2 young players of the year ) if Armagh can keep those 2 out of the Aussies hands then they'll be a force in a year or 2.

Congratulations to Mayo and hard luck to Armagh it's a pity one of ye had to go out last night as ye have given us fantastic entertainment this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/06/2019 12:45:17    2202817

Replying To royaldunne:  "He was in square before ball. Same thing"
No he wasn't.. watch it again

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 30/06/2019 12:57:19    2202830

Replying To moc.dna:  "The why is the Super 8's which were created for the TV rights money. The Gaa want the big teams with the big supporter base in the Super 8's as it ensures the TV rights money will be bigger & bigger. An awful display of officiating but symptomatic of what's going on in the GAA at present."
I sadly think you're correct in this observation, something didn't seem right in this game from very early on. Mayo proceed and Armagh are gone and dare anyone speak up. Super 8's is a great invention but it shouldn't be seen as just the money machine ensuring the major counties get there, even last season the GAA tried to support Mayo with taking the game from Newbridge. Every sport sees bad calls against them but to me the refs performance was so biased I understand why you made this point.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 30/06/2019 12:59:48    2202832

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo win a game and ye all day the ref won it for us and when we loose a controversial game we are told to shut up and stop moaning (limerick 14).

With out injury list it's only a matter of time before we are knocked out. For the Craic I'm hoping for a Hyde park sell out showdown with Galway."
Without knowing it, you are giving out about people using excuses about how Mayo won, yet start using excuses straight away for next weekend.. injuries? Every county has them, Comer in Galway, Crowley in Kerry, Mc Carthy in Dublin, Mc Brearty in Donegal, but we all get on with it.. In Mayo... meltdown

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 30/06/2019 13:01:48    2202833

Was at our qualifer game earlier in summer v fermanagh deegan in charge. Wasn't a great game but deegan didn't help at all not allowing play to develop or attacking teams to have an advantage after a foul. Game was fierce stop start as a result. Think some of these refs are around the place bit too long and are exempt from proper evaluation of performance.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 30/06/2019 13:02:24    2202834

Replying To Belclare:  "My God Mayo scrape home, they ref was grand... Mayo lose , meltdown about refs..
Starting time doesn't suit Mayo.... meltdown from Mayo ..
No issues from Armagh fans.
Injuries in Mayo training, meltdown from Mayo fans,
All other counties with injuries, everyone doesn't moan.."
And the man who posts more about Mayo than most of the posters from Mayo? Belclare. I never moan or blame refs after a loss, look up any of my posts. You seem to be trawling Mayo forums I your spare time finding the ones who are moaning, you need to get a hobby bud, your obsession with Mayo is a bit weird.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 30/06/2019 13:16:22    2202840

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo win a game and ye all day the ref won it for us and when we loose a controversial game we are told to shut up and stop moaning (limerick 14).

With out injury list it's only a matter of time before we are knocked out. For the Craic I'm hoping for a Hyde park sell out showdown with Galway."
Didn't think Deegan was doing us any favours during the game, but being impartial is nigh impossible in the heat of battle when your own team is involved. I checked the comments on here when I came home and thought I was missing something obvious and that Armagh were robbed. I sat down with my cup of hot cocoa and watched the entire match again rewinding any potentially controversial bits, trying as best I could to analyse will my neutral hat on and still came to the conclusion that Deegan didn't do us any favours. There were a couple of calls that could have gone either way but we lost as many as we gained. I then went back and had a closer look at the posters complaining about Deegan. A few from Armagh, understandable as you always look for reasons when you lose narrowly and any decisions you felt that went against you are magnified. A couple from the Ros, no surprise there and a few from Galway which is even less of a surprise. Then there was Clondalkin our number one fan, and a lad from Wexford who once posted that his happiest day in football was the day Mayo were knocked out. The only thing that has me worried is Belclare, whose impartiality can't be called into question, but I consoled myself with the thought that he might have had his wrong glasses on. Wouldn't agree with you on drawing Galway as we are missing too many key players to beat them. Oh sorry I forgot I wasn't supposed to mention our injuries. I think Cork would be too energetic for us so my preference would be either Cavan or Meath against whom we would have a fifty, fifty chance. I would like to get to the super eights to give our young lads some exposure to the big time but we would get destroyed by Dublin, Donegal, Kerry or Tyrone. Horan was given a four year term and a League title and reaching the super eights would be reasonable for year one.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/06/2019 13:31:38    2202850

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Because it's sport. Business is called business because it's business. Bananas are called bananas......."
Sport is Business.......once you mention money it is no longer sport to me. Sport was originally played for fun and enertainment.

Rayo1 (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 30/06/2019 13:53:36    2202863

You simply have to hand it to this Mayo team , they just never know when they are beaten.
Hopefully Meath will avoid them on Monday because i can see them going up a few notches when they get to croke park.
They always do,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 30/06/2019 13:55:57    2202865

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Yes. In The Hyde. Is Damien Comer back? He'll bring them a massive boost. Not just a class footballer but a great leader who leads by example."
Cheers GreenandRed wasnt sure!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 14:02:02    2202870

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Didn't think Deegan was doing us any favours during the game, but being impartial is nigh impossible in the heat of battle when your own team is involved. I checked the comments on here when I came home and thought I was missing something obvious and that Armagh were robbed. I sat down with my cup of hot cocoa and watched the entire match again rewinding any potentially controversial bits, trying as best I could to analyse will my neutral hat on and still came to the conclusion that Deegan didn't do us any favours. There were a couple of calls that could have gone either way but we lost as many as we gained. I then went back and had a closer look at the posters complaining about Deegan. A few from Armagh, understandable as you always look for reasons when you lose narrowly and any decisions you felt that went against you are magnified. A couple from the Ros, no surprise there and a few from Galway which is even less of a surprise. Then there was Clondalkin our number one fan, and a lad from Wexford who once posted that his happiest day in football was the day Mayo were knocked out. The only thing that has me worried is Belclare, whose impartiality can't be called into question, but I consoled myself with the thought that he might have had his wrong glasses on. Wouldn't agree with you on drawing Galway as we are missing too many key players to beat them. Oh sorry I forgot I wasn't supposed to mention our injuries. I think Cork would be too energetic for us so my preference would be either Cavan or Meath against whom we would have a fifty, fifty chance. I would like to get to the super eights to give our young lads some exposure to the big time but we would get destroyed by Dublin, Donegal, Kerry or Tyrone. Horan was given a four year term and a League title and reaching the super eights would be reasonable for year one."
I agree I watched the game last night I think Deegan is a awful referee. But I dont understand where all this Deegan won it for Mayo is coming from.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 30/06/2019 14:13:26    2202877

Replying To BeJasus:  "You simply have to hand it to this Mayo team , they just never know when they are beaten.
Hopefully Meath will avoid them on Monday because i can see them going up a few notches when they get to croke park.
They always do,"
If Meath draw them it wont be in CP

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/06/2019 14:20:37    2202879

Replying To Belclare:  "Without knowing it, you are giving out about people using excuses about how Mayo won, yet start using excuses straight away for next weekend.. injuries? Every county has them, Comer in Galway, Crowley in Kerry, Mc Carthy in Dublin, Mc Brearty in Donegal, but we all get on with it.. In Mayo... meltdown"
Until Galway start inspiring the generation kids of today with some decent football , they will be always classed as 2nd tier outfit amongst the big fish in today's elitism in sport.
Thought Tomas o Sheas view on Galway was spot on.
Fear.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 30/06/2019 14:23:32    2202880

Replying To waynoI:  "If Meath draw them it wont be in CP"
you wouldn't rule out a double header either.
HQ will be looking to make some money.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 30/06/2019 14:31:20    2202887

Replying To BeJasus:  "you wouldn't rule out a double header either.
HQ will be looking to make some money."
Westlife next weekend in croker so my wife says.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 30/06/2019 14:52:57    2202897

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Westlife next weekend in croker so my wife says."
Didn't know that
cheers

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 30/06/2019 15:02:22    2202901

Replying To Belclare:  "Without knowing it, you are giving out about people using excuses about how Mayo won, yet start using excuses straight away for next weekend.. injuries? Every county has them, Comer in Galway, Crowley in Kerry, Mc Carthy in Dublin, Mc Brearty in Donegal, but we all get on with it.. In Mayo... meltdown"
You can't win...if I say mayo 4 Sam I'm deluded and if I right our chances off I'm giving early excuses....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 30/06/2019 15:49:01    2202928

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Didn't think Deegan was doing us any favours during the game, but being impartial is nigh impossible in the heat of battle when your own team is involved. I checked the comments on here when I came home and thought I was missing something obvious and that Armagh were robbed. I sat down with my cup of hot cocoa and watched the entire match again rewinding any potentially controversial bits, trying as best I could to analyse will my neutral hat on and still came to the conclusion that Deegan didn't do us any favours. There were a couple of calls that could have gone either way but we lost as many as we gained. I then went back and had a closer look at the posters complaining about Deegan. A few from Armagh, understandable as you always look for reasons when you lose narrowly and any decisions you felt that went against you are magnified. A couple from the Ros, no surprise there and a few from Galway which is even less of a surprise. Then there was Clondalkin our number one fan, and a lad from Wexford who once posted that his happiest day in football was the day Mayo were knocked out. The only thing that has me worried is Belclare, whose impartiality can't be called into question, but I consoled myself with the thought that he might have had his wrong glasses on. Wouldn't agree with you on drawing Galway as we are missing too many key players to beat them. Oh sorry I forgot I wasn't supposed to mention our injuries. I think Cork would be too energetic for us so my preference would be either Cavan or Meath against whom we would have a fifty, fifty chance. I would like to get to the super eights to give our young lads some exposure to the big time but we would get destroyed by Dublin, Donegal, Kerry or Tyrone. Horan was given a four year term and a League title and reaching the super eights would be reasonable for year one."
Agreed. He got a few things wrong. But cost no one the game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2019 16:25:24    2202957

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Westlife next weekend in croker so my wife says."
Yeah the wife. :). We both know it is you who is going. Lol.
Seriously though you have my sympathy. Had to go with herself to take that. So I can imagine your pain.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2019 16:29:49    2202962