Mayo V Armagh

Replying To Belclare:  "Because he ran in.."
He was in square before ball. Same thing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2019 08:19:10    2202687

Armagh are a lovely team to watch. There's a very good team in there somewhere in the next few years I think.

It was always going to be a big ask for them to go to Castlebar and get the win.

Well done Mayo, still standing! They'll beat any of the beaten provincial finalists I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 30/06/2019 08:22:35    2202688

No team can cope with an injury list like mayo have now.
Even the dubs would be adversely affected by losing so many important players
Armagh were very unlucky but really should have been able to see off an injury hit mayo
Hope they drive on next year .. time will tell
Think mayo will fall at next hurdle
Hopefully soneone can give the dubs a match in super 8s and season doesnt peter out

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 30/06/2019 09:21:27    2202706

Congrats to Mayo and commiserations to Armagh. I was wrong about Armagh. I didn't see them having much of a chance against Mayo. I didn't see the game but it a seems that Armagh, in a thrilling game, could consider themselves a bit unlucky not to have won it. McGeeney's term is up but it would be a pity if he didn't continue with the development of this team. Mayo need a relatively easy draw in the next round as they wait to get some of their injured players back.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/06/2019 09:46:11    2202714

Replying To royaldunne:  "He was in square before ball. Same thing"
he has to be in the square before the ball was kicked I think. ( a bit like the offside rule in soccer)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/06/2019 09:55:41    2202720

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was at the game and watched it back this morning. Deegan didn't seem over controversial and watching it back there certainly isn't a case for saying he cost Armagh the game. Armagh seemed annoyed by almost every decision. They were constantly getting penalised for 2 man tackles then complaining about it. The incidents where Deegan gave a free or moved the ball forward for off the ball stuff were proven to be the right decisions when looking at the replays. Please point out these clear mistakes Deegan made costing Armagh the game.

Belclare and a couple of Rossies of course saying Mayo were handed the game by the ref. The same lads who sneer at Mayo posters for any mention of a ref in defeat. Fantastic double standards!"
My God Mayo scrape home, they ref was grand... Mayo lose , meltdown about refs..
Starting time doesn't suit Mayo.... meltdown from Mayo ..
No issues from Armagh fans.
Injuries in Mayo training, meltdown from Mayo fans,
All other counties with injuries, everyone doesn't moan..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 30/06/2019 10:25:11    2202733

Replying To sam1884:  "When a number of different counties mention the performance of a referee then there has to be something in it. With all the work teams put into the Championship the referees can derail a season unfairly, probably one of the most one sided performances I've seen it a while you'd have to ask why!"
The why is the Super 8's which were created for the TV rights money. The Gaa want the big teams with the big supporter base in the Super 8's as it ensures the TV rights money will be bigger & bigger. An awful display of officiating but symptomatic of what's going on in the GAA at present.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 30/06/2019 10:31:53    2202742

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was at the game and watched it back this morning. Deegan didn't seem over controversial and watching it back there certainly isn't a case for saying he cost Armagh the game. Armagh seemed annoyed by almost every decision. They were constantly getting penalised for 2 man tackles then complaining about it. The incidents where Deegan gave a free or moved the ball forward for off the ball stuff were proven to be the right decisions when looking at the replays. Please point out these clear mistakes Deegan made costing Armagh the game.

Belclare and a couple of Rossies of course saying Mayo were handed the game by the ref. The same lads who sneer at Mayo posters for any mention of a ref in defeat. Fantastic double standards!"
I would agree with that, its a bit over the top.

The thing that i cant get over, is when Mayo are 5 up, how come there not dropping men back. Still going man to man in the full back line, is madness.
Horan needs to learn some game management.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 30/06/2019 10:36:57    2202746

Replying To moc.dna:  "The why is the Super 8's which were created for the TV rights money. The Gaa want the big teams with the big supporter base in the Super 8's as it ensures the TV rights money will be bigger & bigger. An awful display of officiating but symptomatic of what's going on in the GAA at present."
Mayo win a game and ye all day the ref won it for us and when we loose a controversial game we are told to shut up and stop moaning (limerick 14).

With out injury list it's only a matter of time before we are knocked out. For the Craic I'm hoping for a Hyde park sell out showdown with Galway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 30/06/2019 10:49:56    2202757

Was the square ball not changed? As long as you are outside the square when the ball is passed you are ok. Rian O'Neill was outside the square when the ball was laid off.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 30/06/2019 10:56:04    2202763

Are the next round games at neutral venues?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 30/06/2019 11:22:26    2202777

The rule is you can't be in the square before the pass is made

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 30/06/2019 11:34:07    2202781

Replying To moc.dna:  "The why is the Super 8's which were created for the TV rights money. The Gaa want the big teams with the big supporter base in the Super 8's as it ensures the TV rights money will be bigger & bigger. An awful display of officiating but symptomatic of what's going on in the GAA at present."
Absolutely.......same with Henry and the handball with France. The GAA would love nothing more than mayo to win sam. Sport is business.....I don't know why they even call it sport anymore.

Rayo1 (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 30/06/2019 11:34:37    2202782

Everyone's entitled to their view, but I'd like to see the allegation of one-sidedness backed up by stats rather than the reaction of Armagh players to every decision. From what I recall both counties got about 7 or 8 scoreable frees and converted 4. There seemed to be a fair bit of niggle off the ball, but I wasn't there to judge who was more culpable, however I think the yellow card count for both sides was pretty even with no blacks or reds, so nothing too controversial there.

The only reason why Mayo won by just a single point was the gift of 3 unforced turnovers which Armagh converted into scores when closing the gap from 5 points to 1. We didn't mind the ball. I won't mention whether their goal should have stood or not, because it did. I can only envy Dubs supporters the coma inducing reliability of their team... my nerves are frazzled every game... they're too friggin entertaining... I could do with the odd bore-fest!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/06/2019 11:51:35    2202786

Can Mayo get Galway next week?

That would be a skin and hair flying affair.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 11:57:26    2202790

The Ref is not one of my favourites, but he did not decide the result. Great game of entertaining football.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/06/2019 12:10:52    2202799

Ignorance can give a lad strong opinions alright.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/06/2019 12:17:22    2202802

Replying To Rayo1:  "Absolutely.......same with Henry and the handball with France. The GAA would love nothing more than mayo to win sam. Sport is business.....I don't know why they even call it sport anymore."
Because it's sport. Business is called business because it's business. Bananas are called bananas.......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 30/06/2019 12:18:31    2202804

Replying To Belclare:  "My God Mayo scrape home, they ref was grand... Mayo lose , meltdown about refs..
Starting time doesn't suit Mayo.... meltdown from Mayo ..
No issues from Armagh fans.
Injuries in Mayo training, meltdown from Mayo fans,
All other counties with injuries, everyone doesn't moan.."
Haha no other county moans about injuries, every Galway loss this year has been put down to yer long injury list..you especially love listing out a team thats made up of lads out injured..your some craic

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 30/06/2019 12:23:06    2202805

Replying To TheUsername:  "Can Mayo get Galway next week?

That would be a skin and hair flying affair."
Yes. In The Hyde. Is Damien Comer back? He'll bring them a massive boost. Not just a class footballer but a great leader who leads by example.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 30/06/2019 12:32:56    2202810