Donegal Population Not Big Enough

A few wouldn't be sorry to see him gone from the Leitrim club scene as far as I know.

KimJongUn (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 25/06/2019 15:16:46    2200668

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "Shannonview this is embarrassing. Donegal are in no way to blame for this.
Paul Brennan was not headhunted by Donegal. He went to Bundoran because his partners father was managing Bundoran. He comes from Kinlough which is only a mile or 2 from Bundoran. Theres also more to the story but I won't print it here. Ask some people involved in reffing in Leitrim and they might fill you in.
Cut and dried this conversation should be over."
When did I say he was headhunted?
I just puts stats together. It is up to everyone to have their opinion. I never said headhunted.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 15:20:05    2200674

Replying To Shannonview:  "I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000
My dear neighbours from Donegal have a population of 159000 thus a male population of 79500.
Referring to the last census 47% of the population are aged 45 or over.

Calculating this tells me that the Leitrim team is picked out of every 565 men.
Our beloved neighbours (tongue in cheek) Donegal team is picked from every 2809 men.

Oh dear that's not a big enough pick for the lads from the hills!!! Low and behold they now have a former Leitrim club player and he played for the Leitrim county team. Paul Brennan is his name.

Alas when the final whistle went in Clones yesterday and Donegal were kings of Ulster 7% of the team were not Donegal men.

Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!"
Nonsense. What about the Iraqi living in Dublin playing for Leitrim?

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 25/06/2019 15:21:11    2200675

Replying To totalrecall:  "Churlish post, did ya just get your summer hols from primary school???........Paul Brennan' s missus is Donegal greatseamie granaghan's daughter and they live in bundoran, so what exactly is your point???....if you have one that is"
I know seamie very well . Nice man . I just can't get your point. Confused so if McManus from the Monaghan team partner was from Boyle he would play for the Rossies!!!

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 15:25:09    2200678

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "http://www.donegalsporthub.com/paul-brennan-donegal-switch-wasnt-talked-about-but-i-wouldnt-turn-them-down/

Yep - according to this.

Though think he lived in Leitrim and went to school in Bundoran."
National school kinlough. Lived just outside the village.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 15:26:50    2200682

Replying To Shannonview:  "National school kinlough. Lived just outside the village."
Are you complaining about this? If he wasn't headhunted by dl then is the purpose of your thread to have a go at Brennan for playing for donegal?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 15:49:40    2200698

Replying To Shannonview:  "National school kinlough. Lived just outside the village."
I'm interested to know what kind of reaction you've gotten from the room at the Melvin Gaels AGM. A man so impassioned must be raising this issue yearly.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 384 - 25/06/2019 16:29:52    2200719

ill tell you this he is one good player, bonner seems to like him a lot. nearly always gets game time. a real wholehearted player.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 25/06/2019 16:40:48    2200726

Replying To Shannonview:  "Oh dear have I touched a nerve.
I feel there was a hint of sarcasm out of your reply.
I believe that military ammunition was not used.
Just ponder this. Wouldn't it of been wonderful if last Sunday's Donegal team consisted of all 15 players been from Bundoran to Malin.
Again sorry for touching a nerve by been truthful."
Oh yes I have been almost mortally wounded by your incisive barbs and wit.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 25/06/2019 16:45:51    2200728

Replying To summerof09:  "Nonsense. What about the Iraqi living in Dublin playing for Leitrim?"
In fairness not many in the Iraqi hurling community seem too bothered that he abandoned them....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 25/06/2019 16:52:25    2200731

Just after doing some research in relation to where one of the Donegal !!! players is living
Research finds this player is living in Kinlough Co Leitrim

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 21:23:52    2200913

Replying To Shannonview:  "Just after doing some research in relation to where one of the Donegal !!! players is living
Research finds this player is living in Kinlough Co Leitrim"
Ok u win. Take him back so.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 21:45:14    2200931

Replying To Shannonview:  "Just after doing some research in relation to where one of the Donegal !!! players is living
Research finds this player is living in Kinlough Co Leitrim"
Worse than that 4 2012 Sam winners were living in Dublin including the captain.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 25/06/2019 22:12:10    2200954

Replying To Donegalman:  "Ok u win. Take him back so."
Never said we would take him back. Just stating facts

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2019 22:33:55    2200975

Replying To Shannonview:  "Never said we would take him back. Just stating facts"
Some disgruntled Melvin Gaels idiot on a wind-up mission, kinlough is full of them, idiots that is....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 25/06/2019 23:30:57    2201000

Replying To joeteor:  "Worse than that 4 2012 Sam winners were living in Dublin including the captain."
Them 4 player's. Did they play for another county as well as Donegal?

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 26/06/2019 09:03:48    2201062

Replying To jimbodub:  ""Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of.."

Bet I could counter claim every one of them and you'd be lucky to get 10 reasons"
The accent alone, means Donegal wins this by a country mile.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2019 14:44:29    2201274

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "The accent alone, means Donegal wins this by a country mile."
Ooooooh...agreed :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 14:46:08    2201277

Just thinking there will be naturally great celebrations if Donegal advance in the super 8.
A county known for their singing talent surely will have a wee sing song.
Wee Daniel will be busy singing for all involved in the team on field and selectors.
Ah sure of course he will sing "the hills of Donegal". And for Brennan. " Lovely Leitrim " and for Rochford. " The boys from the Co Mayo.
Ye are like the united nations.
Oh I nearly forgot. A guy called Brogan used to play for Donegal.
Now this guy was from either Glenties, Inver, Knock or Castlebar.
I know there were a few minor tremors around Ballintra and Ballyshannon a few months ago.
As well as the minor quake tremors., it must of developed a magnetic field because there are parts of all involved in that Donegal!!!team from far and near.
It must be confusing at the training.
There are guys there who would not know the lingo.
Wee ball!!! How are yous!!! " eye you right!!!

Good love them.

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 27/06/2019 09:13:06    2201576

Replying To Shannonview:  "Just thinking there will be naturally great celebrations if Donegal advance in the super 8.
A county known for their singing talent surely will have a wee sing song.
Wee Daniel will be busy singing for all involved in the team on field and selectors.
Ah sure of course he will sing "the hills of Donegal". And for Brennan. " Lovely Leitrim " and for Rochford. " The boys from the Co Mayo.
Ye are like the united nations.
Oh I nearly forgot. A guy called Brogan used to play for Donegal.
Now this guy was from either Glenties, Inver, Knock or Castlebar.
I know there were a few minor tremors around Ballintra and Ballyshannon a few months ago.
As well as the minor quake tremors., it must of developed a magnetic field because there are parts of all involved in that Donegal!!!team from far and near.
It must be confusing at the training.
There are guys there who would not know the lingo.
Wee ball!!! How are yous!!! " eye you right!!!

Good love them."
Very good, we will indeed be singing if we get through the Super 8's.

What is your point here? Is it that no player should be allowed to play for more than one county? Or is it that you see Paul Brennan as disloyal to Leitrim? I know for a fact that Leitrim were trying to entice dublin club players with Leitrim heritage to play for them, I don't see much wrong with that to be honest.

Paul Brennan was playing club football in Donegal with Bundoran for a few years before he made the Donegal panel. Surely it would be mad of Declan Bonner not to pick him. The GAA saw fit to approve his transfer to the Bundoran club, can't blame Bonner for picking him.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 27/06/2019 11:08:34    2201631