Donegal Population Not Big Enough

I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000
My dear neighbours from Donegal have a population of 159000 thus a male population of 79500.
Referring to the last census 47% of the population are aged 45 or over.

Calculating this tells me that the Leitrim team is picked out of every 565 men.
Our beloved neighbours (tongue in cheek) Donegal team is picked from every 2809 men.

Oh dear that's not a big enough pick for the lads from the hills!!! Low and behold they now have a former Leitrim club player and he played for the Leitrim county team. Paul Brennan is his name.

Alas when the final whistle went in Clones yesterday and Donegal were kings of Ulster 7% of the team were not Donegal men.

Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 24/06/2019 18:07:20    2200110

Replying To Shannonview:  "I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000
My dear neighbours from Donegal have a population of 159000 thus a male population of 79500.

Our beloved neighbours (tongue in cheek) Donegal team is picked from every 2809 men.

Oh dear that's not a big enough pick for the lads from the hills!!! Low and behold they now have a former Leitrim club player and he played for the Leitrim county team. Paul Brennan is his name.

Alas when the final whistle went in Clones yesterday and Donegal were kings of Ulster 7% of the team were not Donegal men.

Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!"
Larry Tomkins is a Kildare man, Martin Carney is a Donegal man, Conor Cox is a Kerry man, Colm O'Rourke is a Leitrim man, Declan Darcy is a Dublin man. What's your point?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 24/06/2019 19:39:36    2200189

Replying To Shannonview:  "I am from Co Leitrim a population of 32000 thus a male population of 16000

Pride of the parish and pride of the county is a great GAA ethos. Sadly not applicable to Donegal!!!!!"
pride of the parish etc sounds wonderful when the parish is providing you with a living. this is hardly a new thing. players leave their county all the time for many reasons. it would be foolish to stay only for GAA reasons. Antrim lost their best player James Loughrey to Cork. the lad moved for work and settled there. i wish him the best and hold no bad feeling about it.

it might be slightly different if it was a neighbouring county but commitment to the intercounty season is a tough enough ask without having to travel a good stretch for every session. the tone of your thread suggests bitterness. walk a mile in their shoes before judging or quoting silly stats. life is about more than just the parish you were born.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 24/06/2019 19:50:25    2200199

Emlyn Mulligan was born in Donegal. So it's a more than fair swap ;-)

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 24/06/2019 20:00:49    2200210

I bet you weren't complaining when Declan D'Arcy lined out for yous!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/06/2019 20:08:06    2200219

Yeah we took Paul Brennan across the border at gun point alright,,,Jaysus....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9153 - 24/06/2019 20:19:56    2200229

Probably not the best time to mention Dublin born Paddy McBreaty moving from Drimnagh to Donegal at 14.

Bad luck Paddy.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/06/2019 20:28:23    2200238

7%... you mean one player... have you got nothing else to concern yourself with? Long summer for Leitrim I understand.

For the Dub on about McBrearty, he's Donegal born and bred with just a Dublin mother, get your facts right there. Would bet my life he's glad to be Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of..

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/06/2019 20:40:42    2200249

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "7%... you mean one player... have you got nothing else to concern yourself with? Long summer for Leitrim I understand.

For the Dub on about McBrearty, he's Donegal born and bred with just a Dublin mother, get your facts right there. Would bet my life he's glad to be Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of.."
Ah here.

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2016/01/30/news/home-is-where-the-hearts-is-for-donegal-star-paddy-mcbrearty-400354/

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/06/2019 20:53:38    2200262

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "7%... you mean one player... have you got nothing else to concern yourself with? Long summer for Leitrim I understand.

For the Dub on about McBrearty, he's Donegal born and bred with just a Dublin mother, get your facts right there. Would bet my life he's glad to be Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of.."
Just to be pedantic McBrearty is actually Dublin born.

No doubting he's a Donegal man though.

Great player.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/06/2019 20:56:12    2200265

Gas seeing a culchie get his panties in a twist about Paddy Mc, sure we have to listen to the same stuff over and over again.. Paddy is a Donegal man and proud to be one.

Same logic applies to Dub players with a parent from the country.

Born and bred Dubs but doesn't stop the culchie narrative on here claiming this and that.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2019 21:05:26    2200273

"Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of.."

Bet I could counter claim every one of them and you'd be lucky to get 10 reasons

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2019 21:10:34    2200278

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gas seeing a culchie get his panties in a twist about Paddy Mc, sure we have to listen to the same stuff over and over again.. Paddy is a Donegal man and proud to be one.

Born and bred Dubs but doesn't stop the culchie narrative on here claiming this and that."
Nobody getting their panties in a twist, just pointing out that he wasn't actually 14, I was also wrong myself but he was in fact just 10 when he moved to Donegal and his dad from Kilcar anyway, so a real nothing argument.

A culchie lol, 'gas' terminology there, your parents are probably from Mayo.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/06/2019 21:25:58    2200293

We'll sure cant ye lay claim to some kind of a victory so. Jays things are bad with ye if that's all you have to be bawling about.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/06/2019 21:34:05    2200300

Replying To jimbodub:  ""Donegal for about a 100 reasons I can think of.."

Bet I could counter claim every one of them and you'd be lucky to get 10 reasons"
Whatever helps you sleep at night Jim

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/06/2019 21:40:02    2200307

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Nobody getting their panties in a twist, just pointing out that he wasn't actually 14, I was also wrong myself but he was in fact just 10 when he moved to Donegal and his dad from Kilcar anyway, so a real nothing argument.

A culchie lol, 'gas' terminology there, your parents are probably from Mayo."
True but we take Dublin children at 8, bring them to our secret financial doping development centre built into a bunker in the foothills of the Dublin mountains, fill them full of every scientific advantage known to man, give them private winged monkey butlers. Teach them the ancient art of Dublin tactical mystic arts. Multiply muscle mass by 100% and keep them submerged with ventilation masks under water for 12 hours a day to improve lung conditioning.

For free time we fill them with toast and avocado with lashing of coddle and watch tapes marked "how not to play football" aka reruns of the 2011 all Ireland Semi.

On graduation day you get a free Subaru Forester.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/06/2019 21:54:08    2200317

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Whatever helps you sleep at night Jim"
Ahh now

Don't be falling back on generic put downs

You were happy to stick your chest out and give it above

" 100 reasons blah blah blah"

Mega panty twist

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2019 21:54:39    2200318

Replying To TheUsername:  "True but we take Dublin children at 8, bring them to our secret financial doping development centre built into a bunker in the foothills of the Dublin mountains, fill them full of every scientific advantage known to man, give them private winged monkey butlers. Teach them the ancient art of Dublin tactical mystic arts. Multiply muscle mass by 100% and keep them submerged with ventilation masks under water for 12 hours a day to improve lung conditioning.

For free time we fill them with toast and avocado with lashing of coddle and watch tapes marked "how not to play football" aka reruns of the 2011 all Ireland Semi.

On graduation day you get a free Subaru Forester."
lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2019 22:08:00    2200331

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gas seeing a culchie get his panties in a twist about Paddy Mc, sure we have to listen to the same stuff over and over again.. Paddy is a Donegal man and proud to be one.

Born and bred Dubs but doesn't stop the culchie narrative on here claiming this and that."
D chulcheese r ah ih again.
Some arguments on this site are hilarious.
Sure didn't Fiji miss out on a great half back in Sean Og

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 285 - 24/06/2019 23:45:27    2200379

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh now

Don't be falling back on generic put downs

You were happy to stick your chest out and give it above

" 100 reasons blah blah blah"

Mega panty twist"
Priceless.... 100 reasons and more. We'll take our position at the top of the country, on our beautiful Atlantic coast, the sea and the mountains and healthier living environment any day. What the GAA need to do is fund each county with Dublin based country people living therein so same people can direct their money, children and time to the benefit of the county they're from. That would deal with the per capita point as well and ensure equally strong participation levels in Dublin.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 24/06/2019 23:57:18    2200380