Dublin'S Free Count

I know tis unlikely to be a major concern for Jim Gavin at the minute but there appears to be an issue in the amount of frees being awarded against Dublin.
It wasn't a whole pile of a problem for them yesterday but could it be a cause for concern when playing the bigger teams ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/06/2019 10:50:38    2199729

Replying To catch22:  "I know tis unlikely to be a major concern for Jim Gavin at the minute but there appears to be an issue in the amount of frees being awarded against Dublin.
It wasn't a whole pile of a problem for them yesterday but could it be a cause for concern when playing the bigger teams ?"
Maybe the issue is Dublins discipline ? FWIW, nah, wouldn't be a bit worried.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/06/2019 11:20:15    2199754

I only watched highlights but I would guess a lot of the frees were cynical and non card worthy in nature designed to stop Meath getting up the pitch quickly, this is a tactic used by all of the top teams but Dublin are absolutely masterful at it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/06/2019 11:31:07    2199766

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I only watched highlights but I would guess a lot of the frees were cynical and non card worthy in nature designed to stop Meath getting up the pitch quickly, this is a tactic used by all of the top teams but Dublin are absolutely masterful at it."
How did Fenton not get a black card for pulling down the Meath lad going through on goal Gerry?

It was a clear cut black as you'd ever see but nothing not even a yellow.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2019 11:38:36    2199769

Dublin's free count against tends to be high enough in general.

Tactical fouling plus GAA referee's tendencies to give more to a losing team probably explain it imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 24/06/2019 11:45:52    2199782

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How did Fenton not get a black card for pulling down the Meath lad going through on goal Gerry?

It was a clear cut black as you'd ever see but nothing not even a yellow."
so should McGill not have got a black card for his deliberate and cynical foul on O'Callaghan as he was about to shoot. (resulting in the penalty that Mannion missed).

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/06/2019 11:48:13    2199784

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "How did Fenton not get a black card for pulling down the Meath lad going through on goal Gerry?

Yes I thought the same but was it definitely a black card within the rules? I struggle with what is a black and what is a yellow to be honest.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/06/2019 11:49:01    2199785

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yes I thought the same but was it definitely a black card within the rules? I struggle with what is a black and what is a yellow to be honest."
Was it a cynical act? It looked cynical to me.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2019 11:52:54    2199788

Ref missed it.

The ref missed Jack Barry I think on Sat night below in the Park. Missed Fitzsimons wrapping up young Conlon on a couple of occasions. I'm sure plenty of players took more than 4 steps over the weekend too.

Referees are human. They always will be. Deal with it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 24/06/2019 12:01:27    2199796

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dublin's free count against tends to be high enough in general.

Tactical fouling plus GAA referee's tendencies to give more to a losing team probably explain it imo."
Meath and Dublin had a similar number of fouls but Meath hand got plenty of cards and Dublin none. The ref was a joke in this regard.

That yellow for McGill when there was two of them at it and Fenton not getting black. When a team has no chance it really makes me despair when the ref is harsh on them too.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/06/2019 12:31:09    2199825

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ref missed it.

The ref missed Jack Barry I think on Sat night below in the Park. Missed Fitzsimons wrapping up young Conlon on a couple of occasions. I'm sure plenty of players took more than 4 steps over the weekend too.

Referees are human. They always will be. Deal with it."
Dublin get their fair share of home town calls in croker.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/06/2019 12:50:34    2199849

You see exactly what you want to see.

Crying about the referee is pathetic.

In every single game of football/hurling/soccer etc your team gets some decisions and doesn't get others.

It has been and will always be the case.

You can either grow up and act like an adult and except that the referee is human or you can continue to pick out the isolated incidents the ref got wrong and cry about them.

That's everyone's choice.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 24/06/2019 13:02:04    2199859

As a neutral watching all three provincial finals at the weekend, I tthought the Ulster and Leinster finals were handled pretty well by both referees. Now, the Munster final, however...

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 24/06/2019 13:33:50    2199892

Couldn't believe that - complete cop out by the ref. Surely that was the very scenario the black card was designed to counteract? McGill similarly was lucky to get away with a yellow but no card at all for Fenton was inexplicable.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 24/06/2019 13:47:22    2199909

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Couldn't believe that - complete cop out by the ref. Surely that was the very scenario the black card was designed to counteract? McGill similarly was lucky to get away with a yellow but no card at all for Fenton was inexplicable."
The rules on it aren't very clear. Like to deliberately pull down an opponent is a black card, but if you just wrap your arms around the players waist and hold him off the ground like McEntee did to Mannion you can't be black carded. Makes no sense.

For Fenton it probably fell under the category of a hand trip which is a black card offence. I actually think the ref just completely forgot to show him a card.

For McGill it was less clear whether you'd define it as a hand trip or not. He didn't pull him, he just kinda hit into the side of him. It's a grey area. I think it should be a black card but the rules aren't clear enough on it.

It should just be a straight black card if you prevent a goal scoring opportunity no matter how you foul the opponent.

I also think refs need to start showing cards for forwards fouling defenders who have just turned over the ball. The good teams like Dublin and Kerry know when to systematically foul on turnover ball. Mannion does it quite a bit. Meath were very naive on this yesterday.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 24/06/2019 14:11:34    2199936

Replying To MesAmis:  "You see exactly what you want to see.

Crying about the referee is pathetic.

In every single game of football/hurling/soccer etc your team gets some decisions and doesn't get others.

It has been and will always be the case.

You can either grow up and act like an adult and except that the referee is human or you can continue to pick out the isolated incidents the ref got wrong and cry about them.

That's everyone's choice."
Or you can look at the stats and say it how it is. How no Dublin player picked up a card yesterday is beyond a joke.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/06/2019 14:49:41    2199974

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Or you can look at the stats and say it how it is. How no Dublin player picked up a card yesterday is beyond a joke."
Meath didn't get some calls yesterday.

Meath won't get some calls the next day as well.

Meath got some calls yesterday.

Meath will get some calls the next day.

The same as every other game of football that Meath have ever played, or will ever play.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 24/06/2019 18:15:09    2200121

Replying To MesAmis:  "Meath didn't get some calls yesterday.

Meath won't get some calls the next day as well.

Meath got some calls yesterday.

Meath will get some calls the next day.

The same as every other game of football that Meath have ever played, or will ever play."
Why is this so hard to grasp for some people?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2019 19:02:07    2200159

Replying To Jackeen:  "Why is this so hard to grasp for some people?"
I don't know Jackeen. I think it's just so ingrained in sports fandom that people no longer think logically when it comes to referees.

The amount of conversations after games that revolve around whatever decisions go against your team. Some people even after a win can't resist going after the ref for what he didn't give to their team. I see it all the time in Dalyer and on the Hill.

It's just so dumb, and makes intelligent people sound and look dumb.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 24/06/2019 20:14:23    2200224

Ah now lads a lot of the giving out about whingers is fair enough and I'm not one for conspiracy theories. But the fact is that Dublin conceded 5 more frees than Meath yet got no cards when Meath got 6 yellows and 1 black. That's a talking point in anyone's book.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 24/06/2019 20:49:42    2200257