Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I am Ewan makenna :-)"
Your as anti Dublin as he is that's for sure -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 09:44:28    2215097

Replying To legendzxix:  "Two Dublin teams will fill out Croke Park for a Leinster final. It'll be a rivalry bigger than Real Madrid v Barcelona. Surely that's a return on the GAA investment?"
Keep on dreaming lol ….

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 09:46:31    2215098

Replying To legendzxix:  "Two Dublin teams will fill out Croke Park for a Leinster final. It'll be a rivalry bigger than Real Madrid v Barcelona. Surely that's a return on the GAA investment?"
It would be yeah. Two teams from Dublin where they were previously united and their own tribe followed the blues and loved Hill 16 like it was their own house. Very similar to the Royalists v The Catalans, multi millions spent on players, pigsheads for players who swapped teams. Dublin v Dublin the GAA Classico? No chance. Surely a lot of Dublin diehards would stop going to games if that ever happened?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 23/07/2019 09:48:48    2215101

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "He really has you Dubs all riled up. Are you suggesting somebody here is him? Paranoid or what."
More then one person as it goes! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2019 09:53:23    2215104

You are aware that Madrid and Barca are different cities with different ethnicities and were on opposite sides in a recent civil war. In short, they hate each other. Unless DNS secedes and starts a war, I don't see your "rivalry" happening , ever, under any circumstances.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 23/07/2019 10:05:13    2215109

Replying To TheUsername:  "More then one person as it goes! ;)"
This is nuts, ye really think Ewan makenna is on here spying on ye ? Why because ye know so much about Dublin football? I doubt it. :-)

Some serious paranoid people on HoganStand.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/07/2019 10:14:02    2215115

Replying To steve097:  "You are aware that Madrid and Barca are different cities with different ethnicities and were on opposite sides in a recent civil war. In short, they hate each other. Unless DNS secedes and starts a war, I don't see your "rivalry" happening , ever, under any circumstances."
Haha!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/07/2019 11:06:06    2215150

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is nuts, ye really think Ewan makenna is on here spying on ye ? Why because ye know so much about Dublin football? I doubt it. :-)

Some serious paranoid people on HoganStand."
Is there ? I would suggest theirs a lot more seriously bitter anti Dublin people on HoganStand -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 11:25:25    2215168

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Lovely insult there with your name calling.

I shouldn't really respond to you that level of rudeness.

You've listed out a number of players. I said many. They have a panel of 30. Is MDMA still a science? Why is McCauley going around to primary schools a few days a week?

Many have nice gigs. Read ? Many.

Tell me did a lot of Dublin players get lovely new cars a few years ago?

Do you're best not to insult.

As I said , yous just dont get it"
Ok let's go. Of the "many" you speak of, who has been handed "very easy jobs"? I take your point on cars as a few players do get the use of a car. Sure didn't Aiden O'Sé & Keegan pick up the keys to their brand new sponsored cars yesterday as did Brogan & they are but 3 that I have seen yesterday on social media. Wouldn't begrudge them at all. MDMA was a teacher and now he works for the
North East Inner City Initiative.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2019 11:45:05    2215177

Replying To steve097:  "You are aware that Madrid and Barca are different cities with different ethnicities and were on opposite sides in a recent civil war. In short, they hate each other. Unless DNS secedes and starts a war, I don't see your "rivalry" happening , ever, under any circumstances."
I think you might want to go back and read up on your history there. Madrid fought to keep the Franco forces out during The Spanish Civil War just as Barcelona did. That war was not a Madrid v Barcelona/Catalunya affair.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2019 12:30:57    2215209

Replying To IamDonegal:  "No but it's a huge help.

It's the closest thing to professional as there is. They dont have to go doing their own funding compared to other counties. They all live in Dublin, many of them handed very easy jobs and cars.

Dubs dont really just get it. That's one of the problems.

Horan has been an embarrassment so far. But sure teams love playing in croker"
I seem to recall John Casey (Mayo wing forward in the 90's) having a car so that he could travel to training in Tralee IT from Mayo. I think it was Tralee gave him the car in their bid to win the Sigerson. It must be said that I never saw him actually driving this car

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2019 12:42:38    2215218

Replying To superbluedub:  "Keep on dreaming lol …."
The Leinster Final I speak of will be a sellout. It will complete the GAA's target of fending off rugby and soccer. No other sport will be able to dominate the capital's media coverage.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7846 - 23/07/2019 13:05:55    2215232

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ok let's go. Of the "many" you speak of, who has been handed "very easy jobs"? I take your point on cars as a few players do get the use of a car. Sure didn't Aiden O'Sé & Keegan pick up the keys to their brand new sponsored cars yesterday as did Brogan & they are but 3 that I have seen yesterday on social media. Wouldn't begrudge them at all. MDMA was a teacher and now he works for the
North East Inner City Initiative."
Sure they can just use your logic and say they know it's happening but not have anyway of proving it

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 23/07/2019 13:12:25    2215235

Replying To oneoff:  "Sure they can just use your logic and say they know it's happening but not have anyway of proving it"
Its actually quite easy to prove what the lads do. Also, if you've eyes and a twitter or instagram account you can see what players from what counties have gotten cars. Still can't put my finger on who you are but a few more posts targeting just Dubs & I'll get there. Older posters who remembers Vice?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2019 14:51:35    2215296

Replying To oneoff:  "Sure they can just use your logic and say they know it's happening but not have anyway of proving it"
Ha ha exactly.

Look it's no advantage at all.

Dubs dont have any lol. Oh dear god

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 23/07/2019 14:55:32    2215298

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Ha ha exactly.

Dubs dont have any lol. Oh dear god"
No answers then no? Thought not.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2019 15:12:50    2215303

Replying To legendzxix:  "The Leinster Final I speak of will be a sellout. It will complete the GAA's target of fending off rugby and soccer. No other sport will be able to dominate the capital's media coverage."
The Leinster Final you speak of is in your dreams , keep on dreaming lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 15:21:53    2215308

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Ha ha exactly.

Dubs dont have any lol. Oh dear god"
This thing about cars is nonsense, some of the Donegal players have them as well. Dublin do have some advantages, but the main ones, population & Croke Park, are what they are & nothing can be done about that. It's just the way it is.

Yes, rigging the Super 8's & the money that is given are a disgrace, but that is corruption at Croke Park & not Dublin's fault.

Lastly, the main reason Dublin are so successful is that they are superbly managed by Jim Gavin & have had one of the true greats, Stephen Cluxton, as their talisman. This won't last forever & when they depart, I fully expect to see Dublin coming back closer to the other counties. For many years we thought Kilkenny would rule hurling forever & Kerry would be the top guns in football. It didn't last & Dublin's dominance won't last forever either.

Don't forget they have had a number of close calls along the way & if a couple of those finals had been held in Castlebar then Mayo would be sharing top billing with them.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/07/2019 15:27:00    2215309

That sounds like putting up a smokescreen.
The allocation of funding properly and fairly is a matter of financial Ethics and Governance.
Wheather it effected results on the pitch or not is not the issue.

I would like to see the top administrators in Croke Park more concerned with the substance of how the large funds going through the organisation are dealt with and apportioned. And if past irregularities are uncovered they should be admitted and dealt with in an ethical manner.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 23/07/2019 15:40:06    2215315

Replying To Ashrules:  "That sounds like putting up a smokescreen.
The allocation of funding properly and fairly is a matter of financial Ethics and Governance.
Wheather it effected results on the pitch or not is not the issue.

I would like to see the top administrators in Croke Park more concerned with the substance of how the large funds going through the organisation are dealt with and apportioned. And if past irregularities are uncovered they should be admitted and dealt with in an ethical manner."
Who's talking about "irregularities"? There are 17 members on the GAA Management Committee from all the provinces and Education and 50+ on Central Council. Those committees make the decisions how funds are apportioned. It's one thing to question the decisions on where the money goes but it's an entirely different matter to start using words like financial irregularities and ethics and governance when there's no evidence that this needs to be even discussed

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2019 16:24:14    2215330