Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019-

Replying To JoeSoap:  "If Casement gets sorted in the next 15 years I'd be surprised. Upgrade Clones now so it's up to standard, it's a great spot and the walk through the town is magic on Ulster Final day."
Clones

Add in a pilgrimage to John Delaney Park and pay homage to the great man.

Then a meet & greet with Hugh McElvaney,

Then an Ulster Final - what more can any man or woman ask for?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 21/06/2019 10:20:05    2198234

I want loads and loads o money. Sterling.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 21/06/2019 11:13:34    2198245

Final prediction on this game:

Donegal 2-16 - 0-15 Cavan

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 21/06/2019 12:02:18    2198262

On the point about potential matchups Ned,

There's no way McGee will be on McVeety. McMenamin on him with McGee taking Madden or Galligan inside. Cavan will need to play with 3 up front so Paddy McGrath takes the 3rd man. Cavan could have a height advantage in there. Eamonn Doherty would sort that but can't see him starting ahead of those 3.

Key for Cavan in their forwards will be to get Martin Reilly into the game, and McKiernan on the end of some scoring runs, also to stop the counter at source by stalling Gallagher and R McHugh. McKiernan has to play out the field but he will have to do what he doesn't like and work to track back - do Donegal man mark him? Not at first anyway, it would be more important to curb Martin Reilly. That's why I would edge towards playing Ryan McHugh nominally at half forward and start Brennan at half back.
Niall Murray and/or Oisin Kiernan will have to defend first and then grow into the game- they have the mobility. Does Mackey start? Not for me, he needs to be on the pitch for the last 25.

Donegal have the midfield edge and to drive that home they should look to fix Killian Clarke to defensive duties by starting Ciaran Thompson at centre forward in place of McLoone. That possibly takes out Cavan's first choice marker for Michael Murphy- Faulkner will be busy on McBrearty so Moynagh may have to step up for the roving marker role. If he does a job on Murphy and Cavan win, it will be All Star in the bag for the Drumgoon man.

Cavan then have Jamie Brennan and Langan to account for. McLaughlin is sticky could do well enough on Brennan but he will need a bit of help to fully cover for pace. And what of Langan? He will drift out and not be man marked per se, but still has the quality to make the difference.

When you chop it up like that, and factor in the collective systems, it looks like Cavan could get at Donegal's full back line, Donegal can hold Cavans half forwards and win midfield, Cavan's half backs will be very busy and Donegal's full forward line can do some damage. Cavan need a rock solid system and a wildcard in attack to pull it off. Anyone for Argue at full forward??

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 21/06/2019 13:19:06    2198284

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "On the point about potential matchups Ned,

There's no way McGee will be on McVeety. McMenamin on him with McGee taking Madden or Galligan inside. Cavan will need to play with 3 up front so Paddy McGrath takes the 3rd man. Cavan could have a height advantage in there. Eamonn Doherty would sort that but can't see him starting ahead of those 3.

Key for Cavan in their forwards will be to get Martin Reilly into the game, and McKiernan on the end of some scoring runs, also to stop the counter at source by stalling Gallagher and R McHugh. McKiernan has to play out the field but he will have to do what he doesn't like and work to track back - do Donegal man mark him? Not at first anyway, it would be more important to curb Martin Reilly. That's why I would edge towards playing Ryan McHugh nominally at half forward and start Brennan at half back.
Niall Murray and/or Oisin Kiernan will have to defend first and then grow into the game- they have the mobility. Does Mackey start? Not for me, he needs to be on the pitch for the last 25.

Donegal have the midfield edge and to drive that home they should look to fix Killian Clarke to defensive duties by starting Ciaran Thompson at centre forward in place of McLoone. That possibly takes out Cavan's first choice marker for Michael Murphy- Faulkner will be busy on McBrearty so Moynagh may have to step up for the roving marker role. If he does a job on Murphy and Cavan win, it will be All Star in the bag for the Drumgoon man.

Cavan then have Jamie Brennan and Langan to account for. McLaughlin is sticky could do well enough on Brennan but he will need a bit of help to fully cover for pace. And what of Langan? He will drift out and not be man marked per se, but still has the quality to make the difference.

When you chop it up like that, and factor in the collective systems, it looks like Cavan could get at Donegal's full back line, Donegal can hold Cavans half forwards and win midfield, Cavan's half backs will be very busy and Donegal's full forward line can do some damage. Cavan need a rock solid system and a wildcard in attack to pull it off. Anyone for Argue at full forward??"
Good post Eddie. Think you're talking yourself into Donegal having just a bit too much quality. Even if your match-ups for Cavan work there are still too many good players with the right experience in this Donegal team. McFadden drops back to protect the full-back line which would negate any Cavan advantage there - this also releases McHugh and Ban to get forward. If Donegal win midfield and their half-back line is in command it will give them the platform to launch attacks. I don't think Moynagh would be big enough or strong enough to stifle Murphy - the only chance here is if Murphy gets frustrated and launches some of his ill-timed challenges and goes in the book early. I can't see Argue getting a start - maybe a last 20 minutes. Caomhin O'Reilly is one lad I'd like to see starting - he stood out in Ballybofey last year but has had injuries to deal with. I think Donegal are just about 5 or 6 points better than Cavan at this point but in Mickey we must trust.

Looking forward to it with two great bunches of fans.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 21/06/2019 14:27:23    2198302

When you chop it up like that, and factor in the collective systems, it looks like Cavan could get at Donegal's full back line, Donegal can hold Cavans half forwards and win midfield, Cavan's half backs will be very busy and Donegal's full forward line can do some damage. Cavan need a rock solid system and a wildcard in attack to pull it off. Anyone for Argue at full forward??"
V impressive analysis from a neutral to be fair to ya. I think your spot on with most of your points. I think there are some very interesting match ups all across the field and I think it will come down to one or two big individual performances on the day to bring home the cup. That could easily be McKiernan and McVeety or McHugh and Murphy. I can see this being a game where McBrearty really catches fire in this championship and could pop or 7-8 scores. I've got great belief in our backs but this is their sternest task yet.

Whoever grabs the goal or goals in this match will be well on their way to lifting the cup and apart from M. Reilly's peno vs Monaghan, Cavan haven't really carried a goal threat so far. This could be their downfall Sunday unfortunately.

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 21/06/2019 14:29:12    2198303

There's a man that needs to be doing a podcast. Better than any of the previews I've heard or watched. Brilliant stuff.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/06/2019 14:40:15    2198307

If we had Mc Neilis, Stephen Mc Brearty, Carroll and O Reily for impact like previous years I'd think this game would be a no brainer. Do we lack attacking threat from the bench is my only question regarding this vgood Donegal team and how far they can go. Ie beat the Dubs. We have some young talent on the bench who I am dying to see.

In regards to the game, I think Donegal will win by 3-20 to 0-12 if they go for Cavan. If it's a defensive game something along the lines of 1-19 to 0-10.

Don't think people gave Donegal enough credit the last day. The only thing that concerns me is reaching the emotional level of the previous game as Tyrone were a main target for 10 months. If they fail to reach these standards my prediction will look silly.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 21/06/2019 15:25:52    2198322

Replying To TheRock2121:  "If we had Mc Neilis, Stephen Mc Brearty, Carroll and O Reily for impact like previous years I'd think this game would be a no brainer. Do we lack attacking threat from the bench is my only question regarding this vgood Donegal team and how far they can go. Ie beat the Dubs. We have some young talent on the bench who I am dying to see.

In regards to the game, I think Donegal will win by 3-20 to 0-12 if they go for Cavan. If it's a defensive game something along the lines of 1-19 to 0-10.

Don't think people gave Donegal enough credit the last day. The only thing that concerns me is reaching the emotional level of the previous game as Tyrone were a main target for 10 months. If they fail to reach these standards my prediction will look silly."
So anywhere between a 12 and 17 point win for Donegal?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 21/06/2019 15:43:45    2198326

Replying To opa01:  "So anywhere between a 12 and 17 point win for Donegal?"
Very optimistic. Most of us wouldn't be thinking that way at all . A 6 point win would be the most we would manage in my view and a 1 point win will be amazing. Ulster title at stake, massive prize and a win is a win. I'm sure Cavan is buzzing this weekend! The talent is certainly there and you're a coming team. Dangerous opposition.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/06/2019 15:52:27    2198332

I think this Ulster title means the world to this panel because we've been in a lot of finals this decade but haven't as good a record as our teams may suggest we should have.

As was mentioned by Eddie I think our performance against Fermanagh was supremely impressive considering we only had 1 point on the scoreboard at 20 minutes gone. That game couldn't have panned out more perfectly for a team like Fermanagh in those first exchanges, but we worked through it and won comfortably in the end.

Really, we should win on Sunday and as long as every man that comes onto the pitch on Sunday is at the same level of desire and focus as their Cavan counterparts, the higher quality of Donegal across the pitch should win out. But that's the key battle in my opinion - are we laser focussed and able to match Cavan in that way? I think we are after the 2 impressive performances so far, so I think we will win with a few to spare. But anything can happen on the day, a freak injury, a red card to a key man, quickfire goals - anything. Enjoy the day folks hopefully it's a cracker!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 21/06/2019 16:14:28    2198340

Replying To TheRock2121:  "If we had Mc Neilis, Stephen Mc Brearty, Carroll and O Reily for impact like previous years I'd think this game would be a no brainer. Do we lack attacking threat from the bench is my only question regarding this vgood Donegal team and how far they can go. Ie beat the Dubs. We have some young talent on the bench who I am dying to see.

Don't think people gave Donegal enough credit the last day. The only thing that concerns me is reaching the emotional level of the previous game as Tyrone were a main target for 10 months. If they fail to reach these standards my prediction will look silly."
but you had all those lads last year at home in ballybofey against a cavan team in disarray and beat us by 8. we were minus mc Veety and Martin Reilly our two form players this year. You played in div 1 last year versus div 2 this year.
anyway for the record i'd be going for a Donegal win no doubt about it, but some of these predictions are wild and lack a lot of depth of thought.
time will tell as to whether the entire media, most of the country and most of Donegal read too much into the Tyrone victory. I certainly hope so!!!!!
that aside i wrote on the donegal forum how i was looking forward to the game and the craic with the Donegal people, I have a lot of friends from Donegal and the last week or so has been great!!!! safe journey down to all

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/06/2019 16:43:55    2198352

Replying To theweanling:  "but you had all those lads last year at home in ballybofey against a cavan team in disarray and beat us by 8. we were minus mc Veety and Martin Reilly our two form players this year. You played in div 1 last year versus div 2 this year.
anyway for the record i'd be going for a Donegal win no doubt about it, but some of these predictions are wild and lack a lot of depth of thought.
time will tell as to whether the entire media, most of the country and most of Donegal read too much into the Tyrone victory. I certainly hope so!!!!!
that aside i wrote on the donegal forum how i was looking forward to the game and the craic with the Donegal people, I have a lot of friends from Donegal and the last week or so has been great!!!! safe journey down to all"
It would be no shock if Cavan win. Vast majority in Donegal expecting a tough encounter. Media are making us into Dublin's main challenger and we have a hell of a way to go before we are in that space.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/06/2019 17:10:36    2198355

Rock must've gone for a liquid lunch today, never mind him. It'll be a he'll of a lot closer than that. Hopefully it'll be a good tight game. I predict Donegal by 4, but would gladly settle for 1 if my nerves can stick it. Best of luck to yiz, and I'd love to see yiz in the Super 8's, it would certainly bring a great buzz to the format, and to Cavan.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 21/06/2019 17:10:53    2198356

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "It would be no shock if Cavan win. Vast majority in Donegal expecting a tough encounter. Media are making us into Dublin's main challenger and we have a hell of a way to go before we are in that space."
That would exactly be my fear if I was from donegal. The media and a lot of amateur pundits are already putting you as the challengers to Dublin. As I said I'd tip donegal to beat Cavan. But making wild predictions like that before an ulster final aren't wise. Genuine donegal supporters would be wincing. The conversation regarding the dubs is for Monday

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/06/2019 20:58:00    2198415

Yes.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 21/06/2019 21:06:36    2198420

Just a prediction lads. No harm being confident or playing the cute hoor. Double digits as I said.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 21/06/2019 21:09:29    2198421

Replying To theweanling:  "That would exactly be my fear if I was from donegal. The media and a lot of amateur pundits are already putting you as the challengers to Dublin. As I said I'd tip donegal to beat Cavan. But making wild predictions like that before an ulster final aren't wise. Genuine donegal supporters would be wincing. The conversation regarding the dubs is for Monday"
Strange as same media concentrated on how poor Tyrone were rather than what Donegal did. I think the first half was as good as I have seen Donegal against a top side since 2012. As for Sunday most opinions in the media been pretty balanced of what I have heard. As I said already I expect a competitive game but Donegal by 4 plus.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/06/2019 00:58:36    2198468

Replying To panamasam:  "Strange as same media concentrated on how poor Tyrone were rather than what Donegal did. I think the first half was as good as I have seen Donegal against a top side since 2012. As for Sunday most opinions in the media been pretty balanced of what I have heard. As I said already I expect a competitive game but Donegal by 4 plus."
A big factor in Donegal's tactical improvement, especially against Tyrone, has to go down to Rochford. He seems to have added a dimension that was missing & there is now a top class backroom team under Declan.

I will be very interested in seeing how Donegal set up against Cavan who are, tactically, a very different challenge to Tyrone.

I don't think we will need Hugh playing the sweeper role he was so effective in against Cavan as they are unlikely to feed as much early ball into big full forwards & it will be intriguing to see how he will be used.

Getting excited about this team, but trying to keep a hat on it at the same time.

Not easy!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/06/2019 13:54:47    2198566

Unfortunately looks like it's going to be a complete washout tomorrow. Heavy thundery downpours predicted throughout the day. Don't know who that will suit more? Pity as I think it will definitely have an effect on the overall quality of the game.

Donegal by 4 pts.

Oisin Gallen to really announce himself on the big stage.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 22/06/2019 15:13:46    2198584