Dublin Discussions - Sensible Or Crackpot?

Replying To jimbodub:  "The only thing Jack does on here is talk about Dublin, staring threads about Dublin.

He recently made this comment on the Dubs page forum:

"Is it weird I know more names off the Dublin team then meath?"

Then he claims that Dublin wouldn't be missed from the Championship?

What else would he talk about lol"
Meath :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 11:07:32    2192711

Replying To legendzxix:  "I would split north of the Liffey in two and south of the Liffey in two. The Dublin County board would become a provincial council. Sensible or crackpot suggestion?"
Jays would you stop with that oul codology. ''Tis just as well you're not in charge of anything worth a feck.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/06/2019 11:11:27    2192714

Replying To legendzxix:  "I would split north of the Liffey in two and south of the Liffey in two. The Dublin County board would become a provincial council. Sensible or crackpot suggestion?"
Move the mighty 37 times All Ireland winners Kerry from a hurling province into Leinster , move Meath into Munster , that would make things interesting.
Sensible or crackpot suggestion ? :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 11:13:37    2192722

Replying To Joxer:  "When Kerry swept all teams aside to claim their 4 in a row and then make it to a 5th final in a row in 82 there wasn't a peep about their annual "coronation" or their stroll to another final. Granted they were masters of a hurling province and, unlike today's competition where a county has to win 8 games or so for a title, one only had to win 3 or 4 games during Kerry's run in the late 70s early 80s. In fact they were so dominant that they trounced the mighty overpopulated capital with all of it's advantages in Croke Park no less by 17 points in 78. A 17 point victory in an AI final in the home of the richest and most populated county. Impossible! The following year they waltzed to another AI title beating the mighty capital by double scores in the final. Was there outrage, calls to split Kerry in 4 because of their dominance, calls to move them out of a hurling province, calls to redesign the competition to make it fairer, calls to amend the rules to dilute Kerry's dominance in some pitch sectors? Eh no. Quite the contrary actually. They were lauded as legends, greats. Their stars got money for media appearances would you believe, they became TV celebs, some got paid to write columns in newspapers, put their names to pubs. Not a voice of disapproval anywhere in the media or amongst their peers. The only charge leveled against them was that of cockiness in the 82 Final. Those were the days, before the begrudgers got oxygen and when legends were just that and lauded as such."
You are forgetting the Dub's 20 million gift. The huge sponsorship money. The playing every game at home with their own dressing room and reserved terrace for their mob. The massive population advantage etc etc.

I wouldn't dare compare this Dublin team to that great Kerry team. Granted they had only had to play one game to get to All Ire semi but there is still no huge asterisk beside their success. The whole country knows Dublin have been handed All Ireland's by the GAA and their "success" will be treated as such by real GAA people all over the country.

No other sport treats one team like that, they are Man City playing in League Two with every game at the Etihad.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 10/06/2019 11:25:28    2192733

Replying To Crinigan:  "You are forgetting the Dub's 20 million gift. The huge sponsorship money. The playing every game at home with their own dressing room and reserved terrace for their mob. The massive population advantage etc etc.

I wouldn't dare compare this Dublin team to that great Kerry team. Granted they had only had to play one game to get to All Ire semi but there is still no huge asterisk beside their success. The whole country knows Dublin have been handed All Ireland's by the GAA and their "success" will be treated as such by real GAA people all over the country.

No other sport treats one team like that, they are Man City playing in League Two with every game at the Etihad."
A real GAA person wouldn't make such ridiculous comments.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 10/06/2019 11:55:29    2192758

Replying To superbluedub:  "Move the mighty 37 times All Ireland winners Kerry from a hurling province into Leinster , move Meath into Munster , that would make things interesting.
Sensible or crackpot suggestion ? :)"
There should be an All-Ireland series separate from the provincial championships. I'm all in favour of that.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 10/06/2019 12:12:01    2192778

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "You're so right. The only difference between Dublin and the likes of offaly and fermanagh is will and desire. That's the only difference. Why can't people see this?"
Your post makes little sense. If will and desire decided who won Ai's you would have no team going for 5 in a row. In your own county it is a bit like saying that Corlough or Buttlerbirige would win the Cavan senior championship if the had the desire and will!-complete nonsense. At least 5 or 6 clubs in Dublin have 8 or 9 times a larger pick than the entire population of Offaly, Fermanagh, or Leitrim. Some clubs in those counties a re being supplied by a single school populations of no more than 50. When a county has almost 40% of the population of the country and the finance to go with it, success follows. Now that takes nothing away from the Dubs who have an excellent team and will get beaten in the future, but when and by whom is difficult to predict.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/06/2019 12:27:44    2192793

Replying To browncows:  "Your post makes little sense. If will and desire decided who won Ai's you would have no team going for 5 in a row. In your own county it is a bit like saying that Corlough or Buttlerbirige would win the Cavan senior championship if the had the desire and will!-complete nonsense. At least 5 or 6 clubs in Dublin have 8 or 9 times a larger pick than the entire population of Offaly, Fermanagh, or Leitrim. Some clubs in those counties a re being supplied by a single school populations of no more than 50. When a county has almost 40% of the population of the country and the finance to go with it, success follows. Now that takes nothing away from the Dubs who have an excellent team and will get beaten in the future, but when and by whom is difficult to predict."
I think your sarcasm detector might be on the blink.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 10/06/2019 12:34:23    2192796

Replying To legendzxix:  "There should be an All-Ireland series separate from the provincial championships. I'm all in favour of that.

Is mise le meas,

The Legend."
No one has ever called the separation of the provisional champ / All Ireland series a crack pot idea in the way you are referring

It's widely supported at this stage

Attendances are dropping across the board, the introduction of the back door greatly devalued the importance of the competitions

Sure Kerry were supposed "All" Ireland champs and didn't care if they won Munster or not

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 12:53:46    2192814

Replying To Crinigan:  "You are forgetting the Dub's 20 million gift. The huge sponsorship money. The playing every game at home with their own dressing room and reserved terrace for their mob. The massive population advantage etc etc.

No other sport treats one team like that, they are Man City playing in League Two with every game at the Etihad."
With a nonsensical post like that you'd almost forget that it's a game of 15v15, that Dublin have always had a bigger population than any other county, that Leinster counties decide where Dublin play, not the DCB, that Dublin work hard to generate their own sponsorship revenue and that it's not Dublin's fault that once great Leinster counties have regressed due to shambolic county board governance, in-fighting over managerial appointments and interference from ex-stars. Some have even built glamorous multi-million euro centres of excellence and still complain about other much larger populated counties games development fund allocations. Makes you wonder whether the problems are closer to home than some think.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 12:56:15    2192818

I've always had a soft spot for the Dubs and the Dubs are great people but they're killing the championship. Kildare was in the Super 8s last year, beat Mayo, would be challenging in any other province and were not just beat out the gate but destroyed.
The game is dying on its feet and it shows no sign of slowing up. The Kilkenny and Kerry sides were practically the same sides that dominated but the Dubs are different. Who is left from the original 11 side? Cluxton and McCarthy?
This dominance isn't going away anytime soon and those who say funding has no impact on it really do have their heads in the sand.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/06/2019 13:01:18    2192826

Replying To the_walls:  "I think your sarcasm detector might be on the blink."
What is your problem?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/06/2019 13:11:35    2192838

It's time to move all Dublin leinster games to Parnell park as judging by attendance figures now even the Dubs are bored with these total mismatch games.. Croke park is not breaking even for these games.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 10/06/2019 13:12:03    2192839

Its grand to have the discussion I suppose.

Its more a case of looking at what, in detail, is going so right for Dublin and then how others can bridge the gap. Dublin are in a dominant phase, a few more titles and success in hurling will tell me that they seriously need to be split. The population base is a major factor, the funding is a major factor and the last piece is the less discernible 'culture'. Dublin football has a major support base stemming from and strengthen by its past and continued success. The Hurlers are very well supported but not as much as its missing that last piece and thats key. Its like the oxygen from the fire triangle (if any of you remember that from your school science days!)

MesAmis posted that the split would be a risk as it may not pan out. I would agree and would say its knee jerk to do it now but the potential plans should be drawn up in the event should the continued course and ultimate dominance arise. If that were to happen the game would die off not in the city but in the country. Its like the thread a few weeks back on Louth...How would you get a youngster to not kick a mitre ball and go kick an o'neills ball? If they are from Dundalk and watching soccer then looking at football we all know what would happen. The GAA needs a very strong base in Dublin but its can't afford to let it die out everywhere else. I am hoping Meath give Dublin a serious go this year but I have a tough time seeing it. Its gonna be 14/15. The rot needs to stop in Leinster and not to spread to the rest.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 13:14:38    2192844

Replying To gotmilk:  "I've always had a soft spot for the Dubs and the Dubs are great people but they're killing the championship. Kildare was in the Super 8s last year, beat Mayo, would be challenging in any other province and were not just beat out the gate but destroyed.
The game is dying on its feet and it shows no sign of slowing up. The Kilkenny and Kerry sides were practically the same sides that dominated but the Dubs are different. Who is left from the original 11 side? Cluxton and McCarthy?
This dominance isn't going away anytime soon and those who say funding has no impact on it really do have their heads in the sand."
Cluxton, McCarthy, O'Carroll, Fitzsimons, MacCauley, McMahon, McManamon, Brogan, O'Gara and potentially Connolly if he was back. That's 9 of which 8 were in yesterday's panel. Not too bad 8 years on from 2011 to be honest.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 10/06/2019 13:47:14    2192890

Replying To gotmilk:  "I've always had a soft spot for the Dubs and the Dubs are great people but they're killing the championship. Kildare was in the Super 8s last year, beat Mayo, would be challenging in any other province and were not just beat out the gate but destroyed.
This dominance isn't going away anytime soon and those who say funding has no impact on it really do have their heads in the sand."
Who's still there since 2011?

Cluxton
Rory O'Carroll
Mick Fitz
Johnny Cooper
Philly McMahon
James NcCarthy
Cian O'Sullivan
Michael D McCauley

...all likely starters when not injured

Bernard Brogan
Kevin Mc
Eoghan O'Gara

So certainly a good deal of age in those Dublin legs. What will we be like when these lads call it a day? It's not as though our minors are trailblazing a path to success. We've won one title in 35 years or something and haven't contested a final since 2012.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 13:56:01    2192905

Gotmilk

In fairness it's a sizeable chunk of the current squad

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 15:15:40    2192971

A games promotion officer working for Dublin GAA from 2008-2011;

Dublin have experienced the perfect storm of huge competitive advantage: an exploding urban population, drastically higher income and sponsorship money, and inexcusably exorbitant games development funding, compared to the rest of the counties.

And did we mention an exceptionally gifted generation of players, all coming together under potentially the greatest manager the game has seen? It leaves the rest of us playing catch-up. The greater problem is not the current crop of gifted players, but what comes after them.

As a games promotion officer working for Dublin GAA from 2008-2011, I could see the runaway train hurtling down the tracks. I call it the industrialisation of GAA football talent development, a phrase that described how France, Germany, Spain, and England have streamlined their structures and mobilised their considerable financial resources to develop young talent in football. It is no surprise that the last three FIFA World Cup winners are contained in that list.

My own philosophy for sports performance is in the benefit of small, incremental steps of improvement, all leading towards long-term, sustainable development. You need stability, a philosophy, an environment, a culture, a plan. And, most of all, you need good people all rowing together in the same direction. Dublin have cracked that.

Sensible or crackpot comments?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 10/06/2019 20:54:04    2193205

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Splitting in 4 is too extreme. There could come a time where a Dublin South, North and West could be needed. But that's probably 50+ years away."
Could there be a compromise here - Dubs stay as One, but the NSEW region teams are added as well. Gives Dubs B, C etc players a chance to play as well.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2596 - 10/06/2019 21:06:50    2193212

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I don't for one minute begrudge Dublin their recent success. They have been a brilliant team with great lads playing for them and a great manager in Jim Gavin. Something needs to be done though to keep the game alive for other county's. How must Louth and Kildare football people feel these days? Nobody should be getting hammered out the gate by these margins. If Dublin don't split then maybe others should be allowed to join together? If we are looking back 10 years from now and Dublin have bagged another 5/6 all Ireland's then Leinster football will have suffered greatly as there will be no desire for lads in the other county's there to set themselves up for these kinds of beatings. Not saying Dublin should be split but something does need to be done to help the other county's become more competitive again or else it's gonna end up like the Scottish football league with 1/2 teams winning all the time which is a complete bore fest in fairness. The whole championship structure is a disgrace anyway with the way the provincials are,a group of 9,13,5and 5. If you tried explaining that to somebody from another country they look at you like you're not right in the head. They don't get it at all. It should be 4 groups of 8,seeded by league positions or some fair operating requirements. The structures have been done to death on here but that only highlights how dissatisfied people are with the status quo."
No different than more recent 7-team annual World Club Cup - looks like GAA convinced FIFA to go for an old tried and tested tradition ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2596 - 10/06/2019 21:12:53    2193216