Dublin Discussions - Sensible Or Crackpot?

Replying To thelongridge:  "You are correct arock. Splitting Dublin makes no sense. It is up to the other counties to get their act together, and compete with Dublin."
You're so right. The only difference between Dublin and the likes of offaly and fermanagh is will and desire. That's the only difference. Why can't people see this?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 10/06/2019 08:44:38    2192579

Replying To Bon:  "We're people looking to divide Kerry footballers or Kilkenny Hurlers when they we're dominating?"
That's literally the one argument the Dublin people have, and it's not an analogous situation in the slightest.

Must try harder.....

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 10/06/2019 08:53:26    2192580

A cracked pot leaking gone off turnip soup all over the site and stinking out the place.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 09:35:06    2192603

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "What if the other counties voted to play a championship without Dublin? You would be long coming back begging us to split you. Nobody would miss the Dubs either. The negative effect on the championship annoys everybody including many Dubs."
Wow....

Man are you feeling alright?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 09:38:38    2192607

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "That's literally the one argument the Dublin people have, and it's not an analogous situation in the slightest.

Must try harder....."
It's a pretty compelling argument though isn't it. There is no precedent for scrapping the IC structure and splitting up counties because let's be honest here we couldn't be discriminatory. Whether it be population base, success rate we would have to review it across the board. Kerry have it easy in a hurling province so they should be split. Antrim has a large population base so should be split. Cork has more clubs and a palatial centre of excellence so should be split. I think we could make 40 teams out of this yet.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 09:51:02    2192621

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "That's literally the one argument the Dublin people have, and it's not an analogous situation in the slightest.

Must try harder....."
Punish the successful team because the rest of the teams aren't up to scratch? Is that what you want?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1910 - 10/06/2019 09:52:24    2192624

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "What if the other counties voted to play a championship without Dublin? You would be long coming back begging us to split you. Nobody would miss the Dubs either. The negative effect on the championship annoys everybody including many Dubs."
You'd miss our money though when your lads are togging out in the back of a trailer in a cold wet field in the back end of Skryne of a Thursday evening.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 09:56:05    2192628

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "You're so right. The only difference between Dublin and the likes of offaly and fermanagh is will and desire. That's the only difference. Why can't people see this?"
And what's the difference between Kerry, Mayo, Donegal and Offaly/Fermanagh. A couple of years ago people would have died laughing at the idea of the Rossies knocking mighty Mayo out of the Connaught championship in McHale Park. Well who would have thunk it? And there's your own county in an Ulster Final something that the great Tyrone and Monaghan teams couldn't manage. Well I'll be a monkey's uncle!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 10:01:26    2192635

Jack

There are numerous open threads on the main page forum discussing several aspects of Dublin GAA at the same time most of which not stated by Dublin posters, in fact you even started one. :)

You've dedicated 100's of posts speaking about Dublin GAA, on this forum across a number of years.

You are even on the Dublin forum making comments and to copy an exact quote of yours..

"Is it weird I know more names off the Dublin team then meath?"

.... and you claim up above that Dublin wouldn't be missed from the championship?

What else would you talk about on here?

Honestly pal, in all honesty now... are you feeling ok?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 10:06:20    2192638

Begrudging losers? This is why Dublin fans like you are not GAA fans. No other supporters would be so willfully ignorant. One county has nearly half the population of the country. If the GAA was restarting, there is no way in hell that Dublin would have one intercounty team, it be so unfair as to be a ridiculous concept - yet here we are, it is reality. How can you call people who respect the game begrudging losers. You really live in a bubble. Not sure you have the intelligence to see outside it unfortunately.

If it doesn't happen then there is no intercounty game left (and we have what I predicted here years ago - the Dublin club champions effectively becomes the All Ireland championship with 4/5 large club/county amalgamations joining also. )
Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 458 - 09/06/2019 22:48:35 2192495

Dublin has nowhere near half the population of Ireland. It has less than 1/6th of the population of Ireland. Still the largest population of any county but nowhere near half the population as you state.

Population of Ireland is c6.6m whilst the population of Dublin is c1.3m.

A handy rule to follow is not to question someone's intelligence while highlighting your own ignorance at the same time.

The county system is inherently unfair across the board. There is an argument that it needs to looked at through splits and/or amalgamations but that argument is not served by making up things up like you have above.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 10/06/2019 10:07:40    2192641

People advocating for a split should at least acknowledge that a split would be a gamble and could quite possibly lead to the situation that there was pre 1960s where the GAA was essentially a "country" sport. I get the impression that a lot of people would actually like that.

The removal of Dublin from the Championship, to be replaced by 2/3/4 teams, is a gamble that might not see any pay out for a long time as interest in GAA in the county could well fall off a cliff as people are unlikely to have any affinity to the newly formed counties.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 10/06/2019 10:14:36    2192645

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hard to debate when the person asking the question feels it necessary to call themselves

"The Legend"

At what exactly?"
Legend at being the worst wum on hoganstand :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 10:22:02    2192656

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "It's very very unlikely and would only come about as a desperate attempt to save the football championship if Dublin were to win say 7-8 of the next 10 All Ireland's. I can't imagine what attendances and commercial revenue would look like if that were to happen, don t forget football is still the big earner for the GAA. Look at the Scottish premiership as an example of how single team domination can destroy a competition. In this were to happen in football it won't be begrudgers outside the capital driving the agenda I can assure you.

The more likely scenario is that Dublin stay at the top table but a couple of other counties reach the holy grail in the coming years and the whole thing blows over. We are heading in to a new era with championship changes well flagged. Talk of splits at this stage is ludicrous but to say it will never happen, I'm not so sure."
I am sure , it will never happen.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 10:25:35    2192662

What if you stopped posting on here , nobody would miss you :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2019 10:28:27    2192664

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hard to debate when the person asking the question feels it necessary to call themselves

"The Legend"

At what exactly?"
If you do want to discuss the topic, why post at all?

Is mise le meas,

The Legend.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 10/06/2019 10:54:10    2192689

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Splitting in 4 is too extreme. There could come a time where a Dublin South, North and West could be needed. But that's probably 50+ years away."
I would split north of the Liffey in two and south of the Liffey in two. The Dublin County board would become a provincial council. Sensible or crackpot suggestion?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 10/06/2019 10:57:28    2192697

Replying To superbluedub:  "What if you stopped posting on here , nobody would miss you :)"
The only thing Jack does on here is talk about Dublin, staring threads about Dublin.

He recently made this comment on the Dubs page forum:

"Is it weird I know more names off the Dublin team then meath?"

Then he claims that Dublin wouldn't be missed from the Championship?

What else would he talk about lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 10:58:20    2192699

Replying To superbluedub:  "I am sure , it will never happen."
Easy to say but you really can't be sure unless you can tell the future.

Like I said it would need to be an absolutely desperate and hopeless situation for it to be considered at the levels that matter. Very unlikely we will get to that, but possible. The Dublin support would never accept it now, nor should they, but another decade of dominance would soften that stance for a lot of people.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 10/06/2019 10:59:07    2192702

Replying To legendzxix:  "If you do want to discuss the topic, why post at all?

Is mise le meas,

The Legend."
It's already been discussed on dozens of threads

So no. You're grand.. "legend"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 11:00:52    2192705

Replying To legendzxix:  "I would split north of the Liffey in two and south of the Liffey in two. The Dublin County board would become a provincial council. Sensible or crackpot suggestion?"
Simplistic nonsense

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 11:02:54    2192707