Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

I think a rule needs to be brought in that of you kick 9 scores or less against any opposition you get kicked out of the championship and the qualifiers.

Meath turning up to a Leinster final to kick 4 points in 75 minutes is a sad day for football.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 23/06/2019 20:36:24    2199347

In terms of the bigger picture, Meath can still achieve their targets this year. Unfortunately, the reality is that we don't have the forwards to compete at the top level. Newman can consistently take a score but the rest of the lads are up and down and just depends on confidence etc. Shouldn't judge them too harshly on one performance but will need to really step it up in the qualifier. If recent seasons are any indicator, we will step it up but ultimately fall just short against a team coming with a good run through the qualifiers.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 23/06/2019 20:44:48    2199358

Dublin fan logic...
- it's not about the money
- it's not our fault we have a large population
- Leitrim should use their pitiful playing and financial resources to challenge us
- let's laugh and gloat at those less financially fortunate than us

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 335 - 23/06/2019 20:47:39    2199361

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "I know Jackeen as Monaghan are the only team that give you a game."
Indeed they did. Such a pity the All Ireland isn't won in February.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/06/2019 20:49:29    2199363

Would James McCarthy missing for the rest of the championship raise the hopes of the other teams? I fear we won't see him again this season.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 23/06/2019 20:49:30    2199364

Replying To royaldunne:  "Certainly not. He disposed a few dubs with ease and if the oldest player on Meath team can do that, imagine what the Kerry lads would do.
Missed 3 Newman missed 3 Brennan missed 4.osullivan only took one shot and sent it wide.
All had a bad day. Why pick out one player?"
- - throw out the shovel, you know the old saying, what comes around goes around, so in your own words, "stop trying to defend the indefensible".

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/06/2019 20:52:25    2199366

Replying To Pantani:  "Made the unwise decision to cycle in to Croker. Could have come home in a canoe. Only thing worse than the weather was Meath's performance. They were a shambles and would have been embarrassed by most teams in the country never mind the Dubs. They may forfeit their promotion to division 1 if that's the level they're at. You'll get no sympathy from me if the best players in your county can't execute the basic skills of the game."
Some of Meath's defensive play was very good.Teams will concede a lot more against Dublin than Meath did .The problem for Meath today was that their forwards were shocking. 4 points scored in 77 minutes iof football says it all.They didn't even have a player to kick a free over the bar,

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 23/06/2019 21:00:10    2199381

Replying To lilylanger:  "Then you should leave not royaldunne. Honestly nobody is pointing a gun at your head to stay here. There have been plenty of posters said they were leaving if this that or the other happened and didnt. So what?? Its the internet. Deal with it!"
Very obvious trend to a lot of your posts, obvious what is going on.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/06/2019 21:01:33    2199385

Replying To GerryD:  "Dublin fan logic...
- Leitrim should use their pitiful playing and financial resources to challenge us
- let's laugh and gloat at those less financially fortunate than us"
You must be 6 years old. You do realise that counties were much less well off than Dublin in the 90s and 00s. Oh and it may have struck you that Dublin is the capital, a quarter of the population lives there. It has always been the population centre. Peope just didn't appear on trees in the last 10 years.

Whingers logic...
- Dublin couldn't have gotten their act together in 2011 due to great organisation, hard work and shrewd appointments. It must have been all money
- Dublin have a large population. How can this be fair when every other county has exactly the same population and there is no disparity between them?
- money wins you Sam Maguire. It can't be explained by great grassroots work and organisation. The Brogans, Connollys, Cluxtons of this world were all manufactured when they were 8 and 9 back in 1996 when the GAA were throwing billions at Dublin. Oh wait!
- Dublin couldn't have just put together a golden generation of players. I mean it's not possible. It has to be the money and the population. I mean, doesn't it. You need 1.6m to find 20 decent players. Ask Kerry. Oh wait!
- our poor performance is all down to Dublin's money and population. I mean it's nothing to do with us. Dublin are great in Leinster so that explains why we're crap in Ulster, doesn't it?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/06/2019 21:05:07    2199388

This was posted a while back in the Dublin Louth thread, about spot on:

Replying To royaldunne: "Excuse me Clondalkin, I didn't think you were only a championship man. Meath are now a division one team and we won't be pushed around should we meet you. Not saying we will win but certainly not be shrinking violets either"

You don't have to be shrinking violets to get annihilated by Dublin. Louth were technically very poor yesterday, they made so many errors. That wasn't down to them not trying. They all ran their socks off, they just weren't good enough.

Should we both make a Leinster final, Meath, like Louth, will try hard, they'll get stuck in, give as good as they've got in terms of effort. They'll probably be in the game for a bit longer. But, ultimately, whether its the second, third or last quarter of the game, Dublin will put you to the sword and ultimately run away handsome winners because the gulf in class remains massive.

Clondalkin didn't say you would be shrinking violets, he said yous are brutal. Brutal might be a bit harsh on meath in fairness, they've had a really good year, got promotion to division one, had a good start against Offaly and Carlow, but should we meet, and i think we will, I think the point Clondalkin is making is that nobody in Leinster is capable of challenging Dublin. That's not to downplay Meath, ive already said they've had a really good year so far, BUT You haven't played Dublin in years in the championship, when we do, I think you will hit earth with a shuddering thud!

Effort, commitment, hunger and endeavour isn't good enough against Dublin, just ask Mayo. No team has worked as hard as Mayo against Dublin. Noone has wanted to win an all Ireland final as much as Mayo against Dublin, and even despite all those mayo characteristics, Dublin have never had to play well to get over the line against them.

I understand youre a Meath fan and youre an optimist, but it wouldn't kill you to be a realist either.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13333 - 26/05/2019 19:23:03

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 23/06/2019 21:06:35    2199389

Replying To royaldunne:  "Certainly not. He disposed a few dubs with ease and if the oldest player on Meath team can do that, imagine what the Kerry lads would do.
Missed 3 Newman missed 3 Brennan missed 4.osullivan only took one shot and sent it wide.
All had a bad day. Why pick out one player?"
Because he flatters to deceive every single time. He's supposed to be the guy the others look to, the experience and one of our best players. Yet he's the biggest culprit for going missing when it matters.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 23/06/2019 21:10:29    2199395

Dubs very poor in the first half. Meath backs were decent to be fair but once Dublin stopped kicking in as much and moved the ball through the hands the Meath backs started struggled more.

Meath forward plan/tactics were totally inept though. Shockingly bad. I've never seen a team as poor in attack.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 23/06/2019 21:13:51    2199399

Replying To realdub:  "Would James McCarthy missing for the rest of the championship raise the hopes of the other teams? I fear we won't see him again this season."
Hes a Rolls Royce footballer any team would miss that dynamic in their team.
ROC to come in aint bad though.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/06/2019 21:19:14    2199408

Replying To realdub:  "Would James McCarthy missing for the rest of the championship raise the hopes of the other teams? I fear we won't see him again this season."
It's a massive loss

It didn't look good but I was a fair bit away from it

Fingers crossed because the man is irreplaceable but these things happen. More disappointing for him on a personal level as the man is a true ambassador for the game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 21:20:04    2199409

Sisssshhhhh ..... You cant talk sense on here.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/06/2019 21:21:13    2199411

Monaghan fan logic.

- Book foreign holiday for July/Aug.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/06/2019 21:21:17    2199412

well done Dubs. Ba mhaith liom chomgardeas a dhéanamh. Dubs could nearly enter 2 teams. Maybe this is something the GAA could look at in the future. A "Blue Dubs" and a "White Dubs" team. Or a Dublin or a Baile Atha Cliatha team. I don't mean split Dublin into 2. I mean have like a Manchester city and a Manchester Utd. A Dublin City and Dublin county.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 23/06/2019 21:25:22    2199417

It's always Leitrim brought up in these debates. Even in the "good ol' days", Leitrim were never, ever, ever, in a million years, expected to compete with Dublin (or Kerry, or Meath, or Cork, or Mayo....). Yet they're always used in these debates as an example of Dublin's demographic and financial dominance!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/06/2019 21:26:56    2199421

Replying To moc.dna:  "Very obvious trend to a lot of your posts, obvious what is going on."
Do tell?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/06/2019 21:27:56    2199424

There's alot of talk about Meath being rubbish, being the weakest of the provincial losers etc etc. The scoreboard doesn't tell the full story, the reality is Meath were within striking distance of Dublin for alot longer than most teams. Had they brought their shooting boots, it would of been competitive to the end. There's alot more positives to take out of this game than our previous hammering from Dublin. Meath gave Donegal the run around for large periods of the league final, and had their foot on the neck of last years All-Irelands finalists. They are better than the scoreline suggests today. And I'm quite critical of Meath myself generally.

These Meath players need to toughen up mentally, that's where we've repeatedly fallen down. They need to go up against a top team in a big game, take a lead and for once see it out. If they got that experience and battle hardiness, their composure and poise in big moments in big games would improve. If they had that today, they could have taken an under par Dublin. Dublin were under par because of the conditions and Meath just didn't let them play at times, but we've shown we can live with Dublin for large periods of the game. Meath need to get the psychology properly drilled into them, and if they do they'll be a very good team and a match for Dublin imo

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 23/06/2019 21:29:23    2199429