Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised?

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Apart from the Seanie Johnson affair the manner of C McGeeney departure left a sour taste for many especially the players. The voting was farcical where delegates turned up not knowing that the County Board were going to conduct a vote and you had the even more farcical situation and invalid whereby delegates from hurling clubs were allowed cast their votes on the future of the football manager."
I recall that farcical situation

Hugely damaging and look at what followed after that

Not the best setup to send underage success into wha! No wonder lads headed off to Oz

But sure yep.. Dublin's fault right

The saying " Your own worst enemy" springs to mind

O'Neill is blessed he found a performance against Mayo because the wolves were circling after a humiliating defeat to Carlow.

Meath too went about firing a successful manager. O'Brien treated terribly and things turned considerably worse for them after that..
it's only now with the help of an All Ireland winning manager that things are improving somewhat but even at that he's had a very poor 2018 Championship losing to Longford.

Meath have gone through 4 or 5 managers this decade blaming managers rather than their own mismanagement.

Dublin have always dominated.

It's just been made a lot easier and an awful lot of that rests at the likes of Kildare's and Meath's doorstep.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/06/2019 15:44:52    2191702

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "In response to the thread title, no it is not being televised. Apparently the Dublin players were demanding 6k appearance money......................"
Lol

Good on them

The hardest working and most talented deserve it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/06/2019 15:51:03    2191704

Jim will you be making a "bye bye Meath" thread this year or have you lost interest? You used to get fierce hyped over your local rivals. Must be fun having none.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/06/2019 16:08:23    2191705

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Apart from the Seanie Johnson affair the manner of C McGeeney departure left a sour taste for many especially the players. The voting was farcical where delegates turned up not knowing that the County Board were going to conduct a vote and you had the even more farcical situation and invalid whereby delegates from hurling clubs were allowed cast their votes on the future of the football manager."
I had totally forgotten about the hurling clubs getting a vote. Made a mockery out of it. Has that happened since or before??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2019 16:52:03    2191721

Replying To royaldunne:  "I had totally forgotten about the hurling clubs getting a vote. Made a mockery out of it. Has that happened since or before??"
Thankfully that hasn't happened before or since rd.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 08/06/2019 18:00:56    2191761

I've a feeling about tomorrow lads. Looking forward to it now.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/06/2019 18:30:36    2191779

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Jim will you be making a "bye bye Meath" thread this year or have you lost interest? You used to get fierce hyped over your local rivals. Must be fun having none."
Oh dry your eyes mate :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 18:47:02    2191790

Replying To royaldunne:  "I had totally forgotten about the hurling clubs getting a vote. Made a mockery out of it. Has that happened since or before??"
It happens in every county board in the country although I'm sure in some counties the clubs which are exclusively one code would abstain from votes which only pertain to the other.

Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 08/06/2019 19:52:56    2191830

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Jim will you be making a "bye bye Meath" thread this year or have you lost interest? You used to get fierce hyped over your local rivals. Must be fun having none."
Man

Unfortunately Kildare, Westmeath, Longford have been beating you regularly

It's been a while since you lot deserved to stand on the same pitch as Dublin.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/06/2019 20:29:49    2191850

Replying To jimbodub:  "Man

It's been a while since you lot deserved to stand on the same pitch as Dublin."
Westmeath have only ever beaten us once in the championship, kildare have only beaten us once in eight years and longford have only beaten us once in 40 years, Hardly regular beatings.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 08/06/2019 21:04:47    2191877

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Westmeath have only ever beaten us once in the championship, kildare have only beaten us once in eight years and longford have only beaten us once in 40 years, Hardly regular beatings."
How do you expect him to know that? He's a Dublin fan, not a GAA fan. Huge difference.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 08/06/2019 23:37:27    2191955

Replying To Crinigan:  "How do you expect him to know that? He's a Dublin fan, not a GAA fan. Huge difference."
Really is that the best u can come out with ? Meath fans very scarce the last decade , are they really gaa fans ? or just Meath fans big difference :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 23:50:47    2191958

Replying To Crinigan:  "How do you expect him to know that? He's a Dublin fan, not a GAA fan. Huge difference."
Ooooooh that got me straight through my ice cold blue heart!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2019 08:21:49    2192011

Replying To jimbodub:  "Man

It's been a while since you lot deserved to stand on the same pitch as Dublin."
Fortunately though those matches have been exciting. Meath vs westmeath a few years ago what a classic. I really enjoy them win or lose.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 11:44:27    2192103

Not being televised.? Two things come to mind, firstly RTE have nailed their colours to the mast by concentrating on Munster Hurling, which going on recent games appears to have been the incorrect choice. I find myself watching a lot of the 'championship' on BBC 1 great coverage of the ulster football games,

Secondly I have little pity, the 'chore' of having to attend your county game is what a, walk, bus or Luas to Croker it isn't exactly an inconvenience for ye. God forbid if ye actually had to put the paw in the pocket and travel outside the pale to cheer on your county team. Sorry little pity from you but admittedly RTE have been poor in this regard.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/06/2019 13:05:25    2192130

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Not being televised.? Two things come to mind, firstly RTE have nailed their colours to the mast by concentrating on Munster Hurling, which going on recent games appears to have been the incorrect choice. I find myself watching a lot of the 'championship' on BBC 1 great coverage of the ulster football games,

Secondly I have little pity, the 'chore' of having to attend your county game is what a, walk, bus or Luas to Croker it isn't exactly an inconvenience for ye. God forbid if ye actually had to put the paw in the pocket and travel outside the pale to cheer on your county team. Sorry little pity from you but admittedly RTE have been poor in this regard."
I do believe it was a fellow Kerry poster who started this thread stirring the pot. As you rightly say, we are but a walk, bus or Luas away.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2019 13:13:06    2192133

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Not being televised.? Two things come to mind, firstly RTE have nailed their colours to the mast by concentrating on Munster Hurling, which going on recent games appears to have been the incorrect choice. I find myself watching a lot of the 'championship' on BBC 1 great coverage of the ulster football games,

Secondly I have little pity, the 'chore' of having to attend your county game is what a, walk, bus or Luas to Croker it isn't exactly an inconvenience for ye. God forbid if ye actually had to put the paw in the pocket and travel outside the pale to cheer on your county team. Sorry little pity from you but admittedly RTE have been poor in this regard."
Here it was one of your own who started the thread you weapon.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/06/2019 13:22:22    2192136

Replying To waynoI:  "Here it was one of your own who started the thread you weapon."
Why should the creator of the thread be in any way reflective on my opinion. We are not in any way that incestuous. My comments just highlight that RTE in my opinion backed the wrong horse, BBC's evening programme the championship is a better view than the Sunday game and my comments were not aimed at the creator more the 3 or 4 pages of sofa supporters thst wouldn't watch a game until the clocks change.

I've often said the true gaa man will be met in Feb on away days or the like of Ennis last Sat on a miserable wet night not in HQ in semi or final days - and thst not me stirring or being a wum, you'll see from my history and posts thst my ethos is not way inclined

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 09/06/2019 14:46:16    2192162

Ah well 15 mins in and that game is over....maybe that's why it isn't televised...give me limerick v Clare any day..rip roaring game

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/06/2019 16:14:50    2192203

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Ah well 15 mins in and that game is over....maybe that's why it isn't televised...give me limerick v Clare any day..rip roaring game"
Are you here??? Its anything but over.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 09/06/2019 16:43:10    2192216