Dublin V Kildare - Is This Not Being Televised?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Maybe Dublin are the GAAs dirty little secret :-)"
Maybe just maybe now ! you have an unhealthy obsession with anything to do with Dublin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/06/2019 22:52:48    2190704

Replying To brisbane:  "Rte have more interest in showing under20s rugby then showing us more GAA"
Is it not the GAA who decide what games are televised? Or at least say to RTE what games they want on RTE.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 04/06/2019 23:10:41    2190708

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Dublin Dublin blah blah...Kerry Kerry blah blah....

Amazing that such a wide of variety of what appear to be different topics end up being the same pointless arguments over & over. Bored to bloody tears by it at this stage.

As for the game itself.....we all know Dublin will win. What I want is for our lads to show a bit of defensive discipline, get the ball in good & early to our forwards (who are more than capable of causing damage) & keep their heads up if Dublin get a run on us. (which they probably will)
All of those things we haven't managed to do against much lesser opposition than Dublin this year to date so if we do them Sunday I'll be happy enough & we'll find out where we are at & hopefully be in decent shape going into the qualifiers."
Good post, I'm really looking forward to playing Kildare always a great occasion. I

We've been lucky this year to be meeting two de facto div 1 teams in Leinster, I think we will win Leinster I won't lie, but it's great preparation for us heading to the super 8s should we win Leinster as expected.

Hopefully it's the same for Meath and Kildare, it's the highest standard you can test yourself off, would love to see both Kildare and Meath in the S8s and why not.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/06/2019 23:47:49    2190715

Could be a shock on the cards here, Deano, Cooper, Murch, Mannion and Paddy Andrews all missing for this one.

Pity its not on TV like, but thankfully ill be there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2019 11:02:33    2190781

Replying To TheUsername:  "Could be a shock on the cards here, Deano, Cooper, Murch, Mannion and Paddy Andrews all missing for this one.

Pity its not on TV like, but thankfully ill be there."
Has a decision been made on Mannion's appeal or not? Seems to have gone quiet since the Louth game and I thought they would have given Gavin's comments on the incident directly after the game but haven't heard much on it since.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 05/06/2019 11:09:35    2190782

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Has a decision been made on Mannion's appeal or not? Seems to have gone quiet since the Louth game and I thought they would have given Gavin's comments on the incident directly after the game but haven't heard much on it since."
Tonight i beleive!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2019 13:51:31    2190871

Absolutely agree

Dublin potentially missing a few regular starters here. It's a good time for Kildare to be playing Dublin. When you take out Mannion, Rock, Cooper.. it's hardly going to be a good thing for Dublin. then you have the options that Andrews and Murchan can bring more than likely missing too. If Kildare can find a decent performance and with the players Dublin could be without, there's no reason why they couldn't cause Dublin problems.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2019 14:10:12    2190877

Replying To jimbodub:  "Absolutely agree

Dublin potentially missing a few regular starters here. It's a good time for Kildare to be playing Dublin. When you take out Mannion, Rock, Cooper.. it's hardly going to be a good thing for Dublin. then you have the options that Andrews and Murchan can bring more than likely missing too. If Kildare can find a decent performance and with the players Dublin could be without, there's no reason why they couldn't cause Dublin problems."
Ah Jimbo you're getting cuter than the Kerry lads now !!
As much as I'd love to see our lads causing you problems there is absolutely nothing to suggest in our performances this year to date that we can do so . No matter how many Dublin are missing.
We spluttered through the league without a good performance and it was same again against Wicklow and whilst a bit better against Longford it was a long way from a performance to trouble a top division 1 team let alone yourselves.
I think what most Kildare supporters are hoping for is to see a spirited display and to be able to take some positives from it heading into the qualifiers. Talk of anything else is pie in the sky I'm afraid

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 05/06/2019 15:31:25    2190903

Replying To JJ1:  "Ah Jimbo you're getting cuter than the Kerry lads now !!
As much as I'd love to see our lads causing you problems there is absolutely nothing to suggest in our performances this year to date that we can do so . No matter how many Dublin are missing.
We spluttered through the league without a good performance and it was same again against Wicklow and whilst a bit better against Longford it was a long way from a performance to trouble a top division 1 team let alone yourselves.
I think what most Kildare supporters are hoping for is to see a spirited display and to be able to take some positives from it heading into the qualifiers. Talk of anything else is pie in the sky I'm afraid"
My sentiments as well jj1. With our two best forwards from last year missing I fear for us. Would love to be proved wrong but have to be realistic.
Still I'll be there. Hopefully the two games will bring more than the expected 30,000.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 05/06/2019 17:28:18    2190951

Replying To lilywhite1:  "My sentiments as well jj1. With our two best forwards from last year missing I fear for us. Would love to be proved wrong but have to be realistic.
Still I'll be there. Hopefully the two games will bring more than the expected 30,000."
Did you mean to write 60000?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 05/06/2019 18:33:12    2190963

If Kildare had every player available they could do serious damage to any team in this championship including Dublin , we played them two years ago and they cause us a lot of trouble , Daniel Flynn the most unstoppable forward in the game right now (he's that good) won't play for Kildare , I thought he was gone traveling but he's sitting at home not playing crazy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/06/2019 18:42:19    2190967

Replying To jimbodub:  "Absolutely agree

Dublin potentially missing a few regular starters here. It's a good time for Kildare to be playing Dublin. When you take out Mannion, Rock, Cooper.. it's hardly going to be a good thing for Dublin. then you have the options that Andrews and Murchan can bring more than likely missing too. If Kildare can find a decent performance and with the players Dublin could be without, there's no reason why they couldn't cause Dublin problems."
Is Dublin joe injured?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/06/2019 18:53:11    2190969

Flynn is a huge loss, he has the x-factor, if there was a transfer system he'd be one of the first on my list.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 05/06/2019 20:03:13    2190985

Replying To realdub:  "Flynn is a huge loss, he has the x-factor, if there was a transfer system he'd be one of the first on my list."
Great player. He seems to glide around the pitch & before you know it he is in on goal.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2019 20:34:08    2190997

Replying To realdub:  "Flynn is a huge loss, he has the x-factor, if there was a transfer system he'd be one of the first on my list."
Realdub ye would be the only ones that could afford him :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/06/2019 21:00:42    2191006

Replying To legendzxix:  "Did you mean to write 60000?"
I would like to have done so but that's what I read today is the expected attendance.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 05/06/2019 21:27:51    2191009

Replying To JJ1:  "Ah Jimbo you're getting cuter than the Kerry lads now !!
I think what most Kildare supporters are hoping for is to see a spirited display and to be able to take some positives from it heading into the qualifiers. Talk of anything else is pie in the sky I'm afraid"
What part of my post wasn't true?

I'm not being disingenuous. Genuinely feel that it's a good time to be playing Dublin

Surely missing some key players is a bad thing?

It's a pity that Flynn isn't available but I've seen enough from Kildare in the past two seasons to suggest that if you find a performance (Mayo 2018) that you can cause Dublin problems.

Take from that what you will but please don't brand me with that inflatable dart board BS

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2019 22:00:47    2191026

Dublin to win by 15 points or more, that's worth watching isn't it

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 05/06/2019 22:41:40    2191042

Replying To lilywhite1:  "I would like to have done so but that's what I read today is the expected attendance."
Are you serious? Only 30000 are expected in Croke Park? How can this be after so much provincial funding to assist the Blue Wave strategy?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 05/06/2019 22:43:16    2191043

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Realdub ye would be the only ones that could afford him :-)"
KingdomBoy1 my heart bleeds for you :-)"

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/06/2019 23:07:23    2191049