Paul Mannion's Red Card Against Louth

If it was an All Ireland semi final it would be big news but was it a fair 'shoulder to shoulder' challenge or a deserved red card? It was done at speed and on second look I think Mannion shouldnt have been sent off.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 29/05/2019 13:01:56    2188794

Replying To gaelicgab:  "If it was an All Ireland semi final it would be big news but was it a fair 'shoulder to shoulder' challenge or a deserved red card? It was done at speed and on second look I think Mannion shouldnt have been sent off.

link"
It's a yellow and it wasn't shoulder to shoulder, he caused him a little on the chest. No need to set up a forum for it. Typical dub

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 343 - 29/05/2019 13:04:58    2188799

Replying To williesboy:  "
Replying To gaelicgab:  "If it was an All Ireland semi final it would be big news but was it a fair 'shoulder to shoulder' challenge or a deserved red card? It was done at speed and on second look I think Mannion shouldnt have been sent off.

link"
It's a yellow and it wasn't shoulder to shoulder, he caused him a little on the chest. No need to set up a forum for it. Typical dub"
I'm not a Dub. Good luck with that username.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 29/05/2019 13:07:38    2188801

link"
It's a yellow and it wasn't shoulder to shoulder, he caused him a little on the chest. No need to set up a forum for it. Typical dub"
Its a GAA discussion board. If you dont like it dont comment, simple.

On the incident itself. Even in real time i thought it should have been a yellow but watching it again, it was definitely only a yellow card offence IMO.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 29/05/2019 13:09:47    2188803

The same ref whose from Mayo thought Niall Morgan's shoulder on paddy Andrews jaw was a yellow but thought Mannions was a red, now someone explain that one to me?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/05/2019 13:11:41    2188804

link"
No need to comment if you're not interested. Jog on!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/05/2019 13:23:16    2188811

To be fair to the ref, i thought it was iffy at the game, hopefully hes learned from the mistake he made against Tyrone, its just ironic it happened to go against Dublin. Its only in the slow mo i saw on the Sunday game you could make a case for it being shoulder to shoulder, regardless if its rescinded or not, i think its clear Mannion went into the challenge with good intentions in the spirit of the game.

Not to pushed one way or the other, the less load on the players should we make the S8s the better, so if it gives someone else on the panel a chance to challenge Paul and Paul less of a load, its all good by me.

To be honest Davy Byrne should have saw the line for a worse challenge in the second half, really clocked one of the Louth lads with intent under a high ball. Far worse, but the ref didnt see it and the linesman didnt do anything about it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2019 13:26:14    2188813

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be fair to the ref, i thought it was iffy at the game, hopefully hes learned from the mistake he made against Tyrone, its just ironic it happened to go against Dublin. Its only in the slow mo i saw on the Sunday game you could make a case for it being shoulder to shoulder, regardless if its rescinded or not, i think its clear Mannion went into the challenge with good intentions in the spirit of the game.

Not to pushed one way or the other, the less load on the players should we make the S8s the better, so if it gives someone else on the panel a chance to challenge Paul and Paul less of a load, its all good by me.

To be honest Davy Byrne should have saw the line for a worse challenge in the second half, really clocked one of the Louth lads with intent under a high ball. Far worse, but the ref didnt see it and the linesman didnt do anything about it."
Yup. Saw that alright. Dreadful stuff.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/05/2019 13:37:28    2188818

Just watching it on the Sunday game highlights looked reckless in real time but in fairness was obviously shoulder to shoulder when slowed down

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 29/05/2019 13:44:17    2188823

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be fair to the ref, i thought it was iffy at the game, hopefully hes learned from the mistake he made against Tyrone, its just ironic it happened to go against Dublin. Its only in the slow mo i saw on the Sunday game you could make a case for it being shoulder to shoulder, regardless if its rescinded or not, i think its clear Mannion went into the challenge with good intentions in the spirit of the game.

To be honest Davy Byrne should have saw the line for a worse challenge in the second half, really clocked one of the Louth lads with intent under a high ball. Far worse, but the ref didnt see it and the linesman didnt do anything about it."
I agree! Swings and roundabouts!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 29/05/2019 13:44:54    2188824

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "
Replying To williesboy:  "[quote=gaelicgab:  "If it was an All Ireland semi final it would be big news but was it a fair 'shoulder to shoulder' challenge or a deserved red card? It was done at speed and on second look I think Mannion shouldnt have been sent off.

link"
Its a GAA discussion board. If you dont like it dont comment, simple.

On the incident itself. Even in real time i thought it should have been a yellow but watching it again, it was definitely only a yellow card offence IMO."]Taught it was red myself ref got it spot on imo

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 29/05/2019 13:50:22    2188829

Looked harsh, possibly a yellow for a mistimed or clumsy shoulder but never a red. If it happened to your team in a big game you'd be fairly annoyed.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/05/2019 14:10:10    2188837

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "I agree! Swings and roundabouts!"
Stay away from the swings and roundabouts ye dubs aren't able for them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/05/2019 14:30:21    2188840

I think this is a sign that there is a clamp down on tackles like this, we seen the the previous week in Newry when Mooney seen the line. Whether we agree with it or not, this is the line that will be set for the first couple of weeks anyway.

Ultimately there was no opportunity for him to play the ball, he was always going in to play the man (not that there is anything wrong with that but he drove into the Louth player at pace), it wasn't shoulder to shoulder in my opinion. And when you watch you you can see him raising his elbow in the process of the hit, similar to that of Mooney. We can talk about slowing it down and watching replays but refs only have one opportunity to make a decision and when you seen the elbow being raised then you leave the ref with a decision to make.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 29/05/2019 14:38:24    2188848

My first thought was red, after watching it back it was a yellow

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 29/05/2019 14:54:09    2188853

I wouldn't be over critical of the ref to be honest as in real time it looked quite dangerous.

Still on the fence whether or not it was red or yellow, borderline between the 2 for me. Imo he knew what he was doing and the slight raise of the elbow would make me err on the side of the red to be honest.

Very tight call and near impossible for the ref to call.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/05/2019 15:00:18    2188854

Replying To juicy:  "I think this is a sign that there is a clamp down on tackles like this, we seen the the previous week in Newry when Mooney seen the line. Whether we agree with it or not, this is the line that will be set for the first couple of weeks anyway.

Ultimately there was no opportunity for him to play the ball, he was always going in to play the man (not that there is anything wrong with that but he drove into the Louth player at pace), it wasn't shoulder to shoulder in my opinion. And when you watch you you can see him raising his elbow in the process of the hit, similar to that of Mooney. We can talk about slowing it down and watching replays but refs only have one opportunity to make a decision and when you seen the elbow being raised then you leave the ref with a decision to make."
Agree with the above.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 29/05/2019 15:01:11    2188855

Replying To juicy:  "I think this is a sign that there is a clamp down on tackles like this, we seen the the previous week in Newry when Mooney seen the line. Whether we agree with it or not, this is the line that will be set for the first couple of weeks anyway.

Ultimately there was no opportunity for him to play the ball, he was always going in to play the man (not that there is anything wrong with that but he drove into the Louth player at pace), it wasn't shoulder to shoulder in my opinion. And when you watch you you can see him raising his elbow in the process of the hit, similar to that of Mooney. We can talk about slowing it down and watching replays but refs only have one opportunity to make a decision and when you seen the elbow being raised then you leave the ref with a decision to make."
I don't know what clip you're watching if you're saying he raised his elbow. I think his elbow is at a perfectly acceptable position braced for contact/impact. I think in this instance the main reason Mannion saw red is because he is physical specimen, 6"2 of pure muscle. If he makes the same challenge on a player of similar stature they both stay on their feet and nothing is made of it. I think the fact it was on a much smaller player didn't stand in his favour as the Louth fella crumbled when there was contact. There was no raised elbow, I agree it wasn't shoulder to shoulder in the traditional sense of both players coming side on but I don't think for a second he went in to do the opposing player. In real time I actually thought the ref was slightly harsh but I didn't have any major complaints about the red. It's a seriously tough job they do when you throw in crowd influence etc on top of having to make calls in split seconds. If he appeals he'll get off I'm sure but if not then it will give fellas like Paddy Small hopefully the chance to get a few valuable run outs in Croke Park.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 29/05/2019 15:09:44    2188857

Real time @ the game I thought he would've been lucky to escape a red.

watched it back and I can see why JQ felt it was a red.

Its probably something in between yellow and red. An Orange card if ya like.

Either way, its not an issue because our next game should be relatively comfortable with or without him.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/05/2019 15:14:12    2188858

I taught is was red card clumsy challenge, not intentional or anything like that , but slightly high.

Anyone think Micheal Daragh Mc Cauley was in the square for his goal looked very much like it to me. Makes no difference what so ever to the result. But Roan Ryan for Meath got pinged for been in the square in the same goal a hour previous when Meath where wining well also. Is there double standards out there ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 29/05/2019 15:38:16    2188869