Davy Hard Done By?

Poor Davy Fitz

Brendan Cummins makes a fair point on how his reputation precedes him but I don't he's doing his team any favours with his constant ranting. It seems after every game he has something to say about the referee and it's going against Wexford. Fergal Horgan last week when he added 5 minutes, the sideline official this week...

Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 71 - 27/05/2019 16:58:06    2188232

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "Poor Davy Fitz

Brendan Cummins makes a fair point on how his reputation precedes him but I don't he's doing his team any favours with his constant ranting. It seems after every game he has something to say about the referee and it's going against Wexford. Fergal Horgan last week when he added 5 minutes, the sideline official this week..."
"I'm seething at the officials again. I didn't abuse him, I was making my point quite clearly before they ended up getting a score and that's not right."

Would be interesting to hear the official's view of the incident - Davy sure looked animated and we know he's fond of the 4 letter words!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 27/05/2019 17:10:38    2188238

He was understandably vexed by the third man tackle that the referee missed, but he was bang out of order to run onto the pitch to abuse the referee and linesman. As much as I think the GAA needs people like Davy involved, he really does himself no favours at times. He sets himself up for these falls big time.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 27/05/2019 17:17:08    2188240

His carry on is letting Wexford down.

Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 71 - 27/05/2019 19:01:53    2188263

his point was right,but his execution was poor.
i have long since said the only people who should be on the pitch are medical personnel (and they are tactically used by teams to slow down the game,stop the opposition gaining momentum,etc) and hurl/water carrier.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 27/05/2019 19:12:43    2188268

I think Davy felt that a flair-up or some kind of intervention was needed to wake Wexford out of their slumber - and it worked as Wexford, at last, began to show some fight and nearly won the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 27/05/2019 19:13:24    2188269

Yes hard done by again. The passion he has is unreal but some officials think they are been verbally used when they are not. Davy makes his point and very rarely he is wrong.
His not letting Wexford down would they be where they are today without him at the helm? Certainly not.
His made a quite ordinary team beat every top team at some stage in league or championship since he took over.
I'm sorry to say this but the only people who let down Wexford yesterday were the players that Galway team was there for the taking and if Wexford hurled with a bit more conviction and made key decisions like at end going for goal when a point was easier they would have won.
Pity it takes Davy's actions to wake them up any other manager would have stood there and took it but not Davy.
His a fighter his a legend. Go Davy.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/05/2019 20:58:33    2188309

Replying To WildPundit:  "Yes hard done by again. The passion he has is unreal but some officials think they are been verbally used when they are not. Davy makes his point and very rarely he is wrong.
His not letting Wexford down would they be where they are today without him at the helm? Certainly not.
His made a quite ordinary team beat every top team at some stage in league or championship since he took over.
I'm sorry to say this but the only people who let down Wexford yesterday were the players that Galway team was there for the taking and if Wexford hurled with a bit more conviction and made key decisions like at end going for goal when a point was easier they would have won.
Pity it takes Davy's actions to wake them up any other manager would have stood there and took it but not Davy.
His a fighter his a legend. Go Davy."
Would be interesting to hear the official's view of the incident - Davy sure looked animated and we know he's fond of the 4 letter words!
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 3324 - 27/05/2019 17:10:38 2188238

Yes hard done by again. The passion he has is unreal but some officials think they are been verbally used when they are not. Davy makes his point and very rarely he is wrong.
"Pity it takes Davy's actions to wake them up any other manager would have stood there and took it but not Davy".
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1579 - 27/05/2019 20:58:33 2188309

I was happy for Davy that he didn't get the 5 months suspension that Turlough O'Brien got, I thought that even though he was handed down a 4 month suspension not too long ago which he successfully appealed and got it reduced to 4 week's, he has a few other penalty points on his cv so I thought they would use it against him and hand down a suitable suspension. I am more surprised than disappointed with the amount of pleasantries that are spoken of in his favour, almost condoning his passion shall we call it, albeit hypocritical.
Turlough O'Briens passion for the game got him into serious trouble, apparently Davy's passion for the game got him out of trouble,
The big difference is Turlough O'Briens incident happened off the pitch after the game finished, where as Davy's incident happened on the pitch during the course of play, there by, bringing the game into disrepute. - Official..
Quote,- "Passion is not, and cannot be accepted as an excuse"

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 28/05/2019 17:33:36    2188565

Poor Davy Fitz
Brendan Cummins makes a fair point on how his reputation precedes him but I don't he's doing his team any favours with his constant ranting. It seems after every game he has something to say about the referee and it's going against Wexford. Fergal Horgan last week when he added 5 minutes, the sideline official this week...
Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 37 - 27/05/2019 16:58:06
Why should people be saying poor davy? Its all his fault he has all this attention

his point was right,but his execution was poor.
i have long since said the only people who should be on the pitch are medical personnel (and they are tactically used by teams to slow down the game,stop the opposition gaining momentum,etc) and hurl/water carrier.
perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3255 - 27/05/2019 19:12:43
Only way to do that is make regulations in force at all levels to stop people being on pitch apart from medics etc. put barrier around pitches and even have subs behind barriers.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1579 - 27/05/2019 20:58:33
hard done by? Not at all
And passion isnt abuse which davy gives plenty. Davy makes his point in a very abusive aggressive manner and doesnt respect officials.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 28/05/2019 18:17:29    2188576

How can anyone maintain he was hard done by? Bad behaviour including intimidation of officials is a big problem in the GAA. Davy has previous for this kind of thing.
In my opinion he was quite cynical in what he did, he knew he needed to get a response from his players so he kicked up a rumpus on the line with the 4th official.
He should be in for a lengthy ban for his behaviour.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 28/05/2019 20:31:18    2188611

Lads for peats sake if a player or manager makes a mistake they are punished for it. Moments like Sundays game which irked Davy can define a season you can't blame him.
Far too often officials have got key moments wrong in a game and nothing is ever done.
We're always told that referees are human but I'm sorry so are managers and players.
Heat of the moment stuff and look what is considered abuse tell me?
Telling an offical off cos he got a decision wrong isint abuse and while Davy is animated yes you can't argue there but if he was my manager id be fecking thrilled to know he was backing up my team.
If this was any other manager I'm sure this conversation would be different but cos it's Davy everyone jumps on the bandwagon to slate him.
That man has raw passion while OTT and he makes this championship have an edge. Seriously put him into Offaly and they will be back hurling in the big time competing. Give the man a break his done it all owes no one anything and his still going.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/05/2019 20:51:01    2188620

Replying To supersub15:  "Would be interesting to hear the official's view of the incident - Davy sure looked animated and we know he's fond of the 4 letter words!
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 3324 - 27/05/2019 17:10:38 2188238

"Pity it takes Davy's actions to wake them up any other manager would have stood there and took it but not Davy".
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1579 - 27/05/2019 20:58:33 2188309

I was happy for Davy that he didn't get the 5 months suspension that Turlough O'Brien got, I thought that even though he was handed down a 4 month suspension not too long ago which he successfully appealed and got it reduced to 4 week's, he has a few other penalty points on his cv so I thought they would use it against him and hand down a suitable suspension. I am more surprised than disappointed with the amount of pleasantries that are spoken of in his favour, almost condoning his passion shall we call it, albeit hypocritical.
Turlough O'Briens passion for the game got him into serious trouble, apparently Davy's passion for the game got him out of trouble,
The big difference is Turlough O'Briens incident happened off the pitch after the game finished, where as Davy's incident happened on the pitch during the course of play, there by, bringing the game into disrepute. - Official..
Quote,- "Passion is not, and cannot be accepted as an excuse""
Turlough O Brien and Steven Poacher wouldn't let the referees report be published because of what it was "alleged" they said to him. I can only imagine what it was to get the bans they got.
Davy can be indefensible at times and he's been suspended for it rightly but I think Sunday was minor in the scheme of things.
Look at Cody or Sheedy or Donoghue on the line and you'll see how often they get on to the 4th official. The live coverage on Sunday actually picked up Donoghue cursing at the referee.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 28/05/2019 21:15:43    2188636

Replying To Barnowl94:  "How can anyone maintain he was hard done by? Bad behaviour including intimidation of officials is a big problem in the GAA. Davy has previous for this kind of thing.
In my opinion he was quite cynical in what he did, he knew he needed to get a response from his players so he kicked up a rumpus on the line with the 4th official.
He should be in for a lengthy ban for his behaviour."
Absolutely, 5 months even.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 28/05/2019 21:16:33    2188637

Replying To supersub15:  "Absolutely, 5 months even."
Turlough O Brien and Steven Poacher wouldn't let the referees report be published because of what it was "alleged" they said to him.

Sorry,but that bit is inaccurate and incorrect, however I will try and double check that.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 28/05/2019 21:36:40    2188647

Replying To Barnowl94:  "How can anyone maintain he was hard done by? Bad behaviour including intimidation of officials is a big problem in the GAA. Davy has previous for this kind of thing.
He should be in for a lengthy ban for his behaviour."
Disagree totally a small man telling off an official is now intimidation?
To me a lot of sour grapes being levelled at Davy cos he speaks his mind and rightly has a go to defend his team.
How long more can we let officials ruin the game has anyone ever thought?
Two referees on the pitch will put an end to off the ball tackles hits etc and actually improve the outrage all managers go through.
Davy is vocal about it and rightly so. He can't over turn a match result , he can't influence a ref to over rule his decision but what he can do is let the official or team of officials they are wrong in the moment it happens. I'm sorry but if anyone thinks Davy is verbally abusing or intimidating they are wrong.
His a small man in stature but his a big man in terms of what he believes in and if managers sit back and let the powers to be make constant mistakes year after year then I'm on Davy's side.
Stand up to them if your wrong your wrong. And the officials were wrong.
Just cos he shouts and roars doesn't mean it's verbal abuse or intimidation.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/05/2019 21:55:46    2188656

Replying To supersub15:  "Absolutely, 5 months even."
5 months for what?
What did he say?
What did he do on Sunday that Cody doesn't do?

Ej (Wexford) - Posts: 355 - 28/05/2019 22:03:42    2188659

Replying To Ej:  "5 months for what?
What did he say?
What did he do on Sunday that Cody doesn't do?"
By the same token Turlough O'Brien 5 months.for what.?
What did he say?
What did he do.? - That Davy doesn't say or Cody doesn't do.?
Davy & Cody can be passionate and express it, but with O'Brien T&C apply.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 28/05/2019 22:47:28    2188673

Replying To supersub15:  "By the same token Turlough O'Brien 5 months.for what.?
What did he say?
What did he do.? - That Davy doesn't say or Cody doesn't do.?
Davy & Cody can be passionate and express it, but with O'Brien T&C apply."
I have no idea what O'Brien said or did and have not expressed any opinion on his ban. Maybe you should do likewise

Ej (Wexford) - Posts: 355 - 28/05/2019 23:13:59    2188683

You'd swear his was the first team in the history of sport who was hard done by a referee's decision. And all this nonsense of running onto a pitch and picking fights with the ref is looking increasingly like a pretty cynical attempt to influence the game and send a message to his players. I was indifferent to him before, but I'm growing tired of him now; if that's what he has to offer as a manager, cheap stunts and belittling match officials to get a rise out of his players, then his days as a manager are almost done.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/05/2019 06:35:37    2188706

Replying To supersub15:  "Turlough O Brien and Steven Poacher wouldn't let the referees report be published because of what it was "alleged" they said to him.

Sorry,but that bit is inaccurate and incorrect, however I will try and double check that."
It's not one bit inaccurate. They were asked if they would like the alleged offences to be published to exonerate them and they declined due to the content that was in them. In any case to get 5 months it must've been pretty serious.

You could confirm though what leaked video Poacher is talking about in recent interview? He says it was leaked by Laois to get them banned but then wished everybody could see it to prove their innocence??? I don't get how the same video could get you banned and prove your innocence?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 29/05/2019 09:12:49    2188722