Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Do you think not having Lee Brennan, O'Neill or Bradley as part of a more expansive game cost you?

Apart from a few blockbusting runs (which is a worry for our defence) the lack of mobility/chaos created by your forward line made it easy for us to contain threats after the first 10 minutes (and last 5) or so."
I do think we missed Brennan and possibly Bradley but definitely not O'Neill. He has never produced for us and always seemed off pace.

But it was more than that. It was more than having a nippy corner forward. If that's all we needed then we could have started Darren McCurry. The forwards we have are very good and will put up huge score lines if given the right service.

It was a strange team selection from the start. I think if we are to keep with this type of system then we need to be ready for teams packing their defence like Donegal did. To counteract this we need to be winning 95% of our own kick outs and at least 30-40% of the oppositions. This means that we need a big mobile midfielder. We actually have this in Declan McClure but for some reason he has fallen out of favour with management in recent seasons.

We also need our defenders to learn how to properly man mark. At the minute they seem to be caught between two systems and it is confusing them.

If we did this then we could get quick supply into our forward line and not have to worry so much about the inevitable counter attack.

If we can take the remainder of this championship and next years league re-educating our players on how to play traditional football again then I think we will be one of the teams to beat next year.

I would definitely rather have this than go back to playing the type of football which has ruined summer after summer of championship football.

The problem is that Donegals performance and result will now only encourage other teams to stick to the same mass defensive systems which has blighted football over the past decade.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 10/06/2019 12:58:55    2192822

Replying To Byanthon:  "A great performance from Donegal must put them right up there as challengers to Dublin. Tyrone can bounce back in the back door but to what purpose remains to be seen. Qualifying for Super 8's maybe as good as it gets. Can not condone McCann he will deserve all he gets."
Honest post. Donegal look the real deal. It's hard to believe that Tyrone have regressed that much and would be great to see both counties at the business end. You'd still worry about Harte's ability to implement a plan B though when that team goes down by 4 or 5 points. They looked heavy legged against Tyrone and lacked speed of transition. I'm sure Harte will have a plan to fix it and will be happy with today's draw which may give him a chance to tweak things.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/06/2019 13:01:22    2192827

Replying To HandballRef:  "McGeary was very good for Tyrone yesterday in fairness. Very rarely does he have a poor game. As impressive as we were yesterday, Tyrone are no where near as poor as they were either. They were woeful yesterday.

Apart from being way off the pace, I just think Mickey Harte made some strange calls as well in terms of personnel. Where was Conor Meyler yesterday, was he injured? Thought he was a big loss as he usually picks up Ryan McHugh and does well on him. I was delighted to hear Cassidy wasnt starting either. Strange call to drop him. Rafferty was anonymous. And I dont know why Harte persists with Ben McDonnell. To me he is not good enough to warrant a starting spot. Colm Cavanagh looks really off the pace this year too.

And I really was rubbing my hands when I seen Aidan McCroary coming on when we were 6 points up!! Kyle Coney would have been worth throwing on at that stage for Tyrone. I think Tyrone will rue all 3 of Mark Bradley, Lee Brennan and Ronan O Neill leaving the panel this year. They lack depth inside. He seems to have pinned all his hopes this year on playing McShane Donnelly and Harte in there, when really it should just he another string to your bow. Lee Brennan destroyed us in the second half last year in Ballybofey. No sign of Loughran or McClure this year either."
Hit the nail on the head here.

The Aidan McCrory one really made me think that Harte, either has lost the plot, or was happy enough losing that game and getting a run in the back door, which is madness considering the winner of Ulster avoids Dublin in Super 8s.

Murphy and Brennan are getting a lot of deserved credit for the win but I though Patton was immense for Donegal, kick outs where excellent all game and made very important saves at the end of the first half. Even one goal out of that for Tyrone could have give us a bit of momentum.

The new systems seems to be hurting Cavanagh & McCann in particular. Both lads games are suited to the running game Tyrone have played over the past 5 years and because they aren't the best kick passers they're struggling to have an effect on the game. Few other key Tyrone men out of form at the minute also, Burns, Sludden & Hampsey are all just short of confidence atm I think.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 10/06/2019 15:49:11    2193000

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Madge not sure what the politics has to do with it but with 3000 children homeless in the 26 counties each night then I think there are more than enough real issues to be concerning people with than throwing petty digs here...so much for cherishing all children of island equally.

As for the Mc Cann incident, it should be left to the CCCC to deal with now and not a trial by media....without doubt it was wrong but these players are amateurs and have family/friends reading these media forums so people should watch their use of emotive terms like tramp etc .....lad was in the wrong should be punished but using one action to brand someone's whole character is wrong , prime example is some of the commentary made about Philly Mc Mahon previously yet now through the documentary etc people hav come to know the real Philly a lot have changed their tune......not saying Mc Cann is the same but how many people on here really know the lad to comment on his overall character"
So Paudie you thought you might throw a dig in here too? FYI - Homelessness rate in the wee 6 is over twice that in the 26. Consider that when casting your vote the next time.

The point was misguided but clearly in reference to certain parties justifying past actions during the bad times. McCann needs to cop on and own his behaviour as does the Tyrone set up. His on field antics too often overshadow a very talented player. Plenty of players get involved in poor behaviour but Tiernan McCann seems to find this trouble more than any other in Tyrone or beyond.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 16:10:38    2193018

Replying To Wally:  "I do think we missed Brennan and possibly Bradley but definitely not O'Neill. He has never produced for us and always seemed off pace.

But it was more than that. It was more than having a nippy corner forward. If that's all we needed then we could have started Darren McCurry. The forwards we have are very good and will put up huge score lines if given the right service.

It was a strange team selection from the start. I think if we are to keep with this type of system then we need to be ready for teams packing their defence like Donegal did. To counteract this we need to be winning 95% of our own kick outs and at least 30-40% of the oppositions. This means that we need a big mobile midfielder. We actually have this in Declan McClure but for some reason he has fallen out of favour with management in recent seasons.

We also need our defenders to learn how to properly man mark. At the minute they seem to be caught between two systems and it is confusing them.

If we did this then we could get quick supply into our forward line and not have to worry so much about the inevitable counter attack.

If we can take the remainder of this championship and next years league re-educating our players on how to play traditional football again then I think we will be one of the teams to beat next year.

I would definitely rather have this than go back to playing the type of football which has ruined summer after summer of championship football.

The problem is that Donegals performance and result will now only encourage other teams to stick to the same mass defensive systems which has blighted football over the past decade."
Donegal got players behind the ball but left at least 2 up for 90% of the game. They also only started 4 recognised defenders in Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath, Stephen McMenamin and Eoghan Ban Gallagher and named 7 forwards in Murphy, McBrearty, Brennan, O'Donnell, Langan, McCloone and Eoin McHugh as well as having Ryan McHugh in the starting 15. If teams adopt this attitude then we will see plenty of attacking in games too. Nothing wrong with a defensive system as long as their is a good attacking one with it. Donegal had a great balance to this on Saturday and I think it threw Tyrone off a bit, especially in the first half as I don't think they expected Donegal to have so many attacking players on the field. I fully expect Tyrone to recover and will stay have a big say later this year.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 10/06/2019 16:39:07    2193035

Replying To Gator:  "So Paudie you thought you might throw a dig in here too? FYI - Homelessness rate in the wee 6 is over twice that in the 26. Consider that when casting your vote the next time.

The point was misguided but clearly in reference to certain parties justifying past actions during the bad times. McCann needs to cop on and own his behaviour as does the Tyrone set up. His on field antics too often overshadow a very talented player. Plenty of players get involved in poor behaviour but Tiernan McCann seems to find this trouble more than any other in Tyrone or beyond."
Gator idepends on definition of homelessness but that's besides the point...if you think the homeless issue on the island of Ireland is acceptable fair play but I don't , personally my concern is the whole of the island (like most GAA people) not the separate/artifical entities created by partition....mismanagement by the English I have come to expect but we should challenge ourselves collectively on this island to do better

Nobody is defending Mc Cann but some of the name calling is OTT particularly when vast majority of posters don't know the las at all

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 10/06/2019 16:40:06    2193037

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Gator idepends on definition of homelessness but that's besides the point...if you think the homeless issue on the island of Ireland is acceptable fair play but I don't , personally my concern is the whole of the island (like most GAA people) not the separate/artifical entities created by partition....mismanagement by the English I have come to expect but we should challenge ourselves collectively on this island to do better

Nobody is defending Mc Cann but some of the name calling is OTT particularly when vast majority of posters don't know the las at all"
You are accusing a poster of throwing petty digs whilst doing the exact same. I dont for one minute think anyone should be homeless.

I agree ppl are somewhat over the top but ppl have seen this maybe wee bit too often. Maybe its time Tiernan took some notice and changed it up a bit.

Artificial entities. Lol. Your vote is cast I see.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 16:50:16    2193053

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Madge not sure what the politics has to do with it but with 3000 children homeless in the 26 counties each night then I think there are more than enough real issues to be concerning people with than throwing petty digs here...so much for cherishing all children of island equally.

As for the Mc Cann incident, it should be left to the CCCC to deal with now and not a trial by media....without doubt it was wrong but these players are amateurs and have family/friends reading these media forums so people should watch their use of emotive terms like tramp etc .....lad was in the wrong should be punished but using one action to brand someone's whole character is wrong , prime example is some of the commentary made about Philly Mc Mahon previously yet now through the documentary etc people hav come to know the real Philly a lot have changed their tune......not saying Mc Cann is the same but how many people on here really know the lad to comment on his overall character"
Anyone prepared to go on the defensive about northern politics at the moment really needs their head examined.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 10/06/2019 17:27:49    2193086

Replying To sam1884:  "I wouldn't call for any ban of an individual player, they're amateur and whilst mistakes are made we need to protect individuals from a media backlash. My point is as a county there appears to be something wrong in Tyrone, I don't watch their club football or coaching sessions through the ranks but from an outsider something doesn't seem right with how Tyrone as a whole do things. People react to incidents happening from the same county time and time again."
Do you have any comment on what's happening in Wicklow club football?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 11/06/2019 22:33:54    2193729