Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I've posted already but don't see it on here so here goes.
Well done to Donegal,they outplayed Tyrone all over the field from start to finish and once they got their noses a certain distance in front they never looked like they were gonna be anything other than easy winners on the day. Tyrone need to regroup and think about tactical changes when the game isn't goin their way.
Tiernan Mc Cann was wrong to do what he did. Very dangerous and unsporting behaviour. He needs to ask some questions of himself as this type of action cannot be tolerated. If he is punished after the fact then he has only himself to blame. Not to mitigate what he's done but it's been done by others before him so we don't need any posters on here trying to make it out to be any worse than what's gone on before,and what will undoubtedly happen again. No need to make it about Tyrone either as I've seen it plenty from other county's players but won't name names as we've all discussed those incidents on here at the times they happened through the years."
Straight from the playbook of Northern politics..

'This was bad but not unprecendented' 'there is blame on all sides' 'we need to look at the context'
Blah blah blah.
This guy has form. He is admired for his antics by his support base. Not by anyone who loves the sport however.
I hope the GAA throw the book at him.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 09/06/2019 09:48:55    2192046

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Tieran Mc Cann is a dental student?"
Aye, he has a bit to do yet I reckon.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 09/06/2019 09:50:09    2192049

Disappointed yesterday as a tyrone fan, donegal looked hungrier, tyrone never looked like winning the game, was surprised at mc alliskey not starting, or kyle coney not given a go, panel not as strong without mark bradley, lee brennan imo

Tyrone1994 (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 09/06/2019 09:53:21    2192051

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Straight from the playbook of Northern politics..

'This was bad but not unprecendented' 'there is blame on all sides' 'we need to look at the context'
Blah blah blah.
This guy has form. He is admired for his antics by his support base. Not by anyone who loves the sport however.
I hope the GAA throw the book at him."
In a nutshell madge

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 09/06/2019 10:32:24    2192066

Replying To panamasam:  "You forgot Mayo? I said similar after Fermanagh game can u imagine the attention Jamie would get if playing for them. That aside he is the perfect role model for any young player coming through put the work in and u can achieve anything. The work this lad has put in off the pitch is incredible. He has transformed himself physically and not just worked on his shooting but so much so he is equally adept off of either foot. I seen him a couple of times playing for Bundoran last year and anytime he got on the ball something happened with panic rife among the opposition he was literally unmarkable."
Not sure what you expect us to say. Young Brennan looks to be a good footballer all right. Thing is Dublin have six as good or better than him, Kerry three or four. We could do with a few like him and of course we'd have great praise for him if he were ours, what else would you expect. There are enough Donegal lads waxing lyrical about him so you don't need any endorsement from elsewhere.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/06/2019 11:16:03    2192086

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "an open letter to the tyrone players who took to the field today.
This applies to all of you except for Cathal McShane and Michael Cassidy.
What we witnessed today was complete and total capitulaation. In fact if Donegal had won by FOURTEEN points it would not have flattered them. Michael Murphy could afford to kick 3 placed balls wide and at the same time it didn't bother him because he knew there was no fight in his opponents. McBrearty must have thought he was playing against a club junior b defence such was the ease in which he was tapping the ball over the bar.
Many of you never even managed to put in a decent tackle much less get stuck in to your opponents. Many of you spent your time during the game wandering aimlessly around the middle of the field in an attempt to make it look as if you wanted the ball, but in actual fact you had no desire to get on the ball.
About seven of you should now seriously consider whether you are fit to wear the red hand jersey again, and actually should now request to leave the panel, so that players who really want to compete and fight for the ball can actually represent the county with honour. In short you were all a disgrace to the jersey."
You've gone from childishly giddy Cheerleader-in-Chief to leading the lynch mob.

Have some respect for the players - some of may not be up to it, and some of them looked lost yesterday, but they certainly don't need a clown like you building them up like Supermen, and then throwing them under the bus after a bad performance. Oh, and I notice you didn't direct much criticism your mate Mickey, who you mustn't see as responsible in any way.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 09/06/2019 11:16:41    2192088

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "You've gone from childishly giddy Cheerleader-in-Chief to leading the lynch mob.

Have some respect for the players - some of may not be up to it, and some of them looked lost yesterday, but they certainly don't need a clown like you building them up like Supermen, and then throwing them under the bus after a bad performance. Oh, and I notice you didn't direct much criticism your mate Mickey, who you mustn't see as responsible in any way."
If you knew anything about the game what you have seen there yesterday was players running around trying to look as if they were making an effort. I am no mate of Mickey Harte's for your information and he has to take his share of responsibility for players not being prepared to put in the effort. Also I am and never have been a cheerleader for this team this year. When you cross the white line it's down to you to make the effort. If you had played the game at any decent level you would know that

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/06/2019 11:35:43    2192098

Congrats to our lads on yesterdays performance. I knew we had a chance but didn't realise that we would win by controlling the game as we did. Big performances by all our lads. I hope Jason mcGee is ok, I haven't heard any word about him. Stephen McMenimin will survive what happened him as unfortunate and unsavoury as it was. There are bigger things to talk about such as our ulster final date with either Armagh or Cavan. I would really like to see cavan get there as they would bring a full house to clones. All in all, a very satisfactory day was had.

Happy to be in yet another ulster final.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/06/2019 12:04:08    2192111

Didn't look good from a Tyrone perspective. No leader in that panel? When the going got tough, not one man stood up to try to rally the rest. When plan A was clearly not working after 15 minutes, no alterations made, why? The sideline should be spotting what's not working and have ways to counter that. That's the pessimistic view.

The optimistic (deluded?) view is that Tyrone are peaking for August. They certainly didn't look interested yesterday.

But fair play to Donegal, and Brennan in particular, class player, Donegal a good blend of experience and youth.

Dermoot (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 09/06/2019 12:09:41    2192113

Reading Mickey Hartes comments he is saying
in so many words when my nephew went off
it changed the game to be honest if Tyrone had
10 Peter Hartes they would not have won that game

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 09/06/2019 12:18:09    2192114

Reading Mickey Hartes comments he is saying
10 Peter Hartes they would not have won that game

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 09/06/2019 12:25:19    2192117

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure what you expect us to say. Young Brennan looks to be a good footballer all right. Thing is Dublin have six as good or better than him, Kerry three or four. We could do with a few like him and of course we'd have great praise for him if he were ours, what else would you expect. There are enough Donegal lads waxing lyrical about him so you don't need any endorsement from elsewhere."
Not expecting ye to say anything. The lad deserves all the praise he gets for the work he has put in. He is starting to get the praise he deserves. As for the waxing lyrical bit any praise is worthy but don't think anybody from Donegal has being too ott.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/06/2019 12:35:05    2192119

Replying To wfkerry:  "Reading Mickey Hartes comments he is saying
10 Peter Hartes they would not have won that game"
I think it was an important moment for sure. Would Tyrone have won the game? They would have had a better chance especially at the start of the 2nd half. Harte is an incredibly good footballer. I don't know if they would have won the game, but the rules are the rules and he was foolish enough even though it was a technical challenge rather than a dirty one.

I have to say that I was glad to see Ryan McHugh been given a bit of protection at last as in every game he is subject to extra attention. Maybe this sort of refereeing will sort out the fouling and allow the runners to keep the game flowing.

I completely anticipate the replies that donegal players are capable of fouling too and I totally accept this. My point goes across the board in terms of enforcing the law for the better of the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/06/2019 13:25:22    2192138

Replying To Dermoot:  "Didn't look good from a Tyrone perspective. No leader in that panel? When the going got tough, not one man stood up to try to rally the rest. When plan A was clearly not working after 15 minutes, no alterations made, why? The sideline should be spotting what's not working and have ways to counter that. That's the pessimistic view.

The optimistic (deluded?) view is that Tyrone are peaking for August. They certainly didn't look interested yesterday.

But fair play to Donegal, and Brennan in particular, class player, Donegal a good blend of experience and youth."
I would say the above comment is a little unfair on Kieran McGeary. I thought he was immense for us and was the only player who took the fight to Donegal.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/06/2019 13:29:09    2192140

Not sure what it is about Tyrone but they can't seem to lose by only a point or two. They seem to suffer big defeats, the score board flattered us. Once Tyrone go a few points down we struggle to pull it back.

Going to be a v.short season. Even if we get a good draw if we meet Kerry,mayo donegal or Dublin that will be us out.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 09/06/2019 14:22:02    2192154

While we obviously need to take each game as it comes, and not to be underestimating Cavan/Armagh, I'm really looking forward to seeing how this Donegal team will go in Croke Park when at full throttle.

The younger players are gaining in experience and confidence. Paddy will only get better and better as his sharpness increases.

Exciting times for Donegal supporters!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 09/06/2019 14:24:37    2192156

No Kyle Coney, Lee Brennan, Ronan O'Neill or Mark Bradley for Tyrone yesterday. McCurry and McAliskey on the bench. Most natural forwards they have.

Instead, trying to half backs into corner forwards. Massive respect for Mickey Harte but not sure what his thinking is there.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/06/2019 14:59:41    2192168

Blah blah blah.
I condemned what he did and said there was no place for it,what more do you want?
Or were you on here calling for Cavan men to be dropped from the county panel when they went for a disgraceful ding dong with the Armagh boys a while back? I'd say ye didn't say too much about it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/06/2019 15:03:33    2192169

Replying To Wally:  "I would say the above comment is a little unfair on Kieran McGeary. I thought he was immense for us and was the only player who took the fight to Donegal."
McGeary was very good for Tyrone yesterday in fairness. Very rarely does he have a poor game. As impressive as we were yesterday, Tyrone are no where near as poor as they were either. They were woeful yesterday.

Apart from being way off the pace, I just think Mickey Harte made some strange calls as well in terms of personnel. Where was Conor Meyler yesterday, was he injured? Thought he was a big loss as he usually picks up Ryan McHugh and does well on him. I was delighted to hear Cassidy wasnt starting either. Strange call to drop him. Rafferty was anonymous. And I dont know why Harte persists with Ben McDonnell. To me he is not good enough to warrant a starting spot. Colm Cavanagh looks really off the pace this year too.

And I really was rubbing my hands when I seen Aidan McCroary coming on when we were 6 points up!! Kyle Coney would have been worth throwing on at that stage for Tyrone. I think Tyrone will rue all 3 of Mark Bradley, Lee Brennan and Ronan O Neill leaving the panel this year. They lack depth inside. He seems to have pinned all his hopes this year on playing McShane Donnelly and Harte in there, when really it should just he another string to your bow. Lee Brennan destroyed us in the second half last year in Ballybofey. No sign of Loughran or McClure this year either.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 09/06/2019 15:25:17    2192172

Blah blah blah.
Also there is no relevance to northern politics although many of you in the Republic of Shame would need to take the plank out of your own eyes when it comes to politics as your system there is rotten to the core.
Also,nowhere in my post did I suggest that the blame for what happened lay anywhere but firmly with Tiernan Mc Cann himself so you can take that back,and I also didn't suggest that there was any need to look at the context in trying to understand why he did it. It was wrong and that's all that I need to say about it. And as I said originally if he is sanctioned now for it he has only himself to blame.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/06/2019 15:53:08    2192192