Conor Cox Kerry Mistake

How did Kerry let Conor Cox go ? Huge mistake he's outstanding, thoughts?

His point out on the wing in the second half was a thing of beauty.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2019 19:30:14    2187750

Maybe he is a loss to us considering his performances for Roscommon. Geaney and Clifford are definitely better than him but after that he would probably be our best inside forward. Fitzmaurice definetly should have used him instead of Barry John Keane.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 26/05/2019 20:48:34    2187798

Replying To clondalkindub:  "How did Kerry let Conor Cox go ? Huge mistake he's outstanding, thoughts?

His point out on the wing in the second half was a thing of beauty."
He would be hands down a better option than James O'Donaghue who's past it now.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 26/05/2019 21:07:26    2187816

Replying To clondalkindub:  "How did Kerry let Conor Cox go ? Huge mistake he's outstanding, thoughts?

His point out on the wing in the second half was a thing of beauty."
Whatever about a Kerry mistake all i know is he is getting great love in his dads county now and is really enjoying his extend run at county senior football. Just a pity we didn't have him for round 1 of the NFL v Mayo as if we did we would have won and would have comfortably stayed up.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/05/2019 21:16:19    2187824

Replying To Kerry15:  "Maybe he is a loss to us considering his performances for Roscommon. Geaney and Clifford are definitely better than him but after that he would probably be our best inside forward. Fitzmaurice definetly should have used him instead of Barry John Keane."
I'd agree. He has a physical presence and can be a good target inside. Kerry used Tommy Walsh for this role during the league, but Cox offers so much more as a natural forward and regular scorer.
He's a handful to mark as his first thought is always to beat his man and try to get his kick away.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 26/05/2019 21:17:35    2187826

As Kerry15 said I doubt he'd be getting the opportunities he is getting if he had stayed in Kerry. Knowing what we know now he'd make the Kerry panel if not the fifteen but our problems lie elsewhere to be honest so I'm not sure how much he'd improve the team.

If he was a midfielder or full back and went up there and turned in to an all star it would be another story and I think there would be a lot of people wondering how he slipped through the net.

It's great for Roscommon and for Cox given his close ties to the county and I'm delighted for him. He should have gotten more chances in Kerry over the years though, no doubt about it, I hope he gets an All Star

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/05/2019 21:20:08    2187830

I think Kerry are OK for forwards to be honest!

Although Cox has a great game yesterday to be fair to the lad.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 26/05/2019 21:58:41    2187851

Yep, think Kerry dropped a clanger here, you can have your Clifford's and Geaney etc. But panel management is about competition internally to raise standards. Externally you need as strong a panel as you can muster and depth.

Dublin could afford, to give Dean Rock, the night off yesterday, Bernard Brogan too and with Paul Mannion sent off Dublin still racked up scores the far side of 30 points. With still lads looking in the managers face to come on.

Kerry aren't good enough, to be sending lads of the caliber of Cox out into the wilderness, they had really poor scoring stats from play during the league final, while the excellent O Shea and his free taking abilities have papered over the cracks at times in the forward line at times, his gifts can be a blessing and a curse. While outside of Munster that's been a regular feature in the championship for at least the last three years.

Think they will regret loosening Cox in all honesty, he'd be on the Dublin panel for sure.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/05/2019 22:04:45    2187859

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yep, think Kerry dropped a clanger here, you can have your Clifford's and Geaney etc. But panel management is about competition internally to raise standards. Externally you need as strong a panel as you can muster and depth.

Dublin could afford, to give Dean Rock, the night off yesterday, Bernard Brogan too and with Paul Mannion sent off Dublin still racked up scores the far side of 30 points. With still lads looking in the managers face to come on.

Kerry aren't good enough, to be sending lads of the caliber of Cox out into the wilderness, they had really poor scoring stats from play during the league final, while the excellent O Shea and his free taking abilities have papered over the cracks at times in the forward line at times, his gifts can be a blessing and a curse. While outside of Munster that's been a regular feature in the championship for at least the last three years.

Think they will regret loosening Cox in all honesty, he'd be on the Dublin panel for sure."
By jaysus you seem to be a right expert on the Kingdom these days, stick to pontificating on your own county like a good man.

Cox had his chance with Kerry and didn't take it, he got another opportunity with the Rossies and fair play to him for making the most of it. He's adding something for them but he wouldn't be the difference for Kerry.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/05/2019 22:47:24    2187883

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yep, think Kerry dropped a clanger here, you can have your Clifford's and Geaney etc. But panel management is about competition internally to raise standards. Externally you need as strong a panel as you can muster and depth.

Think they will regret loosening Cox in all honesty, he'd be on the Dublin panel for sure."
The scoring stats from play you speak of are more to do with what happened further back. We were losing around the middle, Clifford had the beating of his man and had his hand in the air looking for the ball practically the entire game and nobody could find him, perhaps it wasn't so obvious on tv but I was right in front of it. When we are pressured around the middle against good teams we struggle. Putting Cox or anybody else up front won't solve that.

He is better than we thought and in hindsight he is probably a better option than JOD or Walsh, and on current form maybe Geaney too but if as expected we fall short again this summer it won't be because we lack scoring forwards.

I must admit I hadn't seen much of Cox, it's amazing that he has had so few chances with Kerry given how good he has turned out to be, and I don't ever remember hearing too many clamours for his inclusion at any stage. It's a great story with his heritage to be playing for them and shooting the lights out.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 26/05/2019 23:04:06    2187891

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "As Kerry15 said I doubt he'd be getting the opportunities he is getting if he had stayed in Kerry. Knowing what we know now he'd make the Kerry panel if not the fifteen but our problems lie elsewhere to be honest so I'm not sure how much he'd improve the team.

If he was a midfielder or full back and went up there and turned in to an all star it would be another story and I think there would be a lot of people wondering how he slipped through the net.

It's great for Roscommon and for Cox given his close ties to the county and I'm delighted for him. He should have gotten more chances in Kerry over the years though, no doubt about it, I hope he gets an All Star"
God a long way to go before suggesting he'll get an All Star!!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 27/05/2019 00:28:38    2187919

I would have Cox any day ahead of geaney kerry messed up

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 27/05/2019 00:51:23    2187927

In the words of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman,big mistake....huge!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 27/05/2019 09:45:37    2187978

He would walk onto to the current Kerry team which is rubbishy bar Geaney and Clifford.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 27/05/2019 10:15:07    2187994

Replying To summerof09:  "He would walk onto to the current Kerry team which is rubbishy bar Geaney and Clifford."
Must let Sean O'Se know he is a "rubbishy" player, ditto Paul Murphy, David Moran etc etc , ha ha :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/05/2019 10:37:36    2188008

Replying To summerof09:  "He would walk onto to the current Kerry team which is rubbishy bar Geaney and Clifford."
Therein lies the issue, we play a two man inside line now and they are the two he needs to displace. There is also a former FOTY and a former YFOTY on the bench looking for the same jerseys. I'd like to see Cox maintain this form before declaring him the second coming and saying he is better than Geaney who had a down year last year but was remarkably good for 4-5 years before that.

We have a lot of issues in kerry, depth at FF is not one of them and I honestly don't hear too many people bemoaning his loss. If he was a midfielder people would be going mad.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 27/05/2019 10:38:36    2188009

Looks like you've touched another nerve with the poor petal ;) ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/05/2019 10:44:08    2188015

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The scoring stats from play you speak of are more to do with what happened further back. We were losing around the middle, Clifford had the beating of his man and had his hand in the air looking for the ball practically the entire game and nobody could find him, perhaps it wasn't so obvious on tv but I was right in front of it. When we are pressured around the middle against good teams we struggle. Putting Cox or anybody else up front won't solve that.

He is better than we thought and in hindsight he is probably a better option than JOD or Walsh, and on current form maybe Geaney too but if as expected we fall short again this summer it won't be because we lack scoring forwards.

I must admit I hadn't seen much of Cox, it's amazing that he has had so few chances with Kerry given how good he has turned out to be, and I don't ever remember hearing too many clamours for his inclusion at any stage. It's a great story with his heritage to be playing for them and shooting the lights out."
You're right Gerry or problems lay else where, especially around the middle where winning primary possession is killing us.

Ya we have 99 problems but Cox ain't 1 of them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/05/2019 10:49:31    2188021

Replying To TheHermit:  "Must let Sean O'Se know he is a "rubbishy" player, ditto Paul Murphy, David Moran etc etc , ha ha :D"
Too many passengers lad and not near good enough to win the All Ireland. That can be hard to take for any Kerry man. Back to the thread, Conor Cox should be on the Kerry team.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 27/05/2019 11:02:14    2188032

He only came on my radar after the Dublin league game against Roscommon he was the stand out Roscommon player that day aswell, now I know it was the league but to play like he did against us is not easy no matter what competition it was and then to play like that against Mayo who have great defenders was special. He's not better than Clifford Geaney or a full tilt JOD but he's definitely good enough to be in the Kerry squad no doubt in my mind about that and first forward sub on for me, I think they made a big mistake.

A Kerry poster saying he was given chances and didn't take them but not every player takes their chance from the get go ; Paul Flynn took over 4 years to establish himself as a Dublin player Diarmuid Connolly the same it doesn't happen for every single player straight away.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/05/2019 11:03:43    2188033