Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To TheUsername:  "Whoah horsey, ok if your granted on the games development money, let's put that to bed, I don't blame you given the Monaghan figures.

I'm a bit lost on the point you are trying to argue, but I'll perservere. The DCB publish their audited accounts. Now we're you are making a mistake is confusing sponsorship with GAA money. GAA fund grass roots through GDF. Sponsorship and commercial revenue runs the senior teams. That's the model the GAA use. Sponsorship and commercial revenue is up to the county boards and a private matter. What you are essentialy saying is your annoyed because Dublin are more attractive, marketable and desirable to sponsor then everyone else. Someone has to earn the most and it's Dublin. Why not though? We have the best players, they are great models, there is a massive market in Dublin. This is competive sport and someone will be on top. I actually think we could do better commercially, but there is a real sense of the communal system in the DCB at present.

You haven't produced any evidence or figures, that's the article improvident in the link in my previous post, you just went and found it in the paper. Why not run off and give us figures of the country cumilitive funding. Do cork get more cumulative funding then Dublin for the last 15 years as they spent over 100 mill on a new stadium, the grants given to Kerry for IT Tralee and Curran's last year equate to Dublin GDF for a decade. I'd like you to go and prove your point on Dublin comparatively with every other county, don't forget the bail out for McHale, redevelopment of Hyde, dare I mention Clones!

On a point of note, I have ties in Mayo, in fact I'm fairly close with a few club chairman, a criticism I often here is the demands of the county board on clubs. Many don't think it's fair and I know many have stepped down with enmity. I say this because I asked the question of a DCB rep as to why Dublin's fundraising figures were so low, I like you was outraged, truth is and what i was told was that the DCB don't fundraise, as they have agreed with the clubs to leave the field open that any fundraising they do is kept by the club. This works in Dublin, it's why we say other counties need to look at what we do here. That fundraising has seen facilities improve, GDO and allows clubs to fund coaches. That's were good players become great. Contrast that what happens elsewhere, with kickbacks to the county board through lottos gates etc.

I've no idea what other counties sponsorship is, do you want to tell us the the figures?

I would ask the question though, why are Dublin happy to allow theirs in the public domain and other counties don't? Hmmm.."
Tralee IT is not Kerry GAA you need to stop pushing that little bit of spin, and we fundraise the majority of our center of excellence our selves.

Also your numbers and figures have all been debunked here many times by the hermit and other counties posters.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2019 10:33:00    2189034

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tralee IT is not Kerry GAA you need to stop pushing that little bit of spin, and we fundraise the majority of our center of excellence our selves.

Also your numbers and figures have all been debunked here many times by the hermit and other counties posters."
Its reported in many media media outlets that it act as a strategic part of Kerry center of excellence, are you telling us Kerry GAA dont use it all?

http://traleetoday.ie/new-e19m-kerry-sports-academy-officially-opened-at-it-tralee-campus/

http://www.ittralee.ie/en/InformationAbout/InstituteandDepartments/ITTraleeFoundation/

The campus at Curran recied numerous grants 1 mill from Central funds, 1 mill from the Munster Council and Kerry group gave 1 mill as well.

If we are going to have a debate anout the influence of ISC grants, Cumlitive funding and the impact of sponsorship, lets at least be genuine. The tidy sums above are equivalent of a decade of Dublins GDF. I think its a loose definition to call 2000 euro a plate dinners in the Plaza in New York as fundraising.

Haha i must of missed those debunking posts, im not great at responding to posters who generally right in crayon or who i consider trolls admittedly.

Im not trying to win hearts and minds, someone will stick to narrative, because it helps to mitigate the uncomfortable thought that they have fallen short of the mark really. I dont mind the allegations of money really, it helps the auro around Dublin. I just dont believe its factual and am giving the context as to why.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 11:23:07    2189050

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its reported in many media media outlets that it act as a strategic part of Kerry center of excellence, are you telling us Kerry GAA dont use it all?

http://traleetoday.ie/new-e19m-kerry-sports-academy-officially-opened-at-it-tralee-campus/

http://www.ittralee.ie/en/InformationAbout/InstituteandDepartments/ITTraleeFoundation/

The campus at Curran recied numerous grants 1 mill from Central funds, 1 mill from the Munster Council and Kerry group gave 1 mill as well.

If we are going to have a debate anout the influence of ISC grants, Cumlitive funding and the impact of sponsorship, lets at least be genuine. The tidy sums above are equivalent of a decade of Dublins GDF. I think its a loose definition to call 2000 euro a plate dinners in the Plaza in New York as fundraising.

Haha i must of missed those debunking posts, im not great at responding to posters who generally right in crayon or who i consider trolls admittedly.

Im not trying to win hearts and minds, someone will stick to narrative, because it helps to mitigate the uncomfortable thought that they have fallen short of the mark really. I dont mind the allegations of money really, it helps the auro around Dublin. I just dont believe its factual and am giving the context as to why."
Your numbers have been debunked many many times which then leads to jimbo throwing his toys out of the pram and getting the thread shut down.

Also Tralee ITs facilitates are for everyone to use not just Kerry GAA.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2019 12:02:57    2189064

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tralee IT is not Kerry GAA you need to stop pushing that little bit of spin, and we fundraise the majority of our center of excellence our selves.

Also your numbers and figures have all been debunked here many times by the hermit and other counties posters."
No they haven't actually. Also DCU, Abbotstown & Crokepark are not Dublin GAA either but it doesn't stop people claiming they are.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/05/2019 12:05:17    2189066

Remember what i said i about trolls, i wouldn't bite if i was you Jim!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 12:15:24    2189072

Replying To TheUsername:  "Remember what i said i about trolls, i wouldn't bite if i was you Jim!"
Sure man I've been off here for months.. had a quick look again when Anton passed away. It was genuinely touching to see the kind words left by many GAA fans in his honor

Did you read the article that was posted by a Galway supporter on that thread?

Really thought provoking and excellent read

Just thought I'd add a couple of comments here for a laugh..

Same aul bollocks lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2019 12:40:53    2189078

Replying To TheUsername:  "Remember what i said i about trolls, i wouldn't bite if i was you Jim!"
I thought you said you didn't interact with trolls and then you interact with jimbo :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2019 12:52:06    2189083

It's not worth trying to engage in fools like that alright. Just leave them be and watch them foam at the mouth when we keep winning. I think it's cute.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/05/2019 12:54:14    2189086

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sure man I've been off here for months.. had a quick look again when Anton passed away. It was genuinely touching to see the kind words left by many GAA fans in his honor

Did you read the article that was posted by a Galway supporter on that thread?

Really thought provoking and excellent read

Just thought I'd add a couple of comments here for a laugh..

Same aul bollocks lol"
Some of the tributes were really touching, i read some really poignant tributes over the weeks and there was some lovely scenes down in Portloaise at the weekend in honor, was really fitting given Anton and Paul Flynn that Niall Scully put on an exhibition of half forward play.

Hope all's going well for you pal, you've been missed!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 13:15:11    2189091

Replying To TheUsername:  "Whoah horsey, ok if your granted on the games development money, let's put that to bed, I don't blame you given the Monaghan figures.

I'm a bit lost on the point you are trying to argue, but I'll perservere. The DCB publish their audited accounts. Now we're you are making a mistake is confusing sponsorship with GAA money. GAA fund grass roots through GDF. Sponsorship and commercial revenue runs the senior teams. That's the model the GAA use. Sponsorship and commercial revenue is up to the county boards and a private matter. What you are essentialy saying is your annoyed because Dublin are more attractive, marketable and desirable to sponsor then everyone else. Someone has to earn the most and it's Dublin. Why not though? We have the best players, they are great models, there is a massive market in Dublin. This is competive sport and someone will be on top. I actually think we could do better commercially, but there is a real sense of the communal system in the DCB at present.

You haven't produced any evidence or figures, that's the article improvident in the link in my previous post, you just went and found it in the paper. Why not run off and give us figures of the country cumilitive funding. Do cork get more cumulative funding then Dublin for the last 15 years as they spent over 100 mill on a new stadium, the grants given to Kerry for IT Tralee and Curran's last year equate to Dublin GDF for a decade. I'd like you to go and prove your point on Dublin comparatively with every other county, don't forget the bail out for McHale, redevelopment of Hyde, dare I mention Clones!

On a point of note, I have ties in Mayo, in fact I'm fairly close with a few club chairman, a criticism I often here is the demands of the county board on clubs. Many don't think it's fair and I know many have stepped down with enmity. I say this because I asked the question of a DCB rep as to why Dublin's fundraising figures were so low, I like you was outraged, truth is and what i was told was that the DCB don't fundraise, as they have agreed with the clubs to leave the field open that any fundraising they do is kept by the club. This works in Dublin, it's why we say other counties need to look at what we do here. That fundraising has seen facilities improve, GDO and allows clubs to fund coaches. That's were good players become great. Contrast that what happens elsewhere, with kickbacks to the county board through lottos gates etc.

I've no idea what other counties sponsorship is, do you want to tell us the the figures?

I would ask the question though, why are Dublin happy to allow theirs in the public domain and other counties don't? Hmmm.."
Its not hard to understand Username, not for most anyway.

Look back at my posts. I stated the money Dublin get from the GAA (from HQ and inclusive of GDF and all other payments like team payments, CAPEX etc) is probably about right if not a little bit high to fund such a large number of clubs in the county inclusive of the projects. You are the one focusing on GDF and GAA specific payments.
My point, again, is questioning the large revenues that Dublin have available to them with relative ease that other counties simply don't have. So, yeah I am annoyed that other counties find it hard to compete with Dublin due to Dublins ability for attracting commercial revenue. This is the whole point!!!!

For those asking, in fairness I cannot discern what comes from each individual commercial sponsor but you can see from this the amount received by Dublin GAA from commercial sources is more than the combined amount received by Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan from commercial sources (just as a comparator - for the record they all fund themselves quite well). Dublin are in a position to attract large sponsorship with relative ease and have a commercial manager to manage and develop this. Most counties (not all) will never be in that position. Nobody is confusing the numbers or points except a few Dubs from what I can see.

Here is another link. https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-reign-supreme-but-where-does-your-county-rank-on-the-2018-gaa-rich-list-36922874.html
You can feel free to reach out to Colm Keys and ask him for his sources. He is an honourable journalist and if his numbers are incorrect or downright lies I'm sure the indo would have to retract. To date they have not done so.

Someone needs to be on top. No kidding? Its not good if its dominance much beyond what we already see. If this were to continue, if Dublin were to keeping winning Leinster every year, win sam this year, next year etc..etc. Do you think that's ok? Do you think kids in Longford, Louth, Carlow, Laois, Offaly, Westmeath are going to be inspired to play for their county football team knowing they will face this onslaught? No county team (IMO) should be financed more or less than any other. The GAA funding for clubs is different and distinct from the discussion. You are the one bring that up and nobody really disagrees that various county boards with more clubs, players etc need more money to fund their activities.

With respect to the point made on Mayo, you're just reinforcing what I am saying here. Mayo have to fight for every penny of funding and its comes through the grassroots. They do this so they can compete with a juggernaut that has much more options available. As for clones? Have you been there? It's the ground used for the Ulster final and it hasn't seen any investment in my lifetime. Its old and badly needs refurbished.

FYI - I have lived in Dublin for many years and my kids are playing with our local team (Cuala). It's a far cry from my own experience of barely being able to field a team at underage levels. This also signals more of the problem. I live in Dublin. I will have my kids play GAA in Dublin contributing to a club that could beat half the counties in football a few in hurling. I, and many others, have little choice about where we live in order to make a living.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 30/05/2019 13:31:51    2189098

Replying To TheUsername:  "Some of the tributes were really touching, i read some really poignant tributes over the weeks and there was some lovely scenes down in Portloaise at the weekend in honor, was really fitting given Anton and Paul Flynn that Niall Scully put on an exhibition of half forward play.

Hope all's going well for you pal, you've been missed!"
Well said sir. A fitting tribute and Anton will be spoken about in the games ahead. The influence he had on many of the current squad goes beyond sport. He will be in their thoughts and still be a major presence and source of motivation.

Cheers for asking man I'm absolutely grand. I've been working flat out for the last few months, work going well and more importantly after a long and perfectly understandable process we were successful and allowed the privilege to became foster parents to a little baby girl a few weeks ago. Quite an amazing experience, best decision we've probably ever made. So many children need help and we decided to do that rather than continue having our own kids. This little girl will be here with us until her parents are ready to have her back. Hopefully that will happen but as it stands she'll be in good hands here and will always have a home one way or the other. Haha I've been missed by some... plenty happy to see the back of me.

What number are we at now chief... 28, 29?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2019 14:24:20    2189110

Replying To Gator:  "Its not hard to understand Username, not for most anyway.

Look back at my posts. I stated the money Dublin get from the GAA (from HQ and inclusive of GDF and all other payments like team payments, CAPEX etc) is probably about right if not a little bit high to fund such a large number of clubs in the county inclusive of the projects. You are the one focusing on GDF and GAA specific payments.
My point, again, is questioning the large revenues that Dublin have available to them with relative ease that other counties simply don't have. So, yeah I am annoyed that other counties find it hard to compete with Dublin due to Dublins ability for attracting commercial revenue. This is the whole point!!!!

For those asking, in fairness I cannot discern what comes from each individual commercial sponsor but you can see from this the amount received by Dublin GAA from commercial sources is more than the combined amount received by Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan from commercial sources (just as a comparator - for the record they all fund themselves quite well). Dublin are in a position to attract large sponsorship with relative ease and have a commercial manager to manage and develop this. Most counties (not all) will never be in that position. Nobody is confusing the numbers or points except a few Dubs from what I can see.

Here is another link. https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-reign-supreme-but-where-does-your-county-rank-on-the-2018-gaa-rich-list-36922874.html
You can feel free to reach out to Colm Keys and ask him for his sources. He is an honourable journalist and if his numbers are incorrect or downright lies I'm sure the indo would have to retract. To date they have not done so.

Someone needs to be on top. No kidding? Its not good if its dominance much beyond what we already see. If this were to continue, if Dublin were to keeping winning Leinster every year, win sam this year, next year etc..etc. Do you think that's ok? Do you think kids in Longford, Louth, Carlow, Laois, Offaly, Westmeath are going to be inspired to play for their county football team knowing they will face this onslaught? No county team (IMO) should be financed more or less than any other. The GAA funding for clubs is different and distinct from the discussion. You are the one bring that up and nobody really disagrees that various county boards with more clubs, players etc need more money to fund their activities.

With respect to the point made on Mayo, you're just reinforcing what I am saying here. Mayo have to fight for every penny of funding and its comes through the grassroots. They do this so they can compete with a juggernaut that has much more options available. As for clones? Have you been there? It's the ground used for the Ulster final and it hasn't seen any investment in my lifetime. Its old and badly needs refurbished.

FYI - I have lived in Dublin for many years and my kids are playing with our local team (Cuala). It's a far cry from my own experience of barely being able to field a team at underage levels. This also signals more of the problem. I live in Dublin. I will have my kids play GAA in Dublin contributing to a club that could beat half the counties in football a few in hurling. I, and many others, have little choice about where we live in order to make a living."
That's an excellent post gator, brilliantly written, but I'd go one further and ask where did dublin county board get 9 million to buy the ground for their "center of excellence "
And if they have that kind of money why do they need so much money from the GAA, surely that money would be better spent on the weaker counties to give them a chance and then maybe then the GAA wouldn't find it Necessary to create a second tier in football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2019 14:36:15    2189115

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's an excellent post gator, brilliantly written, but I'd go one further and ask where did dublin county board get 9 million to buy the ground for their "center of excellence "
And if they have that kind of money why do they need so much money from the GAA, surely that money would be better spent on the weaker counties to give them a chance and then maybe then the GAA wouldn't find it Necessary to create a second tier in football."
Agree 100%.. Truly excellent post Gator. And to be fair i think most dubs would agree as well. A lot of them are fed up with the whole farce now and the steep decline in numbers following their team now bares this out. Your dealing with a small minority on here.
"There are none so blind as those who will not see..."

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 30/05/2019 15:24:52    2189130

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Agree 100%.. Truly excellent post Gator. And to be fair i think most dubs would agree as well. A lot of them are fed up with the whole farce now and the steep decline in numbers following their team now bares this out. Your dealing with a small minority on here.
"There are none so blind as those who will not see...""
Indeed you are correct....there are none so blind as those who will not see. It extends both ways lads!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/05/2019 15:29:30    2189134

Replying To Gator:  "Its not hard to understand Username, not for most anyway.

FYI - I have lived in Dublin for many years and my kids are playing with our local team (Cuala). It's a far cry from my own experience of barely being able to field a team at underage levels. This also signals more of the problem. I live in Dublin. I will have my kids play GAA in Dublin contributing to a club that could beat half the counties in football a few in hurling. I, and many others, have little choice about where we live in order to make a living."
Thanks for that post a chara, i was finding it a bit hard to find a salient peice of the points you are trying to make. So GDF can be acknowledged and put to bed.

I dont actually disagree with anything you posted and you will find i acknowledge the enabling factor of commercial revenue, Dublin are a behemoth commercially in the waters it swims in, historically we have been remedial in that regard given our massive potential and its only now we are beginning to realise it. I've said a few times on here i actually think we could do better but suspect we will grow into that. Commercial revenue runs the Dublin team, i would totally acknowledge that and i would also acknowledge we have more then anyone else and always will. I only see that gap getting bigger personally. My issue is the narrative, speaking about GDF and the grassroots and acerbating that influences the senior team.

I would also advise that what commercial revenue enables is the Dublin clubs the ability to fundraise without the county board interfering, its developed the game hugely in Dublin both North and South.

I can understand why other counties look on with envy and perhaps enmity. That said you have to consider the scale of Dublin and the logistics to make it happen? I wonder can the model be learned from and used elsewhere on a smaller scale?

Perhaps in time the GAA may need to look and the financial hybrid model is has, its communal funding and private funding, while we are seeing the advent of players trying to take money out of their profile of the game commercially, testimonials, punditry, books etc. Perhaps the GAA need to decide whether it want sto remain a communal organisation, a decentralized one were counties look after themselves privately and what to do about players cashing in on their profiles. They are all broad and soul searching questions in my opinion. It would be hard to shut the barn door for every county with money rolling in and contracts signed, the GAA themselves have their own core sponsors and commercial revenue.

Is it impossible for other counties to adapt, you mention Mayo again, they raise 500k odd through commercial sponsorship, the same again through caride maigh eo and the rest in fundraising - so its not impossible.

Again i think counties may be slowly trying to emulate Dublin, ive seen many counties put adverts out there for commercial mangers or fundraisers in the last 12 months in particular, its clearly an area counties are looking to cultivate.

To be fair i think you raise some very good points and as we have got to the bottom of it are opinion are more in congruence, ive said all along in this thread that our commercial revenue is a hige enabling factor for the work we do with our senior team.

Wouldn't be a huge fan of Clones of myself, no offense intended as i know many are, in my defense its usually the depths of winter when im there, i would much prefer Breffni if im being honest. I think its due a bit of remedial work to the tune of 400k odd in the coming time.

As you say, there is a huge expat population in Dublin, that generations of will probably benefit Dublin and with increased profile of Gaelic games, when this great team ends we will regress somewhat, but wont be away for long. Certainly for once in our history we are cultivating many of our natural advantages.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 15:34:51    2189138

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said sir. A fitting tribute and Anton will be spoken about in the games ahead. The influence he had on many of the current squad goes beyond sport. He will be in their thoughts and still be a major presence and source of motivation.

Cheers for asking man I'm absolutely grand. I've been working flat out for the last few months, work going well and more importantly after a long and perfectly understandable process we were successful and allowed the privilege to became foster parents to a little baby girl a few weeks ago. Quite an amazing experience, best decision we've probably ever made. So many children need help and we decided to do that rather than continue having our own kids. This little girl will be here with us until her parents are ready to have her back. Hopefully that will happen but as it stands she'll be in good hands here and will always have a home one way or the other. Haha I've been missed by some... plenty happy to see the back of me.

What number are we at now chief... 28, 29?"
The influence of Anton on the current team is huge without saying to much and being respectful.

Ah made up for you pal, sound like the little one couldn't have found a better home to rest her head, youl have to get her out onto the Hill and she will always not be far from from the homestead! :)

29 and counting.........

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2019 15:39:56    2189144

Let's rewind to the early 90's lads… were any of ye so up in arms over commercial/fundraising revenue when Dublin were getting more than anyone else from Arnott's when logos first started appearing on jerseys? No…then we weren't winning back to back All Ireland's so of course it wasn't much of an issue. Dublin have always been the most attractive proposition for commercial partners by virtue of being the capital city, home to a massive population, increased exposure etc. I'd love to know what is being done in other counties to bridge the gap. I've heard countless stories from Leinster in particular highlighting the inept figures at the helm in county boards and the lack of strategic thinking and direction which directly feeds into the lack of funds invested in those counties at a commercial level. I wouldn't underestimate for a second the impact of having key figures involved in the background, people with excellent business acumen who are actively seeking to progress the county both on and off the pitch. We were fortunate Pat Gilroy and Project Blue kicked things off in the post Arnotts era with Vodafone and then lead to the AIG relationship. Username rightly points out that the gap is likely to widen given the current trend we are seeing but it's also time that other counties either try to adopt a similar model to what we are seeing in Dublin albeit to a smaller scale due to not being able to provide the same RoI on sponsorship investment as Dublin due to the aforementioned advantages we have. There are definitely counties out there who are not making next to near what they should be and using what they have at their disposal to the max.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 30/05/2019 15:55:32    2189149

Kerry play waterford in munster which was never competitive. I heard kieran donaghy on today saying clare will put it up to kerry this weekend it well be a tight game he hopes kerry will win by 3 points. Louth always had good footballers and should of had a leinster title a few years back that disappointment would put any county back on its tail end.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 30/05/2019 16:00:26    2189151

Replying To TheUsername:  "The influence of Anton on the current team is huge without saying to much and being respectful.

Ah made up for you pal, sound like the little one couldn't have found a better home to rest her head, youl have to get her out onto the Hill and she will always not be far from from the homestead! :)

29 and counting........."
Yes indeed.
Anton.. legend and his legacy continues.

Cheers chief, she's in good form after an unfortunate start to her young life, a real eye opener all this and it'll be our aim to keep her that way for as long as we need to be there.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2019 16:26:19    2189161

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said sir. A fitting tribute and Anton will be spoken about in the games ahead. The influence he had on many of the current squad goes beyond sport. He will be in their thoughts and still be a major presence and source of motivation.

What number are we at now chief... 28, 29?"
As an adopted person to a kerry family Jimbo its very honourable and selfless fostering a child and giving them a loving home.
Respect.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/05/2019 17:19:44    2189177