Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Mayo ? If history hadn't weighed so heavily on them should of won must of your tussles by getting in your faces."
If me aunt had balls....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/05/2019 23:49:07    2188690

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Mayo ? If history hadn't weighed so heavily on them should of won must of your tussles by getting in your faces."
Case in point, they tried it more and better then most, we've beaten them in 4 of the years of the six we've one the All Ireland.

To be honest the only time I've seen in work is against Tyrone in the league this year, completely bullied us, to be fair to them they owed us more then one.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/05/2019 23:50:04    2188691

You'd wonder where Louth GAA would be now if they weren't blatantly robbed of a deserved Leinster title in 2010

That win could have brought more players into the game and given them a lot of motivation, winning breeds winning.

Ask the Kerry lads.. golden ticket to a semifinal for over a hundred years certainly kept those kids showing up, that and there being SFA else to be doing

Unfortunately the exact opposite happened for Louth and now we have Meath supporters making snide remarks about their performance against Dublin...

Short self serving memories indeed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/05/2019 08:07:08    2188708

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "The reason you admire louth so much is because they stood of ye and allowed dublin to look better then what they are, I bet the louth supporters warnt as impressed with there players efforts."
Didn't ye win a Leinster title when big Joe touched down under the posts.
I'd say you've fond memories of Louth yourself bud.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/05/2019 08:09:53    2188709

Replying To waynoI:  "
Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to

Me too...

But out of curiosity, anyone, is there anyway of finding out what Dublin's away record is in league/c'ship since 2010??

Id love to see the statistics"
2010:

Kerry 1-10 v 1-12 Dublin
Mayo 1-08 v 1-09 Dublin

Cork 2-13 v 2-06 Dublin
Tyrone 1-11 v 2-14 Dublin

2011:

Armagh 1-11 v 2-12 Dublin
Monaghan 1-09 v 0-13 Dublin
Galway 0-15 v 2-09 Dublin

2012:

Laois 1-09 v 1-14 Dublin
Down 0-15 v 0-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-20 v 0-08 Dublin
Cork 1-12 v 0-12 Dublin

2013: (only found records of us playing 2 away games here, is that right ? Cork, Down, Kildare, Tyrone and mayo all at home?

Kerry 0-04 (LOL) v 1-11 Dublin
Donegal 1-10 v 0-13 Dublin

2014:

Westmeath 1-07 v 0-14 Dublin
Derry 1-16 v 0-13 Dublin
Tyrone 1-15 v 3-10 Dublin

2015:

Cork 1-15 v 0-16 Dublin
Kerry 0-15 v 1-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-10 v 2-18 Dublin
Monaghan 1-11 v 1-22 Dublin

2016:

Mayo 0-07 v 0-09 Dublin
Down 1-07 v 1-15 Dublin
Roscommon 1-12 v 1-13 Dublin
Laois 2-10 v 2-21 Dublin (champ)

2017:

Cavan 0-11 v 0-18 Dublin
Donegal 2-5 v 1-08 Dublin
Kerry 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin
Monaghan 1-15 v 2-15 Dublin
Carlow 0-07 v 0-19 Dublin (champ)

2018:

Tyrone 1-11 v 2-13 Dublin
Mayo 0-12 v 2-10 Dublin

Galway 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin
Wicklow 0-11 v 4-25 Dublin (champ)
Tyrone 0-14 v 1-14 Dublin (champ)

2019:

Monaghan 2-13 v 1-13 Dublin
Kerry 1-18 v 2-14 Dublin
Roscommon 1-12 v 2-14 Dublin
Cavan 1-10 v 1-16 Dublin
Louth 0-10 v 5-21 Dublin

Played 39:
Won - 25
Draw - 5
Lost - 9

Win rate 64.1%

Expected a bit more to be honest!!"
Fair play wayno

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 29/05/2019 09:03:55    2188720

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Yerra nevermind the league, Mayo won it this year and has not done them any favours. Stats in the league do not matter at all.

Regarding home games all the time in the championship, Dublin should refuse to accept them out of fairness to the other 33 participating counties."
Says the man who's county celebrated a league win over Dublin this year like they won the all ireland :)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 29/05/2019 09:04:56    2188721

Replying To waynoI:  "If me aunt had balls...."
That wouldn't be unusual these days wayno. In all seriousness I hope meath beat laois and we get a crack at dublin, mcentee hasn't played them in championship football yet and what better way to find out if this meath team are going places or not.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 29/05/2019 09:18:40    2188724

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "[quote=ConnollyDub:  "The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to

Me too...

But out of curiosity, anyone, is there anyway of finding out what Dublin's away record is in league/c'ship since 2010??

2010:

Kerry 1-10 v 1-12 Dublin
Mayo 1-08 v 1-09 Dublin

Cork 2-13 v 2-06 Dublin

2011:

2012:

Laois 1-09 v 1-14 Dublin
Down 0-15 v 0-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-20 v 0-08 Dublin
Cork 1-12 v 0-12 Dublin

2013: (only found records of us playing 2 away games here, is that right ? Cork, Down, Kildare, Tyrone and mayo all at home?

2014:

Derry 1-16 v 0-13 Dublin

2015:

Cork 1-15 v 0-16 Dublin
Kerry 0-15 v 1-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-10 v 2-18 Dublin

2016:

Mayo 0-07 v 0-09 Dublin
Down 1-07 v 1-15 Dublin

2017:

Cavan 0-11 v 0-18 Dublin
Kerry 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin

2018:

Mayo 0-12 v 2-10 Dublin

2019:

Kerry 1-18 v 2-14 Dublin
Cavan 1-10 v 1-16 Dublin
Louth 0-10 v 5-21 Dublin

Played 39:
Won - 25
Draw - 5
Lost - 9

Win rate 64.1%

Fair play wayno"]In 2013 Kildare decided to move there home game v dublin from Newbridge to Croke park for capacity reasons, ironic really when you consider the whole Newbridge or no where controversy from last year.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 29/05/2019 09:46:58    2188737

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "
Replying To ConnollyDub:  "[quote=waynoI:  "[quote=ConnollyDub:  "The Croke Park thing i would absolutely hold my hands up to

Me too...

2010:

Kerry 1-10 v 1-12 Dublin
Mayo 1-08 v 1-09 Dublin

Cork 2-13 v 2-06 Dublin

2011:

2012:

Laois 1-09 v 1-14 Dublin
Down 0-15 v 0-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-20 v 0-08 Dublin
Cork 1-12 v 0-12 Dublin

2014:

Derry 1-16 v 0-13 Dublin

2015:

Cork 1-15 v 0-16 Dublin
Kerry 0-15 v 1-10 Dublin
Mayo 0-10 v 2-18 Dublin

2016:

Mayo 0-07 v 0-09 Dublin
Down 1-07 v 1-15 Dublin

2017:

Cavan 0-11 v 0-18 Dublin
Kerry 0-13 v 0-13 Dublin

2018:

Mayo 0-12 v 2-10 Dublin

2019:

Kerry 1-18 v 2-14 Dublin
Cavan 1-10 v 1-16 Dublin
Louth 0-10 v 5-21 Dublin

Played 39:
Won - 25
Draw - 5
Lost - 9

Win rate 64.1%

Fair play wayno"]In 2013 Kildare decided to move there home game v dublin from Newbridge to Croke park for capacity reasons, ironic really when you consider the whole Newbridge or no where controversy from last year."]It wasn't due to capacity reasons. Kildare were in debt and got paid to move it. They hadn't really much choice.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 29/05/2019 09:57:58    2188739

Interestingly until the Monaghan game this year Dublin hadn't been beaten in an away game since 2015 (league & c'ship)

16 games
13 Wins
3 Draws

That's some going

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 29/05/2019 09:59:36    2188740

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ill just leave this here:

Of the 1.3 million people in Dublin 39k are registered to a GAA club. Advantage. No.

Finance? : Below is the games development funding ratio per head of population for 2018. Advantage, no.

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro."
Thanks Username, but as you know yourself, stats can be manipulated to suit any argument - the whole lies damn lies & statistics argument. I wonder if you applied the funding €1.298 million to the 39k registered to a GAA club for Dublin & then applied the same to all other counties, it might be more reflective of the GAA population landscape per county & the funding ratios per head. Just a thought.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 29/05/2019 11:14:54    2188759

Replying To greysoil:  "Thanks Username, but as you know yourself, stats can be manipulated to suit any argument - the whole lies damn lies & statistics argument. I wonder if you applied the funding €1.298 million to the 39k registered to a GAA club for Dublin & then applied the same to all other counties, it might be more reflective of the GAA population landscape per county & the funding ratios per head. Just a thought."
Its not really, its obviously been done by Ewen McKenna using Shane Mangans piece of research, the problem with Ewen piece is its varibles of ration and analysis that shape his conclusion. Arguably mine as well. I doubt either the source of distribution for funding is based on registered players or total population, rather a highbrid of reasons myself and Whammo were pointing out. It is unfortunate that GAA dont make the formula public, if there is one.

The problem with the registered player and Ewen argument is the nature of game development money, the whole purpose of GDF, is to attract an untapped population to Gaelic games, not to fund those who are existing members or to fund inter county etc. Thats not to say that the likes of Cul Camps etc cant happen at club facilities in a mutually beneficial way but ultimately the purpose is to build membership of the GAA that is untapped at underage as opposed to fund existing membership. Its why Ewen argument is flawed. Ive approached it with a very open mind.

Where Ewen argument it does become illuminating or rather Shanes, is if it indicates where games can be grown based on registered players vs total population, for example if you have 39k registered players in Dublin out of a population of 1.345 million, its a very obvious play for the GAA to invest to attract people to Gaelic games membership as an area to grow.

Conversely it works in reverse for your own county and Leitrim, smaller populations, both are decently funded comparatively, but the GAA seem to make a larger financial contribution to counties with a small population to help invest given the population handicap those counties have to compete by investing to attract players to Gaelic games. thats not a knock by the way, thats money well spent in my opinion.

You will see that from the monster figures Monagahan have in the figures i posted, i suspect if you care do Leitrim funding Vs total population you will see the same. You would have to say Mongahan have used that money well based on recent success and underage.

Its interesting, there is huge richness in analysis of the issue, beyond the click bate headlines. As someone else pointed out its not linear either, GDF is just one method, their is capital funding and commercial funding too, so even just analysing GDF, is a bit limited anyway.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2019 11:37:22    2188764

Replying To greysoil:  "Thanks Username, but as you know yourself, stats can be manipulated to suit any argument - the whole lies damn lies & statistics argument. I wonder if you applied the funding €1.298 million to the 39k registered to a GAA club for Dublin & then applied the same to all other counties, it might be more reflective of the GAA population landscape per county & the funding ratios per head. Just a thought."
Actually if you had your Dublin hat on, we are often accused of two advantages of money and population. The funny thing with the registered player to finance argument, is one discounts the other. If you want to prove Dublin are over funded, you have to cut the population to 39k. If you want to prove population is advantage then, you have to use my analysis of population to per head of 1.345mill to GDF. One discounts the other really, its funny really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2019 11:40:18    2188766

Replying To TheUsername:  "You are welcome to correct, i honestly posted my figures on GDM, the source is the GAA audited accounts you are welvcome to have a look at and populations are the census.

Ill play the ball and not the man, if you want to challenge the figures you are welcome. Youve posted a lot of guff without backing up why the figures are inaugurate. You can see yorrself your own county gets a significant amout of GAA funding, in fact the best.

I openly acknowledge they dont include sponsorship/commercial/fundraising money, Dublin are the best without doubt. Its a strong enabler and funds our senior team you will see mention that in every other post. The figures are in the public domain. a big shout out goes to Mayo though who only come in at slightly less then Dublin commercially/fundraising.

Like i say lads, talk about all this money as an accepted narrative, but all you get is a defensive this cant be true response when you actually drill into the figures and put them in context.

Im open minded, but am giving evidence. No point just throwing the toys out of the pram."
'You are welcome to correct'……..Thank you and I shall as you don't seem to understand the payments.

You are posting based only on games development payments and not all revenue sources or even total payments to each county board from the GAA. The games development payments are changed for funding specific projects at any given point in time. In 2018, you point out that Monaghan benefit (and they did) of having a large payment. This is not occurring every year. The total funding given to Monaghan in 2018 was 585K, Longford received 1.5 million, Laois received 1 million…..
Dublin need more funding than other counties on account of the scale of operations involved. The level of funds allocated are debatable but they are probably about right if not on the high side.
However, its the ability to generate revenue from commercial sponsorship that hugely separates Dublin from other teams. No other county can get anywhere close to the levels - the sponsorship from AIG alone is 1 million per year. AIG get great advertising from this....Dublin jerseys fly off the shelves far more than any other county (because of the population) That doesn't even consider other sponsors like Subaru. Like it or not this makes a difference and gives Dublin an advantage. Dublin have a strong GAA culture (in particular with football) that's only getting stronger thanks to successes, extra investment and a population base to reach out to.
You think Mayo are getting 1 million a year from Elverys? The entire company of Elverys doesn't make much more profit than that in a year. It's a sports retailer based in Ireland that went in to receivership a few years ago. Mayo have to fight for every single cent they get, like every other county as its less attractive to huge foreign investment for a sponsorship deal. There is no comparison.
This is all simple facts good, bad or indifferent. Nobody is throwing toys out of any pram except you.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 29/05/2019 16:07:37    2188885

Replying To Gator:  "'You are welcome to correct'……..Thank you and I shall as you don't seem to understand the payments.

You are posting based only on games development payments and not all revenue sources or even total payments to each county board from the GAA. The games development payments are changed for funding specific projects at any given point in time. In 2018, you point out that Monaghan benefit (and they did) of having a large payment. This is not occurring every year. The total funding given to Monaghan in 2018 was 585K, Longford received 1.5 million, Laois received 1 million…..
Dublin need more funding than other counties on account of the scale of operations involved. The level of funds allocated are debatable but they are probably about right if not on the high side.
However, its the ability to generate revenue from commercial sponsorship that hugely separates Dublin from other teams. No other county can get anywhere close to the levels - the sponsorship from AIG alone is 1 million per year. AIG get great advertising from this....Dublin jerseys fly off the shelves far more than any other county (because of the population) That doesn't even consider other sponsors like Subaru. Like it or not this makes a difference and gives Dublin an advantage. Dublin have a strong GAA culture (in particular with football) that's only getting stronger thanks to successes, extra investment and a population base to reach out to.
You think Mayo are getting 1 million a year from Elverys? The entire company of Elverys doesn't make much more profit than that in a year. It's a sports retailer based in Ireland that went in to receivership a few years ago. Mayo have to fight for every single cent they get, like every other county as its less attractive to huge foreign investment for a sponsorship deal. There is no comparison.
This is all simple facts good, bad or indifferent. Nobody is throwing toys out of any pram except you."
If you read back over all my posts a chara, you will see that 1) i mention more then once i was posting about GDF and 2) acknowledging that Dublin dwarf most counties on commercial and fundraising. You will actually find quite a detailed post about it and how it enables fundraising at club level.

I will pull you up on a few details though, while GDF does fluctuate it tends to marginally, Monaghan will always do well and will Leitrim to their scale because they are being supplemented for a handicap in a lack of population, for them to be competitive, i dont have problem with that investment. Its a very similar payment structure particularly for Monagahn and Leitrim year on year. In many ways they are like Dublin, exceptional cases when it comes to funding due to population, while our population is big and requires more funding, yours is small and requires more funding. Its economies of scale really. In actual fact this is the first year since 2012 Dublin GDF hasnt been cut.

The examples you pick arent particularly apt, Longford, Loais wont be generally comparative to Monaghan as im not sure you aware, these counties are given an extra 500k over the next few years on top of their annual GDF, in order for them to compete in Leinster with Dublin. In essence what the GAA are trying to do, is bring the counties up to a comparative level in relation to their context.

I agree with you wholly on commercial and fundraising revenue, Dublin are a beast and will only get bigger and better, no county will ever compete with it. In many ways the GDF is a straw horse as none of it goes toward the inter county set up, the inter county set up if funded by commercial and fundraising with change left over. I've no issue there really. In fact i think this could be improved and will be in the future. i was having a debate earlier on the the differences in equality and equity, its fascinating how it could apply to the GAA on a communal level.

I think you would be surprised just how well other counties do commercially/fundraising, you use an unfortunate example of Mayo, who are second to Dublin by 100k of Dublins 1.4 mill annually. mayo pull in 1.3 in commercial and fundraising, that is really good. As for attracting multinational companies, i dont think Dublin are alone, i think Kerry group are something like being in the top 10 biggest companies in the world and are certainly compatible to AIG. Sometimes being Irish, doesnt always necessarily mean we have to small and parochial, though seems esteemed somehow in traditional GAA. Arent Monaghan, sponsored by Investec, they are a South African company and provide banking, asset management and financial products in the Irish market. Sound like anyone elses sponsors?

Source:

https://www.pressreader.com/

I can sympathise with the sprit you are trying to post with, but you are posting in narrative all you are doing is throwing accusations around without producing and evidence or source, ultimately your just venting and why should we believe what you are saying when there is nothing to back it up, just because you are saying it? I've given, figures, ive given analysis, ive posted sources. All you are really saying is this cant be true. Why should i believe you?

I wholly acknowledge funding is both cumulative, capital, GDF and Commercial/fundraising. Ive said i dont know how many times we have the best enabling sponsorship. Ive given breakdown of figures from the GAA audited accounts.

Im not really sure what your saying, i just dont know there is very little to back it up, bar trust me this is my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2019 17:45:03    2188923

Replying To TheUsername:  "If you read back over all my posts a chara, you will see that 1) i mention more then once i was posting about GDF and 2) acknowledging that Dublin dwarf most counties on commercial and fundraising. You will actually find quite a detailed post about it and how it enables fundraising at club level.

I will pull you up on a few details though, while GDF does fluctuate it tends to marginally, Monaghan will always do well and will Leitrim to their scale because they are being supplemented for a handicap in a lack of population, for them to be competitive, i dont have problem with that investment. Its a very similar payment structure particularly for Monagahn and Leitrim year on year. In many ways they are like Dublin, exceptional cases when it comes to funding due to population, while our population is big and requires more funding, yours is small and requires more funding. Its economies of scale really. In actual fact this is the first year since 2012 Dublin GDF hasnt been cut.

The examples you pick arent particularly apt, Longford, Loais wont be generally comparative to Monaghan as im not sure you aware, these counties are given an extra 500k over the next few years on top of their annual GDF, in order for them to compete in Leinster with Dublin. In essence what the GAA are trying to do, is bring the counties up to a comparative level in relation to their context.

I agree with you wholly on commercial and fundraising revenue, Dublin are a beast and will only get bigger and better, no county will ever compete with it. In many ways the GDF is a straw horse as none of it goes toward the inter county set up, the inter county set up if funded by commercial and fundraising with change left over. I've no issue there really. In fact i think this could be improved and will be in the future. i was having a debate earlier on the the differences in equality and equity, its fascinating how it could apply to the GAA on a communal level.

I think you would be surprised just how well other counties do commercially/fundraising, you use an unfortunate example of Mayo, who are second to Dublin by 100k of Dublins 1.4 mill annually. mayo pull in 1.3 in commercial and fundraising, that is really good. As for attracting multinational companies, i dont think Dublin are alone, i think Kerry group are something like being in the top 10 biggest companies in the world and are certainly compatible to AIG. Sometimes being Irish, doesnt always necessarily mean we have to small and parochial, though seems esteemed somehow in traditional GAA. Arent Monaghan, sponsored by Investec, they are a South African company and provide banking, asset management and financial products in the Irish market. Sound like anyone elses sponsors?

Source:

https://www.pressreader.com/

I can sympathise with the sprit you are trying to post with, but you are posting in narrative all you are doing is throwing accusations around without producing and evidence or source, ultimately your just venting and why should we believe what you are saying when there is nothing to back it up, just because you are saying it? I've given, figures, ive given analysis, ive posted sources. All you are really saying is this cant be true. Why should i believe you?

I wholly acknowledge funding is both cumulative, capital, GDF and Commercial/fundraising. Ive said i dont know how many times we have the best enabling sponsorship. Ive given breakdown of figures from the GAA audited accounts.

Im not really sure what your saying, i just dont know there is very little to back it up, bar trust me this is my opinion."
Granted on the GDF but my response was to your post on GDF, this you were using to address posters advising that other counties cannot compete financially. Why don't you look at the total funding coming HQ each year to Dublin GAA? Its been averaging at 1.7 million euro each year for the last five years (i havent checked further back).

My choice of Mayo was very deliberate. Mayo have to work very, very hard for their revenue. Dublin get handed commercial revenue over by virtue of their size and ability to advertise so much for these companies.

You want a source? Here is a source. https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mayo-the-big-spenders-this-graph-breaks-down-each-countys-costs-in-2016-35458592.html

Notice anything about the graph?

Look at Dublin and their ability to get this revenue where ALL other counties spend endless hours at fund raising and getting it from the supporters.

Do you know how much monaghan get from Investec? Do you know how much Mayo get from Elverys? Do you know how much Kerry get from the Kerry group? Between them its still not as much as Dublin get from AIG. You may look that up yourself - its readily available.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 29/05/2019 18:30:15    2188935

Replying To Gator:  "Granted on the GDF but my response was to your post on GDF, this you were using to address posters advising that other counties cannot compete financially. Why don't you look at the total funding coming HQ each year to Dublin GAA? Its been averaging at 1.7 million euro each year for the last five years (i havent checked further back).

My choice of Mayo was very deliberate. Mayo have to work very, very hard for their revenue. Dublin get handed commercial revenue over by virtue of their size and ability to advertise so much for these companies.

You want a source? Here is a source. https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mayo-the-big-spenders-this-graph-breaks-down-each-countys-costs-in-2016-35458592.html

Look at Dublin and their ability to get this revenue where ALL other counties spend endless hours at fund raising and getting it from the supporters.

Do you know how much monaghan get from Investec? Do you know how much Mayo get from Elverys? Do you know how much Kerry get from the Kerry group? Between them its still not as much as Dublin get from AIG. You may look that up yourself - its readily available."
I can't find any figures on any counties sponsorship deals apart from Dublin. Link please?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 29/05/2019 19:15:28    2188940

Dubs sponsorship gets spread out over football/hurling at all age levels male and female

It's 100% NOT pumped solely into one senior football team (unlike some)

Hurlers are rightly funded just as much as footballers

Footballers generally but not exclusively go further in competitions so need the additional funding

Mayo spent more than Dublin on their football team in the last number of years

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mayo-the-big-spenders-this-graph-breaks-down-each-countys-costs-in-2016-35458592.html

Plenty of counties spending very big and breaking the €1million mark

But at least Dublin as a true dual county aren't just primarily focusing funding on their senior football team..

How much does Monaghan pump into hurling? Equal to football?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/05/2019 19:42:00    2188949

Replying To lilylanger:  "I can't find any figures on any counties sponsorship deals apart from Dublin. Link please?"
Hard to account for yankie brown envelopes... and or rich sugar daddies

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/05/2019 19:43:19    2188950

Replying To Gator:  "Granted on the GDF but my response was to your post on GDF, this you were using to address posters advising that other counties cannot compete financially. Why don't you look at the total funding coming HQ each year to Dublin GAA? Its been averaging at 1.7 million euro each year for the last five years (i havent checked further back).

Do you know how much monaghan get from Investec? Do you know how much Mayo get from Elverys? Do you know how much Kerry get from the Kerry group? Between them its still not as much as Dublin get from AIG. You may look that up yourself - its readily available."
Whoah horsey, ok if your granted on the games development money, let's put that to bed, I don't blame you given the Monaghan figures.

I'm a bit lost on the point you are trying to argue, but I'll perservere. The DCB publish their audited accounts. Now we're you are making a mistake is confusing sponsorship with GAA money. GAA fund grass roots through GDF. Sponsorship and commercial revenue runs the senior teams. That's the model the GAA use. Sponsorship and commercial revenue is up to the county boards and a private matter. What you are essentialy saying is your annoyed because Dublin are more attractive, marketable and desirable to sponsor then everyone else. Someone has to earn the most and it's Dublin. Why not though? We have the best players, they are great models, there is a massive market in Dublin. This is competive sport and someone will be on top. I actually think we could do better commercially, but there is a real sense of the communal system in the DCB at present.

You haven't produced any evidence or figures, that's the article improvident in the link in my previous post, you just went and found it in the paper. Why not run off and give us figures of the country cumilitive funding. Do cork get more cumulative funding then Dublin for the last 15 years as they spent over 100 mill on a new stadium, the grants given to Kerry for IT Tralee and Curran's last year equate to Dublin GDF for a decade. I'd like you to go and prove your point on Dublin comparatively with every other county, don't forget the bail out for McHale, redevelopment of Hyde, dare I mention Clones!

On a point of note, I have ties in Mayo, in fact I'm fairly close with a few club chairman, a criticism I often here is the demands of the county board on clubs. Many don't think it's fair and I know many have stepped down with enmity. I say this because I asked the question of a DCB rep as to why Dublin's fundraising figures were so low, I like you was outraged, truth is and what i was told was that the DCB don't fundraise, as they have agreed with the clubs to leave the field open that any fundraising they do is kept by the club. This works in Dublin, it's why we say other counties need to look at what we do here. That fundraising has seen facilities improve, GDO and allows clubs to fund coaches. That's were good players become great. Contrast that what happens elsewhere, with kickbacks to the county board through lottos gates etc.

I've no idea what other counties sponsorship is, do you want to tell us the the figures?

I would ask the question though, why are Dublin happy to allow theirs in the public domain and other counties don't? Hmmm..

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/05/2019 22:47:09    2188979