Meath V Carlow

Replying To Anmhi364:  "Any word on outcome of Brendan Murphy (Carlow) hearing? Meant to be last night.
With our problems at midfield the last day, this would be a huge boost.."
Yes I was wondering the same looks like it won't be known until next week? Part of me hopes we don't have to face him but on the other hand if we are running scared from a player like him as good as he is then we're going nowhere! Probably better if he did play otherwise if we win narrowly a la the Offaly game it will all be about how we probably would have lost if he hadn't been suspended

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 16/05/2019 19:31:37    2184704

Replying To cabbage:  "Yes I was wondering the same looks like it won't be known until next week? Part of me hopes we don't have to face him but on the other hand if we are running scared from a player like him as good as he is then we're going nowhere! Probably better if he did play otherwise if we win narrowly a la the Offaly game it will all be about how we probably would have lost if he hadn't been suspended"
Personally I would like to see him play. He is supposed to be a seriously good footballer and I would like to see him and how he performs.

It's only by playing against this type of opponent that we see where we are and it can help identify issues that we can correct later down the line.

Part of the joy of going to marches for me is seeing players you've heard of but maybe haven't seen as much as you would like.

It will be interesting to see if Carlow have a reaction to their relegation. It looked like they got a raw deal in their last match that relegated them and if they managed to stay up it would have been a fantastic achievement. They also might have been approaching our game with a different mindset .

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 16/05/2019 19:50:49    2184707

Replying To royaldunne:  "I agree, that day in tullamore was criminal, also there was some serious drills going on in pitch behind stand before game, I parked in Omahony's and went in through them gates, the players were going through some serious paces.
Now as everyone knows I am a huge fan of mcentee, but I call out when he does something wrong, and I think he made mistake in this one, I know why he did it and I think we all would probably have done the same, but it did nearly backfire spectacularly. Also no one thought that McGee would have passed, and that Offaly team had a lot to play for. Lesson learned, we move on."
It absolutely infuriated me the warm up in Tullamore before Kildare match that day...I mean talk about shooting your self in the foot in most idiotic of ways. The players were out on their feet within ten minutes of the match starting.

Will never ever understand the theory behind running the legs off players before a match. Has anyone ever seen the Dubs do it? Or Kerry? Or a professional soccer team where the players will run on average 10.5km with 4km of sprinting included? A warm up is supposed to be literally a warm up, get loosened up, get feel for the ball and the pitch, get your shooting distances right, and get your breathing right for the game ahead. It's not supposed to be a fitness training session.

I wasn't at Offaly match unfortunately but jaysus if I hear they had the legs run off them...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 16/05/2019 20:14:55    2184716

Replying To Crinigan:  "It absolutely infuriated me the warm up in Tullamore before Kildare match that day...I mean talk about shooting your self in the foot in most idiotic of ways. The players were out on their feet within ten minutes of the match starting.

Will never ever understand the theory behind running the legs off players before a match. Has anyone ever seen the Dubs do it? Or Kerry? Or a professional soccer team where the players will run on average 10.5km with 4km of sprinting included? A warm up is supposed to be literally a warm up, get loosened up, get feel for the ball and the pitch, get your shooting distances right, and get your breathing right for the game ahead. It's not supposed to be a fitness training session.

I wasn't at Offaly match unfortunately but jaysus if I hear they had the legs run off them..."
Do you remember Meath played leitrim qualifier game about 2005 when boylan was in charge and I was early to that game it was a wet day leitrim where doing this mad warm in the pissing rain Meath didn't arrive on the pitch until 10 minutues later. Then game went in to extra time leitrim ran out of steam and meath won. I am convinced if letirm didn't do that mad warm up they could have beaten us that day. Its important to get this stuff right. I remeber mc Entee doing a interview just when he got the meath job.and said he is not a strength and conditioning coach he will be relying on others to do that. I understand you have to trust your s&c but common sense needs to prevail also. The book stops with him at the end of the day.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/05/2019 21:40:32    2184736

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Do you remember Meath played leitrim qualifier game about 2005 when boylan was in charge and I was early to that game it was a wet day leitrim where doing this mad warm in the pissing rain Meath didn't arrive on the pitch until 10 minutues later. Then game went in to extra time leitrim ran out of steam and meath won. I am convinced if letirm didn't do that mad warm up they could have beaten us that day. Its important to get this stuff right. I remeber mc Entee doing a interview just when he got the meath job.and said he is not a strength and conditioning coach he will be relying on others to do that. I understand you have to trust your s&c but common sense needs to prevail also. The book stops with him at the end of the day."
Agree. I thought the drills were hard before game on Sunday looking at a lot of sweating on couple lads. As they were waiting to run. Then they had hard enough ones on the field. Now I want to be clear it wasn't anything near what happened in tullamore that day as far as I could see. But in hindsight it shouldn't have been done. While Andy doesn't take part in it, I think he needs to say , no that's enough, or let's do lighter warm up, as you say the book stops with him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2019 22:15:38    2184746

So many experts of all aspects of the game on here, its very surprising that our club standard is so bad ...with all this indept knowledge of skills, drills s &c etc on here from everyone involved with clubs the length and breath of the county, we should be competing for club Leinster year on year. .....Jesus Christ almighty

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 17/05/2019 08:13:12    2184795

Replying To southmeathgael:  "So many experts of all aspects of the game on here, its very surprising that our club standard is so bad ...with all this indept knowledge of skills, drills s &c etc on here from everyone involved with clubs the length and breath of the county, we should be competing for club Leinster year on year. .....Jesus Christ almighty"
I am not sure many on here dont claim to be experts, I certainly dont, But I think I am allowed have a opinion on why the sudden drop in form and slow pace of the offaly . I a public forum :). Don't let it put you of your pints the weekend.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/05/2019 11:39:54    2184863

Replying To southmeathgael:  "So many experts of all aspects of the game on here, its very surprising that our club standard is so bad ...with all this indept knowledge of skills, drills s &c etc on here from everyone involved with clubs the length and breath of the county, we should be competing for club Leinster year on year. .....Jesus Christ almighty"
Couldn't agree more. Always get such a laugh on here at the amount of apparent S & C coaches/Physios/Skills coaches that are kind enough to share their knowledge with us

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 17/05/2019 11:50:16    2184869

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I am not sure many on here dont claim to be experts, I certainly dont, But I think I am allowed have a opinion on why the sudden drop in form and slow pace of the offaly . I a public forum :). Don't let it put you of your pints the weekend."
Your effectively forming an opinion on how someone far more qualified than you should be doing their job. Are you going to start telling everyone how the local butcher should be preparing his meat? Or how the local barber should be cutting hair? Same principle. They are experts in their field. I think they know what they are doing. Trust them

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 17/05/2019 11:54:39    2184871

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Your effectively forming an opinion on how someone far more qualified than you should be doing their job. Are you going to start telling everyone how the local butcher should be preparing his meat? Or how the local barber should be cutting hair? Same principle. They are experts in their field. I think they know what they are doing. Trust them"
Sounds like you are a bit of a sheep TakeYourPoints6. Some of us obviously have more faith in our own intelligence and what they can see with their own eyes. S&C isn't rocket science either, nor is cutting meat or cutting hair - it might be to you though.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/05/2019 13:41:21    2184922

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I am not sure many on here dont claim to be experts, I certainly dont, But I think I am allowed have a opinion on why the sudden drop in form and slow pace of the offaly . I a public forum :). Don't let it put you of your pints the weekend."
Pints indeed. Love their pints down there by all accounts.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/05/2019 13:44:06    2184923

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Couldn't agree more. Always get such a laugh on here at the amount of apparent S & C coaches/Physios/Skills coaches that are kind enough to share their knowledge with us"
Ah don't mind southmeathgael, he's prone to the odd little outburst. He's just not himself when he's hungry, needs to have a Snickers :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/05/2019 14:11:06    2184937

So what I'm seeing here is we are blaming our faults on s/c warm ups. Goalie kicking ball all over the place number 10 7 2 4 running amok.my god lads we are really in a dream world at minute.tullamore I fully agree on but we were second best sunday full stop.and if we play anywhere like that sat week were out leinster full stop.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 17/05/2019 16:33:00    2184995

So what I'm seeing here is we are blaming our faults on s/c warm ups. Goalie kicking ball all over the place number 10 7 2 4 running amok.my god lads we are really in a dream world at minute.tullamore I fully agree on but we were second best sunday full stop.and if we play anywhere like that sat week were out leinster full stop.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 17/05/2019 16:33:29    2184996

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah don't mind southmeathgael, he's prone to the odd little outburst. He's just not himself when he's hungry, needs to have a Snickers :-)"
Like mr bean in the roof top. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/05/2019 20:03:49    2185049

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ryan will start. But can see McCoy holding his place, probably at expense of Gallagher with Ryan dropping to backline. The big switch might be Brennan coming in. Colgan could lose out. Also I'd start James Conlon. Let's not kid ourselves, if Murphy plays we will get cleaned out at midfield, imo if we had a transfer market he'd by very near the top of my wish list."
Andy isnt dropping colgan forget about it and he also isn't starting james conlon either so forget about that too, harnan walks back into this team when he's back to match fitness, darragh campion is a more realistic option than conlon for a starting role

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 17/05/2019 21:33:31    2185066

We are blessed to have access to this......

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 17/05/2019 21:58:10    2185073

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Your effectively forming an opinion on how someone far more qualified than you should be doing their job. Are you going to start telling everyone how the local butcher should be preparing his meat? Or how the local barber should be cutting hair? Same principle. They are experts in their field. I think they know what they are doing. Trust them"
"Someone that is more qualified that me" I guess you never question Andy Mc Entee ? who has won a All-Ireland Club. I think he is more qualified than anyone here here. yet people question his team section tactics etc. That's the nature of form... Fitness it a major part of it so people are going to comment. I am confused..... :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/05/2019 08:35:08    2185121

Be some discussion board in fairness if we weren't allowed to express any opinions. Apparently some here would like debate to be reduced to 2 options:

a) shut up and agree, no contrary views welcome.

or

b) see a.

Ps, UP DA ROYAL :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/05/2019 11:59:05    2185161

I agree regarding the warm up in Tullamore vs Kildare. Shot ourselves in the foot big time.

I've seen teams before basically do stretches before matches and a very light run. League games where they were obviously training very hard leading up to it. The point is running a 5k before the match isn't necessary.

I didnt have a problem with it vs Ofally. And I'm sure the team have been training very hard with the aim to peak for the super 8's. The main thing is we won a match we'd have lost another year. I'm expecting a reaction from the team Saturday week and a another win.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2019 01:52:35    2185389