The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

Replying To Bellewest:  "Clooney, just stop embarrassing yourself. Red card. End of."
How is he embarrassing himself by expressing an opinion?

I agree with Clooney but have no problem with anyone who says it was a Red. Part of what makes the game great is the discussion & opinion it generates. I actually agree with everything Shefflin & Tyrell said also.

If the powers that be want to make the game safer that is fully understandable but then apply the rules consistently. If that happens then a lot of physicality will be taken out of the game.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/08/2019 15:41:43    2227549

Replying To Bellewest:  "Clooney, just stop embarrassing yourself. Red card. End of."
Look out for a Autumn/Winter course in knitting or needlework as you seem too sensitive to follow hurling

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 19/08/2019 16:11:04    2227570

I though the complete disregard of the minor final on the sunday game was a disgrace
they gave one or two mins mention to the biggest game in minor of the year
at least do 10 or 15 on it not to much to ask
i think thsese young lads deserve better that than miserable effort

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/08/2019 16:26:29    2227576

Replying To rhudson:  "I though the complete disregard of the minor final on the sunday game was a disgrace
i think thsese young lads deserve better that than miserable effort"
I don't think RTE have even put the match analysis on their website today of the minor game. I may be wrong.

Very strange and very poor of them...

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 116 - 19/08/2019 16:40:13    2227581

Morrisey mentioned Seamus Kennedy Clonmel Commercials 4 or 5 times during the first half. Someone who knows better must have pointed it out to him at HT and it was St Marys all the way in the second half. Bluffer. Its the little things that annoy the most.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 19/08/2019 16:42:01    2227582

Replying To rhudson:  "I though the complete disregard of the minor final on the sunday game was a disgrace
How much can they with tg4 having rights?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 19/08/2019 16:46:27    2227584

Getting back to the actual Sunday Game coverage it really is terrible.

Shefflin should be put out to pasture after his input in all honesty, can anyone honestly remember anything insightful hes said?? Ever? Before the match he was telling all and sundry about young Mullen being grand and not to believe all ye hear on social media and the poor chap wasnt right at all, after the match his consensus was Hogan shouldnt have been sent off and the only reasoning he could give was that it ruined the game.

Everyone on here should do themselves a favour and listen to Tommy Walsh give a stirring intro to the match from Newstalk, look it up online and then listen to Marty talking about Mary and John looking on in sydney and ask yourself why in the name of God are we paying a licence fee.

RTE need a complete revamp hurling and football, actual people with a bit of character and knowhow, the likes of Tommy Walsh rather than those who think character assassination is the same as actual character or preachers of the bleedin obvious in the form of Shefflin and Dolan etc

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 19/08/2019 16:56:24    2227586

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Morrisey mentioned Seamus Kennedy Clonmel Commercials 4 or 5 times during the first half. Someone who knows better must have pointed it out to him at HT and it was St Marys all the way in the second half. Bluffer. Its the little things that annoy the most."
To be fair easy to make. Mary's are the hurling club and commercials thr football club in town and he has played and was known as much for football.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 19/08/2019 16:59:37    2227588

Something similar the weekend of the football semi finals. They showed highlights of minor semi finals and ladies quarter finals and, with three football analysts in the studio didn't spend one second discussing them which could have give a bit of promotion for their respective final and semi finals. Not like there wasn't enough time to do this and surely a male analyst could talk about ladies games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 19/08/2019 17:05:29    2227590

I dont know are the pundits too pally with some of the players and managers.

Like every dog on the street saw it was a red card

Michael Duignan didnt call it initially. He was afraid too. Then he blames conditions.

Oh dear oh dear. I actually couldn't believe what I was hearing

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 19/08/2019 17:07:54    2227592

Replying To tearintom:  "Getting back to the actual Sunday Game coverage it really is terrible.

Shefflin should be put out to pasture after his input in all honesty, can anyone honestly remember anything insightful hes said?? Ever? Before the match he was telling all and sundry about young Mullen being grand and not to believe all ye hear on social media and the poor chap wasnt right at all, after the match his consensus was Hogan shouldnt have been sent off and the only reasoning he could give was that it ruined the game.

Everyone on here should do themselves a favour and listen to Tommy Walsh give a stirring intro to the match from Newstalk, look it up online and then listen to Marty talking about Mary and John looking on in sydney and ask yourself why in the name of God are we paying a licence fee.

RTE need a complete revamp hurling and football, actual people with a bit of character and knowhow, the likes of Tommy Walsh rather than those who think character assassination is the same as actual character or preachers of the bleedin obvious in the form of Shefflin and Dolan etc"
Spot on about Tommy Walsh.

It was superb listening.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/08/2019 17:09:05    2227593

Replying To Flaherty:  "I don't think RTE have even put the match analysis on their website today of the minor game. I may be wrong.

Very strange and very poor of them..."
you are correct, it is outrageous of RTE

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/08/2019 17:21:44    2227599

Replying To clooney:  "Look out for a Autumn/Winter course in knitting or needlework as you seem too sensitive to follow hurling"
I understand hurling and the rules. You clearly don't.

Bellewest (Westmeath) - Posts: 150 - 19/08/2019 17:31:31    2227614

Replying To tearintom:  "Im sorry but thats rubbish.

How do you know the referee wasnt sure? Because he sought the linesmans opinion? Whats common sense got to do with it? Its a red card challenge end of discussion.

What are you proposing, yerra sure he was wearing a helmet, yerra sure it was an expensive day out, yerra sure he asked the linesman what he saw, yerra sure let them batter each other across the head cos theyre wearing helmets."
Couldn't agree more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/08/2019 17:40:02    2227620

Replying To IamDonegal:  "I dont know are the pundits too pally with some of the players and managers.

Like every dog on the street saw it was a red card

Michael Duignan didnt call it initially. He was afraid too. Then he blames conditions.

Oh dear oh dear. I actually couldn't believe what I was hearing"
Duignan should be sacked for bringing the game into disrepute by denigration of a ref's rule application. Of course we know well by now that he is a want to be Kilkenny man.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/08/2019 17:55:41    2227626

Replying To slayer:  "How is he embarrassing himself by expressing an opinion?

I agree with Clooney but have no problem with anyone who says it was a Red. Part of what makes the game great is the discussion & opinion it generates. I actually agree with everything Shefflin & Tyrell said also.

If the powers that be want to make the game safer that is fully understandable but then apply the rules consistently. If that happens then a lot of physicality will be taken out of the game."
This is nothing only an excuse from these people to have their team get away with all kinds of sh-t. How well do you think it would go if the ref was totally consistent and called every single thing ? The same people would be shouting, "its a man's game." "Too much blowing ruining the game" etc. etc.. They are not looking for that. Looking for nothing called against their team.
How many times have Henry hit the ball wide when going for a score as good as he was. However if the ref misses one thing he is lambasted. This was a red card and the best thing Jakie and Henry could do is shut their mouth about it. It just show their bias. Both played on a team who constantly stretched the rules and practiced that. I feel sorry for Richie in his moment of madness.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/08/2019 18:09:23    2227633

Replying To tearintom:  "Getting back to the actual Sunday Game coverage it really is terrible.

RTE need a complete revamp hurling and football, actual people with a bit of character and knowhow, the likes of Tommy Walsh rather than those who think character assassination is the same as actual character or preachers of the bleedin obvious in the form of Shefflin and Dolan etc"

Tommy is class.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 19/08/2019 20:53:58    2227676

Replying To Sean.66:  "I can't understand how hawk eye intervened and gave that as a Kilkenny point...? It only showed that the ball would have gone through the posts if the keeper had not put up his hand and caught it but never showed it going past the posts which it must surely do for it to be a score....Luckily it had no bareing on the result but it's something that the panel on tv should have talked about...."
I agree with you thoroughly and the goalie said it was certainly not a point. Shades of the mistake with Barry Nash's score in '13.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 19/08/2019 21:56:36    2227691

Agree with you about Shefflin and Tommy is great any time you hear him. Very funny also.
In 2017 Gleeson was sick in the hotel before going to Croke Park and throwing up when he got there. No one crying wolf and trying to take away from the Galway win who were better than us on the day.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/08/2019 22:22:52    2227704

tommy is great but he too loves lads breaking ash across one another and calls it manly play.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 19/08/2019 22:37:43    2227713