The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

Replying To BeJasus:  "Complete overreaction by brolly and co.
Tomas and his yerraisim with Brolly nodding along vigorously an an attempted media brainwashing exercise.
Mayo collapsed and ran out of ideas as opposed to Dublin's brilliance.
Hope Dublin win it now,"
Mayo ran out of time....that's all.....two years ago was their last chance.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 10/08/2019 20:06:31    2223574

Replying To GreenandRed:  "But Brolly is a poor pundit. Wants to make every show The Joe Show. I have a mad proposal who should be The Sunday Game presenter. Shane Stapleton from Off the Ball."
Shane is a good shout gets right balance and not afraid to crack a joke, heaven forbid should a panalists smile.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 10/08/2019 20:07:20    2223577

Replying To GreenandRed:  "But Brolly is a poor pundit. Wants to make every show The Joe Show. I have a mad proposal who should be The Sunday Game presenter. Shane Stapleton from Off the Ball."
Or there are a vast amount of men and women presenting sports shows on local radio every weekend up and down the country. Surely one of them would do a better job than Cantwell is doing.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 10/08/2019 20:07:51    2223578

I watched it on sky, can't stand rte punditry for the last a few years

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 10/08/2019 20:09:43    2223581

In fairness to 'pundits', there's not much to be said. Mayo were always going to lose that game, and Dublin were always going to win it. Analyse that!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 10/08/2019 20:22:22    2223592

Replying To Whammo86:  "I don't agree, I think Brolly needs to be kept on a tight leash.

If anyone needs to go it's him. The amount of interrupting he does, he doesn't care about proper analysis. He's the most out of touch with the modern game."
Fair enough he's a poor pundit but she won't even look at him or ask him a direct question, the 2 of them should be got rid of tbh

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 10/08/2019 20:31:16    2223603

Kevin Mc Stay as co-commentator was terrible, his glee at everything Dublin did was so obvious, yet totally different analysis of Mayo's play & scores, he has obviously still a crux with his home county. As for him talking about lack of discipline, very ironic when as manager of Roscommon he threw the ball at the referee. The whole thing in RTE needs a shake up, it's like the f'ball C'ship, boring & predictable. People starting to switch to the Premiership as the whole Sunday Game scene & C'ship is a turn off.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 10/08/2019 20:41:19    2223616

Replying To achara:  "Fair enough he's a poor pundit but she won't even look at him or ask him a direct question, the 2 of them should be got rid of tbh"
Agreed - she is a terrible presenter and seems to think she's a pundit.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 10/08/2019 20:42:05    2223618

droning nordies - so not even the accents are to your satisfaction! It's little ye have to be getting annoyed about.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 10/08/2019 20:55:09    2223636

She's too vocal for an anchor, reminds me of the old school teacher type, her way or nothing at all.
Lyster used to sit back but intervened when he felt it necessary.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 10/08/2019 21:21:11    2223661

Brolly needs to go simple as. Doing the national audience who want to see informed analysis and opinion a disservice. For all the complaints about cantwell, lyster let him away with murder.like a certain hurling pundit from cork he's ego is out of control.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/08/2019 21:48:11    2223679

Replying To Whammo86:  "I don't agree, I think Brolly needs to be kept on a tight leash.

If anyone needs to go it's him. The amount of interrupting he does, he doesn't care about proper analysis. He's the most out of touch with the modern game."
Joanne doing an OK job to maintain a balance. It's always a long rehearsed rant or speech with Joe, hates being checked gets nasty and tries to bully her..."let me finish, let me finish" when no one else but him has spoken as he continues to rehash his newspaper article verbatim . He obviously had the lines about Jim Gavin being as calm as a man emerging from a sauna on holidays etc.well rehearsed beforehand but his sense of smugness and self preening afterwards was vomit inducing.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 10/08/2019 22:26:59    2223702

Replying To essmac:  "droning nordies - so not even the accents are to your satisfaction! It's little ye have to be getting annoyed about."
Well even worse is the rubbish coming from them, not a Dub insight, the greatest exponents of the modern game have no voice. We have to listen to has beings of a bygone Dub free era describe not how Dublin are tactically, strategically way ahead of everyone else. But how superior "fitness" has given Dublin the edge it is embarresing listen to these so called pundits, stick onto that their dire accents and it makes for woegous listening. I want to be challenged I want to know why the blue wave is a tidal wave, and it is Nothing to do with euros.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 10/08/2019 23:33:31    2223739

Replying To arock:  "Well even worse is the rubbish coming from them, not a Dub insight, the greatest exponents of the modern game have no voice. We have to listen to has beings of a bygone Dub free era describe not how Dublin are tactically, strategically way ahead of everyone else. But how superior "fitness" has given Dublin the edge it is embarresing listen to these so called pundits, stick onto that their dire accents and it makes for woegous listening. I want to be challenged I want to know why the blue wave is a tidal wave, and it is Nothing to do with euros."
When a team looks fitter at the end of a game than at the start of it you know superior fitness is a major factor. The Dublin team is like an American football team they have so much backroom staff, easy for them to be strategically ahead of everyone else. Fair play to all the backroom staff volunteering their time of course.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 11/08/2019 07:56:38    2223792

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "Brolly is always reminding us how he's friendly with some of the Dublin players. How can you have balanced punditry after saying that. The sniping between him and Cantwell is absolutely tiresome. One of them is going to have to go. No need for three pundits there anyway. Two more than enough."
That's ridiculous. Sure most of the pundits are former players and have friends still playing. Cooper, Donaghey, O'Sé, Canavan, Whelan, Connell etc. Are you going to accuse them all of showing unbalanced punditry?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 11/08/2019 09:05:21    2223804

Replying To moc.dna:  "Kevin Mc Stay as co-commentator was terrible, his glee at everything Dublin did was so obvious, yet totally different analysis of Mayo's play & scores, he has obviously still a crux with his home county. As for him talking about lack of discipline, very ironic when as manager of Roscommon he threw the ball at the referee. The whole thing in RTE needs a shake up, it's like the f'ball C'ship, boring & predictable. People starting to switch to the Premiership as the whole Sunday Game scene & C'ship is a turn off."
Totally agree, McStay gushing over the dubs is so cringey, at one stage rock had a 21 meter free in front of the goals and you'd sware it was a 60 meter kick to win an allireland.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2019 10:02:50    2223828

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Totally agree, McStay gushing over the dubs is so cringey, at one stage rock had a 21 meter free in front of the goals and you'd sware it was a 60 meter kick to win an allireland."
Some free taker all the same. Many have gushed over him. Kevin wouldn't be the first. Sure relax Marty will be gushing all over Clifford today. You'll get your bit of gushing don't worry.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2019 10:35:14    2223847

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Totally agree, McStay gushing over the dubs is so cringey, at one stage rock had a 21 meter free in front of the goals and you'd sware it was a 60 meter kick to win an allireland."
Like Cluxton's in 2011???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/08/2019 10:49:54    2223854

Replying To realdub:  "She's too vocal for an anchor, reminds me of the old school teacher type, her way or nothing at all.
Lyster used to sit back but intervened when he felt it necessary."
She's got no sense of humour either, unlike Lyster. Zero craic in the studio. I know it's not always about "the craic" but there needs to be a bit of enjoyment.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/08/2019 10:52:26    2223855

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "When a team looks fitter at the end of a game than at the start of it you know superior fitness is a major factor. The Dublin team is like an American football team they have so much backroom staff, easy for them to be strategically ahead of everyone else. Fair play to all the backroom staff volunteering their time of course."
You don't need a huge backroom. Just cameras and plenty of video analysis. You can be sure each player knows their opponents better than their wife's and partners. You don't kick a ball in hope so why would you go onto a field with a vague notion of who you are playing?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 11/08/2019 11:01:11    2223857