Are Kilkenny now 4th In Leinster?

What a laugh this is now.....

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 19/07/2019 14:02:52    2213171

I'd say they have as good a claim to 4th place in Leinster Senior football as any of the pack chasing Dublin.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 19/07/2019 14:12:13    2213176

Replying To StoreysTash:  "What a laugh this is now....."
They were 1 point away from 4th in leinster, wexford too, Dublin were 4th in leinster at 67 mins of them and galway, small margins.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/07/2019 14:26:33    2213184

The reality the gap between the top 4 is super close and Laois not a million miles behind. If I was to rank them it would be

5. Laois
4. Galway
3. Dublin

Top two between wexford and KK. We'll find out soon enough who is the leinster top dog. Great to have such a competitive leinster championship.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/07/2019 15:50:39    2213211

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The reality the gap between the top 4 is super close and Laois not a million miles behind. If I was to rank them it would be

5. Laois
4. Galway
3. Dublin

Top two between wexford and KK. We'll find out soon enough who is the leinster top dog. Great to have such a competitive leinster championship."
Galway
2017 - All-Ireland Champions
2018 - All-Ireland runners up
2019 - Tied 1st in Leinster group phase of Championship. Finished 4th on score difference.

I reckon they should be 1st or 2nd. If I was to put money on a Leinster team to win next years All-Ireland, I would choose Galway.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/07/2019 19:05:30    2213263

Replying To Ban:  "Galway
2017 - All-Ireland Champions
2018 - All-Ireland runners up
2019 - Tied 1st in Leinster group phase of Championship. Finished 4th on score difference.

I reckon they should be 1st or 2nd. If I was to put money on a Leinster team to win next years All-Ireland, I would choose Galway."
That's right and only 2 defeats in 3yrs of Championship Hurling

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2212 - 20/07/2019 08:36:07    2213418

Replying To katser:  "That's right and only 2 defeats in 3yrs of Championship Hurling"
I won't say you're wrong. As I said it's super close and extremely difficult to rank them. There's even an argument for Laois to be above Dublin.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/07/2019 11:55:33    2213468

Replying To katser:  "That's right and only 2 defeats in 3yrs of Championship Hurling"
But we sure picked the wrong games to lose! Has to be said, our lads do nothing by half measure; win big or go home, and they duly obliged!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/07/2019 15:35:43    2213548

Galways problems are simple. Top class team in most aspects of play but not ruthless in either defence or attack. Have one of the worst goal scoring record of the top teams over last 3 seasons and also concede too many goals. Cork get lambasted for players running straight through the middle but Galway have been worse the last two seasons. Their full back and centre back were arguably their best players in 2017 but they've major issues in both positions now. Both of them have got turned on numerous occasions the last 18 months and handy goals have come from them.
They have no goal scoring forwards either.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2019 16:40:58    2213566

Galways problems are simple. Top class team in most aspects of play but not ruthless in either defence or attack. Have one of the worst goal scoring record of the top teams over last 3 seasons and also concede too many goals. Cork get lambasted for players running straight through the middle but Galway have been worse the last two seasons. Their full back and centre back were arguably their best players in 2017 but they've major issues in both positions now. Both of them have got turned on numerous occasions the last 18 months and handy goals have come from them.
They have no goal scoring forwards either.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2019 16:41:00    2213567

In true honesty I think Galway were 4th or 5th in Leinster in 2019. We never got rolling. No consistency. My highlight was beating KK in Nowlan Park as it's been decades since it was last done in the Championship. I can only hope they regroup and are recharged next year. Tough decisions to be made as to who plays and who doesn't.

My Leinster rankings of 2019:

Wexford
Kilkenny
Dublin
Galway
Laois
Carlow/Westmeath toss up
Meath
Kildare

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2129 - 20/07/2019 16:55:43    2213569

Replying To tiobraid:  "Galways problems are simple. Top class team in most aspects of play but not ruthless in either defence or attack. Have one of the worst goal scoring record of the top teams over last 3 seasons and also concede too many goals. Cork get lambasted for players running straight through the middle but Galway have been worse the last two seasons. Their full back and centre back were arguably their best players in 2017 but they've major issues in both positions now. Both of them have got turned on numerous occasions the last 18 months and handy goals have come from them.
They have no goal scoring forwards either."
That's a very fair point. Galway were getting stick in '17 for not scoring goals, if I remember correctly they went to town on some poor team that year which made their 'goals scored' column look better than it deserved, and of course by going on to win the AI, that conversation was forgotten. The implosion since then has made our drought of goals only one of a number of issues which I think you summed up nicely; no killer instinct, and so very soft at the back.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/07/2019 17:34:18    2213577

Replying To tiobraid:  "Galways problems are simple. Top class team in most aspects of play but not ruthless in either defence or attack. Have one of the worst goal scoring record of the top teams over last 3 seasons and also concede too many goals. Cork get lambasted for players running straight through the middle but Galway have been worse the last two seasons. Their full back and centre back were arguably their best players in 2017 but they've major issues in both positions now. Both of them have got turned on numerous occasions the last 18 months and handy goals have come from them.
Good points. As for the goal scoring: if you were in charge would you take Canning off of the taking frees and put him around the square a lot for frees?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2129 - 20/07/2019 18:00:48    2213590

Still even with those problems 2 defeats in 25 Championship matches over 3yrs isn't bad, obviously we are a hard team to beat!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2212 - 20/07/2019 18:30:45    2213596

Replying To Trump2020:  "Good points. As for the goal scoring: if you were in charge would you take Canning off of the taking frees and put him around the square a lot for frees?"
galway are behind laois at the moment.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1099 - 20/07/2019 18:38:27    2213601

Replying To katser:  "Still even with those problems 2 defeats in 25 Championship matches over 3yrs isn't bad, obviously we are a hard team to beat!"
Are, or were, hard to beat? If lads like Daithi Burke David Burke et all come back hungry then yes ye will be hard to beat. By anyone. If not then Id worry would you finish in the top 3 next year either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 20/07/2019 21:55:30    2213726

Are Kilkenny now 4th In Leinster?

Who cares? I can't believe a topic like this which was started at the beginning of May is still being discussed.

Kilkenny are playing in an All-Ireland semi-final next weekend.

Carry on with the navel-gazing whilst the real world passes you by.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 20/07/2019 23:36:02    2213791

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Are Kilkenny now 4th In Leinster?

Who cares? I can't believe a topic like this which was started at the beginning of May is still being discussed.

Carry on with the navel-gazing whilst the real world passes you by."
i think if you read the top of this page you will see that storystash brought it up because it was and is ridiculous.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 21/07/2019 08:58:58    2213842

Replying To perfect10:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Are Kilkenny now 4th In Leinster?

Carry on with the navel-gazing whilst the real world passes you by."
i think if you read the top of this page you will see that storystash brought it up because it was and is ridiculous."
You are spot on Perfect10. It was only brought up again because it is far from true. In fact trying to rank the teams at all is probably pointless. If the roundrobin was rerun twice more a different combination of 3 teams would probably finish in the top 3 each time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12027 - 21/07/2019 14:58:24    2213962

Replying To munsterchamps:  "galway are behind laois at the moment."
On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being the poorest, I'd give this attempt at trolling a 3, only because I think some poor eejit is going to read it and take it seriously.

Laois have had a great year, you do them a disservice by including them in your attempt at humour.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/07/2019 16:18:54    2214024