Are Kilkenny now 4th In Leinster?

As an exiled kk man, am I wrong in thinking Kilkenny will struggle to make top 3 in Leinster?

Injuries to Eoin Murphy, Buckley, Conor Delaney, James Maher, Richie Hogan and now Paul Murphy is out for 5-7 weeks with a jarred knee.

Stripping away tradition and the normal ' you can never write off kk' rubbish, I'd be very concerned: lots of nice young players but leahy, scanlon, Billy Ryan, Adrian Mullen, Tommy Walsh junior all need time to physically develop and IMHO TJ Reid hasn't been a threat from play on a hard did since 2015.

Interested in others views.

shoulders (Kilkenny) - Posts: 23 - 02/05/2019 13:21:12    2181434

Hard to know. KK will always be competitive and hard beat but that list of injuries speaks for itself. I do agree with you about TJ though, he needs a massive year if KK are to be relevant. Adrian Mullen also looks like he has to start given his club form.
It will be interesting to see how Galway cope without their talisman Joe Canning. Will other players step up or will they fall asunder?
I also think Dublin might be getting a bit too much hype. Mattie Kenny was always going to try and make a statement in his first few months in charge and Div 2 was the ideal place to start. I know they beat Tipp but the wide count was something crazy in their favour that day and i don't think they have any player, bar O'Donnell full back, that you would genuinely fear if you were playing them.
I'd be surprised if Galway, Wexford and Kilkenny don't get out of Leinster to be honest.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 02/05/2019 14:30:04    2181457

1st Galway
2nd Kilkenny
3rd Wexford
4th Dublin
5th Carlow

That would be my current order on things although 2nd,3rd, and 4th are all at an equal par. Home advantage will be critical in those games.

Dont rule out Carlow sneaking a win v one of those three also

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 02/05/2019 14:34:04    2181459

Kerry cure hoorish exported to KK......................setting everyone up..................or having the told you so excuses ready in case of failure.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 02/05/2019 14:35:42    2181460

Behind Galway? Both sides fully fit and I agree. In Nolan Pk this summer I'm not so sure. There won't be much between them.

Behind Wexford? Again I think home advantage could be key in that game come summer, but later in the summer on neutral ground I'd have a more faith in Kilkenny than in Wexford to be honest.

Kilkenny are still a better side, imo, than Dublin. The Dubs have potential but with the game on in KK I'd still have the Cats as favourites. We really should have beating yous in PP last summer, that really was one that got away.

Leinster might end up being a little bit more complicated this year than last with head to heads/score difference etc coming into play to separate the sides looking to get the top three places.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 02/05/2019 14:50:42    2181466

Yeah Kilkenny are fourth until it's time to play them. I'd say you could flip a coin as to who the Top 4 in Leinster are. Dublin are due to take some scalps.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 02/05/2019 15:37:26    2181477

Jaysus I know Meath have gone to shite, but I'd still have them ahead of Kilkenny, just about :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/05/2019 15:49:54    2181480

Huge game in parnell for us against wexford

As for kilkenny it is probably a bridge too far for us even though we have improved since last year with a few lads back

leamhcanhill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 14 - 02/05/2019 17:26:35    2181491

It's great for Leinster hurling, although Galway are favourites, we have a championship now where there's 4 teams, and whomever might win against the others, it wouldn't be a shock, plus Carlow waiting hungry in the long grass (I fancy Carlow for a big win this year, just hope it's not against us!).

No bitching, no excuses, bring on the hurling, can't wait!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 02/05/2019 17:54:43    2181496

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "1st Galway
2nd Kilkenny
3rd Wexford
4th Dublin
5th Carlow

That would be my current order on things although 2nd,3rd, and 4th are all at an equal par. Home advantage will be critical in those games.

Dont rule out Carlow sneaking a win v one of those three also"
That's about right

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 02/05/2019 18:14:30    2181499

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Hard to know. KK will always be competitive and hard beat but that list of injuries speaks for itself. I do agree with you about TJ though, he needs a massive year if KK are to be relevant. Adrian Mullen also looks like he has to start given his club form.
It will be interesting to see how Galway cope without their talisman Joe Canning. Will other players step up or will they fall asunder?
I also think Dublin might be getting a bit too much hype. Mattie Kenny was always going to try and make a statement in his first few months in charge and Div 2 was the ideal place to start. I know they beat Tipp but the wide count was something crazy in their favour that day and i don't think they have any player, bar O'Donnell full back, that you would genuinely fear if you were playing them.
I'd be surprised if Galway, Wexford and Kilkenny don't get out of Leinster to be honest."
Moran at CB is as good a No.6 as there is in the country. If Dublin have a good summer he's an All Star in waiting. Dublin are quite strong in all the central positions so for that reason they will take beating

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 02/05/2019 18:23:32    2181504

Replying To extranjero:  "It's great for Leinster hurling, although Galway are favourites, we have a championship now where there's 4 teams, and whomever might win against the others, it wouldn't be a shock, plus Carlow waiting hungry in the long grass (I fancy Carlow for a big win this year, just hope it's not against us!).

No bitching, no excuses, bring on the hurling, can't wait!"
You fancy Carlow for a big win..?! This is the funniest post iv heard all month.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 02/05/2019 19:31:56    2181527

Replying To bloodyban:  "You fancy Carlow for a big win..?! This is the funniest post iv heard all month."
Carlow are in the Leinster championship. They will have it all to do in this province, without facing other potential opponents.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 02/05/2019 21:59:12    2181545

They could be tops by July! Never write them off.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 02/05/2019 22:02:38    2181546

Replying To shoulders:  "As an exiled kk man, am I wrong in thinking Kilkenny will struggle to make top 3 in Leinster?

Injuries to Eoin Murphy, Buckley, Conor Delaney, James Maher, Richie Hogan and now Paul Murphy is out for 5-7 weeks with a jarred knee.

Stripping away tradition and the normal ' you can never write off kk' rubbish, I'd be very concerned: lots of nice young players but leahy, scanlon, Billy Ryan, Adrian Mullen, Tommy Walsh junior all need time to physically develop and IMHO TJ Reid hasn't been a threat from play on a hard did since 2015.

Interested in others views."
Hard to know but Eoin Murphy would be a huge loss. He's worth up to six points to KK id suggest. From both scores and saves. Best goalkeeper of all time in my opinion. Of all the teams in the cship he's the biggest loss to any team in my opinion.
Interesting to see your opinion on Reid which I have said here over the last season or two. His scoring average from play in cship hurling is quite low for last 3 seasons. Still a big player but not nearly as influential as before or as journalist would have us believe.
The first game in Nolan Park is a must win for KK. Impossible to call but Dublin will fancy their chances. Personally I think the injuries will be too great for KK to find a way out of Leinster this season. With a fully fit panel I would have seen them coming close to Galway this year.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/05/2019 22:04:33    2181547

What have you been drinking

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 02/05/2019 22:56:35    2181552

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Moran at CB is as good a No.6 as there is in the country. If Dublin have a good summer he's an All Star in waiting. Dublin are quite strong in all the central positions so for that reason they will take beating"
Joe Canning, TJ Reid and Lee Chin i would argue would all have no fear whatsoever going out to mark Sean Moran. Chris Crummey is better imo. He looked like an All Star in the League against Limerick when he was sweeping, Good solid hurler but thats about it.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 03/05/2019 08:20:26    2181569

We wont have too long to wait before we know where Kilkenny stand in Leinster.
One things for sure, absentee's for whatever reason (travel, injuries) are not exclusive to Kilkenny. Brian Cody wont make excuses and you'll be sure the they wont leave much behind in every game.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/05/2019 08:32:29    2181570

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "1st Galway
2nd Kilkenny
3rd Wexford
4th Dublin
5th Carlow

Dont rule out Carlow sneaking a win v one of those three also"
Pretty accurate post i would say.

I think Galway are a level above the others in Leinster but on a given day could be caught by KK, Wexford or Dublin.

KK, Wexford & dublin are very hard to split. I think those 4 teams will all be training realistically thinking they can win Leinster although Galway will be thinking bigger (doesn't mean it will happen).

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1834 - 03/05/2019 08:57:52    2181573

With Canning out for all of the Leinster Championship at the very least, you would have to say that this has brought Galway well back into the pack, although you could also argue that they weren't that far ahead of everybody else anyway.
High time now for some of Galway's other forwards to step up to the mark now, as bar Cathal Mannion, the rest of them play in fits and starts. Kilkenny have suffered massively with injuries, although as always if they go down, they will go down with their boots on. Kilkenny v Galway for me is the pivotal game, as both teams should have four points in the bag when they meet in their third match in Nowlan Park, and I would expect the winners of this to go on and win Leinster. As always it's hard to know where Wexford are at, you would have to say that both Wexford and Dublin are fighting for third spot, although you would not be surprised if either of them made it to a Leinster final. It should be interesting, although it's very hard to see anyone from Leinster lifting Liam Mc Carthy this season!!

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 03/05/2019 10:32:41    2181597