Meath U20 2019

Replying To Barney123:  "Yeah I don't know what the situation is but I would say Barry won't take him back to the panel because it would be unfair on the lads who have been training for months but he will go into the senior panel to develop. I don't think he will see any game time with the senior team or even be named on a match day panel but it will be good for his development to be training with the senior squad.

And before anyone thinks I am criticizing him or something for not taking part with u20 this year I definitely am not. Leaving Cert is far more important and he will be eligible for u20 again next year."
Possibly one of the top full forwards in the county and I would imagine will be used

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 03/06/2019 21:33:26    2190333

Replying To Bear10:  "Possibly one of the top full forwards in the county and I would imagine will be used"
Another guy who should be called up to the U20 is the Rafferty chap from Na Fianna who I have seen playing a couple of times this year and by all accounts is a top class tight marking defender with speed to burn

Longhaul (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 04/06/2019 00:20:41    2190364

Replying To Bear10:  "Possibly one of the top full forwards in the county and I would imagine will be used"
You think he will be used this year?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/06/2019 07:03:44    2190374

Replying To Barney123:  "You think he will be used this year?"
Certainly do hope so as I saw him play this year and we could not handle him . Big strong robost player with loads skill and the type of player we do not have currently . He would offer and alternative style at full forward

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 04/06/2019 10:41:43    2190420

Replying To Bear10:  "Certainly do hope so as I saw him play this year and we could not handle him . Big strong robost player with loads skill and the type of player we do not have currently . He would offer and alternative style at full forward"
Walsh has serious talent and definitely one of the best forwards in the county and would be a huge addition to the senior panel after the leaving cert

Longhaul (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 04/06/2019 22:41:05    2190699

Shane Walsh is the best full forward in the county. He's only 19 and doing the leaving cert but has proven it in every game this year he is unstoppable. Big strong great in the air and two good feet, not afraid to throw himself around and well able to take abuse. After the way the U20's performed the other night I'd say Callaghan can't wait for the leaving to be over.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 05/06/2019 14:10:44    2190878

Replying To latouche25:  "Shane Walsh is the best full forward in the county. He's only 19 and doing the leaving cert but has proven it in every game this year he is unstoppable. Big strong great in the air and two good feet, not afraid to throw himself around and well able to take abuse. After the way the U20's performed the other night I'd say Callaghan can't wait for the leaving to be over."
I would agree with that. He is the best full forward in the county. We have been crying out for number 14 target man for years. We havent had one since Geraghty retired. We have had to turn basically two inside forwards Stephen Bray and Michael Newman into full forwards and have them be target men. They both have done well for us. But Bray and Newman would be more finishers , more natural inside forwards. Possibly the best full forward in Meath club football in recent years has been Paddy O Rourke. But he wouldn't have the skill set agility or athleticism to be a modern full forward at inter county level.

If I could buy one player it wouldnt be Brian Fenton or Michael Murphy, it would be Galways Diarmaid Comer , one of the best full forwards in the country. In many ways Galway do not use him often enough as a target man. Of course u cannot just launch every ball into the full forward line , but fast quick ball into a full forward line at certain times in a game can cause defences serious problems. Meath football has always had a target man eg Colm O Rourke in 80s , Tommy Dowd and Brendan Reilly in 90s and Graham Geraghty in 00s. Its part of Meath football DNA to launch that long fast ball into the forwards . The first half v Donegal was a great example of that.

Andy calling young Walsh up straight after his exams shows how much Andy rates him. He can win ball but is also very skilful and an excellent finisher too. And if we reach the Super 8 I could see young Walsh used. The way things are if we get to Super 8 , which will be very tough to even reach super 8. We could be facing a group of Kerry Galway and Tyrone or Donegal . Playing those 3 div 1 teams in 1 months would really test our panel. But I expect young Walsh to see some game time in next years league also. He is a massive loss to under 20s, in that allot of the under 20 forwards are similar. But the under 20s loss could be seniors gain. Hes only 19 so the potential is there , Of course we have give him time, remember it Ollie Murphy 4 or 5 years to become first 15 player. But overall Shane Walsh would offer something different to what is on the senior panel at moment.

I think he has all ability to make the number 14 jersey his for years to come. Next season a full forward line of Donal lenihan Michael Newman and Shane Walsh, I would love to see that sometime next spring. I think with lenihan 27 and Newman 28 at the peak of their powers and a young modern full forward would ask serious question of div 1 full backs line. Of course Thomas Reilly is developing and developing as an inter county and he has a very good season. But for me T Reilly best position is on the 40. Barry Dardis will continue to improve. Sean Toibin is always a real threat from the bench. James Conlon will keep causing problems for defenders with his energy and his ability to create openings in tight space. Conlon has been excellent in the last two games. He is a real prospect too. If one or two more could come through this years under 20s like Aaron lynch , luke Mitchell, Matthew Costello, that wud be great also.

Playing division 1 football we will need a plan a plan b and plan c upfront on the inside line and we will need loads of different options. I think our forward options will improve on the 40 also with McMahon Brennan Sullivan Campion Devine G Reilly A Forde hopefully M Costello and the return of P Kennelly and the two Wallaces also.

Hopefully our under 20s will be leinster champions. After our minors not getting as far as we thought they would. We need a big year from our under 20s. A leinster title at this age group wud be absolutely brillant. Win leinster and ur one game away from an All Ireland final. I think its our best under 20 team at this age group ( u 20 u 21 ) for years.Remember we havent won an leinster title at this age group since 2001 ( Under 21 ). Since 2001 we have only reached 1 leinster final at this age group since 2001 and that was in 2013 when under 21 team with Andy Colgan Shane McEntee Bryan McMahon and Conor McGill lost to Dublin in the final.

We won 5 leinster under 21 titles in 1990s in 1990 1991 1993 1996 and 1997. We won 2 leinsters under 21 titles in 1980s. We won 1 under 21 title in the 00s and none in this decade. That tells it own story And we need to beat Dublin. We haven't beaten Dublin at this age group since 2011 when Liam Harnan managed Meath under 21 team with players like Brian Menton Donal keoghan and Mickey Newman . That Meath under 21 team defeated a very highly fancied Jim Galvin Dublin team in a quarter final. We should have won leinster that year but lost semis to longford.
Anyway hopefully we will see new sucess at the new under 20 level. If we do that will be a game changer for Meath football. And hopefully it will sign of more sucess to come at underage in the coming years.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 06/06/2019 09:43:06    2191091

Great analysis here. Unfortunately I am not too familiar with who should or shouldn't be in panel. As tbh I don't see enough under age football to make a decision, I was at the minor game v Westmeath and to say it was a game we left behind would be a understatement, hopefully the u20s performances are more reflective of their abilities. Great to see so many potential players been named. Hopefully they all can make a impact

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2019 10:58:24    2191116

Replying To latouche25:  "Shane Walsh is the best full forward in the county. He's only 19 and doing the leaving cert but has proven it in every game this year he is unstoppable. Big strong great in the air and two good feet, not afraid to throw himself around and well able to take abuse. After the way the U20's performed the other night I'd say Callaghan can't wait for the leaving to be over."
Funny how we're not fielding against Armagh this week in the u20. Excuse being we're short lads due to the leaving. We have a number of u17 developments players from 2 years ago who would be willing and able to pull on the shirt but are jut not being asked. These lads won the Leinster u17 that year. This was an official competition as these lads were would miss out on minor due to the change in the minor age limit from 18 to 17.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 09/06/2019 20:51:05    2192391

I totally agree. Why have so many lads from a successful u17 team from 2 years ago be overlooked yet so many from last year's team brought in. They both were equally successful. Only the manager can answer that question. Or can he ??

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 12/06/2019 11:02:32    2193849

Replying To latouche25:  "I totally agree. Why have so many lads from a successful u17 team from 2 years ago be overlooked yet so many from last year's team brought in. They both were equally successful. Only the manager can answer that question. Or can he ??"
I am looking back at that team. Sean Ryan, Sean Bannon, Oran Smullen, Liam Byrne, Cian McBride. Aaron Lynch, Jordan Morris, Matt Costello and Shane Walsh all started on that team all bar Walsh (who was asked) are on the 20's now. Micheal Murphy also on it. You have an argument with Jack O'Connor and Dylan Keating being on it. But it isn't much of an issue like you are trying to make it

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 12/06/2019 12:55:19    2193902

Replying To Diego:  "Funny how we're not fielding against Armagh this week in the u20. Excuse being we're short lads due to the leaving. We have a number of u17 developments players from 2 years ago who would be willing and able to pull on the shirt but are jut not being asked. These lads won the Leinster u17 that year. This was an official competition as these lads were would miss out on minor due to the change in the minor age limit from 18 to 17."
Whose not fielding game is on next Tuesday

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 12/06/2019 13:19:50    2193912

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I am looking back at that team. Sean Ryan, Sean Bannon, Oran Smullen, Liam Byrne, Cian McBride. Aaron Lynch, Jordan Morris, Matt Costello and Shane Walsh all started on that team all bar Walsh (who was asked) are on the 20's now. Micheal Murphy also on it. You have an argument with Jack O'Connor and Dylan Keating being on it. But it isn't much of an issue like you are trying to make it"
Well said -
Management spread the net very wide - they had a panel of over 30 and then invited another big group in for trials towards the end of last year. They kept a group of lads from the trials and added them to the panel. They started with a big panel and reduced it over the first half of this year.
I understand plenty of lads were asked in - some couldn't commit for a variety of reasons - leaving cert being one but others due to college work etc.

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 13/06/2019 15:01:59    2194468

Replying To Brownepat:  "Whose not fielding game is on next Tuesday"
That's a re-fixture then. They were due to play last Monday.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 15/06/2019 20:33:53    2195393

As far as I'm aware. Shane Walsh wont be with the U20's this year as Andy McEntee has already taken him in.

Thehowlingbird (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 16/06/2019 10:53:27    2195652

Replying To Thehowlingbird:  "As far as I'm aware. Shane Walsh wont be with the U20's this year as Andy McEntee has already taken him in."
Would love to see him against the Dubs at some stage...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 17/06/2019 10:36:40    2196296

Kildare knocked out today. So it's a big chance for a Leinster final now. Offaly next week at home will be tougher than I thought as they hammered Carlow and Cian Johnson for them is a brilliant footballer. We have the most talented team in Leinster I think but they are really young and I hope that having so many lads doing Leavingcert doesn't come back to haunt us

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 25/06/2019 23:43:38    2201005

Anyone know why Shane Walsh isn't on the named team for the match tomorrow night?

I hope its because Andy wants him for Clare at the weekend...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 01/07/2019 13:42:13    2203553

Replying To Crinigan:  "Anyone know why Shane Walsh isn't on the named team for the match tomorrow night?

I hope its because Andy wants him for Clare at the weekend..."
It's because he decided not to join the 20's panel this year

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 01/07/2019 14:17:56    2203594

Walsh didn't commit because of the LC. He said he could commit after but Callaghan didn't want that. He is now on the seniors. Would Andy have taken him if he was on the 20's panel, I amn't sure but Callaghan wouldn't take him after the LC is my understanding

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 01/07/2019 15:10:16    2203645