2019 Division 1 League Final.

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You highlight Kerry goal chances but Mayo missed at least 4 more goal chances,. So I would say they were 10 points better. The 2 Kerry goals gave them life and Mayo stuttered for 15 mins after that. An 8 point swing from half time to full time is serious going against any of the top 5 teams no matter what way you dress it up."
I think mayo were a good bit better overall but I can see where Clon is coming from that game was far from finished coming towards the end, Clifford would nail that goal nine times out of ten and who knows what happens then.

Immaterial now of course. Hope ye enjoyed the celebrations there was a great atmosphere afterwards.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/04/2019 10:57:54    2176913

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You highlight Kerry goal chances but Mayo missed at least 4 more goal chances,. So I would say they were 10 points better. The 2 Kerry goals gave them life and Mayo stuttered for 15 mins after that. An 8 point swing from half time to full time is serious going against any of the top 5 teams no matter what way you dress it up."
Yeah and Kerry had a goal disallowed that should of stood, listen Mayo were the better team but no way were they 12 points better. Mayo missed aload of chances aswell no doubt about it. Nothing worst from a Dublin prospective seeing Mayo flying like that, it's going to be an exciting summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2019 11:15:54    2176917

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I don't know have mayo ever won a big game comfortably? They always leave you in it even when their clearly the better team , think of The amount of games Mayo have been the better team but barely got over the line. Like cliffords miss at the end was a shocker that's as easy a chance you'll ever get , Jack Barry through on goal takes his point when imo he should of buried it. Kerry had chances aswell I don't think Mayo were 10 to 12 points better than Kerry like horan said."
Agreed, at all levels of the game Mayo teams have a maddening inability to consolidate even the most promising of leads. Even yesterday, in the final quarter we had a daft second yellow by AOS and also we started giving Kerry back possession by hoofing it long instead of working the ball through the hands.

I think we do lack a bit of tactical acumen in closing games out as a county. You rarely see Ulster teams, for instance, giving away the goal chances we do towards the end of games.

I do also wish that James Horan would be a little bit less bullish in his interviews, especially given that he has worked in broadcast media himself. The likes of his 12 point comment is something you would never hear Jim Gavin or any Kerry pundit say, for the simple reason that it can be used as ammunition later on (and I don't think it's accurate either in the context of yesterday's game tbh).

The Mayo pundits who work in national media seem to be a little bit too open/not cute enough in playing things down. I'm looking at you, David Brady ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/04/2019 11:16:33    2176918

Sam is Mayos to lose...... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/04/2019 11:33:32    2176923

Replying To superbluedub:  "Hard luck kid , Kerry are a coming team that's for sure ! congrats Mayo great effort today and a well deserved win , delighted for yous."
Ah not a bother, considering I thought we'd be relegation fodder we did really well to make the final and even though we played badly in the second half yesterday we didn't get trashed and we could even have stole it at the end.

It was easy to see that Mayo were going to win midfield hands down and unless we fix this we're going nowhere and the fact that midfield is so dis functional it's killing our backs and starving our forwards.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/04/2019 11:53:51    2176928

Thank you Mayo....thank you!! Now keep this up for the summer!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 01/04/2019 13:57:27    2176981

Two things would worry me for Kerry big time yesterday

1. Still are defending extremely naively and other than Paul Murphy who was excellent they look as short back there as they have been over the past few years.

2. O'Donoghue and Geaney had no impact off the bench, in fact JOD had a negative impact i would say. He seems miles off where he was only 2 or 3 years ago with all the injuries.

Don't think Jim Gavin lost a wink of sleep last night on either of these teams.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 01/04/2019 14:30:46    2176991

Replying To kazoochka:  "Two things would worry me for Kerry big time yesterday

1. Still are defending extremely naively and other than Paul Murphy who was excellent they look as short back there as they have been over the past few years.

2. O'Donoghue and Geaney had no impact off the bench, in fact JOD had a negative impact i would say. He seems miles off where he was only 2 or 3 years ago with all the injuries.

Don't think Jim Gavin lost a wink of sleep last night on either of these teams."
That's harsh on Geaney. Came on and kicked a good score, did more in 18 mins than Tommy Walsh did in 52.
Would be surprised if he wasn't starting come championship.
Dublin still miles ahead of the rest.

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 01/04/2019 15:00:48    2177002

Do the Kerry lads think O'Donoghue is finished? I thought that last year when i saw him against Galways, he's not as quick as he used to be.

Kerry didn't get much use out of Walsh yesterday although I didn't think they used him enough when under pressure, he's 6 inches taller than Barrett and barely tested him. The quality of the ball going in the 1st half wasn't up to it. O'Brien had a fine game, ran at them all game long and won some frees through it. How did Keegan behave himself on O'Shea? I don't think he's as good a defender as he used to be so has to resort to different means to stop his opponent although the Mayo support think he's angelic.

If Mayo had great forwards they'd have demolished Kerry yesterday, still plenty of questions remain about Mayo in that department. Ruane though had a great game and really looks the part, he's very comfortable on the ball.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 01/04/2019 15:13:00    2177008

Nice to see the Tans run out of HQ, I bet Kerry will retire that gainsai now. Mayo were fantastic, congrats to ye.
My honest rankings for Sam are
1. Dublin
2. Mayo
3. Tyrone
4. Galway
5 Donegal
6. Kerry

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 01/04/2019 15:18:02    2177010

Replying To lilylanger:  "Thank you Mayo....thank you!! Now keep this up for the summer!"
Im guessing you were on the 9/4

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 01/04/2019 15:35:08    2177016

Replying To JDF:  "Do the Kerry lads think O'Donoghue is finished? I thought that last year when i saw him against Galways, he's not as quick as he used to be.

Kerry didn't get much use out of Walsh yesterday although I didn't think they used him enough when under pressure, he's 6 inches taller than Barrett and barely tested him. The quality of the ball going in the 1st half wasn't up to it. O'Brien had a fine game, ran at them all game long and won some frees through it. How did Keegan behave himself on O'Shea? I don't think he's as good a defender as he used to be so has to resort to different means to stop his opponent although the Mayo support think he's angelic.

If Mayo had great forwards they'd have demolished Kerry yesterday, still plenty of questions remain about Mayo in that department. Ruane though had a great game and really looks the part, he's very comfortable on the ball."
I'm not sure James suits the way we want to play. Come the summer I expect that it will be a front two of Clifford and Geaney with a third man working back, probably O'Brien or McCarthy. James will probably get in for 15-20 minutes in most games and needs to make an impact when he does.

I read somewhere that he got a knock shortly after coming in yesterday and had a dead leg. Not sure if that's true but while he looked busy he had minimal impact. There was very little space to operate in fairness. Time will tell if he is done at this level.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/04/2019 15:41:52    2177018

Keegan has now totally destroyed in big games, the likes of
Connelly, Kilkenny, Cavanagh and now O Shea, some defender

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 01/04/2019 16:19:23    2177028

Replying To culmore:  "Keegan has now totally destroyed in big games, the likes of
Connelly, Kilkenny, Cavanagh and now O Shea, some defender"
Got the runaround by Shane Walsh a few weeks ago.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 01/04/2019 16:28:05    2177031

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Nice to see the Tans run out of HQ, I bet Kerry will retire that gainsai now. Mayo were fantastic, congrats to ye.
My honest rankings for Sam are
1. Dublin
2. Mayo
3. Tyrone
4. Galway
5 Donegal
6. Kerry"
lol

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 01/04/2019 16:31:17    2177032

Replying To JDF:  "Do the Kerry lads think O'Donoghue is finished? I thought that last year when i saw him against Galways, he's not as quick as he used to be.

If Mayo had great forwards they'd have demolished Kerry yesterday, still plenty of questions remain about Mayo in that department. Ruane though had a great game and really looks the part, he's very comfortable on the ball."
Mayo supporters know exactly what Keegan gets up to and he has resorted to that many times in the last few years. The new superstar of the game was anonymous, Keegan only back to full fitness now. Would get on any team in the country.

The rest of your post is fair.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 01/04/2019 16:33:03    2177034

Lee was never angelic. Bruce Lee maybe who you're thinking about but he was a corner back.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/04/2019 17:35:48    2177045

Keegan also just over a virus...not bad going.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/04/2019 18:24:58    2177057

Well done to Mayo, they must be firm 2nd favs now for Sam, don't think Horan's post match comments will do them any favours though, he'd have been better saying less. Clifford will rue that last goal chance, he should have caught it and booted it,
Mayo for Sam, no doubt about it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 01/04/2019 18:49:26    2177062

Replying To JDF:  "Got the runaround by Shane Walsh a few weeks ago."
Keegan is only now getting back to full fitness so I wouldn't be too worried about how he has played in the league.

JuniorBee (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 01/04/2019 19:09:22    2177064