2019 Division 1 League Final.

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jod has had chances up the yazoo clon, no more chances clear him out and mark griffin with him.

As for seanie I think you're being very harsh, there isn't a 20 year in the country that could have done any better with lee Keegan marking him, lee was pulling and dragging him talking in his ear and blocking his runs which is all part and parcel of the game but fair play to Seanie he didn't bite.

As I said earlier every day is a learning day and we'll have learned a load from this campaign."
Haha that's what lee does kingdomboy I've been watching him for 6 years pulling and dragging Dermo , it's funny in the second half you see Keegan with his arms wrapped around O Se and wouldn't let him go ,Keegan gets away with murder, but fair play to him, he's also a brilliant player to be fair.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/03/2019 21:23:13    2176802

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Haha that's what lee does kingdomboy I've been watching him for 6 years pulling and dragging Dermo , it's funny in the second half you see Keegan with his arms wrapped around O Se and wouldn't let him go ,Keegan gets away with murder, but fair play to him, he's also a brilliant player to be fair."
Ah ya sure it's all part and parcel clon and our lads do it as well.

Seanie will have learned more from today's game than the previous 7 I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/03/2019 21:28:52    2176804

Replying To blacknamber:  "Mayo fans today reminded me of galway fans last year after da first super 8 game...it was like an all Ireland win. I hope they don't finish up like galway last year.
Congrats to mayo better team by far today..Kerry have the makings of a very good team its over to P Keane now to put the pieces together..how do we set up to feed dat ff line good ball."
But that was a good day for us galway fans are quick to stick the knife in when we lose but they hop right back on the bandwagon after a win. Mayo fans stay on the bandwagon win lose or draw can any other county say the same?.We went through a serious bad patch for a few years I remember us beating mayo in castle bar in 2016 maybe a few hundred if even travelled that day regardless of how mayo are doing I don't even think a league game several hours away would they bring a crowd that small.

I do think they should go mad tonight its silverware in croke park and they were deserved winners. No disrespect to Dublin but its nice to see a div 1 final not involving them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/03/2019 21:34:27    2176809

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah ya sure it's all part and parcel clon and our lads do it as well.

Seanie will have learned more from today's game than the previous 7 I'd say."
Very young Kerry team the inexperience was obvious and the two late goals were shockers tbf the corner back cramped up so that was unlucky and the O Conor goal was a shot by durkan but them the breaks. Don't forget Kerry we're 4 up in the 49 minute before mayo's first goal, we all get carried away by the winners and losers Kerry will still be in the all Ireland semi or final this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/03/2019 22:12:03    2176820

Congratulations Mayo and hard luck Kerry.I'm delighted Mayo won because I had them backed in the bookies.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 31/03/2019 22:27:09    2176831

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm full of knowledge kid, I tried to tell you Mayo would have to much for our lads but you wouldn't listen."
Hard luck kid , Kerry are a coming team that's for sure ! congrats Mayo great effort today and a well deserved win , delighted for yous.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/03/2019 22:45:13    2176835

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Very young Kerry team the inexperience was obvious and the two late goals were shockers tbf the corner back cramped up so that was unlucky and the O Conor goal was a shot by durkan but them the breaks. Don't forget Kerry we're 4 up in the 49 minute before mayo's first goal, we all get carried away by the winners and losers Kerry will still be in the all Ireland semi or final this year."
That's all true, but they were 4 up at that stage mainly because Mayo had left a lot of scores behind them, including at least 3 good goal chances. Mayo dominated the vast majority of today's match and should have won more comfortably.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2038 - 31/03/2019 22:48:17    2176837

Congratulations Mayo fans on today's win. That was some storming second half by ye. Year subs made more of an impact and year midfield destroyed ours. When ye get Killian back ye'l be even harder to beat and the early exit last year seems to have re-energised year players.
Best of luck in the championship .

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 31/03/2019 22:53:55    2176840

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Haha that's what lee does kingdomboy I've been watching him for 6 years pulling and dragging Dermo , it's funny in the second half you see Keegan with his arms wrapped around O Se and wouldn't let him go ,Keegan gets away with murder, but fair play to him, he's also a brilliant player to be fair."
Maybe someday you will accept that he is just a brilliant footballer, just as 'Dermo' was.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/03/2019 23:34:49    2176851

Well done to the lads for keeping the foot to the floor and not accepting anything but the win. The degree of hard work it became is one for management to deal with, but it should provide the panel with a morale boost to work on the things which need addressing over the coming months.

Commiserations to Kerry. I genuinely felt our fb line was physically going to be under a lot of pressure but they dealt with it. The young Kerry players will still walk Munster and be there to contend when the biggest prize is being fought for. Mayo still will have a tough Connacht to get over for us to find ourselves at the same stage. But it was very satisfying to see the players celebrating at the end and getting some reward for their dedication.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/03/2019 23:59:53    2176853

i'm starting to wonder if these younger Kerry players are overrated. They havent won a U20/U21 and could have been well beaten today. Clifford looks to be a phenomenal talent but the rest of them have a lot to prove. No doubt they will win an all ireland with the usual Kerry belief and will to win but I dont see the same quality that Kerry had in the 2000s. I wouldnt be scrap heaping JOD yet a fella of that talent could come good.

From a Mayo perspective very happy to see the 2013 minor 2016 U21 winning team finally making an impact scoring 2-7 from play today. It looks like we will be able to stay at the top table for the next 3-4 years.
On the negative side a Dublin team at peak could put 4-5 goals on us with a defensive performance like todays. Mayo need learn when they need to make fouls to prevent goals even if its at the expense of a yellow/black cards.

Its been a good league for both teams but both have serious work to do in defence and Kerry also look to have issues in the middle of the field but good for both sides to have these things exposed now.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 01/04/2019 01:12:42    2176856

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's all true, but they were 4 up at that stage mainly because Mayo had left a lot of scores behind them, including at least 3 good goal chances. Mayo dominated the vast majority of today's match and should have won more comfortably."
I don't know have mayo ever won a big game comfortably? They always leave you in it even when their clearly the better team , think of The amount of games Mayo have been the better team but barely got over the line. Like cliffords miss at the end was a shocker that's as easy a chance you'll ever get , Jack Barry through on goal takes his point when imo he should of buried it. Kerry had chances aswell I don't think Mayo were 10 to 12 points better than Kerry like horan said.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2019 10:06:02    2176886

Replying To neverright:  "Maybe someday you will accept that he is just a brilliant footballer, just as 'Dermo' was."
Maybe you should read my whole post.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2019 10:06:53    2176887

Replying To neverright:  "Maybe someday you will accept that he is just a brilliant footballer, just as 'Dermo' was."
Not sure I agree with you on that although a very good player- brilliant footballers are not continually trying to take home the opponents jersey. A very good win for Mayo and delighted for them. I thought the man of the match was their new mid-fielder.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/04/2019 10:07:47    2176888

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Maybe you should read my whole post."
Maybe you should just accept he is brilliant without the caveats?

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 01/04/2019 10:15:59    2176894

Well done Mayo, thoroughly deserved for players and fans alike.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 01/04/2019 10:23:48    2176898

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I don't know have mayo ever won a big game comfortably? They always leave you in it even when their clearly the better team , think of The amount of games Mayo have been the better team but barely got over the line. Like cliffords miss at the end was a shocker that's as easy a chance you'll ever get , Jack Barry through on goal takes his point when imo he should of buried it. Kerry had chances aswell I don't think Mayo were 10 to 12 points better than Kerry like horan said."
Almost no comment about Kerry's first goal which should not have been allowed. Brilliant finish by Crowley but Clifford fouled the ball (two hops) in the build up. Another thought to consider - when did a team last win a national final while scoring just one point from a free? Well done Mayo!

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 01/04/2019 10:27:07    2176899

Replying To midlands:  "Almost no comment about Kerry's first goal which should not have been allowed. Brilliant finish by Crowley but Clifford fouled the ball (two hops) in the build up. Another thought to consider - when did a team last win a national final while scoring just one point from a free? Well done Mayo!"
Fully agree. A free out all day long but nobody mentioned it. One of a few decisions that could have scuppered Mayo yesterday.
Very enjoyable match all the same. Kerry have a few lads living on scarcely-earned reputations in the forwards. Paul Geaney will be essential for summer success. It looks like the main threat to Dublin will be from Tyrone after all.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 01/04/2019 10:40:42    2176905

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I don't know have mayo ever won a big game comfortably? They always leave you in it even when their clearly the better team , think of The amount of games Mayo have been the better team but barely got over the line. Like cliffords miss at the end was a shocker that's as easy a chance you'll ever get , Jack Barry through on goal takes his point when imo he should of buried it. Kerry had chances aswell I don't think Mayo were 10 to 12 points better than Kerry like horan said."
You highlight Kerry goal chances but Mayo missed at least 4 more goal chances,. So I would say they were 10 points better. The 2 Kerry goals gave them life and Mayo stuttered for 15 mins after that. An 8 point swing from half time to full time is serious going against any of the top 5 teams no matter what way you dress it up.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 01/04/2019 10:43:30    2176906

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Fully agree. A free out all day long but nobody mentioned it. One of a few decisions that could have scuppered Mayo yesterday.
Very enjoyable match all the same. Kerry have a few lads living on scarcely-earned reputations in the forwards. Paul Geaney will be essential for summer success. It looks like the main threat to Dublin will be from Tyrone after all."
It should have been a free out but you could take virtually any score these days and find a foul in the build up. There were decisions both ways yesterday and it had little impact on the result.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/04/2019 10:50:17    2176911