2019 Division 1 League Final.

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I think Kerry could hammer Mayo Sunday

I also think

Mayo could hammer Kerry Sunday

I'm not saying there will be a hammering but maybe Sunday we could find out that one team just isn't good enough this year. Sometimes it's better to be in Tyrone's place finishing the league on a high and going into the champo full of confidence. One team has to lose Sunday"
Make sure you don't get a splinter in your backside with that fence you're sitting on. ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/03/2019 10:21:27    2175759

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's true, but I think Kerry's Achilles heel in the past 2-3 years has been a lack of pace and I do think we have a lot more of it now in the team with the new lads coming through.

As for AOS, yes I saw him up close in Tralee and he looks lean and mean though I still have a suspicion that come hard ground in a big pitch like Croker he won't have the legs to last 80mins. If I was Kerry I'd be looking to drag him around the place on Sunday and run him ragged.
I'll also be honest and say I've often questioned him in big games, but he certainly took charge in Tralee and if he can keep that up, Mayo will be very dangerous this year.

I suppose a big crowd will be coming over from the West? Is it 2012 since Mayo were last in a final? A big game in Croker is always something to look forward to, esp seeing as we've two long months till the Championship after it!"
I agree there Hermit... your new players have certainly upped the overall pace of the Kerry team and it's the one thing you can't easily improve if you haven't the naturals to begin with.

Aidan has definitely been the target of runners in the past when playing midfield, with deliberate targeting of his channel to do what you suggest - run him into the ground and create overlaps. His greater level of fitness will protect him to an extent, but this is a known potential issue for JH and the coaches, so you'd expect that the other Mayo players occupying adjacent space will be conscious of needing to stay tight enough to support Aidan if Mayo lose the ball when attacking. Things have become so structured, with some teams using almost a double crescent when pressing high up, that the vulnerability which would have been there a few years back has been lessened... space for a break has been reduced. The way to counteract it is to kick long ball rather than running with the ball from deep. It's one of the reasons Galway have caused us so many problems in last few years (because they're hard to run at from deep, which is a big part of the way Mayo traditionally attacks), but Kerry don't play that ugly game!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/03/2019 11:05:06    2175769

Replying To Vishred:  "if its a tight affair, played close to championship level pace, then both teams will have benefitted from the game."
Im still waiting for your reply Vishred.
Discuss

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 27/03/2019 12:09:37    2175787

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree there Hermit... your new players have certainly upped the overall pace of the Kerry team and it's the one thing you can't easily improve if you haven't the naturals to begin with.

Aidan has definitely been the target of runners in the past when playing midfield, with deliberate targeting of his channel to do what you suggest - run him into the ground and create overlaps. His greater level of fitness will protect him to an extent, but this is a known potential issue for JH and the coaches, so you'd expect that the other Mayo players occupying adjacent space will be conscious of needing to stay tight enough to support Aidan if Mayo lose the ball when attacking. Things have become so structured, with some teams using almost a double crescent when pressing high up, that the vulnerability which would have been there a few years back has been lessened... space for a break has been reduced. The way to counteract it is to kick long ball rather than running with the ball from deep. It's one of the reasons Galway have caused us so many problems in last few years (because they're hard to run at from deep, which is a big part of the way Mayo traditionally attacks), but Kerry don't play that ugly game!"
Yes you're right there Pericles in what you say.
I really think Sunday will come down to Kerry's ability to move the ball at pace and get a good supply quickly into their forwards.
If we start running the ball into contact however, Mayo will devour it. They are so good at stripping opponents of the ball in their tackling and, as we have already mentioned, they have the physical edge on most Kerry players though Walsh, Clifford and Sherwood in the team will rebalance this a little.

It's really hard to call. Heart obviously says Kerry and we owe ye a beating in Croker but if Mayo really want this you wouldn't back against them.
Actually what are the bookies say, any clear favorite?
The Kerry team should be named around 8pm on Friday so looking forward to what Keane decides.
When does Horan typically name his side?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/03/2019 12:26:32    2175789

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree there Hermit... your new players have certainly upped the overall pace of the Kerry team and it's the one thing you can't easily improve if you haven't the naturals to begin with.

Aidan has definitely been the target of runners in the past when playing midfield, with deliberate targeting of his channel to do what you suggest - run him into the ground and create overlaps. His greater level of fitness will protect him to an extent, but this is a known potential issue for JH and the coaches, so you'd expect that the other Mayo players occupying adjacent space will be conscious of needing to stay tight enough to support Aidan if Mayo lose the ball when attacking. Things have become so structured, with some teams using almost a double crescent when pressing high up, that the vulnerability which would have been there a few years back has been lessened... space for a break has been reduced. The way to counteract it is to kick long ball rather than running with the ball from deep. It's one of the reasons Galway have caused us so many problems in last few years (because they're hard to run at from deep, which is a big part of the way Mayo traditionally attacks), but Kerry don't play that ugly game!"
Mayo and Kerry are both sideways hand-passing recyclers and that is really ugly stuff, not sure why Mayo posters keep calling Galway football ugly, its comical. Sunday will be ugly on steroids.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 27/03/2019 12:58:58    2175794

What's the story with Boyle and Keegan ? Are the dropped or rested ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/03/2019 14:14:14    2175809

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Mayo and Kerry are both sideways hand-passing recyclers and that is really ugly stuff, not sure why Mayo posters keep calling Galway football ugly, its comical. Sunday will be ugly on steroids."
From the park the bus merchants.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/03/2019 14:28:21    2175817

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Mayo and Kerry are both sideways hand-passing recyclers and that is really ugly stuff, not sure why Mayo posters keep calling Galway football ugly, its comical. Sunday will be ugly on steroids."
I disagree, I have a feeling that this game Sunday could be a classic for the ages, I can see a high scoring shoot out.

Hopefully the reff will let the game flow.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2019 14:35:41    2175821

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What's the story with Boyle and Keegan ? Are the dropped or rested ?"
Rested but the younger lads have been getting their chance...and taking it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 27/03/2019 15:47:11    2175833

Keegan needs time off and so does Boyle but the latter is fighting for his place, Keegan nailed on unless not fully fit.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 27/03/2019 15:52:49    2175835

Maroon, I know all sides are defensive when they need to be, but I watched the TG4 showing of the Galway/Tyrone game at the weekend, and at one point in the second half Galway had moved the ball up the field and set up in the familiar arc all sides are using. They started to probe by moving the ball over and back when all of a sudden a big hole opened up down the middle 10m wide and extending from the Tyrone 45 to the D. Gareth Bradshaw was passed the ball in front of the chasm, but instead of moving in at speed with support on either side, he took a couple steps, stopped and passed the ball back to a player well behind him. I just couldn't figure it out. I've said it in other posts, I don't think KW is anything but a thoughtful manager, but what part of a gameplan demands that level of caution?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/03/2019 16:17:06    2175846

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Keegan needs time off and so does Boyle but the latter is fighting for his place, Keegan nailed on unless not fully fit."
Agree , Keegan starts but I think Boyle is in trouble for a starting spot.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/03/2019 16:40:15    2175850

It's 2019 and people still believe their county plays "traditional" football, you can only laugh at the innocence.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 27/03/2019 16:55:17    2175853

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes you're right there Pericles in what you say.
I really think Sunday will come down to Kerry's ability to move the ball at pace and get a good supply quickly into their forwards.
If we start running the ball into contact however, Mayo will devour it. They are so good at stripping opponents of the ball in their tackling and, as we have already mentioned, they have the physical edge on most Kerry players though Walsh, Clifford and Sherwood in the team will rebalance this a little.

It's really hard to call. Heart obviously says Kerry and we owe ye a beating in Croker but if Mayo really want this you wouldn't back against them.
Actually what are the bookies say, any clear favorite?
The Kerry team should be named around 8pm on Friday so looking forward to what Keane decides.
When does Horan typically name his side?"
Annoyingly late Hermit from a supporters point of view and the bench is never named, unlike yourselves. The practice of the previous management of making 3 pre throw-in changes to the published starting 15 seems by and large to have thankfully reduced (JH will probably do that on Sunday now for spite!). One thing for sure, I can't guess half of our starting 15, which is a good thing.

I think most Mayo supporters will really be keeping an eye on the future with this game. There was a fear developing that if things stayed as they were, this year, or in the next couple of years, would've seen all chance for evolution going, with the risk that a completely new side would be starting from a long way down the development ladder. It's exciting to be seeing the new talents given a chance, as much as we're still attached to the older guys. I know it's even more so for yourselves, given the greater Kerry turnover and the fact that the potential fallback guys have largely hung up their boots. It certainly gives the game a refreshing feel in the build-up.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/03/2019 16:59:41    2175855

Hard to call. The recent meetings between the sides have generally been tight.

One thing that would concern me as a Mayo fan would be the prospect of T.Walsh and Clifford winning tapover marks close to goal, especially given that our full-back line has struggled with big men often before.

Will be interesting to see what team JH names- go with the tried and trusted or reward the young guns who've been showing well?

Would fancy Kerry by a couple, wouldn't mind being wrong though!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/03/2019 17:06:45    2175856

Replying To Gleebo:  "Hard to call. The recent meetings between the sides have generally been tight.

One thing that would concern me as a Mayo fan would be the prospect of T.Walsh and Clifford winning tapover marks close to goal, especially given that our full-back line has struggled with big men often before.

Will be interesting to see what team JH names- go with the tried and trusted or reward the young guns who've been showing well?

Would fancy Kerry by a couple, wouldn't mind being wrong though!"
Its will be a blend , just like all his previous selections.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 27/03/2019 17:34:34    2175863

Replying To Fewpucks24:  "Im still waiting for your reply Vishred.
Discuss"
Its a toss up if we are to judge both teams performances in the league., but going by the bookies odds then its Mayo for me.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 27/03/2019 18:12:31    2175870

Have to fancy Kerry in this one. Clifford and O'Shea partnership should be enough to see them over the league. Aidan O'Shea also usually doesn't perform in Croker.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 27/03/2019 19:21:38    2175884

I think we'll just shade it by a couple of points.
Clifford Geaney both back along with jameso plus tommy will be hard to hold.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 27/03/2019 19:29:06    2175887

If Mayo put out their best team they should shade it by the odd score

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/03/2019 22:16:18    2175915