Monaghan Vs Cavan

Replying To cavanman47:  "Excuse for what?

1. It ended in a draw

2. I wasn't arguing the result, I was talking about 1 player's performance"
So why mention an alleged or imagined foul ?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/03/2019 22:03:02    2172135

Replying To cavanman47:  "Excuse for what?

1. It ended in a draw

2. I wasn't arguing the result, I was talking about 1 player's performance"
Excuses, excuses........more excuses !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 13/03/2019 22:17:59    2172138

Replying To greysoil:  "So why mention an alleged or imagined foul ?"
Don't waste your breath....pointless !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 350 - 13/03/2019 22:19:20    2172139

Replying To greysoil:  "So why mention an alleged or imagined foul ?"
You said he didn't play well - I was arguing he did. Caused all sorts of trouble for your full back line. . .to the point of being the match winner had the ref not bottled it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/03/2019 07:49:03    2172157

these monaghan lads, put the daggers away will ya. you'd swear yous are jealous of Cavan the way yous carry on.;)

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 14/03/2019 08:30:55    2172161

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Don't waste your breath....pointless !"
Sure listen they arguing that much over on their own Forum that it's bound to spill over on to here. I still think some of the Cavan folk have their minds set on their 5th province of Tara.....HON THE FARNEY

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 14/03/2019 09:03:43    2172166

Replying To cavanman47:  "You said he didn't play well - I was arguing he did. Caused all sorts of trouble for your full back line. . .to the point of being the match winner had the ref not bottled it."
Emmm, I didn't make any comment on his performance?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/03/2019 09:44:07    2172175

Replying To greysoil:  "Emmm, I didn't make any comment on his performance?"
was referring to you (plural) as you seem to be collectively taking this opportunity to celebrate the greatest team you've ever had being better than Cavan over the past decade.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/03/2019 10:06:46    2172178

Replying To .tribute:  "these monaghan lads, put the daggers away will ya. you'd swear yous are jealous of Cavan the way yous carry on.;)"
i am jealous of cavan...imagine having great neighbours like us. lol.

All jokin aside - looking forwards to welcoming yis to Clones and game could go either way. Nothin Cavan would love more than to bate us and the feelings mutual

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 14/03/2019 10:34:22    2172183

Replying To cavanman47:  "was referring to you (plural) as you seem to be collectively taking this opportunity to celebrate the greatest team you've ever had being better than Cavan over the past decade."
Now that is just a strange comment & interpretation.
Anyway looking forward to the game on Saturday. Hope the weather improves ....

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/03/2019 10:39:29    2172185

Is there another fixture in the calendar that brings out so much emnity among rival supporters? Many of whom are friends, neighbours and cousins? I doubt it!

The old joke about two bald men fighting over a comb comes to mind. (Except of course that one of the bald men has a heap of old medals in his pocket and the other doesn't)

It all makes Clones the only place to be Saturday for those involved in this most local of squabbles. The light is beginning to fade for this very good Monaghan team. Cavan are not great by any means but this time they will have enough to snuff out McManus and his 14 helpers.

Cavan by 3+ points. Neutrals, you have been warned so don't let this one ruin your weekend accumulator. #TFIB

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 14/03/2019 12:13:59    2172203

This in one rivalry that brings me no joy.. a loss to Cavan is a dark place and even a win over Cavan is not much better... There is a bitterness in the air that wasn't there in the 80's 90's but it has crept into the game since then.. I've no idea why apart from being a neighbouring county. but nearly every team in Ulster is a neighbouring county!! I'll be glad when Saturday is over..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 14/03/2019 12:34:38    2172206

Yeah I don't know what it is either - the Monaghan fans, to be fair to them, are great banter and I have plenty of friends who'll be cheering them on come Saturday.

After the game, regardless the result, we'll have a few pints in Clones and move on, but there's always something about the build-up to this one that is different to any other game.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/03/2019 13:19:05    2172215

Don't think there is anything particularly intense about this 'perceived rivalry' - think it resides in the minds of Cavan folk or in the annals of ancient history - much like that bald man's medals that you refer to. Would feel more intensity when meeting Donegal or Tyrone. Anyway looking forward to welcoming you all to Clones - google maps will provide directions (if you have internet access) as you probably haven't had much reason to be in St Tiarnach's in this century.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/03/2019 13:19:10    2172216

The bitter monaghan fans who envy our past will be quiet this weekend when we put you to the sword. You monaghan boys wont be driving round Kingscourt beeping the horns and waving your flags this weekend. UP CAVAN.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 14/03/2019 13:25:21    2172217

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Is there another fixture in the calendar that brings out so much emnity among rival supporters? Many of whom are friends, neighbours and cousins? I doubt it!

The old joke about two bald men fighting over a comb comes to mind. (Except of course that one of the bald men has a heap of old medals in his pocket and the other doesn't)

It all makes Clones the only place to be Saturday for those involved in this most local of squabbles. The light is beginning to fade for this very good Monaghan team. Cavan are not great by any means but this time they will have enough to snuff out McManus and his 14 helpers.

Cavan by 3+ points. Neutrals, you have been warned so don't let this one ruin your weekend accumulator. #TFIB"
The battle of the Boyne: Louth v Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/03/2019 13:53:29    2172225

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Is there another fixture in the calendar that brings out so much emnity among rival supporters? Many of whom are friends, neighbours and cousins? I doubt it!

Cavan by 3+ points. Neutrals, you have been warned so don't let this one ruin your weekend accumulator. #TFIB"
Old medals indeed. Not many of that Cavan team can even remember the last time Cavan were Ulster champions :)

McManus and 14 helpers. Lol.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 14/03/2019 16:39:22    2172235

Last two league meetings between these sides was 0-7 draw two years ago in Castleblayney and 8 point win for Cavan in 2013 when 5 players was sent off.

Monaghan are at their very best in Clones and are hard bet there as even Dublin found out this year and seeing that Saturday's game is played there I will give the nod to Monaghan in a low scoring,dour and bad tempered game.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/03/2019 17:12:16    2172238

Replying To cavanman47:  "You said he didn't play well - I was arguing he did. Caused all sorts of trouble for your full back line. . .to the point of being the match winner had the ref not bottled it."
I wasn't talking about the Mickey Mouse game in Castleblaney in the league when it was in February. I am talking about the 3 intense Championship games in the last few years where Mc Kiernan. And lets be honest Saturday is a mickey mouse game too. The big dogs will show up in the big game in the championship. Cavan need this win for a moral victory and a boost of confidence. We know we are one of the top dogs and dont need moral victories as we have played division 1 football for a few years and have established young men with ulster championship medals, and to be honest a drop would not be the worst thing given how easy it is to get back up. Best of luck on Saturday in the Mickey mouse game that means nothing to us. We have our eyes in the super 8s and late in the summer where our only player mc manus will take us all the way to croker like last year.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 14/03/2019 17:54:56    2172240

All about the championship Madge, don't over excite yourself. What was that one about 2 men fighting over a comb...penny....invented wire etc.
I'm sure the future is blue and all that with Cavan football. Can't wait to see all these u21 starlets that have came through the system for yourselves. Young O Hanlon should have some day with all the attention on Mansy. Oh I forgot we have another few all stars on show for you this weekend.....enjoy

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 14/03/2019 21:14:48    2172285