Kerry V Galway

Suppose I might as well start a chat about Sunday's game.
Not sure what Kerry's approach will be - more or less safe from relegation so experiment
Or - keep the momentum going, make minimum changes and try and get to a League final

After the excitement of Tralee, I think this could be back to dour February football - low scoring, frees at a premium etc etc.
Not sure what way it could go for the Kingdom, all will depend on what sort of team Kerry name on Friday night.
Galway beat us handy enough twice last year, but hoping we are a slightly different proposition now!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/02/2019 14:51:18    2166579

Replying To TheHermit:  "Suppose I might as well start a chat about Sunday's game.
Not sure what Kerry's approach will be - more or less safe from relegation so experiment
Or - keep the momentum going, make minimum changes and try and get to a League final

After the excitement of Tralee, I think this could be back to dour February football - low scoring, frees at a premium etc etc.
Not sure what way it could go for the Kingdom, all will depend on what sort of team Kerry name on Friday night.
Galway beat us handy enough twice last year, but hoping we are a slightly different proposition now!"
Kerry are a much different proposition from last year. Ye should beat Galway but it will be far from pretty in Tuam.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 20/02/2019 15:08:10    2166584

Replying To TheHermit:  "Suppose I might as well start a chat about Sunday's game.

Galway beat us handy enough twice last year, but hoping we are a slightly different proposition now!"
Tuam on a damp Sunday afternoon isn't quite as appealing as a Friday night under lights against the Dubs. Hopefully this will inspire a less glamorous performance from the Kerry lads. :)
I'd have to agree in that I think it will be a lot less high-octane than what we saw in Tralee.
Our form hasn't been great but we have ground out 2 important wins. This game should give us a better indication of where we are.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 20/02/2019 17:11:05    2166622

See this one being close. Think kerry have upped it a gear from last year and galway still missing a lot. Calling the the draw with it being far from a classic unfortunately.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 20/02/2019 23:44:36    2166708

My hope for this is Peter rests Sean O Shea and anyone else involved in Sigerson.
Scandalous amount of games at this time of year.
Kerry will likely revert to the way we played against Tyrone and Cavan and itll be tight.
Draw or Narrow win for Kerry, Galway seem to be missing a lot of quality players.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/02/2019 09:45:15    2166722

This is a hard game to call bot team missing important players and both teams with good results considering that.

So due to home advantage I'd tip the hat to Galway .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/02/2019 10:25:05    2166732

Very hard to call.

Kerry looked to have upped it against Dublin but it was dour enough against Tyrone who subsequently got hammered by Mayo. All of a sudden the pundits reckon they are completely turned around from the disaster of a team they were last year. In my opinion I don't think they were a million miles off last year if a few things clicked into place. Have they improved much this year .....we will see.

Galway, according to everyone are relegation candidates etc etc yet have 4 out of 6 points only losing (badly) to the Dubs. I think at times people confuse aesthetic beauty with who the better teams are and at the moment we certainly are not a beautiful team to watch although we do produce beautiful moments.

Any championship predictions at this time of the year are foolish. Both Galway and Kerry will be close this year (assuming outr injuries clear up).

I would love to see Galway with the 2 Dalys, The Corofin contingent, Comer, Mcdaid & Brannigan all fit and raring to go. Would KW still stay ultra cautious or would he trust his players more when at full strength. I think they have the potential to be a fabulous team when all available.........but we will see.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1835 - 21/02/2019 10:36:34    2166735

"Galway, according to everyone are relegation candidates"

Only ones i seen that had Galway relegation candidates was a few Galway supporters playing the poor mouth about a few injuries when in fact Galway have a strong panel and have many like for like replacements to cover any injuries. For example this weekend Galway could name full team of players that has started championship matches for them in the last few years.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/02/2019 02:22:47    2166881

Galway aren't relegation candidates at all I haven't heard a single pundit tipping them to go down. They'll have a really talented side when everyone is back and could be a dark horse this year for Sam if everything clicks for them.

Not expecting a classic on Sunday I think frees or a goal could decide, it I'd prefer Kerry to rest young O'Shea but if he plays I think we have a good chance of winning.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/02/2019 09:55:09    2166903

Come on Galway. We can burst the Kerry bubble. Gaillimh abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 22/02/2019 10:15:27    2166909

Yondu is a very obsessed with the lads Galway have missing, every Galway game posting multiple posts on the issue.

The reality is Galway are missing about half their best matchday panel at the moment. A few others have stepped up to the mark against Monaghan in their absence, lets hope we see a continuation of that on Sunday. There's always the hope some of the Coroin lads are allowed to tog out.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 22/02/2019 10:52:43    2166917

Replying To JDF:  "Yondu is a very obsessed with the lads Galway have missing, every Galway game posting multiple posts on the issue.

The reality is Galway are missing about half their best matchday panel at the moment. A few others have stepped up to the mark against Monaghan in their absence, lets hope we see a continuation of that on Sunday. There's always the hope some of the Coroin lads are allowed to tog out."
Me obsessed? I call things are they are. Some Galway fans are certainly obsessed by playing down their chances.

I was one of the few on here that predicted a Galway win against Monaghan because i knew the team Galway would start was to be experienced one and their record in the league has been very good the last few years.

On Sunday will be the same. Galway will start with a team of championship starters not a team inexperienced rookies as some Galway fans try to make out and in the last two years only Dublin have beaten Galway in the league. Lets not forget Galway beat Kerry in Tralee and Croke park last year and Kerry will be without some of their best players for this encounter in Tuam.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/02/2019 15:56:15    2166976

Replying To Yondu:  "Me obsessed? I call things are they are. Some Galway fans are certainly obsessed by playing down their chances.

I was one of the few on here that predicted a Galway win against Monaghan because i knew the team Galway would start was to be experienced one and their record in the league has been very good the last few years.

On Sunday will be the same. Galway will start with a team of championship starters not a team inexperienced rookies as some Galway fans try to make out and in the last two years only Dublin have beaten Galway in the league. Lets not forget Galway beat Kerry in Tralee and Croke park last year and Kerry will be without some of their best players for this encounter in Tuam."
Maybe plenty of championship experience but far from our championship 2019 team. You can be sure if fit Damo Comer, Eamon Brannigan, Ian Burke, Liam Silke and either Dylan Wall or Kieran Molloy will start come Summer.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 22/02/2019 18:29:45    2166997

Replying To kiloughter:  "Maybe plenty of championship experience but far from our championship 2019 team. You can be sure if fit Damo Comer, Eamon Brannigan, Ian Burke, Liam Silke and either Dylan Wall or Kieran Molloy will start come Summer."
Silke and Burke could play for Galway this weekend. How can you be sure Dylan Wall,Kieran Molloy will start this summer? I think both need to fist show well at county senior level before they become sure championship starters.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3762 - 22/02/2019 19:31:26    2167002

I agree some people here seem to know more than kevin walsh as regards the championship team
id imagine gary o donnel and gareth bradshaw and sean Kelly are the tried and trusted half back line
kevin s not gonna take a risk playng newbies in championship time
apart from liam silke who has already provem himself at intercounty
theres not gonna be too much change from last year at the early stages
now its possible by the end of galways championship run
some new players like molloy mc daid. john daly and wall could have won their place on team

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/02/2019 20:13:20    2167010

Kerry team for Sunday:
Shane Ryan
Peter Crowley, Sherwood, Enright
Gavin Crowley Murphy, Tom Sullivan
Jack Barry, mark griffin.
Diarmuid o'connor Seanie Shea Gavin o'brien
Dara Moynihan Tommy Walsh Steven o'brien

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2019 20:40:50    2167020

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team for Sunday:
Shane Ryan
Dara Moynihan Tommy Walsh Steven o'brien"
Probably missing more first choice players than Galway with no B O Beaglaoich; K Young, D Moran, K McCarthy,D Clifford, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 22/02/2019 21:16:22    2167029

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry team for Sunday:
Shane Ryan
Dara Moynihan Tommy Walsh Steven o'brien"
Happy enough with that although I can see us struggling for scores from play unless Tommy catches fire.

I really hope that flogging O'Shea like this doesn't come back to haunt PK in the summer.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/02/2019 21:17:17    2167030

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Happy enough with that although I can see us struggling for scores from play unless Tommy catches fire.

I really hope that flogging O'Shea like this doesn't come back to haunt PK in the summer."
I'd say he only wants seanie for the frees Gerry and he'l probably tell him hanging around the D.
I'd say seanie is probably doing no training and just playing games so it might not be as bad as it looks.

But other than that I'm happy to see how the lads get on Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2019 21:52:54    2167034

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Probably missing more first choice players than Galway with no B O Beaglaoich; K Young, D Moran, K McCarthy,D Clifford, P Geaney, J O'Donoghue."
Missing a few alright, GAA- lover but it's the time of year for experimenting with different players and systems.

Galway will probably win Sunday but at least get to see something different. Fair play to PK he's giving us what we want.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2019 21:59:02    2167037