All Ireland Club Semi Finals

welldone corofim there a class act
but that kevin Cassidy is some man
had a mighty game put the young lads to shame

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 16/02/2019 15:18:42    2165689

They had a few opportunities to put the bsll over the bar in last 10 mins, plenty of space around and inside to take a shot on at least two occasions and tried to fist it on, i couldn't understand it! 4 out 5 of their last kickouts were straight into corofin mans hands uncontested!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 16/02/2019 15:23:34    2165692

Well done Corofin, Gweedore stuck with them as best they could, but Corofin were just that much better. Yes there was a lot of pulling and dragging that Gweedore backs got away with. Hopefully Wall will be healthy for the final.

NarrowBack914 (USA) - Posts: 181 - 16/02/2019 15:34:59    2165694

Replying To achara:  "They had a few opportunities to put the bsll over the bar in last 10 mins, plenty of space around and inside to take a shot on at least two occasions and tried to fist it on, i couldn't understand it! 4 out 5 of their last kickouts were straight into corofin mans hands uncontested!"
I also thought the very same thing. The options taken in front of the goals and the kick outs were the two main reasons Gweedore weren't closer in the end. Well done to Corofin, they are a well drilled and coached team. Ian Burke shows great leadership.
Looking forward to having the Gweedore lads back in Donegal colours at some stage before the end of the league.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 16/02/2019 16:20:07    2165711

Fair play to Corofin. They deserved it in the end but Gweedore gave a good account of themselves and with a bit more composure could have been closer.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/02/2019 16:33:18    2165714

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "I also thought the very same thing. The options taken in front of the goals and the kick outs were the two main reasons Gweedore weren't closer in the end. Well done to Corofin, they are a well drilled and coached team. Ian Burke shows great leadership.
Looking forward to having the Gweedore lads back in Donegal colours at some stage before the end of the league."
The one downside for us with Corofin in the final now. Won't have their county players back probably until the last game. And there are at least 3 who will be certain championship starters with another 3 on the fringes.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 16/02/2019 16:43:28    2165716

Replying To NarrowBack914:  "Well done Corofin, Gweedore stuck with them as best they could, but Corofin were just that much better. Yes there was a lot of pulling and dragging that Gweedore backs got away with. Hopefully Wall will be healthy for the final."
I was at the game and I can tell you the Corofin lads were no saints either. There was quite alot of off the ball stuff going on where Gweedore players were getting dragged back or body checked with Daire O'Baoill and Cian Mulligan especially targeted.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 17:11:05    2165722

Congrats to Corofin who were deserving winners in the end in what was an entertaining game to be at. I think that extra bit of experience especially tactically really showed today. People are spot on regarding the kickouts, they gave Corofin a big advantage especially in the final quarter. Plus the 2 Gweedore full backs really struggled especially in the first half where I think Gweedore would have been better to have Neil McGee on Burke but also making sure to leave an extra player or 2 in front as when Corofin counter attacked they were getting badly exposed. In this regard Kieran Gillespie was a big loss for Gweedore today. While Corofin were worthy winners I did feel Maurice Deegan was poor. There was a number of soft frees including one where Burke actually fouled the Gweedore full back just before HT yet got the free in his favour. There was more but I am not going to go on as at the end of the day the best team won. For Gweedore lots to build on. They have a talented team there and today will be a big learning curve. Donegal nevermind Ulster won't be easy but if they can keep the older lads on for another couple of years they could go on another run.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 17:28:41    2165730

Looking like it'll be great final Paddy's Day with Corofin going up against Dr. Crokes. Hope both teams will be at full strength for it and give it their all. Johnny Buckley will be big miss for Crokes, the Corofin backs will have to get tight on Crokes forwards as Croke Park is a big space to cover and their forwards are deadly with the ball.

NarrowBack914 (USA) - Posts: 181 - 16/02/2019 17:46:44    2165732

Replying To sam1884:  "As a neutral GD's style of football frustrated me, I'm not sure what their fans feel. Cassidy had Corofin's backline in trouble any time the ball went in. It looks like this hand passing, slow build up play has transfered throughout Donegal football. Fair play to GD for winning an Ulster title and giving it a go but that style of football won't win All Ireland's."
Yeah I agree I do think the overuse of the hand pass is a problem within Donegal football. Then when teams do try to use the foot pass more the delivery can be poor. I read Declan Bonner say recently regarding the since abolished hand pass rule that Donegal were ignoring it in training. Be no harm if they did start using it in training. In the interest of fairness to GD their strength is their pace and strike runners. It done them no harm today as they were well in that game for most of it. The losing of the game was the kickouts and some defensively naive tactics especially in the first half. Also have u ever been to Magheragallon Gweedore's home pitch? Not an easy place to play a fluid foot passing game even on a good day. It is the equivalent of playing on a links golf course where u are nearly always guaranteed a sea breeze. Something alot of clubs in Donegal have to contend with hence the reliance on the hand pass.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 17:49:06    2165733

Replying To panamasam:  "I was at the game and I can tell you the Corofin lads were no saints either. There was quite alot of off the ball stuff going on where Gweedore players were getting dragged back or body checked with Daire O'Baoill and Cian Mulligan especially targeted."
You're right, there were some handbag stuff from both sides that didnt look good. Gweedore showed well and fair play to them. Corofin just had that bit more in my opinion. Cassidy was solid on the ball and exposed Corofin's backs, which they will have to work on to overcome Crokes.

NarrowBack914 (USA) - Posts: 181 - 16/02/2019 17:52:56    2165736

Replying To NarrowBack914:  "You're right, there were some handbag stuff from both sides that didnt look good. Gweedore showed well and fair play to them. Corofin just had that bit more in my opinion. Cassidy was solid on the ball and exposed Corofin's backs, which they will have to work on to overcome Crokes."
Absolutely the best team won. You don't have the success that Corofin have with being saints. They done their homework and yes used cynical means at times but that is sport. Cassidy was excellent again. I don't think Gweedore's loss was done to their forward play. They left a few scores behind them and were a bit hasty at times in the decision making. They lost the game through their kickouts and being a bit naive defensively in the first half.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 18:29:27    2165749

Replying To panamasam:  "Absolutely the best team won. You don't have the success that Corofin have with being saints. They done their homework and yes used cynical means at times but that is sport. Cassidy was excellent again. I don't think Gweedore's loss was done to their forward play. They left a few scores behind them and were a bit hasty at times in the decision making. They lost the game through their kickouts and being a bit naive defensively in the first half."
I would agree with your asscessment ,The backs were far too loose in the first half and they conceded far too many frees.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 16/02/2019 19:50:18    2165769

Replying To gunman:  "I would agree with your asscessment ,The backs were far too loose in the first half and they conceded far too many frees."
Think it was down to lack of experience more than anything. The 2 McFaddens in the full back line had their hands full with Burke and Farragher. Their movement was a joy to watch I fully expected Neil McGee to pick up Burke but not the case. Gweedore were getting caught bodies forward and as a result were getting exposed by Corofin's fluid swift counter attacks. In hindsight they should have left one or 2 players to sit and give extra protection. Like I said Gillespie is the perfect player for this role and they felt his loss today. I know people are questioning the Gweedore discipline esp after quite a few frees were moved as a result. That was stupid but u cannot blame them for their frustration. There was one incident that Corofin scored from after Cian Mulligan got done for over carrying. Yes he over carried but that was because he could not release the ball as was getting fouled. It was as clear as day. You also had situation in 2nd half where Cassidy wins a free, looks to take quickly and a Corofin player kicks it away right in front of Deegan. Is that not enough reason to move ball forward which we know Deegan was not shy of doing? Very hard for players not to let frustration get better of them with this going on. Again I want to reiterate that despite this Corofin deserved the win fully and I really enjoiyed watching them play. I don't want people to think that I am using Deegan as an excuse but I do think it is important to highlight. Missing a free right in front of the posts in such a big game don't help either especially with Sice in excellent form on the other side.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 20:43:08    2165782

Replying To panamasam:  "Think it was down to lack of experience more than anything. The 2 McFaddens in the full back line had their hands full with Burke and Farragher. Their movement was a joy to watch I fully expected Neil McGee to pick up Burke but not the case. Gweedore were getting caught bodies forward and as a result were getting exposed by Corofin's fluid swift counter attacks. In hindsight they should have left one or 2 players to sit and give extra protection. Like I said Gillespie is the perfect player for this role and they felt his loss today. I know people are questioning the Gweedore discipline esp after quite a few frees were moved as a result. That was stupid but u cannot blame them for their frustration. There was one incident that Corofin scored from after Cian Mulligan got done for over carrying. Yes he over carried but that was because he could not release the ball as was getting fouled. It was as clear as day. You also had situation in 2nd half where Cassidy wins a free, looks to take quickly and a Corofin player kicks it away right in front of Deegan. Is that not enough reason to move ball forward which we know Deegan was not shy of doing? Very hard for players not to let frustration get better of them with this going on. Again I want to reiterate that despite this Corofin deserved the win fully and I really enjoiyed watching them play. I don't want people to think that I am using Deegan as an excuse but I do think it is important to highlight. Missing a free right in front of the posts in such a big game don't help either especially with Sice in excellent form on the other side."
He got a few decisions wrong, including a serious amount of steps in the lead up to Gaoth Dobhair's goal, but overall I thought he was ok.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 16/02/2019 21:15:13    2165788

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He got a few decisions wrong, including a serious amount of steps in the lead up to Gaoth Dobhair's goal, but overall I thought he was ok."
From where I was stood could not tell regarding the steps. But the ironic cheers from the Gweedore crowd when Deegan did give a free on a couple of occasions after appearing to not to when should have been would counter the 'ok' claim. Anyways enough of Deegan and best of luck to Corofin in the final. To repeat really enjoyed watching them play.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 21:39:16    2165800

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He got a few decisions wrong, including a serious amount of steps in the lead up to Gaoth Dobhair's goal, but overall I thought he was ok."
Watched it back....hardly Kevin McLoughlin last year for Mayo was it? From my counting was 5 or 6 steps which by the rules of the law was marginally over. Conversely was there a pick up off the ground in the lead up to the first Corofin goal? Anyways to repeat I don't want to discuss Deegan much any further as do not want to take anything away from Corofin. The best team won even if 4 points was a point or 2 flattering on the day irrespective of anything else.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/02/2019 22:20:07    2165808

Replying To panamasam:  "Watched it back....hardly Kevin McLoughlin last year for Mayo was it? From my counting was 5 or 6 steps which by the rules of the law was marginally over. Conversely was there a pick up off the ground in the lead up to the first Corofin goal? Anyways to repeat I don't want to discuss Deegan much any further as do not want to take anything away from Corofin. The best team won even if 4 points was a point or 2 flattering on the day irrespective of anything else."
He started his run a metre outside the 21 and finally struck the ball on the penalty spot........

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 596 - 16/02/2019 23:20:08    2165821

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "He started his run a metre outside the 21 and finally struck the ball on the penalty spot........"
I have watched it multiple times now. It is 6 maybe 7 steps so yes too many. But like I said not exactly Kevin McLaughlin. Certainly not much different to a certain inter county team who do it routinely not even at pace. That burst today was so quick kinda hard to keep on top. Plus first Corofin goal was borderline enough too in terms of picking up off the ground.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/02/2019 01:52:07    2165830

Replying To panamasam:  "Congrats to Corofin who were deserving winners in the end in what was an entertaining game to be at. I think that extra bit of experience especially tactically really showed today. People are spot on regarding the kickouts, they gave Corofin a big advantage especially in the final quarter. Plus the 2 Gweedore full backs really struggled especially in the first half where I think Gweedore would have been better to have Neil McGee on Burke but also making sure to leave an extra player or 2 in front as when Corofin counter attacked they were getting badly exposed. In this regard Kieran Gillespie was a big loss for Gweedore today. While Corofin were worthy winners I did feel Maurice Deegan was poor. There was a number of soft frees including one where Burke actually fouled the Gweedore full back just before HT yet got the free in his favour. There was more but I am not going to go on as at the end of the day the best team won. For Gweedore lots to build on. They have a talented team there and today will be a big learning curve. Donegal nevermind Ulster won't be easy but if they can keep the older lads on for another couple of years they could go on another run."
Ususually such a balanced poster you have let yourself down here badly, the gaoth dobhair goal never should have stood and corofin were just a better all round team. Take off the green and gold glasses and watch again!

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 17/02/2019 12:30:11    2165854