Donegal V Meath

Replying To royaldunne:  "Btw good to see you back my old friend, i was getting worried when hadn't seen u post in a bit. Hope u are well."
Cheers royaldunne, I only pop in every now and then to moan :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/02/2019 15:32:33    2161988

Replying To Htaem:  "Cheers royaldunne, I only pop in every now and then to moan :-)"
I pop in quite a bit to moan :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 16:35:17    2162025

Replying To Htaem:  "We have to start winning games though royaldunne, we've been a mess for far too long at this stage. How many times have we been in the lead with 20mins to go over the last 5-6 years and blown it, it's very frustrating.

I can only imagine it was a long painful journey home for the lads last night, at some point they have to decide that this can't continue anymore."
Totally agree. It was a long hard journey for me I can only imagine what it was like for the lads. Enough is enough, time to win games we control.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 16:38:08    2162027

Replying To Commodore:  "You clearly weren't the better team by far, at best you were 'marginally' better for 25 mins of 1st half, when you lead by 1 point at half time, and 10-15 mins of 2nd half.

You had a 10 minute purple patch at start of 2nd half, when Meath added 3 points to opened up a 4 point lead, but Donegal quickly re-calibrated and the tide actually turned then and Donegal dominated the last 20 -25 minutes, I should highlight that Meath didn't score for the last 20 minutes.

You're conveniently ignoring the fact you played a very inexperienced Donegal side last night, the majority of which won't make the starting team come Summer. Meath need to be more honest of where they are at, hyping yourselves after your Senior team ran a Donegal 2nd string team close in a league match won't get you anywhere, you need a more honest look at where your at.

Meath have talented players, but considering 2 of our full backs (Brendan McCole & Conor Morrison) are both 21, and debuting in league this year, and our other corner back Caolan Ward wasn't able to make our Championship team last season, should Meath not have ran riot?

Meath should have been better than that."
Sorry u clearly weren't at game or you looking at it through very donegal eyes. We were BY FAR the better team for a good hour of that game. And still managed to throw it away.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 16:41:19    2162029

Hard luck to the Royal, tough lesson to learn.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/02/2019 17:10:09    2162042

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry u clearly weren't at game or you looking at it through very donegal eyes. We were BY FAR the better team for a good hour of that game. And still managed to throw it away."
You didn't score in the last 20 minutes of the match, against what was a very young inexperienced team, particularly our full back line containing 2 x 21 year olds. If you were that good, why did you only lead by 1 point at half time, and lose by 2 points at full time.

Meath lost to a 2nd string youthful Donegal team, 9 of the Donegal players playing last night were aged 22 or younger.
Your acting like you went into the Lions Den in Ballybofey and ran Donegal's strongest side to the wire. If Meath were as good as you suggest, you wouldn't have lost that game last night.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/02/2019 17:20:11    2162057

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry u clearly weren't at game or you looking at it through very donegal eyes. We were BY FAR the better team for a good hour of that game. And still managed to throw it away."
There are many aspects to a good team performance. Putting up scores and not conceding many are fundamentals. I didn't see the match and Meath May well have been dominant, but if you're not getting the scores to put you ahead, you can't be "BY FAR" the better team.. the only stat that matters in the end is the score.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 03/02/2019 17:21:44    2162060

Replying To Commodore:  "You didn't score in the last 20 minutes of the match, against what was a very young inexperienced team, particularly our full back line containing 2 x 21 year olds. If you were that good, why did you only lead by 1 point at half time, and lose by 2 points at full time.

Meath lost to a 2nd string youthful Donegal team, 9 of the Donegal players playing last night were aged 22 or younger.
Your acting like you went into the Lions Den in Ballybofey and ran Donegal's strongest side to the wire. If Meath were as good as you suggest, you wouldn't have lost that game last night."
I think many of that Donegal team will see championship action, we have several newcomers ourselves and a significant turnover of players, Donegals young players have experienced success, I wouldn't rate them as inexperienced. Most Meath supporters are very honest of our position but that doesn't mean we can't look at positives and be optimistic, you have a good young side in Donegal to keep your mind occupied, let us discuss Meath as we see fit.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/02/2019 17:49:38    2162081

Replying To waynoI:  ""Our defence is up there with the best"

What in the name of god are you basing that on lol ? Two league games against Tipp and Donegal ? The O'Byrne cup ?

Or are you basing it on the team who lost to Longford in last years leinster ? The 2018 league campaign where only Louth who finished bottom had a worse pts against than Meath while avoiding the drop to D3 by a point ?

I know youre positive, but there is a difference between being positive and being completely and utterly deluded.

Ah well, I suppose the only person your ridiculous over-hyped expectations v harsh reality can upset is yourself.

Youd be brilliant at marketing our games though, you have an unreal ability to paper over cracks and make the garden out to be rosey when in fact the garden along with the whole house is up in flames.

Id be worried about Meaths fitness.

They couldn't get the winner against Dublin in the OBC, and yesterday didn't score at all in the last 20 minutes."
Jesus Wayne well done, your one of the few Dub supporters who managed to avoid that big black hole that swallowed up all the rest of your support this weekend, I presume the rest will escape and return to the Hill when the sun starts shining.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/02/2019 17:54:22    2162087

Replying To Commodore:  "You didn't score in the last 20 minutes of the match, against what was a very young inexperienced team, particularly our full back line containing 2 x 21 year olds. If you were that good, why did you only lead by 1 point at half time, and lose by 2 points at full time.

Your acting like you went into the Lions Den in Ballybofey and ran Donegal's strongest side to the wire. If Meath were as good as you suggest, you wouldn't have lost that game last night."
Conlon 20
Devine 19
Campion 20
Kane 20
Scully 19
Ryan 21
You were saying??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 18:09:22    2162100

Replying To Richieq:  "I think many of that Donegal team will see championship action, we have several newcomers ourselves and a significant turnover of players, Donegals young players have experienced success, I wouldn't rate them as inexperienced. Most Meath supporters are very honest of our position but that doesn't mean we can't look at positives and be optimistic, you have a good young side in Donegal to keep your mind occupied, let us discuss Meath as we see fit."
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 18:11:12    2162101

Replying To Sweetspot:  "There are many aspects to a good team performance. Putting up scores and not conceding many are fundamentals. I didn't see the match and Meath May well have been dominant, but if you're not getting the scores to put you ahead, you can't be "BY FAR" the better team.. the only stat that matters in the end is the score."
The goal was farcical, also the scoring was level in terms of scores taken. If you get a chance watch the goal unbelievable.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 18:26:18    2162108

Replying To waynoI:  ""Our defence is up there with the best"

What in the name of god are you basing that on lol ? Two league games against Tipp and Donegal ? The O'Byrne cup ?

Or are you basing it on the team who lost to Longford in last years leinster ? The 2018 league campaign where only Louth who finished bottom had a worse pts against than Meath while avoiding the drop to D3 by a point ?

I know youre positive, but there is a difference between being positive and being completely and utterly deluded.

Ah well, I suppose the only person your ridiculous over-hyped expectations v harsh reality can upset is yourself.

Youd be brilliant at marketing our games though, you have an unreal ability to paper over cracks and make the garden out to be rosey when in fact the garden along with the whole house is up in flames.

Id be worried about Meaths fitness.

They couldn't get the winner against Dublin in the OBC, and yesterday didn't score at all in the last 20 minutes."
Meath defence has being really good all year. We dont have a marquee forward, while we do have good forwards we have not really replaced Stephen Bray. And Donal lenihan are best forward is gone travelling for the year he is a loss.

I have been at every match this year and pretty every match for 35 years I can tell u for last 15 years we have been shakey at the back. And had big problems in half back line especially centre back. We havent had effective centre back since Enda McManus or top class wing back since O Connell. But this year with introduction of two new defenders we look strong at the back. The full back line of Lavin McGill Ryan has been strongest line of the field. Thats first time I have said that this decade. While half back line of J McEntee Keoghan Kane have been excellent and also being probaly strongest line of the field. J McEntee moving to wing back from wing forward has transformed his game. Playing keoghan the best Meath defender of his generation at centre back a problem area for years is a really good idea , as he was wasted at corner back. And Niall kane in his first year ever in Meath panel has been excellent. Which is no surprise seen he was the best wing back in Meath club football.

Remeber Meath have two new defenders this year in young Ronan Ryan and the brillant Niall kane. And have to positional changes. James McEntee was only moved to wing back later in the season last year and keoghan also was moved to centre back later in the season last year. That Meath defence has two new young defenders and two positions changes with a wing forward turned into wing back.

Since we have played Lavin McGill Ryan J McEntee Keoghan Kane in the 6 defender positions. Every game the comments afterwards were the Meath defence is best thing about team . In all the Byrne cup and including challenge victory over Dublin before christmas, all match reports in papers and forums all.praised Meath defence. In both league games on podcasts and match reports have all praised the Meath defence. Meath supporters on masse are very happy with the Meath defence. Something I havent heard in years. Even on this forum Donegal supporters one after another praised the Meath defence. It is not the class of 87 or 88 or 96 or 99. But it is as good as I have seen from Meath in a while.

And remember there is allot of teams in the country that have shakey defences. Blanket defences has destroyed the art of defending. Even some div 1 teams have great attacks but are shakey at the back. Look at Kerry . Both Meath and kerry have produced more great defenders then any other county in the past eg kerry Sean Murphy John O Keefe Paudi O Se Seamus Moyihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se and many more Meath Paddy O Brien Jack Quinn Mick lyons Martin O Connell Darren Fay and many more. But everyone agrees kerry were very shakey at the back last year. For the first in 35 years watching kerry they dont have a single great defender. But Im sure the talented minors will appear from one soon.

So Meath have had problems at the back for years. But at the moment are defence is playing really well. The full back line is the best line of the field and its the best half back line I have seen for years playing for Meath.

The problem is the forwards. We have good forwards. But lack a marque forward. We always had better forwards then Dublin and kildare in every decade in 30s 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s and even 00s. It this decade we r behind them. Dublin have best set forwards in the country and best set of forwards Dublin have ever produced . In 70s 80s 90s and 00s Dublin always had inferior forwards to Meath kerry and Ulster teams. Now Dublin have better forwards then kerry Meath or Ulster teams. Kildare also have better forwards then Meath currently with Niall kelly Neil Flynn Dan Flynn and Jimmy Hyland are the best forwards I have seen play for kildare in 35 years. In a period where kildare have really only produced two great forwards eg Larry Tompkins and Johnny Doyle.

There are issues for Meath up front. And if we had Lenihan or a better marque forward we wud have beaten Donegal and Dublin. But that is the area we r struggling. Not the defence. Meath have a new defence with 4 changes to the defence. It is a strong area of the field for us now. Its not the level of Dublin who have best defenders in the country. But it a good defence. Every Meath supporter is saying that. Every Donegal supporter on this forum is saying that. Every Donegal supporter at the match said how impressed they were with Meath defence. Every match report on social media podcast , national or county newspaper or radio eg LMFM have been praising the Meath defence. Yes u can criticise our forwards. But if u criticise our backs you r going against all the above opinions and viewpoints. We are not the finished article but we r slowly improving. And our defence is definitely the most improved area this year in terms of the individual performance of the six defenders.

Just finally at full back we have top class full back in Conor McGill. He hasn't been seen because very few people have saw Meath on TV recently. But for me he has being of the one best young full backs in the country in last few years. There is serious of good full backs out there. He is no Darren Fay or Lyons but he is very good defender. Leaving the Dubs to one side, Keoghan wud walk onto any team in the country, he is a brillant defender also. Lavin has become a real man marker a good one. Young Ryan has been excellent in his first. James McEntee was brillant v Tyrone last year and so far this year has been Meaths best player. Kane is showing qualities which made him the best wing back in Meath club football. Our defence is good and playing very well. Even v the Dubs in both games our defence was good. It was only til Lavin our best man marker was sin binned that Dublin upped us up.

To say our defence is not playing well would be against allot of viewpoints in and outside the county on forums podcast newspapers and radio and agmost forwards.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/02/2019 18:43:07    2162126

Replying To Commodore:  "I think some Meath posters are getting carried away here, you weren't playing a full strength Donegal last night. I believe only a handful of Donegal's starting 15 last night will be in the running for Championship Starting 15, and some of those players clearly aren't match fully match fit yet.

When people say Meath dominated a large part of the first half, and the 3rd quarter, it's misleading. Yes Meath were slightly better during these spells, but there was very little in really, as the half time score shows. They looked a little more composed, but it was still a tight match. Meath had a purple patch in the 3rd quarter, where they quickly rattled off a number of points to open up a 4 point lead, Donegal quickly identified the weak spots and corrected them, and it went back to being tight.

When Donegal introduced the key subs approaching the final quarter, Donegal took control and Meath didn't score for the final 20 minutes of the match. Donegal dominated possession, but wasted a lot of attacking opportunities due to inexperience up front, keeping in mind we had a load of players last night who are aged 22/23 or younger. I don't think its a real test of Meath last night."
Its a young Meath team also, Meath had allot of 20 year olds playing last night.
Ronan Ryan 21
Ethan Devine 20
Daragh Campion 20
James Conlon 20
Jason Sully 19
Thomas Reilly 23
Niall kane 23

All played last night for Meath. 5 players played for Meath last night that were under 21 or younger.
While average of the rest of the players is 25. The average age of the Meath team was 24. Its a young inexperienced Meath team also.

1 6 of the players who started last night didnt play v Tyrone last year.
2 While 5 of the players who started last night for Meath werent on the Meath panel last year.
3 While 7 players who played for Meath last night in the starting 15 or came on as sub . 7 players played for Meath last night werent on the Meath panel last year . They are Ronan Ryan Niall Kane Ethan Devine Daragh Campion Michael Newman James Conlon Jason Scully.

So 5 Under 21s and 7 newcomers played for Meath last night and 24 is the average age of the team.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/02/2019 18:57:46    2162136

Replying To waynoI:  "You can nearly hear the opposite being said by RD is meath done what Donegal did last night

Oh the mighty Royals are back baby, played dreadful, only came into it in the last quarter and won playing badly, the sign of champions, hondroyal, Royal for sam, Premier league, champions league, world cup, six nations, grand slam, the grand national, the derby, celebrity love island, im a celeb get me out of here, the darts world grand prix, the formula one championship, Irelands got talent, the voice, masterchef, the apprentice, ….. you get my point."
Dublin got 16 million from gaa headquarters in the last 10 years. Longford got 500000 in last ten years. The government was pumping state money into Dublin in mid 00s. And at minor level Meath have beaten Dublin 4 times in 4 years and will be fifth time in 5 years after kerry walloped Dublin minors recently and Meath won Gerry Reilly under 16 cup. And kildare hammered Dublin at under 20 last year. You getting great value for ur buck at senior level. But GAA will need to start pumping more millions into Dublin at minor level and under 20 to get the sucess going again. The cheque book may open again. How much would cost Dublin to start winning at minor again. 1 million wud do the job. As the Beatles said Money can buy u love but it sure can buy u sucess in professional sport eg soccer and amateur sport eg GAA.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/02/2019 19:07:35    2162146

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Dublin got 16 million from gaa headquarters in the last 10 years. Longford got 500000 in last ten years. The government was pumping state money into Dublin in mid 00s. And at minor level Meath have beaten Dublin 4 times in 4 years and will be fifth time in 5 years after kerry walloped Dublin minors recently and Meath won Gerry Reilly under 16 cup. And kildare hammered Dublin at under 20 last year. You getting great value for ur buck at senior level. But GAA will need to start pumping more millions into Dublin at minor level and under 20 to get the sucess going again. The cheque book may open again. How much would cost Dublin to start winning at minor again. 1 million wud do the job. As the Beatles said Money can buy u love but it sure can buy u sucess in professional sport eg soccer and amateur sport eg GAA."
That should get the Dubs going. Hopefully kerry lads will back me up and we will have a good fashioned Meath v Dublin back and forth just like the old days.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/02/2019 19:20:36    2162160

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Dublin got 16 million from gaa headquarters in the last 10 years. Longford got 500000 in last ten years. The government was pumping state money into Dublin in mid 00s. And at minor level Meath have beaten Dublin 4 times in 4 years and will be fifth time in 5 years after kerry walloped Dublin minors recently and Meath won Gerry Reilly under 16 cup. And kildare hammered Dublin at under 20 last year. You getting great value for ur buck at senior level. But GAA will need to start pumping more millions into Dublin at minor level and under 20 to get the sucess going again. The cheque book may open again. How much would cost Dublin to start winning at minor again. 1 million wud do the job. As the Beatles said Money can buy u love but it sure can buy u sucess in professional sport eg soccer and amateur sport eg GAA."
Good man furlong tell it as it is. But sure none of the last 4 All Ireland was bought lol.
The man city of the gaa. :) And still the underage is under achieving. Kerry mightn't have had to play too many games to win their 4 in row. But at least none of them was cause of how many euros they could spend.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 20:08:25    2162201

Was gonna finish reading my book tonight but for some reason I'm not in the humour now :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/02/2019 20:20:56    2162210

Replying To Sweetspot:  "There are many aspects to a good team performance. Putting up scores and not conceding many are fundamentals. I didn't see the match and Meath May well have been dominant, but if you're not getting the scores to put you ahead, you can't be "BY FAR" the better team.. the only stat that matters in the end is the score."
You kildare lads r obssesed with Meath. look at this now.
On Meath v Donegal thread it has been mostly Donegal and Meath contributers. The only other counties messages came from are 1 from Galway contributer , 1 message from Derry ,2 messages from Monaghan and 3 from louth and Dublin. But there have been 8 messages from kildares lads on Meath v Donegal thread. And not 1 message posted on this whole forum and kildare forum in the last week even after the match, not 1 message on the national forum and on kildare forum about the kildare v Cork match. U guys r obssesed with Meath.
U need to start obessing about Dublin. Beating Meath is not thing special , beating Dublin means u r leinster champions and potential All Ireland champions . kildare won in my viewpoint possibly one of the greatest underage if not greatest underage All Ireland victory by leinster team in modern times with under 20s last year. Thats the future for kildare. Not obessing about Meath. 8 messages putting down Meath and not 1 message on kildare winning a match at the weekend. Only 1 message from kildare person on div 2 thread. And that was to have a go at Meath. Stop for ur own sakes. kildare have to go to war with Dublin in next 5 or 6 years. And kildare r good enough to win 2 leinsters and mount a challenge for Sam maguire. But the team the players the supporters day and night need to take the fight for Dublin. I hope u do. And our successful.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/02/2019 20:24:58    2162218

Leave it out RD or I'll tell our lads to never let ye beat us again :D
If you're good we'll step down after the 5 in a row for a couple of years and throw you a crumb from the table.
But if we do let you win, you better come back with Sam or it'll all be for nothing :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/02/2019 20:56:55    2162243