Donegal V Meath

Well done donegal, what a team they have coming through. Said it last year the biggest tragedy gaa wise off 2018 was mcbrearty getting injured. Think they could be the team to tackle the dubs with a full strenght team. Didn't make the game looking for unbiased opinions from donegal folk on this meath team? Did we throw it away through lack of bottle or experience? Or how are fixed?

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 03/02/2019 00:43:57    2161833

A cruel way to lose after dominating for most of the game, however if we take that form into the rest of our games we will be promoted. Based on our recent performances against northern sides, they show that if we were in the Ulster championship we probably would have a few titles under our belt over the past few seasons.

TrimJim (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 03/02/2019 00:58:03    2161834

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Well done donegal, what a team they have coming through. Said it last year the biggest tragedy gaa wise off 2018 was mcbrearty getting injured. Think they could be the team to tackle the dubs with a full strenght team. Didn't make the game looking for unbiased opinions from donegal folk on this meath team? Did we throw it away through lack of bottle or experience? Or how are fixed?"
I was in attendance, it was a still calm, but bitterly freezing cold evening in Ballybofey. Donegal started well, went 0.02 to 0.00 up, then Meath settled in and took the lead. It was basically tit for tat until half time, when Meath went in with a 1 point lead, which I thought was deserved, as they played a little better in the first half.

Meath started the 2nd half extremely well, opened up a 4 point lead and looked very good and composed at that stage. Meath's No 9 and No 7 influenced the their attacking play the most. Meath's decision making was marginally better up to this point, they had more scores from play in what was to this point still a pretty tight close game.

Donegal then made changes, replaced Michael Langan, Marty O'Reilly and Martin McElhinney with Leo McLoone, Eoin McHugh and Stephen McMenamin. This was a major turning point, as Donegal finally seemed to get to grips with what I think is a decent Meath side. McGonagle's goal was almost accidental, it was a moment of confusion and the ball slowly rolled into the net, and Donegal were back in the game. They laboured to add scores, but eventually did take the lead.

Overall it was a tight competitive and decent match, I'd say a draw would have been a fair result, as over the 75 minute duration, Meath played slightly better for maybe 45 minutes. This was aided by inexperience on the Donegal starting 15, and sloppy passing and decision making.

Donegal have a lot of first team players missing, and some players who featured tonight are just returning and clearly aren't match fit yet. Not sure where this Meath team who were fielded tonight are actually at, but definitely some fine players in their ranks. In truth we won't know where either side are at, until the big guns return and high intensity training kick's in around April time.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/02/2019 01:57:44    2161839

Replying To TrimJim:  "A cruel way to lose after dominating for most of the game, however if we take that form into the rest of our games we will be promoted. Based on our recent performances against northern sides, they show that if we were in the Ulster championship we probably would have a few titles under our belt over the past few seasons."
seriously?

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 03/02/2019 02:21:07    2161843

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Well done donegal, what a team they have coming through. Said it last year the biggest tragedy gaa wise off 2018 was mcbrearty getting injured. Think they could be the team to tackle the dubs with a full strenght team. Didn't make the game looking for unbiased opinions from donegal folk on this meath team? Did we throw it away through lack of bottle or experience? Or how are fixed?"
Meath dominated a lot of this game. Your midfield was on top, your half back line was dangerous and you kicked some fine points. They were clearly up for it and looked in no danger of losing until the goal went in. Then as a team you more or less disappeared. It's hard to know the reasons, probably a mixture. I think belief was a factor and players probably fatigued. The donegal bench had a bigger impact on the game than the meath bench. I suppose from a meath point of view the team and supporters should be disappointed. They have to figure out why the conceding of that goal had such a big impact, take positives and play like that again next week and if the they do concede don't do what you did yesterday.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 03/02/2019 07:18:32    2161852

Long journey back last night on bad roads, and I still couldn't figure out how the hell we managed to lose that game. First off well done to donegal they never gave up even when been outplayed for a hour of the match, our defense is up there with the best , and fair play to them . A freaky goal that shouldn't have went in should have just kicked us on, instead we went to pieces, is there a sports psychologist working with Meath team? Cause if not the cb need to employ one on Monday morning. . Again well done to donegal, I hope we might have another date later in this campaign. As for Meath? That can't effect the mind, the talent is there particularly with our strong back lines and and the new youngsters coming on to panel. We have the speed , we have the ability we have the game plan. But we don't have mental toughness and until that is sorted we won't be winning these type of games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 08:10:14    2161856

Hard to know where fitness levels are at who and with players missing but Meath looked vgood.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 03/02/2019 10:07:24    2161880

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Hard to know where fitness levels are at who and with players missing but Meath looked vgood."
Looking v good and still loosing is something we have to sort out ASAP. This is mcentee biggest hurdle, he has molded a team that are quite good and could gain promotion and super 8s. The problem is mental fatigue, fragility or whatever. This now has to be his number one priority.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 10:43:08    2161888

Delighted with our win and this was one I felt we were in danger of losing right up until the last 15 mins. I was very impressed with Meath and especially their defence and midfield. They were touch tight at the back all day and forced numerous turnovers and Donegal were squeezed into bad passing and dropping balls in contact as a result. Meath must have got 5 points from those turnovers and kicked some fine scores.
From a Donegal perspective these young lads will learn plenty from two tight openers. I thought our full back line done quite well and Ward in particular had a good game. Eoin ban carries such a threat and seems to have got stronger. Great to see Eoin Mc Hugh backing himself to kick the point to put us ahead with this weak foot. The battle between Jamie Brennan and the corner back was brilliant and nobody really won that battle. Jamie will have to get used to that tight marking. Good win and now 2 more points next week should put us in a commanding position.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/02/2019 11:12:25    2161904

Replying To TrimJim:  "A cruel way to lose after dominating for most of the game, however if we take that form into the rest of our games we will be promoted. Based on our recent performances against northern sides, they show that if we were in the Ulster championship we probably would have a few titles under our belt over the past few seasons."
Are you having a laugh - there are 8 counties in Ulster that would be more-than-happy to draw Meath in the Ulster Championship!! A few Ulster's under your belt? Dillusional. The 90's were 20 years ago.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 03/02/2019 11:15:45    2161906

Replying To royaldunne:  "Looking v good and still loosing is something we have to sort out ASAP. This is mcentee biggest hurdle, he has molded a team that are quite good and could gain promotion and super 8s. The problem is mental fatigue, fragility or whatever. This now has to be his number one priority."
I think some Meath posters are getting carried away here, you weren't playing a full strength Donegal last night. I believe only a handful of Donegal's starting 15 last night will be in the running for Championship Starting 15, and some of those players clearly aren't match fully match fit yet.

When people say Meath dominated a large part of the first half, and the 3rd quarter, it's misleading. Yes Meath were slightly better during these spells, but there was very little in really, as the half time score shows. They looked a little more composed, but it was still a tight match. Meath had a purple patch in the 3rd quarter, where they quickly rattled off a number of points to open up a 4 point lead, Donegal quickly identified the weak spots and corrected them, and it went back to being tight.

When Donegal introduced the key subs approaching the final quarter, Donegal took control and Meath didn't score for the final 20 minutes of the match. Donegal dominated possession, but wasted a lot of attacking opportunities due to inexperience up front, keeping in mind we had a load of players last night who are aged 22/23 or younger. I don't think its a real test of Meath last night.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/02/2019 12:41:58    2161933

Well done to Donegal, they stuck at it and got the win.

I don't know what to say about us at this stage though, we just seem to have a knack for losing a game. When we're leading with 10mins to go we're always afraid we might lose and when we're behind with 10mins to go then we almost certainly will lose.

There must be deep psychological problems with Meath at this stage, for every great comeback we had 20+ years ago there's an equivilant modern day collapse. We were leading 14 10, should have closed out the game then got outscored 1-3 to 0-0 in the last quarter, that's fcuking deplorable!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/02/2019 12:46:01    2161936

Replying To royaldunne:  "Long journey back last night on bad roads, and I still couldn't figure out how the hell we managed to lose that game. First off well done to donegal they never gave up even when been outplayed for a hour of the match, our defense is up there with the best , and fair play to them . A freaky goal that shouldn't have went in should have just kicked us on, instead we went to pieces, is there a sports psychologist working with Meath team? Cause if not the cb need to employ one on Monday morning. . Again well done to donegal, I hope we might have another date later in this campaign. As for Meath? That can't effect the mind, the talent is there particularly with our strong back lines and and the new youngsters coming on to panel. We have the speed , we have the ability we have the game plan. But we don't have mental toughness and until that is sorted we won't be winning these type of games."
"Our defence is up there with the best"

What in the name of god are you basing that on lol ? Two league games against Tipp and Donegal ? The O'Byrne cup ?

Or are you basing it on the team who lost to Longford in last years leinster ? The 2018 league campaign where only Louth who finished bottom had a worse pts against than Meath while avoiding the drop to D3 by a point ?

I know youre positive, but there is a difference between being positive and being completely and utterly deluded.

Ah well, I suppose the only person your ridiculous over-hyped expectations v harsh reality can upset is yourself.

Youd be brilliant at marketing our games though, you have an unreal ability to paper over cracks and make the garden out to be rosey when in fact the garden along with the whole house is up in flames.

Id be worried about Meaths fitness.

They couldn't get the winner against Dublin in the OBC, and yesterday didn't score at all in the last 20 minutes.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/02/2019 13:13:35    2161949

Replying To Htaem:  "Well done to Donegal, they stuck at it and got the win.

I don't know what to say about us at this stage though, we just seem to have a knack for losing a game. When we're leading with 10mins to go we're always afraid we might lose and when we're behind with 10mins to go then we almost certainly will lose.

There must be deep psychological problems with Meath at this stage, for every great comeback we had 20+ years ago there's an equivilant modern day collapse. We were leading 14 10, should have closed out the game then got outscored 1-3 to 0-0 in the last quarter, that's fcuking deplorable!"
Look it's hard to be by far the better team and get beat. Nothing to do with who donegal brought on, we handed them it on a plate. (Now fair play, they took it) Positives are that fantastic defense we have set up, one of the best in country, mcentee in midfield has eased the pressure there. But up front we still making silly mistakes, should have been out of sight by the last 10 mins.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 13:19:27    2161953

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look it's hard to be by far the better team and get beat. Nothing to do with who donegal brought on, we handed them it on a plate. (Now fair play, they took it) Positives are that fantastic defense we have set up, one of the best in country, mcentee in midfield has eased the pressure there. But up front we still making silly mistakes, should have been out of sight by the last 10 mins."
Honest to god, I cant wait for us to get our forward players at this "fantastic defence you have set up" should it come to pass (although I wouldn't go running to the bookies to place money on Meath reaching the Leinster final, you are criminally over-rated this average at best Meath set up)

But I hope you do, we will absolutely marmalize that defensive set up.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/02/2019 13:28:42    2161956

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look it's hard to be by far the better team and get beat. Nothing to do with who donegal brought on, we handed them it on a plate. (Now fair play, they took it) Positives are that fantastic defense we have set up, one of the best in country, mcentee in midfield has eased the pressure there. But up front we still making silly mistakes, should have been out of sight by the last 10 mins."
Just think back to the past when Meath were famous for grabbing victory from the jaws of defeat.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 03/02/2019 13:49:59    2161960

We have to start winning games though royaldunne, we've been a mess for far too long at this stage. How many times have we been in the lead with 20mins to go over the last 5-6 years and blown it, it's very frustrating.

I can only imagine it was a long painful journey home for the lads last night, at some point they have to decide that this can't continue anymore.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/02/2019 13:54:56    2161963

You clearly weren't the better team by far, at best you were 'marginally' better for 25 mins of 1st half, when you lead by 1 point at half time, and 10-15 mins of 2nd half.

You had a 10 minute purple patch at start of 2nd half, when Meath added 3 points to opened up a 4 point lead, but Donegal quickly re-calibrated and the tide actually turned then and Donegal dominated the last 20 -25 minutes, I should highlight that Meath didn't score for the last 20 minutes.

You're conveniently ignoring the fact you played a very inexperienced Donegal side last night, the majority of which won't make the starting team come Summer. Meath need to be more honest of where they are at, hyping yourselves after your Senior team ran a Donegal 2nd string team close in a league match won't get you anywhere, you need a more honest look at where your at.

Meath have talented players, but considering 2 of our full backs (Brendan McCole & Conor Morrison) are both 21, and debuting in league this year, and our other corner back Caolan Ward wasn't able to make our Championship team last season, should Meath not have ran riot?

Meath should have been better than that.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 03/02/2019 14:08:50    2161969

Replying To Htaem:  "Well done to Donegal, they stuck at it and got the win.

There must be deep psychological problems with Meath at this stage, for every great comeback we had 20+ years ago there's an equivilant modern day collapse. We were leading 14 10, should have closed out the game then got outscored 1-3 to 0-0 in the last quarter, that's fcuking deplorable!"
Btw good to see you back my old friend, i was getting worried when hadn't seen u post in a bit. Hope u are well.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2019 14:27:08    2161978

Replying To gunman:  "Just think back to the past when Meath were famous for grabbing victory from the jaws of defeat."
You can nearly hear the opposite being said by RD is meath done what Donegal did last night

Oh the mighty Royals are back baby, played dreadful, only came into it in the last quarter and won playing badly, the sign of champions, hondroyal, Royal for sam, Premier league, champions league, world cup, six nations, grand slam, the grand national, the derby, celebrity love island, im a celeb get me out of here, the darts world grand prix, the formula one championship, Irelands got talent, the voice, masterchef, the apprentice, ….. you get my point.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/02/2019 14:37:10    2161981