Roscommon Vs Monaghan

A game that Monaghan could of won but didn't and Roscommon capitalised. Wouldn't go as far as saying that Roscommon dominated the game and looked unbelievable, just sticky proposition when the opposition had a lacklustre day at the office. I thought Roscommon kick out strategy and their goalies kick outs which went high in the air and hung is a huge area for concern. But fair play to roscommon and im sure they will snatch another 2 points in the division and put themselves in a serious place for survival and maybe a mid table finish.
As for Monaghan a hangover from last week was obvious and some men very lacklustre and our decision making at the end cost us a point. Loose next week against Galway and we are in a relegation battle, win and we will be fine.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 03/02/2019 20:54:32    2162241

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Congrats to Roscommon today but the antics of certain players left a lot to be desired. Throwing dirty digs and then the theatrical stuff to get a player sent off exactly like last week against Mayo. Also two head injuries in the period of the black cards meant the play was stopped for 6 minutes out of the ten, meaning Monaghan got no advantage.

Roscommon were too nice but this no nasty edge could see them maintain there status. Monaghan were shite. The best team won.
Roscommon and Mayo look to have loads of Extra work done during the off season."
sorry Shaggy but have to pull you up on the red card for young O'Hanlon. He connected with a beautiful hook that would have done Barry McGuigan proud and had to go.
Would agreewith you though , we have lost the nice guy touch and Anthony Cunningham has put a hard edge into the Roscommon team. As supporters we are delighted with that, its a common trait in all of the top teams these days and thats whats needed to get there, like it or not.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 03/02/2019 20:58:54    2162247

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Ah here don't get carried away, Monaghan handling errors and a dodgy penalty won it for Roscommon. They will still drop. A very mediocre performance from our lads and yee still just about managed it. But best of luck for rest of league"
Farney army got ko'd in Rossies land...chin up bud!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 03/02/2019 21:07:32    2162254

It is all swings and roundabouts. Ros had a few out today but in fairness more out last year. Last season we had more work done and less out injured etc but 7 definite championship starters out last night. No Corofin player (understandably) but injuries really hitting us. Connacht will be very even this year although it appears to me Mayo might have more work done at this stage of the season than previous seasons. Cunningham was always going to bring something different to Ros. Monaghan in fairness adding nicely to their panel with the emergence of young O'Hanlon. All to play for.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 03/02/2019 21:20:24    2162263

Having been beaten by the likes of Longford, Down & Fermanagh, I am not really surprised by today's result. Great thing about this stage in the league, is that there will be many twists & turns before the last weekend in March. Loving the league & always enjoy the trips to places I would never dream of going.
Onwards we go!
Muineacháin abú!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 03/02/2019 21:53:02    2162286

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Not a sore loser at all. Don't think much has changed after today and Roscommon are still 1 of the favorites to get relegated. Great 2 pts today for them but to say they will be hard to beat this year is a bit of an overstatement."
Bull. Sore loser. Take your beating. You won't be winning the league either. You will be battling with Cavan, Roscommon, Galway to stay up. Don't be getting carried away with yourself. Roscommon were missing 10 players off last years championship panel, key men, McInerney, 2 Murtaghs, Donie Smith, Sean Mullooly, Fintan Cregg, Cathal Compton. That's our starting full back, Centre back, midfielder & 4 forwards as well as a few retirements like Seanie McDermott, yet we still beat you & ran Mayo to a Point in a storm in Castlebar. Roscommon have been a division 1 team 3 of the last 5 seasons & the other 2 they were winning division 2. They are an established top 8 team now. The new lads did well for them today & that's a good sign. It will be a battle to stay up but they have as much chance as you. Don't be losing the run of yourself, you aren't a Kerry or a Dublin either.
Oh good luck for the rest of the league

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 03/02/2019 21:54:43    2162288

Tight game could have gone either way, difference for me was Roscommon had a ball winner in mid field from their own kick out when they went long. We should be trying new talent in mid field like last year. Neither Hughes nor Kelly are natural midfielders, well done Roscommon, frustrated us at the end when required, O Hanlon seen the other side to the game at this level and will stand to him in the end, with Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone away left to come, next week is a must win,

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/02/2019 00:01:41    2162342

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Tight game could have gone either way, difference for me was Roscommon had a ball winner in mid field from their own kick out when they went long. We should be trying new talent in mid field like last year. Neither Hughes nor Kelly are natural midfielders, well done Roscommon, frustrated us at the end when required, O Hanlon seen the other side to the game at this level and will stand to him in the end, with Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone away left to come, next week is a must win,"
Was young O'Hanlon playing? I don't see his name on the team in the match report.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 04/02/2019 12:04:33    2162446

Replying To gaelicgab:  "Was young O'Hanlon playing? I don't see his name on the team in the match report."
He came on in the second half. Was basically pulled and dragged for the few minutes he was on. Got involved in something off the ball (didn't see it - but linesman did). Straight red.

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 04/02/2019 12:33:37    2162460

Replying To gaelicgab:  "Was young O'Hanlon playing? I don't see his name on the team in the match report."
He was sent off

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 04/02/2019 12:39:01    2162464

Replying To Tim_NicebutDim:  "He came on in the second half. Was basically pulled and dragged for the few minutes he was on. Got involved in something off the ball (didn't see it - but linesman did). Straight red."
Ah the lads should have given him a cup of tea and a few biscuits, pulling and dragging is what is going on in every game, by every team, we haven't suddenly become the dirtiest team in the country.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 04/02/2019 13:09:20    2162481

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ah the lads should have given him a cup of tea and a few biscuits, pulling and dragging is what is going on in every game, by every team, we haven't suddenly become the dirtiest team in the country."
Pull and dragging is fine is the theatrically throwing yourself to the which is embarrassing. Donie Smith mark two yestersay.But then again Niall Daly was involved in a another off the ball incident with Dessie Ward..

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/02/2019 13:25:23    2162488

Replying To Tim_NicebutDim:  "He came on in the second half. Was basically pulled and dragged for the few minutes he was on. Got involved in something off the ball (didn't see it - but linesman did). Straight red."
I'm sure he is used to a little pulling and dragging in training when being marked by the Wylie brothers, or do they not do that anymore?

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 04/02/2019 13:43:23    2162497

I'm sure he is used to a little pulling and dragging in training when being marked by the Wylie brothers, or do they not do that anymore?

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 04/02/2019 13:43:37    2162498

Replying To reffingmad:  "I'm sure he is used to a little pulling and dragging in training when being marked by the Wylie brothers, or do they not do that anymore?"
I never seen the Wylies lie down. Would have too much self respect.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 04/02/2019 15:41:47    2162541

A win that warmed the cockles of my heart yesterday.

Our best league win since beating Kerry in killarney 3 years ago, on and off the field we were good yesterday and even when things went wrong the players kept fully focused on delivering that vital win.

To be honest while i was very pleased at how competitive we were against a top 5 team i was worried that we only led by 2 points at half time as we kicked away at least 1-8 in that half. I was even more worried when we went down to 13 men on the 60th minute but boy did our players stand up and be counted to get the win that was richly deserved.

The penalty and sending off late on were correct calls but the ref was wrong by giving Conor Cox a black. Monaghan are a fine and well organized team they are example to us to what can be done with similar small pick and resources. 5 years in a row in Div 1 and AI semi finalists last summer is a great achievement but yesterday they can have no complaints as they were simply beaten by the better team on the day.

Tyrone next for us, they will have targeted our game for points before the league started and they are very dangerous team after a few defeats. We also have a dreadful record against them but saying all that if we deliver another seriously gutsy performance then we could be good enough to win once again.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 04/02/2019 18:02:56    2162579

Fantastic achievement, congrats Ros

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 04/02/2019 21:02:15    2162627

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Tight game could have gone either way, difference for me was Roscommon had a ball winner in mid field from their own kick out when they went long. We should be trying new talent in mid field like last year. Neither Hughes nor Kelly are natural midfielders, well done Roscommon, frustrated us at the end when required, O Hanlon seen the other side to the game at this level and will stand to him in the end, with Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone away left to come, next week is a must win,"
Fair comment

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/02/2019 22:56:30    2162657

Replying To Romell01:  "Bull. Sore loser. Take your beating. You won't be winning the league either. You will be battling with Cavan, Roscommon, Galway to stay up. Don't be getting carried away with yourself. Roscommon were missing 10 players off last years championship panel, key men, McInerney, 2 Murtaghs, Donie Smith, Sean Mullooly, Fintan Cregg, Cathal Compton. That's our starting full back, Centre back, midfielder & 4 forwards as well as a few retirements like Seanie McDermott, yet we still beat you & ran Mayo to a Point in a storm in Castlebar. Roscommon have been a division 1 team 3 of the last 5 seasons & the other 2 they were winning division 2. They are an established top 8 team now. The new lads did well for them today & that's a good sign. It will be a battle to stay up but they have as much chance as you. Don't be losing the run of yourself, you aren't a Kerry or a Dublin either.
Oh good luck for the rest of the league"
Combined hammerings of around 4-37 in super 8's. Hardly returning stars!!

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 05/02/2019 08:13:05    2162672

Well done Roscommon the better team won on the day.

Embarassing for the real Monaghan fans having to read the rubbish other Monaaghan fans post.

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 05/02/2019 08:34:22    2162675