Roscommon Vs Monaghan

Monaghan were class today; they started slow but built momentum as time went on; they are not to be messed with this year, some top players. Rosscommon played well against Mayo and should have won it in all fairness; they need to practice on their shooting. Enda Smith and Darren Hughes will be an interesting meeting. I expect quite a good match here with Monaghan coming out on top. Monaghan +4

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 27/01/2019 21:21:40    2160126

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

greysoil (321)
1/28/19
1:02PM

Monaghan Vs Roscommon

If we were to take in county size & resources, Monaghan & Roscommon should be perfectly matched. However, Monaghan have come out victors in 5 out of 7 encounters since 2004.
However, Roscommon will have home advantage next Sunday, and Monaghan will be feeling good after beating Dublin for the second time in 10 months, but we have often been caught on the hop after winning tough battles .
Looking forward to the trip & the encounter with The Sheepstealers.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 28/01/2019 13:13:12    2160376

Monaghan & maybe Rossies too are probably fed up of the " doing well for a small county".... Yes, its true, but as they say, " where there is a will, there's a way"!

Mon will b installed as favs, especially after the Dubs game. Ros very unlucky not to get at least a draw in atrocious conditions in C'bar.

This game can go either way, as usually is, with both these teams. So important to both, for proby diff reasons. .... If Mon win, then they can challenge at top of the table, if Ros lose, then prob a relegation battle awaits.... a draw would not surprise me or Mons to nick by a pt!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 01/02/2019 15:27:05    2161459

Wow great result for Roscommon, congratulations.

That looks a very useful two points.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/02/2019 16:33:20    2162021

Best win of the day along with Leitrim... Well done

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 03/02/2019 17:11:28    2162043

Best win of the day along with Leitrim... Well done

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 03/02/2019 17:12:13    2162045

Yes excellent result for Roscommon against a very good side.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/02/2019 17:12:22    2162046

Well deserved win..solid defensive performance and conor cox kicked some top class frees..a very nice two points and we are going to be hard beat.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 03/02/2019 17:12:25    2162047

Massive result for the rossies we'll done

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 03/02/2019 17:18:44    2162055

Great result for Roscommon indeed. Relegation may not be as clear cut as many thought this year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/02/2019 17:23:00    2162061

Great win for Roscommon. Really didn't see that coming. They, along with Cavan, were probably most people's favourites for the drop but they've given themselves a chance now.

Disappointing for Monaghan after a great start last weekend but they'll be alright I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/02/2019 17:38:32    2162072

Replying To dave1988:  "Well deserved win..solid defensive performance and conor cox kicked some top class frees..a very nice two points and we are going to be hard beat."
Ah here don't get carried away, Monaghan handling errors and a dodgy penalty won it for Roscommon. They will still drop. A very mediocre performance from our lads and yee still just about managed it. But best of luck for rest of league

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 03/02/2019 18:26:57    2162109

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Ah here don't get carried away, Monaghan handling errors and a dodgy penalty won it for Roscommon. They will still drop. A very mediocre performance from our lads and yee still just about managed it. But best of luck for rest of league"
Absolute nonsense and believe me I'm not getting carried away..we had 6 or 7 lads missing today so it was a well deserved win.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 03/02/2019 19:07:05    2162145

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Ah here don't get carried away, Monaghan handling errors and a dodgy penalty won it for Roscommon. They will still drop. A very mediocre performance from our lads and yee still just about managed it. But best of luck for rest of league"
B s ye have the poorest midfield we have played in 3 years and whatever happened last week that's yer standard today and as many as ye didn't start today we are missing 3 times as many.
We are hoping to hold out own in div 1, so should ye.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/02/2019 19:15:43    2162156

Monaghan are a fine team and we're delighted to beat them.The less said about your begrudging post the better.We're missing a lot of players and today was a great result for Roscommon.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 03/02/2019 19:16:27    2162157

Wow....a sore a loser as you can get around here. Well done Roscommon.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/02/2019 19:19:24    2162158

Replying To lilylanger:  "Wow....a sore a loser as you can get around here. Well done Roscommon."
Not a sore loser at all. Don't think much has changed after today and Roscommon are still 1 of the favorites to get relegated. Great 2 pts today for them but to say they will be hard to beat this year is a bit of an overstatement.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 03/02/2019 19:45:44    2162177

Thankfully i met a lot more honest Monaghan men that knew what they were talking about at the game than you. Was nothing dodgy about the penalty and handling errors was because of the pressure we applied. Fully deserved win for us in a game where we could have lost when down to 13 men for ten minutes. Holding Monaghan to a low score was key and no way were ye going to be allowed to score as freely as you did v Dublin.

Will still be tipped for relegation but no harm there as showed today we love to be written off.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3759 - 03/02/2019 19:57:37    2162192

When you look at what Mayo did they and their marginal wind in the hurricane last week and doing Monaghan today, Roscommon are looking like they have game and are going to come out swinging in this league.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/02/2019 20:05:54    2162198

Congrats to Roscommon today but the antics of certain players left a lot to be desired. Throwing dirty digs and then the theatrical stuff to get a player sent off exactly like last week against Mayo. Also two head injuries in the period of the black cards meant the play was stopped for 6 minutes out of the ten, meaning Monaghan got no advantage.

Roscommon were too nice but this no nasty edge could see them maintain there status. Monaghan were shite. The best team won.
Roscommon and Mayo look to have loads of Extra work done during the off season.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 03/02/2019 20:19:59    2162208