Admission To League Games Set To Increase

Garbally College. I'm saying it's traditional based on it's past players and used to be a boarding school. I wouldn't argue that point with you Ormond though, I'm not that up-to-date. Off the top of my head Sligo Grammar would be classed as rugby, The Bish maybe. Not many I can think of that are predominantly rugby schools though. Not like some Leinster, Ulster, Munster schools.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4865 - 1/22/19 7:16:24 PM
Jes is far more than Bish. But all schools in connacht really play all sports. Bish play everything as does Jes. Summerhill sligo doing well in rugby now and is top class in multiple sports
same with marist athlone.
wouldnt say garbally just because it used be boarding,

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 22/01/2019 19:49:06    2158974

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What are the net values of those industrial wages?
Surely they're relative to where you're living, travelling long distances to work, married/single with/without children and a load of other factors.
What difference does being a 'hard' Marxist make to these price increases?

You're fine with the price increase. That's grand. Not everyone is."
I have friends working in factories in kilorglin and Tralee that are earning between 25 and 30,000 and that depends on them doing a quare bit of overtime. That's not shift work though just straight day shift.

I don't know what they make in libher or Kerry co op .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2019 20:38:44    2158985

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya he only got about 6,000 votes and only got in on the 3rd count."
I wouldn't be a fan of well.. his kind of "sort" if you know what I mean...

You know...

Politicians.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2019 21:09:30    2158988

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wouldn't be a fan of well.. his kind of "sort" if you know what I mean...

You know...

Politicians."
I have no time for them either, when you see them paying millions to unsecured bond holders and they can't give the nurses a raise and better working conditions.

We would have a great little country if the fellas running it were more interested in working for it's people than growing their own bank accounts and making the rich richer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/01/2019 22:38:19    2159008

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "In response to the two Dubs, don't be getting excited about stereotyping, your at with the Kerry boys here all the time, a lot of it is jousting. Over my years in Artane, Coolock & Dolphins Barn I saw the other side of Dublin, the one where people struggle like some in Donegal or Kerry."
Well fair play for acknowledgeing that, some of the poverty and circumstances people find themselves in, in Dublin really are horrific. I'm sure everyone can equally relate to such examples around the country.

Ultimately those circumstances makes arguing over paying an extra fiver if you aren't organized enough to buy a ticket the day before at last years prices, a bit trival really.

Maybe I'm naieve, but hopefully some of the extra revenue raised by the GAA reaches out to some families who find themselves in adverse circumstances or prone to the traps and temptation of poverty or disadvantage and offer them an alternative.

More Phillly McMahons! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/01/2019 23:03:31    2159013

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Garbally College. I'm saying it's traditional based on it's past players and used to be a boarding school. I wouldn't argue that point with you Ormond though, I'm not that up-to-date. Off the top of my head Sligo Grammar would be classed as rugby, The Bish maybe. Not many I can think of that are predominantly rugby schools though. Not like some Leinster, Ulster, Munster schools.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4865 - 1/22/19 7:16:24 PM
Jes is far more than Bish. But all schools in connacht really play all sports. Bish play everything as does Jes. Summerhill sligo doing well in rugby now and is top class in multiple sports
same with marist athlone.
wouldnt say garbally just because it used be boarding,"
Donald Duck -who are you trying to fool- Sligo have great rugby players!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/01/2019 00:13:19    2159025

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I have no time for them either, when you see them paying millions to unsecured bond holders and they can't give the nurses a raise and better working conditions.

We would have a great little country if the fellas running it were more interested in working for it's people than growing their own bank accounts and making the rich richer."
I totally agree, they are grossly incompetent paying unsecured bondholders and all the banks were up to their neck in all sorts of shenaghans putting people out of their homes and giving property to vulture funds for 20% of the true value.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/01/2019 00:19:48    2159026

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I have no time for them either, when you see them paying millions to unsecured bond holders and they can't give the nurses a raise and better working conditions.

We would have a great little country if the fellas running it were more interested in working for it's people than growing their own bank accounts and making the rich richer."
The banks run the country.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7368 - 23/01/2019 03:59:05    2159029

Nobody enjoys paying more , it's natural to be pi77ed with price increases, that said is the product worth 15 euro pre match day price is the question, for me yes so I will pay and have s gripe as I do so after all I'm Irish

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/01/2019 08:51:03    2159040

A programme being a fiver, now that's the real scandal! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/01/2019 10:03:36    2159046

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The banks run the country."
And that's for sure, there is no hiding that fact.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2019 10:05:25    2159048

Replying To browncows:  "I totally agree, they are grossly incompetent paying unsecured bondholders and all the banks were up to their neck in all sorts of shenaghans putting people out of their homes and giving property to vulture funds for 20% of the true value."
It's a sick joke at this stage.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2019 11:44:02    2159070

Look I am not to impressed with the price hike for the League matches. But the Irish govt gave the IRFU 191 million euros to redevelope the Aviva stadium. So GAA not the only money maker in "town".

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 23/01/2019 12:35:12    2159082

What the gaa's top brass fail to grasp is the amount of fundraising nights, Lotto, draw tickets etc that are being run by clubs across the 32 counties on a weekly basis. They raised ticket prices during the height of the recession before too. It doesn't stop them from continuingly fleecing the faithful. Gate receipts form only one part of the GAA revenue stream and could have been let be. No doubt like the Sky deal we will be told it is to help the diaspora!!!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 23/01/2019 13:40:01    2159089

I see Martin Ferris brought it up in the dail today and all coveney replied was that it's a GAA matter, what about all the tax payers money going to the GAA? Maybe it needs to be cut.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2019 14:38:28    2159107

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Indeed. GAA "people" are the most overly price-sensitive fans around.
I looked up the price of tickets for Connacht's Pro-14 match against the Cheetahs next month. Bear in mind the Cheetah's have lost 7 and won only 3 of their 10 games to date. I've seen betting odds of Connacht minus 10 points on the handicap so I think it is fair to say the outcome is pretty much predictable.
The cost of a ticket for the main TERRACE is 32 Eur for an adult and 28 Eur for students and senior citizens over 66. The behind the goal terrace is 27.50 for an adult, 22 Eur for students and senior citizens.
And the thing is...the ground will probably be close to capacity and nobody will be complaining!!
20 EUR is enough for the National Leagues but it is not excessive.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1115 - 1/20/19 9:55:23 PM
And nobody will complain because they know the costs of running games as well as everything else.
20 quid for national league isnt excessive at all.

They are savage prices for the Rugby. Amazing it's draw at the moment. Connaught would probably draw bigger crowds than most football counties for league games and that Pro14 is awful stuff, teams playing second and 3rd string players, almost throwing away games ..
I have always defended the GAA prices I felt they were excellent value compared to other sports. The 5 euro kids championship ticket is great value. However I do think 20 is a bit much for a league game. This across the board pricing is a bit of a blunt object too. Cork footballers draw crowds of a only a few hundred, there is a plan in place to promote football in the county, this is just another deterrent. Maybe 20 makes sense for some teams. - division 1A in hurling and some top football teams but it is nuts for teams already struggling to draw a crowd.
tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 1/21/19 9:08:05 AM
are they really "savage prices"?
You dont watch pro14 if you call it "awful stuff" and it isnt teams with second/third string players or throwing/almost throwing away games

Correct me if I am wrong, but do the lads who play for Connacht and other Pro14 teams not get paid? If so then the entrance fee is contributing towards those salaries and of course will be expected to be higher. If you want to compare like with like then should you not be comparing it to the AI Rugby Leagues (or close to like for like as I know there are payments made to players in Irish League rugby). And if so, what are the prices in to a Div 1A Rugby match for instance of a Saturday?
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 3709 - 1/21/19 10:07:46 AM
AIL prices can be around a tenner per adult. I wouldnt be comparing them to national league. Not like for like comparison."
I actually watch plenty of Pro14. I really enjoy a competitive rugby match. My son goes to all the Munster games and I go the the ones in Cork with him. Here is my summary of the Munster home Pro14 games this year.

Munster Rugby 38-0 Toyota Cheetahs - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 49-13 Ospreys - Went to it - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 64-7 Ulster Rugby - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 25-24 Glasgow Warriors - very enjoyable game
Munster Rugby 44-14 Edinburgh Rugby - Went to it - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 26-17 Leinster Rugby - decent game

Rugby fans seen different in the sense that they rarely criticise the game be it a dour struggle or a onesided washout. There are a lot of kids in Musgrave Park who cheer every try even where Munster are 40 points ahead of a side that have lost the will to live not to mind win.

If Limerick hurlers send down an brutal team to Cork and get beaten by 30 points because they are minding their players for another competition I'd call that awful stuff too. The gap between Munster and many of the teams they hammered here isn't that big but many teams are picking an choosing the games they target making a lot of games very disappointing and very poor value for money.

tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 80 - 23/01/2019 14:41:17    2159109

Replying To tomhealycork:  "
Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Indeed. GAA "people" are the most overly price-sensitive fans around.
I looked up the price of tickets for Connacht's Pro-14 match against the Cheetahs next month. Bear in mind the Cheetah's have lost 7 and won only 3 of their 10 games to date. I've seen betting odds of Connacht minus 10 points on the handicap so I think it is fair to say the outcome is pretty much predictable.
The cost of a ticket for the main TERRACE is 32 Eur for an adult and 28 Eur for students and senior citizens over 66. The behind the goal terrace is 27.50 for an adult, 22 Eur for students and senior citizens.
And the thing is...the ground will probably be close to capacity and nobody will be complaining!!
20 EUR is enough for the National Leagues but it is not excessive.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1115 - 1/20/19 9:55:23 PM
And nobody will complain because they know the costs of running games as well as everything else.
20 quid for national league isnt excessive at all.

They are savage prices for the Rugby. Amazing it's draw at the moment. Connaught would probably draw bigger crowds than most football counties for league games and that Pro14 is awful stuff, teams playing second and 3rd string players, almost throwing away games ..
I have always defended the GAA prices I felt they were excellent value compared to other sports. The 5 euro kids championship ticket is great value. However I do think 20 is a bit much for a league game. This across the board pricing is a bit of a blunt object too. Cork footballers draw crowds of a only a few hundred, there is a plan in place to promote football in the county, this is just another deterrent. Maybe 20 makes sense for some teams. - division 1A in hurling and some top football teams but it is nuts for teams already struggling to draw a crowd.
tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 1/21/19 9:08:05 AM
are they really "savage prices"?
You dont watch pro14 if you call it "awful stuff" and it isnt teams with second/third string players or throwing/almost throwing away games

Correct me if I am wrong, but do the lads who play for Connacht and other Pro14 teams not get paid? If so then the entrance fee is contributing towards those salaries and of course will be expected to be higher. If you want to compare like with like then should you not be comparing it to the AI Rugby Leagues (or close to like for like as I know there are payments made to players in Irish League rugby). And if so, what are the prices in to a Div 1A Rugby match for instance of a Saturday?
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 3709 - 1/21/19 10:07:46 AM
AIL prices can be around a tenner per adult. I wouldnt be comparing them to national league. Not like for like comparison."
I actually watch plenty of Pro14. I really enjoy a competitive rugby match. My son goes to all the Munster games and I go the the ones in Cork with him. Here is my summary of the Munster home Pro14 games this year.

Munster Rugby 38-0 Toyota Cheetahs - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 49-13 Ospreys - Went to it - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 64-7 Ulster Rugby - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 25-24 Glasgow Warriors - very enjoyable game
Munster Rugby 44-14 Edinburgh Rugby - Went to it - awful uncompetitive waste of money
Munster Rugby 26-17 Leinster Rugby - decent game

Rugby fans seen different in the sense that they rarely criticise the game be it a dour struggle or a onesided washout. There are a lot of kids in Musgrave Park who cheer every try even where Munster are 40 points ahead of a side that have lost the will to live not to mind win.

If Limerick hurlers send down an brutal team to Cork and get beaten by 30 points because they are minding their players for another competition I'd call that awful stuff too. The gap between Munster and many of the teams they hammered here isn't that big but many teams are picking an choosing the games they target making a lot of games very disappointing and very poor value for money."
In the Pro 14 many of the teams aren't at Munster's level. Might be a poor comparison but would be like Kerry footballers in the Munster championship. They can hammer teams in Munster but don't do that as regularly now when they get to the Super 8s. Munster similarly don't find it as easy in the Champions Cup as the old Munster European champions team. And a lot of Munster players are rested for the main competition. It's great to have tight competitive games but even if they somehow split Pro 14 into two divisions there will be uncompetitive games due to lesser quality teams and/or better players being rested for Champions Cup or International duty. Thankfully the hurling and football leagues have competitive games being a similar standard in each division. Unfortunately we'll get a few hidings in provincial championships and back door.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7368 - 23/01/2019 21:52:00    2159185

If Limerick hurlers send down an brutal team to Cork and get beaten by 30 points because they are minding their players for another competition I'd call that awful stuff too. The gap between Munster and many of the teams they hammered here isn't that big but many teams are picking an choosing the games they target making a lot of games very disappointing and very poor value for money.
tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 15 - 1/23/19 2:41:17 PM
The GAA inter county teams isnt any comparison to rugby because the league is ran in its entirety before the championship begins. Teams picking and choosing what games to target is intelligent. Why would a side not do that?

In the Pro 14 many of the teams aren't at Munster's level. Might be a poor comparison but would be like Kerry footballers in the Munster championship. They can hammer teams in Munster but don't do that as regularly now when they get to the Super 8s. Munster similarly don't find it as easy in the Champions Cup as the old Munster European champions team. And a lot of Munster players are rested for the main competition. It's great to have tight competitive games but even if they somehow split Pro 14 into two divisions there will be uncompetitive games due to lesser quality teams and/or better players being rested for Champions Cup or International duty. Thankfully the hurling and football leagues have competitive games being a similar standard in each division. Unfortunately we'll get a few hidings in provincial championships and back door.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4867 - 1/23/19 9:52:00 PM
Munster players are rotated hugely. It isnt simply resting players. Its getting the best out of a squad and the irish players and top players are limited in number of games they can play and thats been IRFU policy for years and the provinces and national sides records in recent years all show that policy as being correct. Splitting pro14 wont ever happen.

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 23/01/2019 23:15:13    2159193

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see Martin Ferris brought it up in the dail today and all coveney replied was that it's a GAA matter, what about all the tax payers money going to the GAA? Maybe it needs to be cut."
There was possibly a little covert dig in that reply in the Daíl, when the Liam Miller testimonial venue controversy was playing out, many Govt. ministers were having a pop due to the €30 Million invested by the State in PUC, some leading GAA officials came out saying they weren't going to tolerate the interference in GAA matters. Will funding be given as easily again to the GAA & if there are financial problems will Govt. ministers shrug the shoulders & say "it's a GAA matter". Projects in Kildare, Meath, Waterford will struggle to get big funding from Govt. now due to the bitchfest over PUC for the Liam Miller testimonial. Casement Park which was another really poorly managed project by the GAA where they closed a functioning pitch & ground that's now derelict & with Brexit looming unlikely to ever get funding from Stormont, it looks like the funding well is going to dry up. Who can blame people for raising questions or being cynical about multi million overspends & then ticket price increases, is everybody supposed "to jog on." In today's papers another issue from Cork & the PUC scandal & in another story an ex rugby international & leading commentator hinting at how GAA people at a function in Cork are talking about the massive debt to be serviced & hinting at Munster possibly using it for upcoming games. Still no final figure whether it is a €25 Million debt nearly a year on from opening, was there any accounting done at all ? Back of a fag packet economics. In true GAA style one of those responsible was given a massive ovation leaving the stage. What a mess, it's fair to ask, is there anybody at the wheel at all ?

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 24/01/2019 00:47:22    2159203

Why do posters try to make comparisons with provincial rugby where the have to have high charges to help with paying the salaries of their players. The GAA do not have provincials as the gave that up a while back.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 24/01/2019 01:13:11    2159207