National League 2019

Indont know what is wrong with cavan football , we seem to be carrying a few players over the past 5 or 6 years , we were bet by a poor Monaghan team thats declining in my opinion, i never seen a senior team with no free takers and a corner back that is headless only marks space . We wont take long range scores which is a pitty .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 16/03/2019 19:28:07    2172735

Replying To Benjy1000:  "Where do we go from here??"
Back down to Div 2 I'm afraid! But don't worry, we will keep ye company on the way!

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 16/03/2019 22:30:00    2172859

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Back down to Div 2 I'm afraid! But don't worry, we will keep ye company on the way!"
Atleast we keep each other company :-)

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 16/03/2019 23:00:53    2172873

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Back down to Div 2 I'm afraid! But don't worry, we will keep ye company on the way!"
Day out in croke park next year

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 16/03/2019 23:05:41    2172875

Replying To cavanlawd123:  "Indont know what is wrong with cavan football , we seem to be carrying a few players over the past 5 or 6 years , we were bet by a poor Monaghan team thats declining in my opinion, i never seen a senior team with no free takers and a corner back that is headless only marks space . We wont take long range scores which is a pitty ."
Jasus we been waiting for the Monaghan decline for a long time. They missing about 5 starters today. We need to worry about ourselves and forget about our noisy neighbours.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 17/03/2019 02:07:00    2172905

That's some statement ..........the team with the better forwards normally win games.......Jack McCarron came on as a second half sub ( & only for a short while) and scored 3 wonderful points ......roll on Breffni in May when hopefully we have Kieran Hughes & young O'Hanlon on show to add to Cavan's misery !
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 40 - 16/03/2019 19:16:36 2172727

Just to note the referee was a disaster yesterday he game some ridiculous decisions against both teams.

If Cavan had a free taker they would have had a better chance of staying up it cost us yesterday and throughout the league. Monaghan must be scoring at the very least 50% of there frees inside 50/55 metres while Cavan are dropping them short and sending them wide. It so important to have good free takers and Monaghan are blessed in this regard.

Free after free missed in every game with nobody looking confident to kick them. I hope from now on Galligan kicks ever free on the left even the ones from 25 meters as at least he looks like he wants to kick them. Mckiernan can kick the ones from the left he will score a few anyway.

I would like to see Madden and Mcvitty in the full forward line there pace and power would cause that full back line problems. Both have pace and power and can win there own ball. Drew Wylie is good at pulling and dragging off the ball and giving sly digs but not so good when ran at or under high ball.

Sort the free taking out and there is nothing between them two teams.

That full back line of Monaghan's can be got at, I'd like to see Madden and Mcvitty in against them the pace and power of them would cause plenty of problems and they are good in the air aswell

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 17/03/2019 07:54:23    2172918

You have Kerry at home and can get 5 points so you are not relegated yet.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/03/2019 11:14:05    2172981

Replying To cavanlawd123:  "Day out in croke park next year"
Wouldn't be so sure of that lad, you have a lot of games to win in division 2 to get back up where as 2 could possibly keep you up in division one. Monaghan no way safe either.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 17/03/2019 13:34:48    2173024

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "You have Kerry at home and can get 5 points so you are not relegated yet."
if we perform like we did against Galway and yourselves then we will be destroyed by Kerry

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 17/03/2019 15:45:47    2173075

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "At last we get a proper sensible post that sums everything up good and proper."
Except of course Cavan did beat the Rossies under TH, wouldn't expect you to know that tho

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 17/03/2019 16:17:15    2173089

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "the only difference between the teams today was Cavan's inabilities up front

That's some statement ..........the team with the better forwards normally win games.......Jack McCarron came on as a second half sub ( & only for a short while) and scored 3 wonderful points ......roll on Breffni in May when hopefully we have Kieran Hughes & young O'Hanlon on show to add to Cavan's misery !"
Well Cavan had 15 wides Monaghan had 6 that was the differences , come May with home advantage after playing bad yesterday with so many wides and only loosening by 3 points I'd be confident

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 17/03/2019 20:52:11    2173219

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Except of course Cavan did beat the Rossies under TH, wouldn't expect you to know that tho"
Not when it mattered.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/03/2019 07:07:53    2173303

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Not when it mattered."
So we beat them in Div 2 on the way to promotion but that doesn't matter coz we beat them on the way to relegation under Graham. Great stuff.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 18/03/2019 18:29:33    2173479

Replying To JamsieMac:  "So we beat them in Div 2 on the way to promotion but that doesn't matter coz we beat them on the way to relegation under Graham. Great stuff."
Cavan and Roscommon is at the exact same level the fav of the bounce is the only thing that separates us at the minute , sadly for Roscommon the rush of blood to the head of one of there defenders has them looking at relegation if they can't over turn Kerry

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 18/03/2019 22:23:41    2173540

Replying To JamsieMac:  "So we beat them in Div 2 on the way to promotion but that doesn't matter coz we beat them on the way to relegation under Graham. Great stuff."
We didn't beat them in Division 2. We lost to them last year.
The only time we beat them before this year was 2014 in Division 3 when both teams were promoted and the game was a dead rubber.
They won the League final which was the game that mattered that year.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 18/03/2019 22:49:33    2173550

When did we beat them in Division Two?

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 19/03/2019 09:41:44    2173610

Next Sunday brings to an end our National League programme. It is questionable as to whether or not we have made progress under the new management. We will go into the Monaghan game in May as under dogs with little expectation in the county. However, that might not be a bad place to be.

Hopefully, we will be able to look back later on in the year and say that our summer performances greatly exceeded those of the winter. At the end of the day the League is played over a very short period and most of the games are played in terrible conditions.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 19/03/2019 09:47:04    2173611

Replying To kildare blue:  "Next Sunday brings to an end our National League programme. It is questionable as to whether or not we have made progress under the new management. We will go into the Monaghan game in May as under dogs with little expectation in the county. However, that might not be a bad place to be.

Hopefully, we will be able to look back later on in the year and say that our summer performances greatly exceeded those of the winter. At the end of the day the League is played over a very short period and most of the games are played in terrible conditions."
I think that is fair. There were some bright sparks earlier in the campaign, although far from perfect, but the last two games were very poor. I cannot understand how we look so unsure on what is happening on the pitch regarding frees. Its incredible that Galligan keeps coming up the pitch to be told to go back and different fellas are taking them in different games. All over the place. Mickey needs to sort this out as in the grand scheme of things it is one of the easier things to do to tell people who is responsible for frees. Discipline also same. No improvement in last few games. Poor tackling, mouthing at the ref etc. We had 3 frees brought forward for talking back to the ref the last day and it seems its the same every game. If fellas want to mouth off, give them a game on the bench for it.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/03/2019 11:00:16    2173636

Overall I expected the league campaign to be a struggle and that's how it's turned out. We've had some good performances and decent spells in games, but we've not been consistent enough and have slipped back into bad habits in the most recent matches. We haven't got the results and ultimately that's all that counts, hence we're looking fully destined for division two.

Bright points were finally ending the Roscommon hoodoo and the performances of Raymond Galligan, who I think has been our best player this campaign (which is saying something in itself). Galligan has kept us in games with some great saves and I think he's a top keeper. Hopefully we'll have taken something from the harsh lessons we've been dealt as we build towards the summer, but Monaghan are still deserved favourites for our championship clash.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 19/03/2019 12:58:40    2173677

With the league drawing to a close, honestly it has been a frustrating campaign after so much hope at the outset. However, we need to stay positive and give the manager and panel the backing their efforts deserve. Without sounding too David Brent about it, what are the positives that can be carried into the championship?

My top 5 reasons to be cheerful would be:
1 The Cavan defence is starting to show some steel (with exception of 2nd half against Tyrone). Very good individual players and a strong core.
2 Conor Madden is beginning to grow in confidence- he will be an excellent forward for Cavan yet
3 Cavan were very competitive around the middle in most games and dominated possession against a lot of teams
4 Gearoid back playing, scoring 3 points and only half-fit, A few weeks training and he will be capable of much more
5 We will be going into the 1st round completely written off, always the way you want it against the near neighbours

It still leaves the perennial problem of scoring rates . Mickey is an attack minded coach and he will have to develop some potential in the team over time. It is easy to say Cavan don't have the players but if you had a starting 6 of

M Reilly, McVeety, GMac
C Reilly, Madden and Jack

there is plenty of scoring talent to hit a 16+ points tally. Stick at it lads.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/03/2019 13:00:49    2173679