The Documentary- "Players Of The Faithful County"

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We saw the 5 in a row being achieved only 4 months ago by the Kerry minors, 30 wins in a row which has never been achieved by any other football team ."
Never actually achieved by any team totally different set of players and management. Plus Tyrone won this competition last year. Great achievement for for the under age structures in Kerry to keep producing good young footballers

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 31/12/2018 14:32:20    2155342

Replying To GreenandRed:  "4x U18 and 1x U17. Is that 5 in a row? An amazing achievement right enough, fair play to Kerry but real history is written by senior winners. Even more respect is due to Dublin if they can make 5 in a row in 2019."
It's 5 minors in a row green and red and out of the 30 games won only 6 of them were played at home, that's a bigger achievement in my eyes.

But I guess each to their own.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/12/2018 15:36:57    2155346

Replying To GreenandRed:  "4x U18 and 1x U17. Is that 5 in a row? An amazing achievement right enough, fair play to Kerry but real history is written by senior winners. Even more respect is due to Dublin if they can make 5 in a row in 2019."
+1

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/12/2018 16:30:20    2155348

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We saw the 5 in a row being achieved only 4 months ago by the Kerry minors, 30 wins in a row which has never been achieved by any other football team ."
Nice try but I think you'll still have to wait till Autumn 2019 to see a team (hopefully) do a real 5 in a row.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/12/2018 16:45:28    2155350

I posted a simple genuine question regarding balance and an input from both sides, like the book kings of September and somehow it has turned into a Dublin vs Kerry scenario, serious Dublin lads get a grip, the world does not revolve around the pale... there is a big wide world beyond the red cow and Croker.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 31/12/2018 19:31:05    2155363

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Good documentary, one question though, did anyone else find it strange that there was no Kerry involvement what a ever. No input by Kerry players on the day. I just think getting Mikey's thoughts on the penalty, or Charlie's thoughts on that ball that beat him or Tommy Doyle's on the final ball. Granted the programmer was the 'Faithful' but I found it unbalanced. '

Anyone else feel that way?"
Hi Horse, yes it was a pity there was no Kerry input. But Kerry went on to win lots more All Irelands. Offaly did not. I hope though the present day Kerry team 2019 watch this program and get inspiration. It is possible to stop a 5 in a row seeking team.!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/12/2018 21:07:08    2155373

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's 5 minors in a row green and red and out of the 30 games won only 6 of them were played at home, that's a bigger achievement in my eyes.

But I guess each to their own."
It's not but yeah.....each to their own indeed.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/01/2019 02:23:45    2155379

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I posted a simple genuine question regarding balance and an input from both sides, like the book kings of September and somehow it has turned into a Dublin vs Kerry scenario, serious Dublin lads get a grip, the world does not revolve around the pale... there is a big wide world beyond the red cow and Croker."
Ironically it wasn't even a Dub who turned it into a "Dublin v Kerry scenario" as per usual.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 01/01/2019 02:30:30    2155380

Great documentary but a little input from the Kerry players would have been apt. Lovely doc on Jason Sherlock also earlier this evening.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/01/2019 03:21:32    2155382

It depends how one uses the stats. Now it was a great achievement but carried out by different players. Cork in the late 60's won some minor football AI in a row and quite a few of the same players won hurling finals at the same time. They also continued with the same players and won AI u21's in both football and hurling.

Now at senior level when Kerry were winning the 4 in a row they had great competition from Cork and were lucky to come through on at least two occasions- both teams were very strong. Dublin are very good and lucky that there are no teams of high calibre around to compete with them, Mayo being the exception.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/01/2019 12:22:25    2155389

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "It's not but yeah.....each to their own indeed."
You should look up the minor football roll of honor, that'll settle it once and for all it's the first ever 5 in a row in the men's game.

I watched the documentary last night and it was very well done and as much as it broke my heart reliving it, it was hard not to feel delighted for that great Offaly team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/01/2019 12:48:48    2155397

Replying To browncows:  "It depends how one uses the stats. Now it was a great achievement but carried out by different players. Cork in the late 60's won some minor football AI in a row and quite a few of the same players won hurling finals at the same time. They also continued with the same players and won AI u21's in both football and hurling.

Now at senior level when Kerry were winning the 4 in a row they had great competition from Cork and were lucky to come through on at least two occasions- both teams were very strong. Dublin are very good and lucky that there are no teams of high calibre around to compete with them, Mayo being the exception."
That's true about the competition, we had competition and dubs have Janine bar a little from Mayo , it was interesting ln the documentary last night that Offaly were building nicely for 3 years to eventually beat us as we're tipp when the beat Kilkenny but there is no team even close to taking on the dubs,

We're under new management and have had another barrage of retirements,

Tyrone I can't realistically see them doing it, or Monaghan either.

Donegal are a few years away as are Mayo now that they are both in transition like ourselves.

Kildare have lost daniel Flynn and god only knows what Meath and Cork will do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/01/2019 13:56:05    2155401

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You should look up the minor football roll of honor, that'll settle it once and for all it's the first ever 5 in a row in the men's game.

I watched the documentary last night and it was very well done and as much as it broke my heart reliving it, it was hard not to feel delighted for that great Offaly team."
U17s aren't men. ;)
Seriously, the documentary was very well put together and gave a good insight into one of the most iconic moments in GAA history.
It's hard to believe anything as dramatic will happen again, given the context of the occasion and the manner in which Offaly won it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 01/01/2019 16:20:16    2155408

Mayo gave us much more than a little competition

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/01/2019 16:48:54    2155410

Replying To WanPintWin:  "U17s aren't men. ;)
Seriously, the documentary was very well put together and gave a good insight into one of the most iconic moments in GAA history.
It's hard to believe anything as dramatic will happen again, given the context of the occasion and the manner in which Offaly won it."
Ya it's an excellent documentary in fairness and I thought it was interesting that there success started coming from industry coming to the area like the ESB and bord na Mona so lads didn't have to immigrate or move to other counties, and it disappeared again when those industries faded out.

it helps when you can have all your players in one place unlike down here and all up the west coast in general where our players are all over the place.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/01/2019 17:21:21    2155414

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's true about the competition, we had competition and dubs have Janine bar a little from Mayo , it was interesting ln the documentary last night that Offaly were building nicely for 3 years to eventually beat us as we're tipp when the beat Kilkenny but there is no team even close to taking on the dubs,

We're under new management and have had another barrage of retirements,

Tyrone I can't realistically see them doing it, or Monaghan either.

Donegal are a few years away as are Mayo now that they are both in transition like ourselves.

Kildare have lost daniel Flynn and god only knows what Meath and Cork will do."
Mayo made Dublin work for their all Ireland's and lucky not to win one ourselves. Was fierce competition and on a different planet to the easy All Ireland's previous mayo teams gave Kerry.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/01/2019 17:49:50    2155416

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You should look up the minor football roll of honor, that'll settle it once and for all it's the first ever 5 in a row in the men's game.

I watched the documentary last night and it was very well done and as much as it broke my heart reliving it, it was hard not to feel delighted for that great Offaly team."
Everyone has a little heartache in life Kingdom Boy. Glad you enjoyed the programme, painful though it must be. It was a high point for Offaly football, we have fallen a long way from then, one Leinster title in 1997, followed by a National League Title the following year. The decline of Bord Na Mona and ESB in Offaly were one factor in our fall, but not all. Most of the players were from clubs adjacent to, or based in areas with a lot of employment in turf production or power stations.

Kerry won 3 in a row from 1984 to 1986, before the team broke up until 1997.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 01/01/2019 19:08:12    2155421

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo made Dublin work for their all Ireland's and lucky not to win one ourselves. Was fierce competition and on a different planet to the easy All Ireland's previous mayo teams gave Kerry."
Yew with all due respect ye gave us nothing we just took those allirelands from ye, and ye couldn't blame the refs in those finals.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2019 10:44:08    2155440

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo made Dublin work for their all Ireland's and lucky not to win one ourselves. Was fierce competition and on a different planet to the easy All Ireland's previous mayo teams gave Kerry."
Tis True Mayo are a far superior ourfit in the last 10 years and had it been in any other era I think ye would have managed at least one of those ye reached. Just didn't have that bit of guile and strength in vital positions back in the previous All Irelands. I think ye could be back in mix again this year though.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/01/2019 12:16:50    2155450

As regards a Kerry input, while it would be interesting to hear their perspective, this documentary was about that Offaly team and their achievements in that period. It was called 'Players of the Faithful' after all

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 02/01/2019 12:37:31    2155454