Paul Mannion Different Class

Mannion is a brilliant player, probably in the top 6 players in the full forward line along with McManus, McBrearty, Clifford, Comer & Daniel Flynn. I think he can improve though and become more consistent.

Geaney had a very disappointing championship and I don't think he was that good the year before either. Quinlivan would be up their too but unfortunately we don't see enough of Tipp since their run to the semi in 2016.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 31/10/2018 13:19:00    2148863

Replying To clondalkindub:  "No disrespect to Mossy whose been a brilliant club player whose had many a great game for Vincent's but to even put him in the same bracket as what Mannion done the other night is just plain wrong , Mannion put on one of the greatest individual performance I've every seen in Dublin club football where he didn't miss a shot on target and basically scored every time he touched the ball all this with a bad hammer , his pace n power was on another level to anybody else on the field the only other Dublin club performance that was just as impressive was Bernard Brogan's ten points from play against Crokes and Paul Griffin in the final ten years ago."
Totally agree with you and that's my point , many went overboard on the back of a club final about Mossie , there are quite a few players could do what Mannion did Con O Callaghan mc breathy mc manus Clifford that's why they are all top drawer

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/10/2018 14:19:01    2148881

Replying To JDF:  "Mannion is a brilliant player, probably in the top 6 players in the full forward line along with McManus, McBrearty, Clifford, Comer & Daniel Flynn. I think he can improve though and become more consistent.

Geaney had a very disappointing championship and I don't think he was that good the year before either. Quinlivan would be up their too but unfortunately we don't see enough of Tipp since their run to the semi in 2016."
Quinliven and Sweeney are both outstanding for Tipp and would make nearly any county team. Id rate Ian Burke very highly as well he was magnificent in a lot of the games I saw this year, not as dynamic as some of the others but very effective nonetheless. These guys are probably just below the really elite top 4-5 in the country though.

I'm not sure where Paul Geaney falls, he had a quiet year for Kerry this year didn't look himself at all not really sure what the issue was but definitely right up there with the best in the business between 2014-17. He was on fire for his club lately so let's see what he does in 2019.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 31/10/2018 15:01:07    2148892

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Quinliven and Sweeney are both outstanding for Tipp and would make nearly any county team. Id rate Ian Burke very highly as well he was magnificent in a lot of the games I saw this year, not as dynamic as some of the others but very effective nonetheless. These guys are probably just below the really elite top 4-5 in the country though.

I'm not sure where Paul Geaney falls, he had a quiet year for Kerry this year didn't look himself at all not really sure what the issue was but definitely right up there with the best in the business between 2014-17. He was on fire for his club lately so let's see what he does in 2019."
A fully fit and motoring James O'Donoghue comes into the top bracket equation as well. He seemed to lose his way a wee bit after 2014 though. They'll need him and Geaney to really step up and become leaders of the Kerry team in 2019 given the raft of retirements?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 31/10/2018 15:20:04    2148897

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A fully fit and motoring James O'Donoghue comes into the top bracket equation as well. He seemed to lose his way a wee bit after 2014 though. They'll need him and Geaney to really step up and become leaders of the Kerry team in 2019 given the raft of retirements?"
I am not sure we will ever see the 2013-2014 version of O'Donaghue again he has had one injury after the next over the years and has just not looked the same player in recent years. If he gets his body fully right then maybe.

He will probably be used mostly as an impact sub from now on unless there are injuries, or they choose to use Clifford further out the field. We have a looming crisis in midfield and I wouldn't be shocked to see Sean O'Se in there eventually with Clifford at Centre Forward. Some people will think that's crazy but I wouldn't bet against it. Similar scenario to how Murphy has been used by yourselves over the years.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 31/10/2018 15:55:07    2148902

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I am not sure we will ever see the 2013-2014 version of O'Donaghue again he has had one injury after the next over the years and has just not looked the same player in recent years. If he gets his body fully right then maybe.

He will probably be used mostly as an impact sub from now on unless there are injuries, or they choose to use Clifford further out the field. We have a looming crisis in midfield and I wouldn't be shocked to see Sean O'Se in there eventually with Clifford at Centre Forward. Some people will think that's crazy but I wouldn't bet against it. Similar scenario to how Murphy has been used by yourselves over the years."
Yeah it's a shame for him. He was electric in that 2013/2014 period. He still couldn't hold Neil McGee scoreless in the 2014 final though :P

I really hope for the GAA's sake in general that Clifford is left inside to wreak havoc. By their own standards Kerry were poor in this year's super 8's, and yet Clifford was sensational. Woe betide the team that has to deal with Clifford when Kerry get back up to that top level we've been accustomed to seeing over the years.

For ourselves, regarding Murphy, I think people indulge in a bit of nostalgia when discussing his role. It would be all fine and dandy if everyone was adopting a traditional 15 on 15 formation. Look - we can't complain, we were one of the main protagonists in the game's defensive evolution. Who knows though - Odhran MacNiallais has been superb for Gweedore recently. If we can get our midfield ball winning right, and let Odhran do the playmaking, then an inside line of Murphy, a fully fit McBrearty and young Brennan could be very exciting.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 31/10/2018 16:32:57    2148910

2-6 for the main man today on a dodgy hammer and ankle. Best inside forward in the game right now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/11/2018 19:42:15    2150647

Replying To clondalkindub:  "2-6 for the main man today on a dodgy hammer and ankle. Best inside forward in the game right now."
He's a great player, but slow down the train. He scored 1-1 from play yesterday. Dunboyne aren't exactly the sternest test either. He's playing very well, but there are a number of other inside forwards who I'd put ahead of him.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 12/11/2018 14:18:45    2150778

Replying To clondalkindub:  "2-6 for the main man today on a dodgy hammer and ankle. Best inside forward in the game right now."
No he is not the best inside forward in the game and not by a long way. Good player alright but im not sure he would even be in the top 5.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 12/11/2018 14:31:40    2150780

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He's a great player, but slow down the train. He scored 1-1 from play yesterday. Dunboyne aren't exactly the sternest test either. He's playing very well, but there are a number of other inside forwards who I'd put ahead of him."
I was the game and his 1 goal was a complete gift where two Dunboyne lads made a balls of a handpass coming out of the back and Mannion had a 1 on 1 10 yards out as a result, great finish but a gift nonetheless. He was still good but Lavin actually didn't do too bad and won a decent bit of the ball that went in.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 12/11/2018 14:41:40    2150782

Easily the best inside forward right now , impossible to stop too much pace power and skill. He's destroying everyone in his wake.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/11/2018 14:47:43    2150787

Played a decent game yesterday but 1-5 of his 2-6 was from places balls, young Lavin had a decent game on him, nothing to get overly excited about now just yet

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/11/2018 15:09:09    2150792

Replying To Richieq:  "Played a decent game yesterday but 1-5 of his 2-6 was from places balls, young Lavin had a decent game on him, nothing to get overly excited about now just yet"
Cillian O Conor has won 5 all stars and two young player of the year awards for his free taking what's your point?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/11/2018 15:22:51    2150795

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Cillian O Conor has won 5 all stars and two young player of the year awards for his free taking what's your point?"
One All Star, 2014. But it's a well made point. He has a high profile primarily from kicking frees. Mannion has a lot more to his game than frees. Hopefully James Horan can get Cillian contributing more from play.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 12/11/2018 15:39:32    2150802

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Cillian O Conor has won 5 all stars and two young player of the year awards for his free taking what's your point?"
My point is his marker has a decent effort on him yesterday and Dunboyne gave away some silly frees and some were debateable decisions which helped his tally so no need to start building statues of Mannion just yet

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/11/2018 16:07:04    2150806

If scoring 1-01 from play against Dunboyne proves he's ia a different class, then god help us all.

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 12/11/2018 16:10:37    2150808

Replying To Ibbecek:  "If scoring 1-01 from play against Dunboyne proves he's ia a different class, then god help us all."
Jesus talk about twister something to suit yourself , I started this thread two weeks ago when I said "different class" but good man you twist away. By the way he's an all star the last two years so I think I'm basing it more than just the Dunboyne game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/11/2018 11:41:08    2150925

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/5-things-we-learned-from-the-club-gaa-weekend-400500?fbclid=IwAR24YcjA529SeGh_b0FbF5FLbpakl1PFfvKyYQjr0TakxsWkIQR9Wb1AYIY

Hard to argue with that

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/11/2018 15:08:00    2150966

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus talk about twister something to suit yourself , I started this thread two weeks ago when I said "different class" but good man you twist away. By the way he's an all star the last two years so I think I'm basing it more than just the Dunboyne game."
Don't mind All Stars sure Cluxton hasn't won one since 2013 so don't be putting stock into All Stars when ye were going to war over "Clucko" and his appalling treatment, the man scored 1-1 from play last Sunday and a handy 1-5 from frees, fair play to him some young fella from St Eunans in Letterkenny scored 2-12 out of 2-16 in a U21 championship game last weekend and I don't hear anyone going around looking to shower him with plaudits, we all know Dublin have an exceptional team at the minute full of immense skill, ability, desire, honesty etc etc, what we don't need is every Dub coming on here repeatedly shoving the fact down our throats, we know already and we accept it, we don't need reminding honestly.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/11/2018 16:43:37    2150980

Replying To Richieq:  "Don't mind All Stars sure Cluxton hasn't won one since 2013 so don't be putting stock into All Stars when ye were going to war over "Clucko" and his appalling treatment, the man scored 1-1 from play last Sunday and a handy 1-5 from frees, fair play to him some young fella from St Eunans in Letterkenny scored 2-12 out of 2-16 in a U21 championship game last weekend and I don't hear anyone going around looking to shower him with plaudits, we all know Dublin have an exceptional team at the minute full of immense skill, ability, desire, honesty etc etc, what we don't need is every Dub coming on here repeatedly shoving the fact down our throats, we know already and we accept it, we don't need reminding honestly."
I shower praise on other players and teams aswell, just when a young player becomes the best player in Ireland that needs to be highlighted.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/11/2018 18:15:36    2150992