O Byrne Cup 2019

Are Eamon and Joey Wallace not available to play this year?

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 12/01/2019 22:19:37    2156779

A lot will have been learned from today and a few lads will get a wake up call.
Biggest concerns for me was how easily we let Dublin in for their goal, the amount of chances we missed and why in gods name can we not take a penalty!
Plus side, there is a kick out strategy while movement up front was excellent. Only changes I would be making for the Tipp game is Reilly in for Hickey and O Sullivan for Quinn.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 12/01/2019 22:20:30    2156780

Shooting seemed a major problem tonight, some poor wides and balls dropped short ruining some good build up play, we must become ruthless in front of goal come the league, I don't read too much into this Dublin third team chat, a hell of a lot of that Dublin team would be good enough to start for over 90% of other teams in the country, that's the embarrassment of riches available to them. Focus on Tipp now in what is, and I don't like using this phrase, a must win game.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/01/2019 22:21:28    2156781

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually not worried at all. The game was meaningless and in fairness a great run out before the business really begins. As I said earlier not sure if playing a match 9 days before our push for promotion would have been ideal. Now don't get me wrong would have been delighted to win but wasn't to be. We kicked too many balls wide in first half and too many into keepers hands in second half. Can't wait for tipp game. Really enjoyed tonight's fair.
Hone the royal."
McEntee saying it very important game so he was goin for it.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 12/01/2019 22:37:26    2156782

It might not have been a game with a very high standard of football but for €10 admission fee it was the best entertainment value I got in a very long time. I thought Lavin played well in the corner and although we made plenty of mistakes, the one that really punished us was McGill dropping the ball when catching which led to the Dublin goal, he redeemed himself later winning high balls.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 12/01/2019 22:57:26    2156785

Replying To Richieq:  "Shooting seemed a major problem tonight, some poor wides and balls dropped short ruining some good build up play, we must become ruthless in front of goal come the league, I don't read too much into this Dublin third team chat, a hell of a lot of that Dublin team would be good enough to start for over 90% of other teams in the country, that's the embarrassment of riches available to them. Focus on Tipp now in what is, and I don't like using this phrase, a must win game."
Are you my brother from another motha? :). As that's pretty much what I was thinking. Nothing to be worried about, but ruthlessness in front of goal is badly needed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/01/2019 23:00:01    2156787

Disappointing not to get a result tonight. Andy was right to put out a strong team in a hostile Parnell park. I honestly think we are improving - there is much better shape to the team, transition to attack is quick, we have a kick out strategy and our rate of turnovers looks much better. The team is starting to show a bit of a backbone and I enjoyed watching some of our players playing on the edge tonight.

Our shooting was woeful tonight but we are creating much more chances.

Like yourself Richie I don't buy into this c team crap from Dublin.

Btw where have all the Meath fans gone? Very disappointing turnout tonight.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/01/2019 23:02:02    2156788

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "A lot will have been learned from today and a few lads will get a wake up call.
Biggest concerns for me was how easily we let Dublin in for their goal, the amount of chances we missed and why in gods name can we not take a penalty!
Plus side, there is a kick out strategy while movement up front was excellent. Only changes I would be making for the Tipp game is Reilly in for Hickey and O Sullivan for Quinn."
Again fair points all of them. Thought Conlon showed how good he can be when coming on. think the horrendous miss when he should have popped ball over can be put down to maybe a combination of inexperience and maybe naivety. This young lad is the prime example of where Andy must put arm round shoulder and encourage.
I am counting the days to tipp game. I'm really looking forward to it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/01/2019 23:04:53    2156789

Replying To Richieq:  "Shooting seemed a major problem tonight, some poor wides and balls dropped short ruining some good build up play, we must become ruthless in front of goal come the league, I don't read too much into this Dublin third team chat, a hell of a lot of that Dublin team would be good enough to start for over 90% of other teams in the country, that's the embarrassment of riches available to them. Focus on Tipp now in what is, and I don't like using this phrase, a must win game."
dont mean to be pedantic but its still a third strength dublin team

30+ lads where on a caribbean cruise.. thats our whole panel. Our first 15, our second 15 and so tonight was our third 15 with every single one of the 30 odd that went not involved/seeing game time.

just cause alot of those players may make other teams doesnt mean they arent dublins third strength. Thats like saying man city players that are regularly on the bench arent second choice vause theyd start for most pl clubs.

On the game, fully expected a meath win. They have more game time under their belt. Have beeb training longer, have had more in game experience with the new experimental rules, had a far more experienced team against a team who for the most part have never played together, a manager who was sitting on a cruise ship on monday, have played no games with the new rules and had players dropping all over the gaff with cramp late on, and only one run out where your 2 pt win in navan didnt do you justice. While you obviously dont read a whole lot into that, its a bit disconcerting as i said on the main forum.

I know RD states that McEntee will know whst he needs to address, tbh if he didnt know before nkw then he never will, he is a decent manager, but you cant get blood out of a stone and alas, the players at his disposal just arent good enough to compete with stronger Dublin teams and based on tonight where most your experienced fellas played some part, if they arent beating that Dublin team at this time of year then it's massacre stations in the summer if/when we play you with the main lads there.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/01/2019 23:14:15    2156790

Replying To meathalltheway:  "Are Eamon and Joey Wallace not available to play this year?"
Eamonn is taking the year out, not sure on Joey.

Where are Brian Power and Cian O'Brien this year too? McGill is the only Ratoath man left!

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/01/2019 23:21:12    2156791

Replying To meathalltheway:  "Are Eamon and Joey Wallace not available to play this year?"
No don't believe so

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/01/2019 23:28:47    2156792

Positives, Our back 6 looks quiet settled. Ronan Ryan and Daragh Campion look ready to make a significant impact and Seamus Lavin seems to have continued his club form into county. Negatives I don't trust Dardis or Brennan in goal in a big game, Quinn and Hickey didn't look up to it and we haven't got many players to add to the team today

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 12/01/2019 23:59:28    2156795

Scoring one penalty is pathetic. I know it's popular to bash soccer but some decent penalty takers would have done the trick.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 13/01/2019 01:59:07    2156799

Couldn't make it to Parnell Park myself but quite encouraged from what I heard. I think it was a good call to play a strong defence and give the new fellas a springboard to go and try make a name for themselves, no point in us being beaten out the gate as the game then tells us nothing about any new forwards coming in when the pressure is off, and the likes of Ryan Basquel can kill off any game, as mentioned by someone else any team Dublin put out will be strong, their strength in depth is ridiculous.

To get a win and draw against them in the off season is a positive, as is a weeks rest next week, as the Tipp game is massive. One I'm very much looking forward to now too. Two weeks and we'll see where we are at.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 13/01/2019 06:19:15    2156802

Already seeing a lot of blame being pointed at Andy McEntee after the loss v. Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup. I couldnt make the game myself. In my own opinion, in spite of results, this is the best man for the job in Meath. They need a pragmatic, disciplined coach. The reality is that Meath have no standout star players, but under McEntee they have shown in the National League (a few good wins) and v. Tyrone last year and Donegal the year before that as a team they are well drilled and well trained and can be a challenge for anyone when their game comes together. Its when the plan doesent work that they look average in the extreme, hence the results and total lack of consistency from 2016 onward. From what I see, a more naive manager could potentially lead Meath into the abyss with this current squad. I cant see the argument for change here at all. Thoughts?

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 13/01/2019 07:17:20    2156804

Replying To Young_gael:  "Already seeing a lot of blame being pointed at Andy McEntee after the loss v. Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup. I couldnt make the game myself. In my own opinion, in spite of results, this is the best man for the job in Meath. They need a pragmatic, disciplined coach. The reality is that Meath have no standout star players, but under McEntee they have shown in the National League (a few good wins) and v. Tyrone last year and Donegal the year before that as a team they are well drilled and well trained and can be a challenge for anyone when their game comes together. Its when the plan doesent work that they look average in the extreme, hence the results and total lack of consistency from 2016 onward. From what I see, a more naive manager could potentially lead Meath into the abyss with this current squad. I cant see the argument for change here at all. Thoughts?"
Well obviously mcentee is the only man for the job. But I actually haven't seen the comments blaming him, now I'm trying to drop down on the social media, but apart from a few gombeens who know very little, I think mcentee has the vast majority of the supporters behind him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2019 09:50:28    2156811

Anybody that can't see we ar e improving ,particularly defensively , hasnt a rashers. It wont be enough to get us promoted but should see us push hard to get to Leinster final

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 13/01/2019 09:51:33    2156812

Replying To waynoI:  "dont mean to be pedantic but its still a third strength dublin team

30+ lads where on a caribbean cruise.. thats our whole panel. Our first 15, our second 15 and so tonight was our third 15 with every single one of the 30 odd that went not involved/seeing game time.

just cause alot of those players may make other teams doesnt mean they arent dublins third strength. Thats like saying man city players that are regularly on the bench arent second choice vause theyd start for most pl clubs.

On the game, fully expected a meath win. They have more game time under their belt. Have beeb training longer, have had more in game experience with the new experimental rules, had a far more experienced team against a team who for the most part have never played together, a manager who was sitting on a cruise ship on monday, have played no games with the new rules and had players dropping all over the gaff with cramp late on, and only one run out where your 2 pt win in navan didnt do you justice. While you obviously dont read a whole lot into that, its a bit disconcerting as i said on the main forum.

I know RD states that McEntee will know whst he needs to address, tbh if he didnt know before nkw then he never will, he is a decent manager, but you cant get blood out of a stone and alas, the players at his disposal just arent good enough to compete with stronger Dublin teams and based on tonight where most your experienced fellas played some part, if they arent beating that Dublin team at this time of year then it's massacre stations in the summer if/when we play you with the main lads there."
Wayne you call call them a third team, back up reserves, Dublin light whatever you want it still doesn't mask the fact that last night Meath played 15 odd footballers who were playing at "ahem" home, mad to make an impression and stake a claim in the squad come league and championship, we wouldn't have faced such eagerness if we played the normal Dublin starting 15. I do not see defeat last night as a cause for alarm bells as some Meath supporters have, we have a lot of new players cutting their teeth and established players trying to shake off the effects of some scarring defeats in recent years but I like the approach being taken and an optimistic of a relatively decent year, I am also heartened by our recent underage successes which have included victories over Dublin etc so we aren't going to throw ourselves overboard on the basis of last nights game, we are well aware of the work needed and our position in the football world, defeat last night makes that position no worse than before the game.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/01/2019 09:57:59    2156814

Replying To Belt:  "Eamonn is taking the year out, not sure on Joey.

Where are Brian Power and Cian O'Brien this year too? McGill is the only Ratoath man left!"
Power is off travelling I believe, O'Brien injured

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/01/2019 09:58:52    2156815

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well obviously mcentee is the only man for the job. But I actually haven't seen the comments blaming him, now I'm trying to drop down on the social media, but apart from a few gombeens who know very little, I think mcentee has the vast majority of the supporters behind him."
Supporters?

What supporters?

Seriously- where was the Meath support last night? I couldn't believe how few travelled...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 13/01/2019 10:07:55    2156817