O Byrne Cup 2019

The Dubs on holidays,all of the squad that won the All Ireland are away so this will be a dubs 3rd or 4th string team. If we can beat them we may throw our hats at it. Wexford were very poor last saturday

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 07/01/2019 14:33:09    2155950

I think It would be nice to win on Saturday it might help with newer players development playing Dublin.Some of the Dublin players will be aiming to impress so it should be a decent contest. On the other hand if we win we are playing on the final 20th 21st of Jan. so that's very close to the Tipp game on the 27th. So it hard to know if getting to the final is advantage or disadvantage. I suppose its up to management and where they feel another game would help or not as regards try new players etc.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/01/2019 15:08:45    2155955

Anyone know what the craic is with the goalkeeping situation? It's seem to be a hot topic at the start of each season under Andy's reign. Big Joe and Gally's returns now Dardis playing a couple of games there. Seems odd we're playing one of the best Full Forwards in the county between the sticks or has he a previous track record in there that I don't know about? We don't seem to have seen much of Mark Brennan at all since his surprise call up to the panel. Surely worth taking a look at him at some stage - at 35 surely it's now or never!

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 07/01/2019 15:18:40    2155956

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "What?"
Too much being made of us using an outfield club player in goals, management obviously feel he is one of the best goalkeeping options we have - Conor Martin, Cormac O'Sullivan, Brendan Murphy and David Gallagher all played club football outfield and did more than an adequate job for us as county goalkeeper.

Although saying that, Dardis did make a horrendous mistake for the Wexford goal. An attempted short, kick-out went straight to the Wexford forward who then lobbed him

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 07/01/2019 15:37:11    2155969

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "This is a no win game for us. Win and we were only playing the Dublin 3rd team. Lose and people will say that we are going nowhere.

I think Andy should continue to experiment and not play a full team. Play at least 5 of the new players to the squad and leave some of the established players on the bench."
Got to say I agree with that. We know what keoghan, lavin, mcgill, menton, Reilly, mcentee (James) Newman Brennan will bring to the game, no point in risking injury. Come tipp game they will all start, presumably they are near peak fitness, I see no benefits in playing them, only drawbacks if something should happen. I think we should field similar team to longford game , minus Reilly and Brennan. Let the panelists try to show something to push for a starting place. Winning also is not something that imo is paramount, with the final one week before tipp game. League is what matters and promotion is a must.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/01/2019 15:46:20    2155975

Replying To Belt:  "Too much being made of us using an outfield club player in goals, management obviously feel he is one of the best goalkeeping options we have - Conor Martin, Cormac O'Sullivan, Brendan Murphy and David Gallagher all played club football outfield and did more than an adequate job for us as county goalkeeper.

Although saying that, Dardis did make a horrendous mistake for the Wexford goal. An attempted short, kick-out went straight to the Wexford forward who then lobbed him"
Ahh sure haven't all our keepers done that one lol. Luckily game nearly over and it wouldn't make a difference. Also I have no problem with dardis playing in goals and obviously he doesn't himself otherwise he wouldn't have done it. Maybe just maybe he feels he can offer more as a goalie than a forward where he may be behind Newman, o Reilly, McMahon, Reilly, Conlon, Brennan, Tobin and a few others. So maybe he feels he has something to offer. Also haven't we a new goalkeeping coach? One of the best in country from his loi form. So I'll leave the decision to him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/01/2019 15:54:06    2155978

I hear what you're saying about our track record of outfield players playing in goals but the game has evolved and it's become the most key position on the field.

You don't see the top dogs like Cluxton or Beggan playing full forward for their club and hitting 2-6 in a county semi-final. They are masters of their profession and arguably their team's most key player.

I'm not saying we're omitting anyone of Beggan's calibre but I just don't see why it's a position we've messed around with so much since Andy took over.

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 07/01/2019 17:32:59    2155994

Replying To The_Ripper:  "I hear what you're saying about our track record of outfield players playing in goals but the game has evolved and it's become the most key position on the field.

You don't see the top dogs like Cluxton or Beggan playing full forward for their club and hitting 2-6 in a county semi-final. They are masters of their profession and arguably their team's most key player.

I'm not saying we're omitting anyone of Beggan's calibre but I just don't see why it's a position we've messed around with so much since Andy took over."
Doesn't Cluxton play outfield for his club's second team? Not even sure he plays for their first team in any capacity.

Dardis is a very good footballer, no doubt but maybe lacks the sheer pace to be a top intercounty forward (not that he is slow or anything). If Brendan Murphy (former premier league gk) and an intelligent man, thinks that Dardis could do something for us as gk, whether that be due to his ball striking and distribution etc, then that should be good enough to go on for now, we can make our minds up at end of the season. I've no issue with it anyway - I'm just happy that McEntee might finally be coming up with kick out strategy!!!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 07/01/2019 18:44:42    2156003

Replying To Crinigan:  "Doesn't Cluxton play outfield for his club's second team? Not even sure he plays for their first team in any capacity.

Dardis is a very good footballer, no doubt but maybe lacks the sheer pace to be a top intercounty forward (not that he is slow or anything). If Brendan Murphy (former premier league gk) and an intelligent man, thinks that Dardis could do something for us as gk, whether that be due to his ball striking and distribution etc, then that should be good enough to go on for now, we can make our minds up at end of the season. I've no issue with it anyway - I'm just happy that McEntee might finally be coming up with kick out strategy!!!"
Gary Rogers isn't it, though he has pedigree himself and I'd agree. Also unsure of Dardlis at this level and although it's not a fair way of judging a player, the county final against an admittedly exceptionally good Lavin confirmed some of my doubts. He comes across as a good fella so hope it works out for him in whichever capacity.

Also RD, I may have questioned this before but is it just me who is still unsure of Brennan? Have no idea what he has done to merit being an automatic starter and if he is based on last year's performances we are shorter than I had first thought. I don't doubt he has ability but to say he is a shoe in on what we have seen on last year alone is madness. He is the type of player I'd have said should be absolutely firing now at this time of year to kick on in his 2nd year and earn his spot.

Game of opinions an all that.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 07/01/2019 20:22:46    2156013

Mcentee will play a strong team, and so he should.......but he'll play the likes of campion, Devine and a few others. You don't need to play a novice 15 to try lads out, you can mix them in with the current starters, that's actually more beneficial to them...... sure you won't see much from a lad that's playing on a team getting hammered chasing around a dub for 70 mins. Dardis may aswell try gk if he's any use there cause he just isn't an intercounty ff.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 08/01/2019 06:48:51    2156036

On the dubs, we'll be playing a bunch of their fringe players who'll be bursting their asses to show the can get into the squad for the league.

On Dardis, If he's comfortable doing the jobs lets go with it. I'm not convinced by Colgan who's second choice in Don/ Ash. Hannigan and Burlingham aren't available after falling out with Andy so we've got to go with the hand we've been dealt with. As plenty have said Mick McQuillan, Conor Martin, Cormac Sullivan and David Gallagher all played outfield for their clubs. Heck even Gary Rogers himself was a reluctant keeper (I played with him in school and know he wasn't fond of it for gaelic) and played as a half forward for Ultans/ Cuthberts back in his younger days.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/01/2019 10:14:31    2156053

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Gary Rogers isn't it, though he has pedigree himself and I'd agree. Also unsure of Dardlis at this level and although it's not a fair way of judging a player, the county final against an admittedly exceptionally good Lavin confirmed some of my doubts. He comes across as a good fella so hope it works out for him in whichever capacity.

Also RD, I may have questioned this before but is it just me who is still unsure of Brennan? Have no idea what he has done to merit being an automatic starter and if he is based on last year's performances we are shorter than I had first thought. I don't doubt he has ability but to say he is a shoe in on what we have seen on last year alone is madness. He is the type of player I'd have said should be absolutely firing now at this time of year to kick on in his 2nd year and earn his spot.

Game of opinions an all that."
He was motm v Tyrone I think we can all agree with that, also have some very good performances in league, but also some below par, however I think the team needs that raw enthusiasm and aggression he brings to side, I expect a lot more from him this year after what I would call some nervy games last year. I think with Conlon and Reilly he will come into his own. But again that's just my opinion

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2019 11:35:49    2156067

Replying To royaldunne:  "He was motm v Tyrone I think we can all agree with that, also have some very good performances in league, but also some below par, however I think the team needs that raw enthusiasm and aggression he brings to side, I expect a lot more from him this year after what I would call some nervy games last year. I think with Conlon and Reilly he will come into his own. But again that's just my opinion"
Brennan is an aggressive player, some say passionate, whatever it is we need this enthusiasm and attitude on the field. He is well known to be put out of grounds never mind off the field (we don't need this) but he has calmed this down and i reckon its alot to do with the training & experience hes getting with the County backroom. He seems to have things under control now and I expect we will see alot more positive plays out of him this year. I'm not worried about Ben at all, he will come into his own.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2019 14:15:41    2156108

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Mcentee will play a strong team, and so he should.......but he'll play the likes of campion, Devine and a few others. You don't need to play a novice 15 to try lads out, you can mix them in with the current starters, that's actually more beneficial to them...... sure you won't see much from a lad that's playing on a team getting hammered chasing around a dub for 70 mins. Dardis may aswell try gk if he's any use there cause he just isn't an intercounty ff."
Think we should play our strongest team at the weekend with the new lads who impressed last week like Kane and Campion keeping their place.

Even if it's not Dublin at full strength, we need to start getting in a habit of beating them at Senior level again.

If we win, the final would be only a week from opening round of league which is an issue but we can play an experimental team for that if required.

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 08/01/2019 14:24:01    2156111

Is there a chance that the 3 cilles lads will start for Meath against Dublin... Some achievement if this happens.... And all forwards.

Have 3 players from cilles ever started for Meath ??

royaljackeen (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 08/01/2019 17:47:06    2156152

Replying To royaldunne:  "He was motm v Tyrone I think we can all agree with that, also have some very good performances in league, but also some below par, however I think the team needs that raw enthusiasm and aggression he brings to side, I expect a lot more from him this year after what I would call some nervy games last year. I think with Conlon and Reilly he will come into his own. But again that's just my opinion"
With the greatest respect I don't remember this either, I thought everyone involved that day deserved immense credit, though my overriding memory that sticks out and haunts me is his easy free he missed off the post at the end which came back to haunt us when McShane went up the other end and forced the draw for extra time, which was the defining moment.

I'm not saying a missed free deserves criticism, more just pointing out who memories differ for these situations. Off the top of my head I'd have thought James McEntee was MOTM that day. Brennans work rate was good as was everyone else's if we're being honest, which also should be the minimum requirement.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 08/01/2019 19:00:23    2156162

We've learned a lot from the O Byrne cup so far, McEntee has cast his net far and wide which is what most people hoped for.

For the Dublin game we should be going with a team similar to that of the first round of the league and I would be looking at something like this:

1. Barry Dardis
2. Seamus Lavin
3. Conor McGill
4. Ryan/Glynn/Gallagher (Nothing really between them)
5. James McEntee
6. Donal Keoghan
7. Niall Kane
8. Brian Menton
9. Adam Flanagan
10. Hickey/Devine
11. Darragh Campion
12. Graham Reilly
13. Cillian O Sullivan
14. Mickey Newman
15. Thomas O Reilly

I'm picking the new players based on what I have seen in the Dublin, Wexford and Longford games as well as a couple of more experienced heads.

Dardis could be a great find as a keeper, I don't think he has any experience there but his kickouts could be vital to our year, he wouldn't be far off Beggan with regards to his distance with no tee and his accuracy is pretty good too. My two concerns would be shot stopping and how he deals with a high ball but I would rather learn it now than in the championship.

Most of the backs pick themselves, McCoy and Shane McEntee are unlucky to lose out but James and Niall offer more going forward as well as better under the breaking ball.

Shane also gives us another option at midfield and so does Devine.

Upfront, Campion and O Reilly have done enough to start based on the last few games, Graham, Cillian and Mickey add experience while Devine or Hickey are great workers and will cover ground for us. This leaves, McMahon, Brennan, Conlon in reserve for us.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 08/01/2019 19:33:26    2156167

Replying To dunboynelad:  "With the greatest respect I don't remember this either, I thought everyone involved that day deserved immense credit, though my overriding memory that sticks out and haunts me is his easy free he missed off the post at the end which came back to haunt us when McShane went up the other end and forced the draw for extra time, which was the defining moment.

I'm not saying a missed free deserves criticism, more just pointing out who memories differ for these situations. Off the top of my head I'd have thought James McEntee was MOTM that day. Brennans work rate was good as was everyone else's if we're being honest, which also should be the minimum requirement."
Well the ratings afterwards rated him as the highest rated Meath player. And while that miss will haunt us all no more so than Ben himself, he popped over some superb scores that day, including from play , and stepped up to take the frees after a few misses , he wasn't first choice free taker so one off the post where we dealing with centimeters (and it was actually quite close to sideline if I remember correctly ) could be wrong on that but it was close to stand side, anyway as I said opinions differ but he was the highest rated player on the papers from Meath that day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2019 21:55:28    2156190

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "We've learned a lot from the O Byrne cup so far, McEntee has cast his net far and wide which is what most people hoped for.

For the Dublin game we should be going with a team similar to that of the first round of the league and I would be looking at something like this:

1. Barry Dardis
2. Seamus Lavin
3. Conor McGill
4. Ryan/Glynn/Gallagher (Nothing really between them)
5. James McEntee
6. Donal Keoghan
7. Niall Kane
8. Brian Menton
9. Adam Flanagan
10. Hickey/Devine
11. Darragh Campion
12. Graham Reilly
13. Cillian O Sullivan
14. Mickey Newman
15. Thomas O Reilly

I'm picking the new players based on what I have seen in the Dublin, Wexford and Longford games as well as a couple of more experienced heads.

Dardis could be a great find as a keeper, I don't think he has any experience there but his kickouts could be vital to our year, he wouldn't be far off Beggan with regards to his distance with no tee and his accuracy is pretty good too. My two concerns would be shot stopping and how he deals with a high ball but I would rather learn it now than in the championship.

Most of the backs pick themselves, McCoy and Shane McEntee are unlucky to lose out but James and Niall offer more going forward as well as better under the breaking ball.

Shane also gives us another option at midfield and so does Devine.

Upfront, Campion and O Reilly have done enough to start based on the last few games, Graham, Cillian and Mickey add experience while Devine or Hickey are great workers and will cover ground for us. This leaves, McMahon, Brennan, Conlon in reserve for us."
For me I'd go with

1. Dardis
2. Lavin
3. McGill
4. Glynn
5. McEntee
6. Keoghan
7. Kane
8. Menton
9. Flanagan
10. Conlon
11. Brennan
12. Campion
13. Newman
14. Reilly
15. T O Reilly

On a separate note anyone know anything about paddy Kenneally??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2019 22:01:50    2156191

Replying To royaldunne:  "For me I'd go with

1. Dardis
2. Lavin
3. McGill
4. Glynn
5. McEntee
6. Keoghan
7. Kane
8. Menton
9. Flanagan
10. Conlon
11. Brennan
12. Campion
13. Newman
14. Reilly
15. T O Reilly

On a separate note anyone know anything about paddy Kenneally??"
He has gone travelling as well unfortunately.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 09/01/2019 09:09:53    2156213