Experimental Rule Changes Proposed For Gaelic Football

A lot of negativity here as usual. I like a lot of these changes.
1. The zones for kickouts is a good move in my opinion. It restricts the defending teams ability to set up defensively and also prevents them from flooding the middle third to stop primary possession. It now means that two of your players have a minimum of 40 m to gain possession from the kick out with only 2 opponents to worry about. It also forces the keeper to play the ball into that 40m and not play safe. All of this is good imo.
2. The extension of the mark to catches inside the 20m line is a positive as is the 15 second rule to take the kick. I think this combined with the 3 handpass rule will change the game dramatically. I would prefer if the mark zone included the D but all in all a positive imo.
3. The return of the sin bin is positive. I think they should have gotten rid of black card altogether and just had the sin bin for yellow card offences but it's a positive and will evolve in time imo.
4. I'm not convinced there is a need for the sideline kick one but it isn't significant imo.
All in all not too bad at all imo.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 02/10/2018 20:33:57    2144831

Think all of these changes are fantastic. Well at least they are worth a shot. As for the move toward afl, well anything that moves us in that direction is to be warmly welcomed. Accurate kick passing and high fielding is what I love about Gaelic football.... If you want to see those in abundance watch any AFL game over modern day inter County which is muck to watch. These changes at least show something is being done. Gives cause for excitement..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/10/2018 20:44:08    2144833

good luck getting someone to referee these rules, 5 changes complete mad thinking

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 02/10/2018 20:53:44    2144835

Also this proposed mark, how will that discourage blanket defence, I mean isn't that what we are meant to be doing, discouraging negative play, all this does is give a guaranteed score if you catch the ball inside, this will encourage even more negative play not less. After reading this,brollys idea looks even more appealing, certainly if I had to choose between them I would go with his any day.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 02/10/2018 20:56:18    2144837

Replying To sam1884:  "So after three handpasses the ball has to be kicked in that passage of play?! This would be the most important addition to the game in a number of years and bring back "football"! It would transform the football landscape and bring very good teams to the fore. The likes of Tyrone would struggle as I think this one change would reward attacking teams. If you can't kick the ball, you would seriously struggle to get into any attacking positions. The other suggestions look complicated and would need to be seen during a game."
What do you mean? Tyrone not an attacking team?..an average of 19 scores per game in the championship..watch back..Tyrone using the kicking game to very good effect so new rule change will suit them perfectly

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/10/2018 21:00:25    2144839

They're waiting until Cluxton retires before the present GAA boss will endorse it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 02/10/2018 21:20:15    2144845

I'd like where possible the ref to be connected to someone reviewing video on the sideline and more emphasis on the linesmen getting the refs attention if the see fouling and not just when the ref asks them

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/10/2018 21:27:36    2144846

It would be a nightmare to ref. But the handpass thing has merits. However it would be easier to patrol and enforce if it was simple. Receive ball from hand pass you must kick it. Simple

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2018 21:30:30    2144847

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "A lot of negativity here as usual. I like a lot of these changes.
1. The zones for kickouts is a good move in my opinion. It restricts the defending teams ability to set up defensively and also prevents them from flooding the middle third to stop primary possession. It now means that two of your players have a minimum of 40 m to gain possession from the kick out with only 2 opponents to worry about. It also forces the keeper to play the ball into that 40m and not play safe. All of this is good imo.
2. The extension of the mark to catches inside the 20m line is a positive as is the 15 second rule to take the kick. I think this combined with the 3 handpass rule will change the game dramatically. I would prefer if the mark zone included the D but all in all a positive imo.
3. The return of the sin bin is positive. I think they should have gotten rid of black card altogether and just had the sin bin for yellow card offences but it's a positive and will evolve in time imo.
4. I'm not convinced there is a need for the sideline kick one but it isn't significant imo.
All in all not too bad at all imo."
The two players in the middle would be funny, imagine say you have someone like Aiden and Seamie O Shea in midfield for Mayo. Dublin stick in Jack McCaffery and Jonny Copper. Cluxton pings it out to the flank and it becomes a test of pace then.

I know Mayo have a couple of pacey players as well, but more for example purposes.

Then you can mix it up, throw a Fenton or Howard in with a MCaffery, is Cluxton going high or pinging it for the speedsor into the flank.

Above just as examples.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2018 21:34:46    2144848

Replying To Barrowsider:  "Also this proposed mark, how will that discourage blanket defence, I mean isn't that what we are meant to be doing, discouraging negative play, all this does is give a guaranteed score if you catch the ball inside, this will encourage even more negative play not less. After reading this,brollys idea looks even more appealing, certainly if I had to choose between them I would go with his any day."
If it is a guaranteed score, might it encourage more attacking play? Why not give it a chance?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/10/2018 21:36:19    2144849

The hand pass rule isn't needed either, I think it's enough to incentivize attacking play with the expansion of the mark.

Imagine the scenario a brilliant bit of attacking play player bearing down and goal, man inside, won't pass it because he can't be accurate with a kick pass hitting the buy line so instead goes for the safety option of the man behind.

Also, I think it creates a role for a safety player probably the sweeper. So teams break as usual. Nothing on they do three hand passes in front of of a blanket, nothing on , if no obvious kick pass is on, they kick it back back to the safety player and go again.

Take Dublin playing and probing for an opening in front of a blanket, would change just means they kick it back to the safety player likely a Kilkenny or a O Sullivan every third hand pass.

We will be bemoaning the backward kick pass soon enough.

It's a model for time wasting and taking the sting or momentum out of the game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2018 21:48:47    2144852

Replying To TheUsername:  "The two players in the middle would be funny, imagine say you have someone like Aiden and Seamie O Shea in midfield for Mayo. Dublin stick in Jack McCaffery and Jonny Copper. Cluxton pings it out to the flank and it becomes a test of pace then.

I know Mayo have a couple of pacey players as well, but more for example purposes.

Then you can mix it up, throw a Fenton or Howard in with a MCaffery, is Cluxton going high or pinging it for the speedsor into the flank.

Above just as examples."
Or you have say Fenton, Howard, Cooper, McCaffery all at the 40 metere line. Howard and Fenton an inch over the line and Cooper and McCaffery an inch before it.

Just as Cluxton makes contact the players switch position and rather facing the aerial threat of Fenton and Howard your chasing McCaffery and Cooper.

It's works vice versa as well, be some Craic.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2018 21:59:47    2144855

I think some of these rules are absurd on their own merits. Handpass and mark will promote blanket defences even more. And that kickout zone will not promote the skill of high catching but it will promote the skill of being very fast.

But the biggest thing that has not really been thought about it seems is club level. Specifically how this is refereed. Club refereeing is, by and large, awful...so how will your average club ref officiate the zonal ko rule? How often will a referee lose count of the handpasses? How often will a referee count 15 seconds in their head for a post-mark free and blow for a throw ball after about 6 seconds? Could the GAA not just get real.

The only reason there are huge calls for change is because of social media and the depth of analysis nowadays. Anyone who thinks that football was better in the 70s, 80s, 90s and 00s is bonkers and should be forced to watch GAA Gold on repeat until they cop on.

Could the game benefit from subtle changes over time? Yes. But these changes are certainly not subtle.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 02/10/2018 22:06:31    2144857

Replying To Damothedub:  "As allways with football boo hoo everything before it's even trialed , same happened with black card same happened with the mark , same happened with modifications to kick outs , this years Championship had one of the best teams ever playing in one of the worst championships ever from a spectator view, people are voting with their feet , if you don't put on entertainment they will find it elsewhere, hurling wipes the floor with the big game this year from everything from basic skills entertainment and close games , big ball needs to fight back , give changes a chance if they don't work fair enough bin them , from what I've read they are to be trialed only , where's the harm , as I said in earlier post not making changes will do more harm than good"
Fully agree with Damo.
You always get 80% of GAA people who'll say it won't work but to hell with them. Give it a go and see what happens.
Get all officials involved and all rules can be easily implemented.
Linesmen can watch the kick out and sideline kick
7 offical to watch the sin bin/cards and hand passes
Umpires call the mark inside the 20min
All the rest the red can watch easily enough

They won't all work but they are all worth trying.
I'd throw in an illegal Defense rule like NBA basketball (which bans zonal Defense) and cut subs to 3 personally

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 02/10/2018 22:18:44    2144861

Replying To breakingball22:  "I think some of these rules are absurd on their own merits. Handpass and mark will promote blanket defences even more. And that kickout zone will not promote the skill of high catching but it will promote the skill of being very fast.

But the biggest thing that has not really been thought about it seems is club level. Specifically how this is refereed. Club refereeing is, by and large, awful...so how will your average club ref officiate the zonal ko rule? How often will a referee lose count of the handpasses? How often will a referee count 15 seconds in their head for a post-mark free and blow for a throw ball after about 6 seconds? Could the GAA not just get real.

The only reason there are huge calls for change is because of social media and the depth of analysis nowadays. Anyone who thinks that football was better in the 70s, 80s, 90s and 00s is bonkers and should be forced to watch GAA Gold on repeat until they cop on.

Could the game benefit from subtle changes over time? Yes. But these changes are certainly not subtle."
Also underage, , some of the rules clearly weren't devised with underage in Mind, kickout, hand pass, scoring zones.

More like home work then anything for young lads and too overly technical and restrictive at that level in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2018 22:19:40    2144862

Meant underage at club level and early participation, not sure the rules make uptake or participation attractive at grass roots.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/10/2018 22:21:12    2144863

Replying To royaldunne:  "It would be a nightmare to ref. But the handpass thing has merits. However it would be easier to patrol and enforce if it was simple. Receive ball from hand pass you must kick it. Simple"
Your suggestion is at least easier for the ref I suppose.

Easier for a team setting up with a blanket too.

The only way to attack a blanket is with handpassing! C'mon people!

Hand passing is not the cause of football's problems. The lateral handpassing out around the middle that people dislike is a symptom of the problems not the cause of it. Also that lateral handpassing can easily be completed by kickpassing back and forth too! Think of what Dublin did against Donegal this year, almost all those handpasses could have really been kicked to one another too!

Limiting handpassing in any way is lunacy.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 02/10/2018 22:21:24    2144864

My first impressions are very positive, its great to see that the GAA might be getting serious about solving the the main issues issues facing Gaelic football (constant hand passing and massed defensives) rather than tinkering around the edges. I think the kick out/zoning proposals could completely turn the tide against massed defensive tactics.
Proposal 1. On the face if it seems like a good idea limiting hand passing although I think may not be that necessary if the kick/out zonal rule comes in.
Proposal 2. Sideline kick going forward has to be a good move.
Proposal 3. I think this goes too far (if I'm understanding it right), encouraging high fielding is great but I don't like the idea where a high field near the goal automatically leads to an almost certain score. We could end up with a sport where most scores come from close in frees.
Proposal 4. 10 min sin bin for 2 yellow cards or one black cards seems fair to me, I like this idea.
Proposal 5. This is the type of proposal I think which will make massed defensive strategies obsolete. Considering how many kick outs in a match I can't see how defensive set ups could be effective with a rule like this in place. Also with more space for attacking players I think managers would prioritise players accurately kicking the ball into forwards in space. Might need to a bit of tweeking, it would be ironic if this rule led to attacking players outnumbering defensive players and we again would not get man on man matchups that people want to see.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 02/10/2018 22:26:06    2144865

Replying To breakingball22:  "I think some of these rules are absurd on their own merits. Handpass and mark will promote blanket defences even more. And that kickout zone will not promote the skill of high catching but it will promote the skill of being very fast.

Could the game benefit from subtle changes over time? Yes. But these changes are certainly not subtle."
good on u,wellsaid,100% correct

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 02/10/2018 22:27:13    2144866

Early days, have just had a read through, first impressions are positive, ultimately you'd need to see a few games in play before you could make a final judgement kicks going forward from sidelines I like, limiting hand passes I like not sure about the mark expansion, but after watching footballs recent evolvement as a spectacle I'd be all for anything that brings back speed excitement and rewarding attacking play
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5082 - 02/10/2018 16:35:04
Damo could you not put a space before all commas/full stops. Really annoys my OCD/Anxiety....
I think mark will encourage teams to not just hand pass way up pitch
Something did have to be done.
Will all of of these be implemented for the 2019 league. It's seems like 5 changes are too many.
The last change regarding zoning is a bit mad.
Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 2106 - 02/10/2018 16:49:18
5 isnt that many. Could be like some seasons in rugby where there is 8/10 law changes.....
So after three handpasses the ball has to be kicked in that passage of play?! This would be the most important addition to the game in a number of years and bring back "football"! It would transform the football landscape and bring very good teams to the fore. The likes of Tyrone would struggle as I think this one change would reward attacking teams. If you can't kick the ball, you would seriously struggle to get into any attacking positions. The other suggestions look complicated and would need to be seen during a game.
sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 335 - 02/10/2018 16:52:59
Totally agree with you. Would be great to see the really handball teams persay changing how they play...

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 02/10/2018 22:29:37    2144867