What Happens On The Field Stays On The Field

Does this mantra still ring true today?
Anyone have any examples of where people thought, flip this, I'm going to the cops etc?

Is there a line for this, as in, once you cross over it with certain behaviour then all bets are off?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/09/2018 10:40:40    2143121

Replying To keithlemon:  "Does this mantra still ring true today?
Anyone have any examples of where people thought, flip this, I'm going to the cops etc?

Is there a line for this, as in, once you cross over it with certain behaviour then all bets are off?"
remember back in the 90's there was a couple of games in Roscommon which ended up in court. Think where it ends up in serious injury, lost teeth, broken jaws etc it does happen that someone will bring charges .
Also remember a club game where a county player got badly taken out in a game, but worse injuries. The next time the two clubs met it all kicked off, everyone knew that the team were out for revenge.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 21/09/2018 10:57:57    2143126

Things can happen in matches like injuries and sometimes fights due to the physical nature of our games but there's no place for going out to intentionaly do harm to another player. We do have a responsibility to the game and each other

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 21/09/2018 11:25:59    2143135

If I got badly injured in a match, I would have no problem going to the Gardai if I felt it was intentional and especially if I got hit off the ball.
So no, what happens on the field does not always stay there.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 21/09/2018 11:43:52    2143140

What about something like racial abuse?
Sean Og O'Hailpin and Lee Chin both made mention of being subjected to such abuse but as far as I'm aware neither pursued it further.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/09/2018 12:10:06    2143148

"On the field" is covered by the same laws as "off the field". Just because someone is playing a match does not mean an assault cannot occur and therefore anyone assaulted or battered has every right to take it through the legal channels the same as if it happened outside a pub on a Saturday night

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 21/09/2018 12:55:48    2143153

On two occasions during club matches I played in, the person who was 'assaulted ' on the pitch brought the perpetrator to court and had them done.
Substantial money changed hands in each case. And that was in the 80s!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/09/2018 13:50:29    2143156

Replying To realdub:  "On two occasions during club matches I played in, the person who was 'assaulted ' on the pitch brought the perpetrator to court and had them done.
Substantial money changed hands in each case. And that was in the 80s!"
And all these years later you're still bitter about it realdub!! ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 21/09/2018 14:25:03    2143167

Replying To MesAmis:  "And all these years later you're still bitter about it realdub!! ;)"
It was a friend of a friend :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/09/2018 14:50:00    2143172

I attended a game we're my son had his eye socket dislodged he was blindsided by a thug whose own players and coaches were sickened by his actions , my son went into shock his eye closed in a matter of seconds , the thug left the pitch smelling of alcohol he was boasting he'd got the guy with a Solid , if ever I was going to go to the law it was that day , my son persuaded me not to , I'm not sure is there a right or wrong answer honestly,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/09/2018 19:02:10    2143190

@Damo, shocking having to witness that. One of the big problems is the code of omerta that operates after incidents like that . Sometimes we really let ourselves down

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 21/09/2018 19:41:44    2143197

Replying To Damothedub:  "I attended a game we're my son had his eye socket dislodged he was blindsided by a thug whose own players and coaches were sickened by his actions , my son went into shock his eye closed in a matter of seconds , the thug left the pitch smelling of alcohol he was boasting he'd got the guy with a Solid , if ever I was going to go to the law it was that day , my son persuaded me not to , I'm not sure is there a right or wrong answer honestly,"
Jesus Damo that's awful, I'm glad I never had to deal with my own son being done like that, I would have done time without doubt!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/09/2018 19:49:41    2143200

Im not a hero but I asked my best mate to stand between myself and the culprit as he left the pitch as he had to pass me to get to the dressing room , don't know how or why but I was aware of ramifications if I'd laid one on him , to this day my lad has said it's in his top pocket if he ever meets the fella on a pitch again , part of me out of parental responsibility felt I should have gone to authorities, another part probably the ex-player bit didn't want to take that route

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/09/2018 20:26:11    2143204

Yeh it's a tough one Damo

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/09/2018 21:35:53    2143210

Replying To Damothedub:  "I attended a game we're my son had his eye socket dislodged he was blindsided by a thug whose own players and coaches were sickened by his actions , my son went into shock his eye closed in a matter of seconds , the thug left the pitch smelling of alcohol he was boasting he'd got the guy with a Solid , if ever I was going to go to the law it was that day , my son persuaded me not to , I'm not sure is there a right or wrong answer honestly,"
What punishment did that fella get, if any?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/09/2018 00:37:51    2143215

Replying To ballydalane:  "What punishment did that fella get, if any?"
It was a challenge match ref , didn't see it when he went up to my lad he turned to the culprit and said well he didn't do it to himself , at that stage opposition manger had told the player to get off the pitch , his club suspended him never heard for how long , have played that opposition a few times since never seen the fella again

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2018 08:29:30    2143221

There was a high profile case in Mayo a number of years ago between a Davitts club player and either Kiltimagh or Moy Davitts player (a foggy memory)

Again I'm only coming with a half story but one player thumped the other player of the ball and shattered his jaw and some teeth.

Guards were made aware and it went yo court where a pay out was given to the injured party.

There's no place for it.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 22/09/2018 11:41:24    2143241

There is a line. I've heard of a player loosing an eye...if someone done that to me or a close friend I'd do jail time.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 22/09/2018 12:51:01    2143251

It's all very well and good saying " oh it's terrible" and " no place for it " but a lot of the time nothing is done to the perpetrators.
The individuals involved are often the local hero.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/09/2018 15:21:54    2143267

Replying To Damothedub:  "It was a challenge match ref , didn't see it when he went up to my lad he turned to the culprit and said well he didn't do it to himself , at that stage opposition manger had told the player to get off the pitch , his club suspended him never heard for how long , have played that opposition a few times since never seen the fella again"
Maybe he was advised by his club to "retire" early.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/09/2018 16:17:51    2143271