All Star Football Token Nominations

Replying To TheUsername:  "I inevitably left out loads a chara, no offence in tended feel free to gibe your own shout away."
Ah not having a go at you, your post was more a prompt to give Kearns a bit of praise. In a very good year for us, he was one of the biggest positives imo.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 13/09/2018 14:54:25    2141463

Replying To s goldrick:  "Bit surprised that no Roscommon player got nominated. I thought that Ciaran Murtagh or Conor Devanny had both ex ellent years as sid Diarmuid Murtagh and Enda Smith. I seen the div 4 Carlow v Laois game and Broderick had an absolute shocker.
On another note, If you were sent off during the year it used to Bar you from an All-Star award. I presume that has changed. I wonder how many players in the past were denied certain All-Star awards because of this rule."
I remember hearing Gerry McCarville lost out on one in the 80s because he was sent off. I wasn't watching though so not sure how accurate that is.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 13/09/2018 15:11:32    2141476

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "It would be wrong if Howard doesnt get it Cliffords time will come but i dont think he deserves it this year.

Still going to be one of the best if not the best"
What game did Howard dig Dublin out of trouble?
Jod and geaney have Been miss firing all year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2018 15:18:53    2141479

Replying To s goldrick:  "Bit surprised that no Roscommon player got nominated. I thought that Ciaran Murtagh or Conor Devanny had both ex ellent years as sid Diarmuid Murtagh and Enda Smith. I seen the div 4 Carlow v Laois game and Broderick had an absolute shocker.
On another note, If you were sent off during the year it used to Bar you from an All-Star award. I presume that has changed. I wonder how many players in the past were denied certain All-Star awards because of this rule."
I dont think there could be any from roscommon only winning two games all year in championship a poor leitrim team and armagh. No one in roscommon is complaining non of them got nominated

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 13/09/2018 15:22:32    2141482

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think its from U23 down mate.

The thing with Con this year is he switched roles with Kilkenny in my opinion and played more at 11 then he did full forward.

That was on the back of being double and tripled marked and also teams cottoning on to man marking Kilkenny, what that meant really it freed up Kilkenny who had his best point scoring season and meant he couldn't be man marked.

Con played a massively unselfish and mature role for the Dublin team this year in my opinion acting as Kilkennys decoy and taking his own markers out of the game.

Kilkenny wouldnt be going for player of the year this year without Con."
Young player of the year is picked from U21 players according to what I read on HoganStand yesterday.

In fairness Howard is a fine athlete but Clifford is a brilliant footballer. without a doubt I reckon Howard will win it due to political reasons as we seen yesterday a Dublin player who didn't get to the Leinster final got an all star ahead of Paul O'shea who was immense all year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2018 15:32:18    2141485

Replying To cavanman47:  "No Conor McManus?????

I'd have him ahead of Flynn, and I think it's a nailed on certainty that the all stars will reflect this.

I'd also have Colm Cavanagh ahead of Michael Murphy, although the question needs to be asked - why nominate McCarthy in the backs and Cavanagh at MF? Surely swap them? Either way, both deserve all stars.

I'd swap Eoin Ban for Wylie too bit that's not so clear cut.

Apart from that, the other 12 you selected should get awards."
In my opinion Flynn had a serious year kicking brilliant points from all angles and a few great goals and was better from play than McManus I thought. McManus had a very good year but I thought Hamsey marked him out of it in the semi final, played well against Kerry but was given the freedom of clones that day. He was also marked out of it against Fermanagh. Thought Michael Murphy drove Donegal on through Ulster and played better against Dublin at midfield than a lot gave him credit for. Colm Cavanagh had a good semi final against Monaghan, that was it in my opinion. His tackling in the final was very last ditch and was hampered by injuries early enough in the qualifiers. Eoghan Ban Gallagher had a very good year but you cant leave Drew Wylie out of the All Star team this year. He was consistently tough to beat all championship and was kicking scores in big games. Nailed on for me.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 13/09/2018 15:48:55    2141494

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Young player of the year is picked from U21 players according to what I read on HoganStand yesterday.

In fairness Howard is a fine athlete but Clifford is a brilliant footballer. without a doubt I reckon Howard will win it due to political reasons as we seen yesterday a Dublin player who didn't get to the Leinster final got an all star ahead of Paul O'shea who was immense all year."
Howard is a brilliant footballer and athlete.

Clifford's athleticism is unreal for a lad straight out of minor to be fair to him. He's footballing ability is sensational.

Both are deserving of a the award. Whoever gets it will deserve it and it'll have nothing to do with politics despite what children on the internet will say.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/09/2018 15:52:45    2141496

Replying To MesAmis:  "Howard is a brilliant footballer and athlete.

Clifford's athleticism is unreal for a lad straight out of minor to be fair to him. He's footballing ability is sensational.

Both are deserving of a the award. Whoever gets it will deserve it and it'll have nothing to do with politics despite what children on the internet will say."
I said something semilar my self in my first post, but username has mentioned politics 3 times already on this thread so I thought he must be on to something and gave an example of such .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2018 16:11:47    2141499

Both are deserving of a the award. Whoever gets it will deserve it and it'll have nothing to do with politics despite what children on the internet will say."
Like so many Kerry posters on HS, KB cant bring himself to use the word footballer when talking about Dublin. I agree with another post I saw.....in a team filled with average footballers/athletes Clifford stood out. In a team filled with very good footballers/athletes, Howard stood out. I know who my money would be on but either would be a deserving recipient. Quite sure Howard will be happy either way.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2018 17:42:39    2141515

I would agree and disagree with you here mate.

I would agree both would be worthy winners in fact I wouldn't have an issue with any of the lads I mentioned in my post earlier winning.

But these awards aren't competitive sport where the best sportsman competes and wins ultimately that's what is important, it's pony showing and an outcome is contrived and spread about, I think it's imposdible for politics or prejudices not to come into it.

These things have nothing to do with GAA as a compeitive sport in my own personal opinion.

I'm dumbfounded that Conor McManus isn't up for the senior gong as well with the Dublin lads.

I genuinely hope Dublin win as few of these yokes as possible, even though I know they will win the majority.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/09/2018 19:22:45    2141532

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would agree and disagree with you here mate.

I would agree both would be worthy winners in fact I wouldn't have an issue with any of the lads I mentioned in my post earlier winning.

But these awards aren't competitive sport where the best sportsman competes and wins ultimately that's what is important, it's pony showing and an outcome is contrived and spread about, I think it's imposdible for politics or prejudices not to come into it.

These things have nothing to do with GAA as a compeitive sport in my own personal opinion.

I'm dumbfounded that Conor McManus isn't up for the senior gong as well with the Dublin lads.

I genuinely hope Dublin win as few of these yokes as possible, even though I know they will win the majority."
So if Howard wins it will it be politics and prejudice? Or is that only if Clifford or the Tyrone lad wins?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2018 19:34:20    2141533

Roscommon beat Leitrim and got beaten out the gate in 4/5 remaining fixtures. They haven't gotten an all star nomination for this reason.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/09/2018 22:49:11    2141580

Broderick definitely deserves his nomination. He is playing in a very defense minded side, and is often the only player in the full forward line. Still scored a lot in most games against all sorts of opposition. 2-46 in the league, 2nd highest scorer in all 4 divisions.
Then another 1-29 from 4 games in the championship including 0-11 v Kildare. He didn't hit a wide in that Kildare game from 11 attempts. Consistently good over the last 3 years or so since getting over horrible injuries, he is easily among the top 18 forwards in the country no question.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 14/09/2018 01:21:55    2141593

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So if Howard wins it will it be politics and prejudice? Or is that only if Clifford or the Tyrone lad wins?"
You love your politics dont you.

Ye can never just appreciate the footballers any of the 3 would be deserving winners but i think howard was stand out and should get it. No political reasons as you continue to insist

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 14/09/2018 08:20:30    2141598

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "You love your politics dont you.

Ye can never just appreciate the footballers any of the 3 would be deserving winners but i think howard was stand out and should get it. No political reasons as you continue to insist"
Hold on there, to be fair, Kingdom didn't bring up the politics angle. I can see why he asked the question.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 14/09/2018 09:06:12    2141608

I have no time for these awards they are outdated and pointless. Who selects nominations and who gets selected? that is the core problem with them. Rising talents and the exceptionally talented from smaller counties are just make weights. I wish they would just go away.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 14/09/2018 10:06:54    2141633

Replying To kildare73:  "Hold on there, to be fair, Kingdom didn't bring up the politics angle. I can see why he asked the question."
I mentioned politics first and i do think they are political ive no problem owning that, lets be honest they are really, its an exercise in spreading it around and making it look like the game isnt as lobsided as it clearly is, they often dont reflect the sport in my opinion.

Take the POTY nominations, in my opinion they nominated 3 Dublin lads to gaurentee a Dublin lad gets POTY as in the last two years, no Dublin player got the gong or the vote was split 2/1 with two Dublin choices and one outside. Thats unfair in my opinion, as i think Cavanagh, Beggan are very unlucky not to have shouts, not having Conor McManus this year is crazy, not that the Dublin lads arent deserving of their nomination. But the GAA have made sure a Dub wiill POTY and i think they are afraid that they wouldn't probably due to the shall we say fatigue with Dublin winning. That is one of many reasons why i think they are political or arent reflective of the sport or the spirit of the sport in general.

Equally i think Clifford will win, because i dont think players are going to vote in two categories for Dublin, one category were they dont have a choice and in the second they have two alternatives or county choice, they are more likely to exercise that choice and spread around in my opinion. I would be amazed if Howard won it because of that. Thats not a criticism of Clifford as others have said he would be a worthy winner and a very good young player, but the whole thing is a bit of farce, politcal and not reflective of the sport in my option.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/09/2018 10:28:43    2141637

Replying To arock:  "I have no time for these awards they are outdated and pointless. Who selects nominations and who gets selected? that is the core problem with them. Rising talents and the exceptionally talented from smaller counties are just make weights. I wish they would just go away."
Thats exactly it, its a flawed system ultimately for many reasons.

Players vote and that is fair enough, but it works on the presumption that intercounty players watch every single game of football, no way do they id say the vast majority of intercounty players didnt watch Longford, Wicklow or Carlow this year, every qualifier game etc. If 50% of every intercounty footballer watched every game in the S8's onward you would doing well. maybe that is the reason they tend not to be league or early round of the championship heavy.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/09/2018 10:37:14    2141639

Replying To arock:  "I have no time for these awards they are outdated and pointless. Who selects nominations and who gets selected? that is the core problem with them. Rising talents and the exceptionally talented from smaller counties are just make weights. I wish they would just go away."
As far as i know it's a panel of GAA journalists. I know Brian Carthy is one of them because I heard him saying it on the radio a couple of weeks ago.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 14/09/2018 10:38:57    2141640

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Clifford is an amazing footballer but Brian Howard has to get Young player of the year. Outstanding all year."
YPOTY for me is Brian Howard, masterful first year, complete player, covered all over the field. Clifford had sensational moments and is sheer class, but he didn't burn a ball in Munster against either Clare or Cork. Howard was consistently powerful in every game.

And to boot, not alone do I think that Clifford should not get POTY, but also that he doesn't deserve an All-Star. They're 6 better forwards than him nominated.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 14/09/2018 12:40:40    2141682