Mc Stay Resigns!

Mayo putting together a super group of Horan, McGuinness, McStay and O'Connor by the looks of things. With all this mysterious money from the US, obviously.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/09/2018 23:27:27    2139695

i read his complete statement and he seems to have left on good terms. He also says he is retiring from inter-county management. Although never say "never".

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/09/2018 00:03:52    2139698

For Mayo Job - odds on !

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2595 - 06/09/2018 00:04:03    2139699

Replying To yew_tree:  "Pushed more like. Be interesting to see if the Roscommon players get the same level of national abuse as Mayo did..."
Mayo players got national level of abuse because they pushed out a management team that led Mayo to a 5th Connacht title in a row and only lost after a replay to Dublin. McStay resign probably because as he said took them as far as he could go. 16-79 conceded in Roscommon's last 4 Croke Park games is proof a new voice and better coach than McHale on defending is probably needed!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 06/09/2018 05:18:12    2139707

Fair play to him for leaving the couch of the Sunday Game and going into management. I respect that.

He's had a very good term with Roscommon. A very likable guy and I'd happily see him back on TV

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 06/09/2018 08:31:50    2139716

For his own sanity it is prob the best.
he did a great job with Roscommon but took an awful lot of flak from inside of Roscommon from the likes of Gay Sheerin etc.
Roscommon are one of those teams who are very attractive to watch o ntheir day with some lovely forwards but overall the team is lacking depth and are prob stuck between a rock and a hard place..too good for Div 2 but not good enough for Div 1 and the bigger teams in the championship.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2018 08:47:37    2139717

To say he was pushed out is ridiculas. you can see from the county board statement how dissappointed they are with his decision. Roscommon have reached their level and with the new championship structure Kevin has taken them as far as he can. Roscommon people will thank him for the summer of 2017.

Alot of our players aged between 22 and 24 which we have alot of are going to the states which i do not blame them for. No matter who comes in all those players are going.

So any man/women who rights on this saying the players pushed him out are just trying to get a rise.

We will struggle big time this year as we do not have the players to replace the ones that are leaving.

Also like to wish sean mcdermott and ian kilbride a happy retirement great servants to roscommon football

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 06/09/2018 09:04:42    2139724

Replying To SaffronDon:  "As long as he's not back in the RTE studio then I fully support his next move"
I dont mind if he goes back to RTE....at least he had a go unlike the vast majority of the RTE pundits who wax lyrical about tactics and what inter county managers should/should not do.

McStay brought the Rossies to Div 1 (twice), won a connacht title, made the super 8s....thats more success than most other Roscommon managers.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 06/09/2018 09:29:01    2139730

Not sure what to think of the McStay reign, some high points. Year 1 in Divison One some great wins, poor championship, Year 2, terrible league campaign but Connacht, Year three win Divison Two and get Super 8, but the defeats we suffered in the Super 8's were hammerings. Going forward we have been fine, but he failed to address the defensive/midfield issues we have had before his arrival. So a bit of a mixed bag, but would like to thank him for his efforts.
At least he deserves credit for taking on a management role, unlike a lot of the tv panellists who are constantly criticising teams and management without ever taking on a role themselves. He gave it a go and actually this may make him a better pundit as a result.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 06/09/2018 09:53:04    2139737

Replying To yew_tree:  "Lads this is no surprise in the west. There were rumours a number of Roscommon players were not going to make themselves available next year if he reamined in charge. It is not the long ago their board and McStay himself said they were staying on."
Two stabs you have taken at it and wrong twice. In the future cap your ears to whatever rumours and speculation you hear about Roscommon. For the record players leaving will not be around next year regardless of what manager is there. That is the way things are for a small rural county like Roscommon and it isn't going to change any time soon.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 06/09/2018 16:31:12    2139857

Replying To Belclare1:  "I wouldn't be commenting on other counties player fallouts yourself, the state of Mayo senior ladies and men's at the moment"
Right on cue again Belclare....the theory "your from Mayo so can't comment" is proved yet again.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 06/09/2018 17:13:34    2139870

Replying To yew_tree:  "Right on cue again Belclare....the theory "your from Mayo so can't comment" is proved yet again."
He's been quiet since that hiding Galway got from the Dubs.

McStay reached the summit of what he could do with that squad, he was right to leave with his reputation intact.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/09/2018 18:16:24    2139898

Replying To yew_tree:  "Lads this is no surprise in the west. There were rumours a number of Roscommon players were not going to make themselves available next year if he reamined in charge. It is not the long ago their board and McStay himself said they were staying on."
Yep, Mayo the only place to be if you want a long term stay in the management hotseat and the full backing of players and County Board.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/09/2018 19:17:41    2139925

Replying To neverright:  "Yep, Mayo the only place to be if you want a long term stay in the management hotseat and the full backing of players and County Board."
We are a bit of a mess lately...at least I can admit it

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 06/09/2018 19:26:20    2139932

1000 Euro in taxis per training session to get the Roscommon lads to traing.

Utter madness.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/09/2018 21:46:03    2139964

No time for him at all, the man who stuck the knife in Connolly and abused his place on RTE to do so, karma has a wonderful way biting back.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 07/09/2018 00:03:05    2140001

Replying To TheUsername:  "1000 Euro in taxis per training session to get the Roscommon lads to traing.

Utter madness."
90% per cent of the panel are based outside the county. The majority in Dublin. Travel expensive are crippling rural counties

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 07/09/2018 07:26:23    2140012

Replying To yew_tree:  "Pushed more like. Be interesting to see if the Roscommon players get the same level of national abuse as Mayo did..."
Look ye got abuse at the time partly because ye courted it unfortunately. Our hurling squad back in 2015 did something siimilar with the heave against Anthony Cunningham but luckily for us the new manager came in and weeded out some of the guys who led the heave and snuck an all ireland so vindication followed and abuse levels levelled off. If SR got an all ireland our Dub friends would not be as accommodating with their 'love in' for ye. The only reason people love Mayo now as opposed to a few years ago when ye were getting loads of abuse is because ye are not seen as a threat to the same extent. It is so patronising and even Brolly loves ye after being on your back for years. Mind you he was in the McGuinness camp back in 2012 to 2014 but now blames Jimmy for the demise of football so a poor example i admit.
On McStay he did his best and was unfortunate with player injured/unavailable at various periods in his tenure

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 07/09/2018 09:46:33    2140043

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "90% per cent of the panel are based outside the county. The majority in Dublin. Travel expensive are crippling rural counties"
I saw that also, 25-28 of the panel living in Dublin. Ive heard there could be as many as 200 training sessions a year

It just makes no sense to me, especially given the financial context of Roscommon last year.

Is it not logical to have training in Dublin, Kildare or Meath rather then incurring that cost, also in terms of player welfare etc.

Im really surprised about that payment in particular, particularly in the context McStay is talking about not having enough finance to run the team.

Is this a regular thing around the country that Taxi's are organised for County players across country to attend training and its lumped under transport costs?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2018 09:49:57    2140046

Replying To arock:  "No time for him at all, the man who stuck the knife in Connolly and abused his place on RTE to do so, karma has a wonderful way biting back."
Sure mc stay was nt on Sunday game panel last year!!

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 07/09/2018 09:56:14    2140048