Who Can Challenge Dublin In 2019

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Maybe ye need more money Damo, also you mention all the underage games you go to and said you've been to more underage games than Iv been to senior game, what makes you think that?
My young lad has been involved with development squads for the last 3 years and I've been all over the place supporting him I just don't make a big deal about it like you do."
Two things, if you've been to devlopement games and yet the shi7e you come out with like money assistance for Dublin under age lads, when I go around the country for both codes I speak to other parents and find out what each squad is up to , how often they train , what they are doing sports science, functional movements and I know nearly every county is doing very similar things , you have picked nothing up in your three years or you've forgotten or didn't understand it in the first place

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 20:42:39    2139253

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Sure let's go through them team by team.

Tyrone; that was the absolute best Tyrone had to offer on Sunday. There's nothing left, no brilliant U20 the county is raving about to come in. The total sum of their parts. A wholehearted display let down by the fact that 4 of their forwards are not good enough. Dublin played Tyrone 3 times this year, twice away and won all 3. I'd say in the 3 games, Dublin got out of 3rd gear for a total of 45 minutes combined.

Donegal. You played Donegal twice this year. Once at home in Croke Park in the league and once at a neutral venue in Croke Park in the Championship. Here's an indication of how far ahead you are of Donegal. They were thrilled with their relatively narrow defeats.

Kerry. I'm not going into this again. But suffice to say that as evidenced by Kerry posters here and their results this year. They are not getting it right enough to win in 2019. By the way, let Kerry stick to the poor mouth stuff. It's the only thing that they're better than you at.

Galway. Dublin gave Galway a harsh lesson in the realities of Championship football. A draw and a narrow defeat in league followed by a chastening thrashing when it mattered. Again, Dublin full tilt in Championship match for maybe 25 minutes.

Mayo. Everybody wants Mayo to win an All Ireland. But everyone wanted Jimmy White to win a World Snooker title. As the philosopher Jagger once said "You can't always get what you want". Their window has gone, they know it, i know it, you know it. But expect a soap opera to unfold while appointing this new manager."
And Monaghan?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/09/2018 20:56:46    2139255

Replying To waynoI:  "Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, Galway.

That's it."
Not giving Monaghan a shout there? They are no worse than any of those lot.

Who can challenge Dublin - maybe the best of the rest IMO might manage it.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 04/09/2018 21:03:52    2139257

Replying To Gleebo:  "And Monaghan?"
Hopefully we win Ulster and qualify directly for Super 8's but the chances of us qualifying for a semi final and getting a side as limited as Tyrone is unlikely.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 04/09/2018 21:44:25    2139269

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well if that's the best you can come back with then ill say no more. Pathetic."
I love you really yew_tree

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 04/09/2018 22:01:35    2139272

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Sure let's go through them team by team.

Tyrone; that was the absolute best Tyrone had to offer on Sunday. There's nothing left, no brilliant U20 the county is raving about to come in. The total sum of their parts. A wholehearted display let down by the fact that 4 of their forwards are not good enough. Dublin played Tyrone 3 times this year, twice away and won all 3. I'd say in the 3 games, Dublin got out of 3rd gear for a total of 45 minutes combined.

Donegal. You played Donegal twice this year. Once at home in Croke Park in the league and once at a neutral venue in Croke Park in the Championship. Here's an indication of how far ahead you are of Donegal. They were thrilled with their relatively narrow defeats.

Kerry. I'm not going into this again. But suffice to say that as evidenced by Kerry posters here and their results this year. They are not getting it right enough to win in 2019. By the way, let Kerry stick to the poor mouth stuff. It's the only thing that they're better than you at.

Galway. Dublin gave Galway a harsh lesson in the realities of Championship football. A draw and a narrow defeat in league followed by a chastening thrashing when it mattered. Again, Dublin full tilt in Championship match for maybe 25 minutes.

Mayo. Everybody wants Mayo to win an All Ireland. But everyone wanted Jimmy White to win a World Snooker title. As the philosopher Jagger once said "You can't always get what you want". Their window has gone, they know it, i know it, you know it. But expect a soap opera to unfold while appointing this new manager."
Will you spare me the "everyone wants Mayo to win an All Ireland nonsense" as there are a hell of a lot of people out there (many of them on this forum) who would crawl over hot coals if it prevented Mayo winning Sam. Also I wouldn't write off our chances just yet. We are expecting another couple of retirements and there are one or two others who will only be impact subs but there is plenty of talent out there and we have a core who are only reaching or in their prime. I agree with you about the soap opera as we never seem to do things the easy way. However if we get the right result re the manager it might just possibly be worth it. I wouldn't be handing the Dubs the five in a row just yet as a year can be a long time in football. Favourites, and rightly so but so were Kerry in 82 and that didn't end well.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/09/2018 22:07:00    2139275

Replying To Damothedub:  "Two things, if you've been to devlopement games and yet the shi7e you come out with like money assistance for Dublin under age lads, when I go around the country for both codes I speak to other parents and find out what each squad is up to , how often they train , what they are doing sports science, functional movements and I know nearly every county is doing very similar things , you have picked nothing up in your three years or you've forgotten or didn't understand it in the first place"
Can you just winter well?!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7870 - 04/09/2018 22:08:18    2139276

Kerry, Tyrone and Cork are exempt from any criticism of rural Ireland.

Galway and Meath should have been primed for a good decade.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7870 - 04/09/2018 22:11:15    2139277

Replying To legendzxix:  "Can you just winter well?!"
Not a problem , if you guys can give up telling porkies on sports science , underage development and what's been done by all counties, I've been told I shouldn't go on about my son playing in development squads , yet he's one of these guys that is supposed to be getting super dietary advice and free meals , superior sports science training and in latest post potentialy paid so he or players like him don't go to Aussie , so let me ask you bearing in mind I have first hand experience when I read lies I should just sit and say nothing , I have no issue with the GAA looking at funding and redirecting funds if it's felt for the better of the game they are best served elsewhere, I am happy to play as many games away from Croke Park , but I won't sit winter or summer and have lies told by fellas who have a smidge of knowledge but pass themselves off as experts, if I asked what FMS is and how many disciplines there are to it how many could answer before reaching for google

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 22:44:30    2139285

If Mickey Graham can get the commitment from the depth of talent in the county, and squeeze a bit more from current star players like Gearoid McKiernan, Killian Clarke and Dara McVeety, then Cavan could be in a position to close the gap on Dublin. Maybe not in 2019 but definitely for 2020

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 04/09/2018 23:19:29    2139296

Replying To Damothedub:  "Not a problem , if you guys can give up telling porkies on sports science , underage development and what's been done by all counties, I've been told I shouldn't go on about my son playing in development squads , yet he's one of these guys that is supposed to be getting super dietary advice and free meals , superior sports science training and in latest post potentialy paid so he or players like him don't go to Aussie , so let me ask you bearing in mind I have first hand experience when I read lies I should just sit and say nothing , I have no issue with the GAA looking at funding and redirecting funds if it's felt for the better of the game they are best served elsewhere, I am happy to play as many games away from Croke Park , but I won't sit winter or summer and have lies told by fellas who have a smidge of knowledge but pass themselves off as experts, if I asked what FMS is and how many disciplines there are to it how many could answer before reaching for google"
Have a look on punditareana and their article on Dublin and the railway cup my friendit's not hard to join the dots.

Copy research.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/09/2018 23:19:41    2139297

Replying To Damothedub:  "Not a problem , if you guys can give up telling porkies on sports science , underage development and what's been done by all counties, I've been told I shouldn't go on about my son playing in development squads , yet he's one of these guys that is supposed to be getting super dietary advice and free meals , superior sports science training and in latest post potentialy paid so he or players like him don't go to Aussie , so let me ask you bearing in mind I have first hand experience when I read lies I should just sit and say nothing , I have no issue with the GAA looking at funding and redirecting funds if it's felt for the better of the game they are best served elsewhere, I am happy to play as many games away from Croke Park , but I won't sit winter or summer and have lies told by fellas who have a smidge of knowledge but pass themselves off as experts, if I asked what FMS is and how many disciplines there are to it how many could answer before reaching for google"
If I was a Dub and after winning 4 in a row I wouldn't give to f's what anybody is saying to be honest, it's like all the rubbish that's spouted about McGuinness being the death of the great style of football that was played before or since he coached Donegal for 4 years, it's all nonsense, what he done with Donegal was the most remarkable things I've ever seen any coach do in any sport, took us from being rated 19th in Ireland in 2010 to winning the All Ireland playing brilliant football in 2012, yet all you hear is about that semi final in 2011, it's all a load of bs by the begrudgers, so as I say enjoy it in Dublin as long as it lasts.
I was looking there Paddy Power have Dublin at 11/1 to win 10 in arrow by 2024, not a bad bet. be some noise from the Kingdom then!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 04/09/2018 23:41:52    2139298

Congratulations to Dublin on their 4 in a row and indeed Kerry on their remarkable 5 in a row at minor level. In truth Dublin done it in 3rd gear without really having to go too deep to secure it. Another title beckons in 2019 and through no fault of their own alot of people will be switching off. I cannot remember an AI build up that was so quiet. I am sure there was plenty of interest in Dublin and Tyrone but outside of that it was like no AI build up I can remember. I know even my own father who would always have a decent level of interest no mater what counties were playing did not even watch the Sunday Game choosing to read the newspaper instead and he is not alone. Thank god for the club game as otherwise the interest in GAA football outside of a few counties would be nil or nothing. While I expect Dublin dominance to continue another worrying trend is that even the likely challengers are not likely to change for a very long time. Outside of Mayo, Galway, Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan, Kildare and Kerry I do not see any other challenges coming outside these sides not just next year but potentially at least the next 5-6 years. I would have had Roscommon in this list before this year but they are a long way short of even joining the challengers. Maybe Meath who are at least making an effort at underage can step up but I don't see anybody outside this. In Ulster Derry are trying to challenge the Tyrone, Monaghan, Donegal underage dominance but difficulty getting players to commit at senior level and AFL vultures circling will probably curtail them.....not a positive forecast not helped by biased rule changes like the ridiculous changing of U-21 to U-20 and the rules that came with it.

For any team to beat Dublin winning in 2019 it will have to be in a semi final or final. Dublin will need to have a bad day and whoever plays them will need to be at their peak.....not an easy prospect. As pointed out none of the challengers have much hope if they pick up injuries to crucial players....Dublin however can easily adapt.

Kerry have some mercurial players who could beat Dublin on any given day but defensively they need alot of work plus will need Geaney and O'Donoghue to find their form again as already pointed out. Clifford however is a game changer.
Mayo won't have any fear but will they have the chance? Probably need to win Connaught which is no guarantee nor is getting out of any Super 8 group esp with only 1 potential game in Croke Park. A bit like Tyrone not sure they got the type of forwards needed to beat Dublin.
Tyrone will have many regrets over this years final. Got into the perfect position but soon lost it after a poor kickout and poor shooting. Also looking forward need to play more off the cuff but have they the type of forwards to do this and will they be allowed?
From a Donegal perspective any ambitions of further silverware after Ulster were gone with the injury to Paddy McB. You really have to see Donegal in the flesh to just see how important he is to the team and how he frees space for others. I felt we gave Dublin an ok game but was certainly not thrilled about it as somebody attempted to point out. We got alot of the match ups right even though could have conceded more. Looking forward need Paddy back obviously. Conditioning of our younger lads needs an upgrade plus I think as we are at the mo we a bit too slow around the middle. Plus mentally we tend to sometimes go too cautious or fall apart like Tyrone. Though if Jimmy sticks to the soccer I imagine he will be used in some capacity in the background which might help.
Galway made progress this year and have alot of exciting talent coming through. Though took a pasting again in Croker and u would worry about the psychological damage.
Of course Monaghan and Kildare will be there or thereabouts too but don't see either being worthy challengers to Dublin in 2019. I think Monaghan are still overly reliant on McManus and Kildare are still a work in progress.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 05/09/2018 03:23:44    2139312

Replying To TheUsername:  "If there is argument to be made about Dublin financially, i think their is an argument their for a certain 5 in a row minor also.

Incidentally i dont think it does in either case.

Ill just leave this here, based on 2017 games devlopment funding (source below):

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro.

Page 67. http://www.gaa.ie/mm/Document/GaaIe/...18_English.pdf

Note the additional allocation given to the provinces at the top of the page, this is divided by the provincial council to all the teams in the province for coaching. The only team not to get this is Dublin."
Not a valid measurement, and I'm sure you know it. Here's a proper measurement:

"Between 2010 and 2014, in central games development money, per registered player, Tyrone got €21, Mayo €22, Kerry €19, while Dublin got €274.40. In that category, between 2007 and 2017, Dublin received €16.6m from the association, Tyrone were bang around the average of the rest at €560,000."

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-gaelic-football-is-dying-and-if-the-dublin-problem-isnt-tackled-it-will-soon-be-in-the-ground-37282516.html

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 05/09/2018 09:31:19    2139337

Replying To TheUsername:  "Have a look on punditareana and their article on Dublin and the railway cup my friendit's not hard to join the dots.

Copy research."
Oh I just copped that last night actually. As soon as he mentioned the railway cup I knew who he was on HS. Absolutely obsessed.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/09/2018 10:07:16    2139348

Replying To Bosco98:  "Not a valid measurement, and I'm sure you know it. Here's a proper measurement:

"Between 2010 and 2014, in central games development money, per registered player, Tyrone got €21, Mayo €22, Kerry €19, while Dublin got €274.40. In that category, between 2007 and 2017, Dublin received €16.6m from the association, Tyrone were bang around the average of the rest at €560,000."

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-gaelic-football-is-dying-and-if-the-dublin-problem-isnt-tackled-it-will-soon-be-in-the-ground-37282516.html"
I dont accept the registered player measurement as factual for three reasons really.

1). Games development money doesn't go to registered players. The intention of the money is to attract players to Gaelic games rather then fund those already registered.

2). The reason why the Dublin ratio figures are so high is Dublin have woeful registered player numbers, essentially the ratio of registered players to population is 39k registered players to 1.345 million people. To me that highlights and justifies why the battle to attract people to Gaelic games is a greater need in Dublin for the GAA then any other county in the country. Surely the GAA should target the greater amount of people as opposed to jingoism or county boundary. The registered player measure actually justifies the need for the level of funding as opposed to unravelling it in my opinion.

3) Comparison studies are ridiculous when comparing Dublin, essentially people compare huge figures like 16 mill, or 1.2 million, its not like comparing like for like. As my figures illustrate many counties for no rhyme or reason do pound for pound better then Dublin in GDF.

4) I also think people generally dont understand GAA funding it goes way beyond GDF, its also commercial revenue, provincial grants and capital grants. When you actually do an accumulation of these while Dublin are well funded, they are far from the most well funded county in the country.

I haven't met anyone yet who counter logically with analysis or with evidence base (figures) any of the above.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/09/2018 10:10:12    2139349

Hear now this, O foolish people, and without understanding; which have eyes, and see not; which have ears, and hear not.

There are none so blind as those who will not see. The most deluded people are those who choose to ignore what they already know.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/09/2018 10:35:37    2139358

Replying To Jackeen:  "Oh I just copped that last night actually. As soon as he mentioned the railway cup I knew who he was on HS. Absolutely obsessed."
Yep the lad i suspect may be flying kites for his copy, posting as a Kerry lad to get maximum reaction from Dubs. Apparently this isn't the only site.

Lets not feed him.

I suspect he may vanish now hes been rumbled.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/09/2018 10:57:53    2139367

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yep the lad i suspect may be flying kites for his copy, posting as a Kerry lad to get maximum reaction from Dubs. Apparently this isn't the only site.

Lets not feed him.

I suspect he may vanish now hes been rumbled."
Be "legend" if he does ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/09/2018 11:16:36    2139380

Anyone who thinks the Dublin population issue isn't a huge problem is seriously deluded. I don't have any idea how to solve the problem without opening a can of worms but luckily I'm not in the position to solve such issues.
There will always be years when exceptional teams challenge and defeat Dublin but if people can't see how from here on in the biggest majority of Sam Maguires are heading to the capital then they're blind.

bigboon (Tyrone) - Posts: 50 - 05/09/2018 11:18:33    2139381