Who Can Challenge Dublin In 2019

Take your pick really, Mayo, Galway, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Kildare some fine young teams out there. Despite this being a massively uncompetitive era. :D

It's compeitive sport and there are no handy all Ireland's in the modern era, there will be many challengers and any All Ireland has been and will be hard earned.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/09/2018 22:55:20    2139005

Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, Galway.

That's it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/09/2018 23:07:57    2139007

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv been saying that for years .and people still can't grasp it."
Ah come on lad, throw us an auld congrats there will ya, and maybe the hermit will follow suit :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/09/2018 23:23:48    2139013

Replying To endgame:  "It's not nonsense at all.Dublin have resources that no other county can hope to match.They are capable of dominance beyond what Kerry achieved.I'd expect Dublin to win 7 or 8 of the next 10 All-Ireland titles."
Why aren't these resources delivering a string of minor titles then? Where is all of this underage success now, bought with these 'resources', that will feed this neverending conveyor belt of Sams that Dublin will deliver? Dublin are weaker now IMO opinion than they were 3-4 years ago. Yet other counties have regressed further it seems.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2018 23:24:38    2139014

In all reality Dublin are set to dominate for many years to come. After Kerry's 4 in a row they won 84-86 also but with a nueclas of great players from the 4 in a row team - Nelligan/ paidi/Jacko/Spillane/sheehy/Ger power -
This was in an era when it was more a 15 man team and where fitness was not as critical and where players in their thirties could still be star players

Kilkenny hurlers eventually faded as tommy Walsh : Jackie tyrell/Larkin/Sheflin reached retirement

Dublin have lost or dropped to the bench
Cullen/Rory o C/ Fitzsimons/ 2 brogans/Flynn/Connolly to name just a handful and have emerged stronger as a result.
Players like Fenton/Kilkenny/Mccaffrey/Rock are young and stand out best in the country at what they do and there is a conveyor belt of talent chomping at their heels so this "new Dublin team can dominate for 5-6 years to come

Argueably the only player that is mature and who will be hard to replace is Cluxton. If Dublin can fill this gap in 3/4 years time its game over.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 03/09/2018 23:45:42    2139016

Mayo are the only team who know how to beat Dublin, although they cannot do it, they have to be fair to them closer than anyone else..Tyrone are talked up up up up by the media, I seen a slight improvement in them this year, were no where near confident enough to take on Dublin...they left Cavanagh back sweeper until around 10 minutes from the end!!!..the game was gone away from them from early in the second half and they still didnt push Cavanagh up until very late???..and when they did push him into the full forward line, they kept tipping and poking and handpassing out around midfield, their goalkeeper came out on a few occasions to midfield and lofted in the ball Cavanagh wanted, and it got results, but for some strange reason, management and the rest of tyrone other than the keeper seemed to be waiting for Dublin to nod off and then Tyrone would win!!...People are on about preparation done and every stone unturned...the basic long ball in was the only way of even threatening Dublin yesterday and Tyrone were afraid they would loose possession so played tipping around with it instead...I know football is gone very technical over the years but any manager who hasn the plan B (long ball in) is not well prepared...no point persisting with the "plan" for 60 minutes if it aint working...one half is too much to persist if something isnt working..Dublin are a fine side though in fairness...very hard see who is comming up next year to stop them...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 04/09/2018 00:03:25    2139019

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Mayo if new manager is a shrewd choice, wouldn't bank on it with their county board.

Galway are getting better every year under Walsh.

Current Tyrone team are improving each year under Harte. 2015 under 21 winners will be a year older and the experience of playing in yesterday's final will stand to them.

Kerry are always there or there abouts.

Donegal were very good this year. The young guys have adapted to senior football with relative ease.

Not sure if I would add anyone else to the list."
Ya Donegal lost mcbrearty to injury this year and he was an awful loss to them, teams like ourselves Donegal Tyrone Galway Monaghan and Mayo Kildare are only one or two injuries away from a disaster of a season whereas Dublin can lose Connolly brogan and carry on business as usual, they didn't even bring on paul Flynn yesterday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/09/2018 01:07:15    2139022

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv been saying that for years .and people still can't grasp it."
Dublin are not ruining football, resources are not ruining football, you can say it for years as long as you like it won't make you right, as Thomas o Shea said on Sunday night crap games are turning people away , poor coaching , defensive driven games have had an impact on football as a spectacle.you have been asked on this site a hundred times to explain Kerry's underage achievements v Dublin's , No Answer , explain Dublin's lack of real success in hurling one Leinster final win to show , No Answer , explain Galway's underage success NO Answer , you turn the facts and narrative to suit your agenda , personally if I have to take a Kerryman opinion I will go with O Shea or for that matter Genius Gerry who at least tries to be balanced

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 07:34:51    2139030

Replying To legendzxix:  "You seem to have listed all the teams there. Kildare deserve mention too. They did make the final 8 and are going well in the underage as well."
Agreed, I think that Leinster football will be very competitive soon.. Kildare need to build on what they have been doing and keep doing it week in/ week out.. Meath are too big a county to be in the doldrums, theyll be back soon, Laois had a great year, theyll be thereabout soon with a bit more consistancy, hopefully Carlows year isnt a flash in the pan.. We need the Lienster teams to step it up and give give Dublin a game.

derekm58 (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 04/09/2018 07:52:22    2139032

Replying To legendzxix:  "It's up to 31 counties to have the backbone to put a motion that the Super 8 neutral venue games should not be a Croke Park game for Dublin. If 31 counties do nothing, they cannot have any complaints."
Dublin will win those games irrespective of where they're played, such a motion would be symbolic only.

The Dubs do have some weaknesses (their full-back line can be got at, for example, and I'd also feel that an injury or suspension for Fenton would seriously weaken their midfield) but their overall strength in depth means that any challenger will have to play the perfect game to beat them.

It doesn't help that the recent challengers have weaknesses in key parts of the field- Kerry's full-back line, Mayo and Tyrone's accuracy in front of the posts, Monaghan's over-reliance on McManus for scores etc.

It's hard to see anyone toppling them next year unless they get hit with a spate of injuries to key players, á la Mayo last season. But the beauty of football is that events can change things round very quickly.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/09/2018 08:17:46    2139036

I was around in 1982 when people said Kerry couldn't be beaten. Seamus Darby ........

We all remember 2010 when Kilkenny seemed unstoppable. Lar Corbett ......

The 5 in a row is something unique in Senior Championship. If Dublin do it, fair play to them. I'd give Kerry, Tyrone & Mayo a good chance but with the new structure Dublin could realistically lose in Leinster, lose a Super 8's game and still win Sam. The best bet is for some team to have the game of their lives in the Semi final or final.

I honestly thought Dublin would be beaten this year and it didn't happen. A fine team.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/09/2018 08:32:02    2139038

Replying To Sheaamy1976:  "I think if Tyrone can get their shooting boots on maybe Tyrone Kerry with their minor wins hopefully come through think Mayo will connect back fighting then Galway Monaghan and Donegal"
Since we've been told by the Dubs that population and resources are not the issue I'd say a gaelic football mad county like Leitrim have a great chance! Have a look at their record in winning All Irelands! Surely if money wasn't going to make any difference to Dublin GAA why wasn't it given to the homeless?
Odd all the same how the Dubs' fortunes have risen dramatically since Bertie swung the millions of euros in their direction.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 04/09/2018 08:36:07    2139039

Replying To M Lyster:  "Nobody will challenge them. The GAA have a real problem on their hands, the football championship is a busted flush. I used to never miss a game but barely watched it this year. Ironically the hurling championship was great and has probably never been more competitive."
Know exactly where you are coming from M Lyster. I have found my interest in the AI series dwindling this last few years and my interest in Inter County football in general is not the same as it once was. There was a time I would have not missed any of the matches which were being televised regardless of who was playing and always tried to get tickets for the finals regardless of who was in it. But what we have now is not comparable to the dominant Kerry teams or the likes - the goalposts have shifted drastically and I fail to see how the runaway train can be stopped. I said a good number of years ago the GAA were creating a monster and unfortunately I think what we are seeing this last number of years is how it is going to be for the foreseeable. Without sounding like a broken record all I can say is thank God for club level GAA.

And this is not a sleight on Dublin in any way - the team/squad they have is phenomenal and they have no doubt grabbed the opportunities afforded to them with both hands and put a lot of work in behind the scenes to get to where they are. But when you are sitting down to watch a final with a feeling of inevitability then something is not right.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 04/09/2018 09:08:52    2139044

Replying To endgame:  "It's not nonsense at all.Dublin have resources that no other county can hope to match.They are capable of dominance beyond what Kerry achieved.I'd expect Dublin to win 7 or 8 of the next 10 All-Ireland titles."
Always had more resources always will.

What Dublin did was put in place a Strategic plan with structures to utlise the resources we had and bingo we start to win.

Other counties feel behind because they simply had not done the same thing. You build from the ground up like Dublin and in the last few years you have seen other Leinster counties start doing the same.

And you will start to see the changes when Dublin start winning less U20/U21 Leinster titles. Funnily we never really dominated the Minor to the same level.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/09/2018 09:19:07    2139047

the Kerry dominance was based on Mick O'Dwyer coming in and building a very young team, these lads were all there for a long time and had tremendous success, but the issue when they got old was that no transition plan had been in place and we then saw a fallow period for Dublin. With Dublin currently they always look to be bring in a few new players to freshen things up.
Kerry and Mayo are the two teams probably best based to challenge Dublin, think they have players rather than the system, but it will all depend on who they get in as managers.
Galway are in a decent position, they are pretty solid defensively but they now need to add a bit of attacking flair to that solid base, Comer needs to be playing in close to goals and not back helping out in the half back line. I think its the same for a few times. Monaghan I think similar to Galway need to add a bit more of an attacking edge.
I think the one weakness I have seen with Dublin is when teams play fast direct ball into their full back line and you have pacey forwards they struggle a bit. But far too many teams nowadays are too concerned with the cautious approach and slow build up. Teams also need to start pushing up on Dublins kickouts, as soon as the ball is out of play push up man to man, Dublin are masters of the quick restart and once they have possession it is extremely difficult to get the ball off them.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 04/09/2018 09:26:50    2139048

Replying To legendzxix:  "It's up to 31 counties to have the backbone to put a motion that the Super 8 neutral venue games should not be a Croke Park game for Dublin. If 31 counties do nothing, they cannot have any complaints."
You were one of the more intelligent posters on the forum. Now you're obsessed with posting rubbish about Dublin's advantages etc and coming across as very bitter. Every thread I look at. We get it.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 04/09/2018 09:40:34    2139055

I don't see anyone challenging them to be quite honest.

I genuinely only see the gap getting wider.

The structures etc make it easier now for top teams, super 8's etc. years ago when teams were dominating there was the hope that maybe on one off day they could be caught but with new structures that makes that even less likely.

In reality Dublin can afford to play their b team in Leinster win it at a canter and even if they did have an off day their still not knocked out and even go on to lose a quarter final game and still win the all Ireland.

The closest challengers to Dublin for 2019 are 11/2!

The 2 counties who are seen as their closest rivals don't even have managers in place at the moment!

It's a foregone conclusion in all honesty.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 04/09/2018 10:12:19    2139064

Mayo and Donegal
Kerry aren't ready yet but when they are they'll be some force.
Donegal were rattled this year with the loss of mc brearty which led to a number of tactical changes and restrictions. but up until that point they looked like a real force in the making. I won't be surprised to see them challenging Dublin next year.
Mayo are Mayo. they have a lot of know how just not enough. you could see it with Keegan Sunday night that he was dying to get back. They're so close. we could be set up for a real fairy tale!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 04/09/2018 10:39:08    2139074

Don't think anyone can live with them and the 5 in a row curse will be broken.
This team is gonna make history and break all records for years to come.
Savage team and unbelievable talent.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/09/2018 10:40:18    2139075

I don't think they will be beaten in 2019. I think they will go on to do a historic 5 in a row. At that stage players like Cluxton, Mcmahon, O'Sullivan, McCauley and others will have decisions to make. Perhaps Jim Gavin himself will consider it the right time to walk away. What more could he possibly prove after all.

This run cannot continue forever, somebody (hopefully kerry) always comes along and catches these great teams out. A dip in performance levels and meeting a ravenously hungry team on the wrong day is all it takes.

A lot will depend on the opposition of course. There are several teams with potential and a couple of them need to kick on now. 2019 is a year too soon though IMO. I just think Dublin have enough in the tank for at least one more All Ireland.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/09/2018 10:46:50    2139078