Rochford Resigns

So he has left after all. Good luck to him.

Who will replace him??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/08/2018 18:49:28    2136884

For the sake of the game please please not JmcG.
Mayo are a proper team who play lovely proper football. One of the few left. He will destroy ye. Don't do it Mayo. I speak not as a Dubs fan but a football fan with huge respect for the Mayo boys.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/08/2018 20:48:49    2136915

I know this is off topic but....

Liam - he didn't destroy Donegal so how would he destroy Mayo?? And as for destroying the game he hasn't managed any gaelic teams for 4 years so to blame him solely like some pundits are currently doing for the current state of gaelic football is kinda nonsense when you think about it. I mean he can't control what other managers/teams do - how can he be blamed for Dublin playing a blanket defence and handpassing the ball across the field in 2018!

The Dublin team of Pat Gilroy that won AI in 2011 weren't averse to a bit of the old blanket defence either were they!! Remember this was in the aftermath of Meath putting five goals past them in 2010 leinster semi final!!

Unlikely that it will be Jim McGuinness - but if it was as a Donegal man, I would be disappointed as I'd rather he was here in some capacity. Best of luck to Stephen Rochford he wasn't far away in fairness.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 27/08/2018 21:16:35    2136926

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "For the sake of the game please please not JmcG.
Mayo are a proper team who play lovely proper football. One of the few left. He will destroy ye. Don't do it Mayo. I speak not as a Dubs fan but a football fan with huge respect for the Mayo boys."
I 2nd that Liam.

Dont think he would be a good fit at all.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3735 - 27/08/2018 23:22:40    2136931

Mayo are a proper team who play lovely proper football. One of the few left. He will destroy ye. Don't do it Mayo. I speak not as a Dubs fan but a football fan with huge respect for the Mayo boys."
You're just afraid because Jim is the man that knows how to beat ye.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 28/08/2018 00:17:31    2136940

James Horan would be a middle ground, I wonder would Kevin McStay be considered.

I'd echo the sentiments on Jim McGuiness, deservedly beat Dublin in 2014 and fair play to him and that Donegal team.

But wouldn't be a fan of the historical, immediate or future legacies or influence he would have on the game.

Joe Brolly had a pretty funny price on him in the Indo today, was very witty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/08/2018 00:37:23    2136944

Rochford very unlucky, I wish him well in the future.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/08/2018 01:28:56    2136946

Replying To supporter:  "I know this is off topic but....

Liam - he didn't destroy Donegal so how would he destroy Mayo?? And as for destroying the game he hasn't managed any gaelic teams for 4 years so to blame him solely like some pundits are currently doing for the current state of gaelic football is kinda nonsense when you think about it. I mean he can't control what other managers/teams do - how can he be blamed for Dublin playing a blanket defence and handpassing the ball across the field in 2018!

The Dublin team of Pat Gilroy that won AI in 2011 weren't averse to a bit of the old blanket defence either were they!! Remember this was in the aftermath of Meath putting five goals past them in 2010 leinster semi final!!

Unlikely that it will be Jim McGuinness - but if it was as a Donegal man, I would be disappointed as I'd rather he was here in some capacity. Best of luck to Stephen Rochford he wasn't far away in fairness."
Spot on. I think there is probably more chance of another J that of James Horan going back in. Would prefer Jim to be back with Donegal like u said in some capacity. I actually think were it not for Neil Lennon he still would be. I think if Jim were to get back into inter county management outside of Donegal it will probably be when the likes of MM have retired myself.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 28/08/2018 02:05:40    2136950

I don't think Jim McGuinness will be in the frame. He has put a lot of effort into his soccer coaching qualifications so I think if a suitable opportunity arrives, that'll be his next appointment.

I find it laughable that Jim is still held up as this anti-football monster. I agree that blanket defence systems have probably had their day by now but like it or not, it was an innovative piece of thinking back then. He shook up the established order and landed us an All Ireland out of nowhere. Imitation they say is the greatest form of flattery. If people around the rest of the country were so disgusted by the methods employed by Donegal why they did they try to copy it when they hadn't the resources nor the wherewithal to implement it properly? Jim hasn't managed a GAA team in 4 years now yet he is still the boogie-man?

Brolly is some craic. At the height of Donegal's success he was a McGuinness cheerleader. I have no doubt that if Tyrone manage to beat Dublin this weekend Mickey Harte will be top of the pops again too despite Joe constantly ridiculing him for the last few years. It'll never happen I know but I'd love to see Brolly take on the Mayo job. He has always championed them as the great white hope, but also ridiculed them at the same time for lacking a killer instinct when it matters most. It's easy to sit in a studio and tell yarns. Harder to commit to what is essentially a full time job with an enormous amount of pressure. I'm sure Joe is wealthy enough to take a sabbatical from his day job for a year. Would he have the nerve to do it though? Unlikely.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 28/08/2018 09:54:38    2136983

Don't bring in Jim McGuinness, he destroyed Gaelic Football both to watch and play . Best solution is a combination of Horan and Rochford with NO interference from County Board or Clubs

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 28/08/2018 10:13:08    2136987

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't think Jim McGuinness will be in the frame. He has put a lot of effort into his soccer coaching qualifications so I think if a suitable opportunity arrives, that'll be his next appointment.

I find it laughable that Jim is still held up as this anti-football monster. I agree that blanket defence systems have probably had their day by now but like it or not, it was an innovative piece of thinking back then. He shook up the established order and landed us an All Ireland out of nowhere. Imitation they say is the greatest form of flattery. If people around the rest of the country were so disgusted by the methods employed by Donegal why they did they try to copy it when they hadn't the resources nor the wherewithal to implement it properly? Jim hasn't managed a GAA team in 4 years now yet he is still the boogie-man?

Brolly is some craic. At the height of Donegal's success he was a McGuinness cheerleader. I have no doubt that if Tyrone manage to beat Dublin this weekend Mickey Harte will be top of the pops again too despite Joe constantly ridiculing him for the last few years. It'll never happen I know but I'd love to see Brolly take on the Mayo job. He has always championed them as the great white hope, but also ridiculed them at the same time for lacking a killer instinct when it matters most. It's easy to sit in a studio and tell yarns. Harder to commit to what is essentially a full time job with an enormous amount of pressure. I'm sure Joe is wealthy enough to take a sabbatical from his day job for a year. Would he have the nerve to do it though? Unlikely."
Yeah realistically Donegal went uber defensive for one game, the Semi-Final versus Dublin in 2011.

Outside of that they had a very similar style in 2011 to Dublin that year and by 2012 they had evolved into a more attacking team that we saw land an All-Ireland and get to a final in 2014.

Yet despite this a lot of people, Liam above, still parrot this line about Donegal and McGuinness being this anti-football team that invented defensive football! All based on one game, that they actually lost!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/08/2018 10:15:50    2136989

Replying To culmore:  "Don't bring in Jim McGuinness, he destroyed Gaelic Football both to watch and play . Best solution is a combination of Horan and Rochford with NO interference from County Board or Clubs"
For God's sake man think for yourself. It's as if Jim had a Gestapo style police who spent the last 5 years enforcing a football doctrine on the entire country. Look, Jim's system worked for Donegal because he invented it and perfected it with the playing resources he had at his disposal. As with all sports a better team in Dublin eventually came along, adapted to it and beat it.

This blame being apportioned to Jim McGuinness for the current state of the game is extraordinarily laughable. It is the usual Irish way. Take the easy option and blame someone else.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 28/08/2018 10:55:30    2137009

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah realistically Donegal went uber defensive for one game, the Semi-Final versus Dublin in 2011.

Outside of that they had a very similar style in 2011 to Dublin that year and by 2012 they had evolved into a more attacking team that we saw land an All-Ireland and get to a final in 2014.

Yet despite this a lot of people, Liam above, still parrot this line about Donegal and McGuinness being this anti-football team that invented defensive football! All based on one game, that they actually lost!"
Logical post. I genuinely people if posters on here ever watch a game of football.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/08/2018 10:56:24    2137010

Mayo in complete disarray. I cant see them ever getting back to where they were.... out to pasture.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 28/08/2018 11:21:06    2137031

judging by your post on the dubs v Tyrone all ireland final page (available for all to see) you aren't interested in Dublin and even less so in football.

please mayo, go for Jim. please.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/08/2018 11:23:21    2137035

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You're just afraid because Jim is the man that knows how to beat ye."
everything you need to know before you decide to take this fellas opinion seriously tirchonaill1

His own county are in an all ireland final, going for 4 all irelands in a row that could cement this dublin team among history. A team that are breaking records all over the shop, A dublin team who've been in 9 of the last 12 all irelands and he has no interest. "give them hurls" he said in the dubs v Tyrone thread and now he is giving a speech about what'd be in the best interests of mayo football........

pinch of salt needed mate.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/08/2018 11:30:33    2137040

I would be surprised if Jim McGuinness took another GAA job at this time. He has worked really hard to get all his soccer badges and he wants to have a go at managing a soccer team, he has stated this in interviews. However I know he has great affection for this Mayo team and it probably would be very tempting for him. I am not sure there is a quick fix for this Mayo team and an outside manager would be expected to win the All-Ireland next year, surely they need a couple years of rebuilding and introducing some younger players.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 28/08/2018 11:36:50    2137044

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You're just afraid because Jim is the man that knows how to beat ye."
Yeah that's it or just terrified of another 2011 "Game"

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 28/08/2018 11:47:56    2137049

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Mayo in complete disarray. I cant see them ever getting back to where they were.... out to pasture."
I've seen this movie before...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/08/2018 12:09:11    2137055

Replying To waynoI:  "everything you need to know before you decide to take this fellas opinion seriously tirchonaill1

His own county are in an all ireland final, going for 4 all irelands in a row that could cement this dublin team among history. A team that are breaking records all over the shop, A dublin team who've been in 9 of the last 12 all irelands and he has no interest. "give them hurls" he said in the dubs v Tyrone thread and now he is giving a speech about what'd be in the best interests of mayo football........

pinch of salt needed mate."
Wayne, do me a favour, just ignore me ok bud.
Thanks

Re Jim, I see what you're saying Mes and I just don't agree.
Jim and his protege Rory, and its only an opinion, have left a mark on football and its more of a scar.
Their brand of football, for me, is horrible and yep, is what I would call anti-football.

I am very annoyed at what the game has become, its been destroyed. 90% of counties play horrible football now.
The game is ruined, and for me, a lot of that goes back to the Jim McG handbook on how to beat teams who play football. Limited panels see their only way of playing at the top level as this awful shite, and it has seeped into underage club football now. Dublin are guilty of a bit of it this year also, I am not blind to that atall. It got Fermanagh to an Ulster final this year.

Look, I know this pov annoys a lot of ye, and Lockjaw i am sorry lad but i Honestly believe this.

Peace :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/08/2018 13:05:37    2137087