Why Is Kerry Called The Kingdom?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Why did queen victoria call louth the weee county? No need to answer coz i can google it :-)"
Good boy

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/08/2018 09:29:30    2135824

GAA nicknames should be taken with a pinch of salt,

Tyrone "the O'Neill county yet the Ui Neill were originally based in north Donegal and the O'Neills of later years rules all over Antrim and Derry too.

Derry the Oakleaf county yet there are places called Derry all over Ireland, Derrylaughan, Derrygonnelly, etc.

Donegal "Tir Connail?", well Fermanagh was in that kingdom too, as far as I know Inishowen wasn't even in it.

Meath "royals" yes the kings were crowned in Midhe but I don't think many high kings of Ireland were actually "meath men".

Cork "rebels" I heard that term has a different meaning but most view it as a 1920s thing, we all know that the old IRA had members all over the island.

That's all I can think off but I'm sure there are others.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 224 - 23/08/2018 09:39:23    2135829

Replying To Damothedub:  "I am stumped, this question is without doubt the biggest wind up of all time , if your from Kerry it means one thing if your not an opportunity to take the piss , Jesus a bad ref decision can't come quick enough"
Ahem, the question was asked in the true spirit of historical enquiry .

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 10:21:54    2135839

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Only football? Ye'r playing an allireland final in 10 days going for 4 in a row and you say it's only football!"
God you're a gas man altogether. You wrote on the Kerry forum that you didn't watch the semi-final and like a spoilt child you are not going to watch the final. I'll be on the Hill cheering on The Greatest GAA football team of all time. You'll probably watch the soccer on sky so don't lecture others on the importance of football.
By the way if you're going to quote people, get it right like a good lad. Never said "it's only football.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 10:32:00    2135844

Replying To avonali:  "Ahem, the question was asked in the true spirit of historical enquiry ."
Okay, but it's a silly question. Surely a wind up. You have The Premier,The Faithful, The Banner, The Tribes, The Oak Leaf, The Model, Breffni and on and on. Why? Who knows for sure?

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 23/08/2018 11:02:26    2135860

Replying To avonali:  "God you're a gas man altogether. You wrote on the Kerry forum that you didn't watch the semi-final and like a spoilt child you are not going to watch the final. I'll be on the Hill cheering on The Greatest GAA football team of all time. You'll probably watch the soccer on sky so don't lecture others on the importance of football.
By the way if you're going to quote people, get it right like a good lad. Never said "it's only football."
Haha you say I'm a gas man when you're the one trolling the Kerry page looking for ammo, you belong on Twitter or Facebook with all the other trolls :-) plus you asked a question that you could have easily googled so you were only on the wind up.

I didn't watch the Galway Dublin game and I won't watch the final as the results are forgone conclusions, if there was a chance that Tyrone or anyone could beat ye I'd watch it but unfortunately the dice are loaded in yer favor.

It's boring and you must be fairly bored to start a silly thread like this.

Best of luck in the hill, try not to be booing too much .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 11:23:23    2135870

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha you say I'm a gas man when you're the one trolling the Kerry page looking for ammo, you belong on Twitter or Facebook with all the other trolls :-) plus you asked a question that you could have easily googled so you were only on the wind up.

I didn't watch the Galway Dublin game and I won't watch the final as the results are forgone conclusions, if there was a chance that Tyrone or anyone could beat ye I'd watch it but unfortunately the dice are loaded in yer favor.

Best of luck in the hill, try not to be booing too much ."
And you must have been even more bored to get yourself all upset at it.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 12:26:01    2135904

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha you say I'm a gas man when you're the one trolling the Kerry page looking for ammo, you belong on Twitter or Facebook with all the other trolls :-) plus you asked a question that you could have easily googled so you were only on the wind up.

Best of luck in the hill, try not to be booing too much ."
Never boo the sight of our lads galloping towards the hill with Sam lofted in the air, we'll be alright, don't you worry your pretty little face.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/08/2018 13:37:15    2135931

Good lads yourselves hermit and Kingdumboy

It wasn't long ago ye were thanking your lucky stars and saying;

"Thankfully we didn't have to play Dublin to only watch us get hammered"

Happy to see I have reinstalled a bit of pride to go with the tail between your legs!

You're fecking welcome lads... most welcome indeed!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/08/2018 14:39:39    2135964

Replying To avonali:  "And you must have been even more bored to get yourself all upset at it."
So you admit that you were on the wind up then, fair play to you , you have now lost all credibility.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 14:56:16    2135971

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good lads yourselves hermit and Kingdumboy

It wasn't long ago ye were thanking your lucky stars and saying;

"Thankfully we didn't have to play Dublin to only watch us get hammered"

Happy to see I have reinstalled a bit of pride to go with the tail between your legs!

You're fecking welcome lads... most welcome indeed!"
You never answered my question jimbo, you didn't explain your comment when you tried to insult my county and you ended up Insulting every county in Ireland including your own ?

Explain or are you just a WUM?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 15:04:11    2135976

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So you admit that you were on the wind up then, fair play to you , you have now lost all credibility."
I couldn't give a tinker's curse whether you think I've credibility or not.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 15:27:09    2135991

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So you admit that you were on the wind up then, fair play to you , you have now lost all credibility."
No wind up at boy. It was a genuine question . One that you never actually addressed. I have been reading this forum for s long time and you have zero credibility in my book. You talk about trolling and tell others they ought to be on other social media sites. Yet you're happy to use the 'West Brit' smear at your leisure. Keep that for YouTube. Troll is right.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 15:34:06    2135995

Replying To avonali:  "No wind up at boy. It was a genuine question . One that you never actually addressed. I have been reading this forum for s long time and you have zero credibility in my book. You talk about trolling and tell others they ought to be on other social media sites. Yet you're happy to use the 'West Brit' smear at your leisure. Keep that for YouTube. Troll is right."
A question that you could have googled? No you came on trying to put the boot in for some reason and someone bit back and you didn't like it, plus you didn't get the backup that you thought you would from the other Dublin lads so now your grasping at straws hoping we won't call you out on it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 16:18:55    2136015

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A question that you could have googled? No you came on trying to put the boot in for some reason and someone bit back and you didn't like it, plus you didn't get the backup that you thought you would from the other Dublin lads so now your grasping at straws hoping we won't call you out on it."
'Bit back'- well I feel as if I've been mauled by a dead lamb, I'm in tatters here. 'Support from the Dublin lads', 'putting the boot in'- You seem to think your the schoolyard hard man putting manners on everybody. . This is an Internet forum, one in which you resort to personally offensive remarks whenever somebody posts something you disagree with- in short, a quintessential troll. As I said , zero credibility. Why not stick to issues and cut back on the personal insults?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 16:37:07    2136027

Replying To avonali:  "'Bit back'- well I feel as if I've been mauled by a dead lamb, I'm in tatters here. 'Support from the Dublin lads', 'putting the boot in'- You seem to think your the schoolyard hard man putting manners on everybody. . This is an Internet forum, one in which you resort to personally offensive remarks whenever somebody posts something you disagree with- in short, a quintessential troll. As I said , zero credibility. Why not stick to issues and cut back on the personal insults?"
Your describing your self now kid, you're the one that started this silly thread ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 16:48:18    2136033

You talk about credibility , mate you have no credibility , you are anti Dublin
non stop anti Dublin posts from you its to be pitied .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/08/2018 16:52:01    2136036

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Your describing your self now kid, you're the one that started this silly thread ;-)"
Oh I love the affected nonchalance and a wink emoticon to boot. Good lad. Enjoy your walk on Sunday.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 16:59:36    2136041

Replying To superbluedub:  "You talk about credibility , mate you have no credibility , you are anti Dublin
non stop anti Dublin posts from you its to be pitied ."
Who are you again? All ye Dublin posters are morphing into one, are you jimbo 2.0?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/08/2018 17:02:24    2136042

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Your describing your self now kid, you're the one that started this silly thread ;-)"
A thread that you were very happy to contribute to .

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 17:03:29    2136043